Full Version: Team You Don't Look Forward To Playing
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
arnold
what team do you hate to play?
not necessarily your rivals.
Radford
Clyde for me. They always seem to save their best performances for us whilst we inevitably save our bad days for those occasions. Only really once in the past few seasons - last Xmas - have I not seen a Clyde side that looked far better than their league position suggests.
PTFC27
St Johnstone had McDairmid. Never a good day! Before this season I would've said Clyde away but not anymore cool.gif .
EastFootball
Livingston away.

Don't know why, because in the two seasons they've been down here we haven't lost there. But the trip always fills me with dread for some reason.
PTFC27
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jul 16 2008, 12:43) *
Livingston away.

Don't know why, because in the two seasons they've been down here we haven't lost there. But the trip always fills me with dread for some reason.

Wrong thread.
EastFootball
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Jul 16 2008, 12:46) *
Wrong thread.

huh.gif
MTJ
Any ground in Tayside, Livi away.

Not my idea of enjoyable when you pay a fortune to have the local screws and stewards treat you like shite on their shoe.
RedV
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jul 16 2008, 12:56) *
Any ground in Tayside, Livi away.

Not my idea of enjoyable when you pay a fortune to have the local screws and stewards treat you like shite on their shoe.

Correct. I refuse to go to these grounds now.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Radford @ Jul 16 2008, 12:36) *
Clyde for me. They always seem to save their best performances for us whilst we inevitably save our bad days for those occasions. Only really once in the past few seasons - last Xmas - have I not seen a Clyde side that looked far better than their league position suggests.

Spot on with that Radford..We always seem to struggle against them, having great difficulty breaking them down.Very rarely is there any good football on show. sad.gif
PTFC27
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jul 16 2008, 12:49) *
huh.gif

My mistake, I read it wrong.
el bawbag
clyde

shite groud, shite weather, shite atmosphere, we always play shite

and saints because of the aushwitz-esque police
stuart.
QUOTE (RedV @ Jul 16 2008, 13:05) *
Correct. I refuse to go to these grounds now.

Same here - St Johnstone, Dundee and Livingston are on my boycott list now.

Zero fun is to be had at those places.
robosaintee
Airdrie away specifically. We never seem to win there!
jagsvayne
Never like palying against St. Johnstone.

I have never actually seen Thistle beat them in my life. ohmy.gif Shocking that.

Ive also never liked going to Livingston. Probably coz its a bloody RIP-OFF!!!!!!
PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF
Livingston coz its always a shite game and St Johnstone as most jags fans have said in this thread
Mon The Clyde
Ross County at home. Despite the Staggies only ever winning twice at Broadwood (one of the was in the League Cup back in 2002 with Alex Bone getting the winner and that horrific 4-2 in the Miller season as went 4-0 down)

Horrible games of football.

QUOTE (el bawbag @ Jul 16 2008, 13:29) *
clyde

*Chortle*
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Jul 16 2008, 13:29) *
clyde

and saints because of the aushwitz-esque police

We dont sing when we play wee diddy plastic pointless crappy teams like livingstown united or witever it is your pub team is called
LIVIFOREVER
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Jul 16 2008, 13:56) *
We dont sing when we play wee diddy plastic pointless crappy teams like livingstown united or witever it is your pub team is called

Ironic post of the week. tongue.gif

Worst ground i've been to in the 1st Div was Mortons, not being disrespectful but my legs went dead being cramped up in those seats and weather was crap and i got soaked walking back to the carpark smile.gif don't mind any other ground.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (LIVIFOREVER @ Jul 16 2008, 14:17) *
Worst ground i've been to in the 1st Div was Mortons, not being disrespectful but my legs went dead being cramped up in those seats and weather was crap and i got soaked walking back to the carpark smile.gif

And you're smiling about that?!
LIVIFOREVER
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jul 16 2008, 14:18) *
And you're smiling about that?!

I'm a happy chappy smile.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (LIVIFOREVER @ Jul 16 2008, 14:39) *
I'm a happy chappy smile.gif

Following Livingston - I commend you thumbup2.gif
LIVIFOREVER
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jul 16 2008, 14:40) *
Following Livingston - I commend you thumbup2.gif

lol, yeah not been a barrel of laughs last 4 seasons, feel we're paying our dues now though as it was all easy for us till admin, will make the good times sweet next time round. biggrin.gif
Stainrod's Fedora
Queen of the f***ing South - obviously. dry.gif
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Games against St J, Dunfermline and especially Livi just fail to excite me, days away at Almondvale are by far the worst in the league.
dee4life
Used to enjoy going to thistle until last season,heavy handed police and only 2 gates open for a crucial game resulting in loads of fans missing the start.
Mr.Blue
queens at cappielow is usually a bad one for us sad.gif
MTJ
QUOTE (dee4life @ Jul 16 2008, 16:40) *
Used to enjoy going to thistle until last season,heavy handed police and only 2 gates open for a crucial game resulting in loads of fans missing the start.

Well you set off a smoke bomb last season what do you expect? A foot massage and a free cup of tea?
dee4life
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jul 16 2008, 17:05) *
Well you set off a smoke bomb last season what do you expect? A foot massage and a free cup of tea?

Dont expect to get threatened with the jail for asking if more gates could be opened,it was pissing of rain and got herded into line for asking a question,would you be happy with that?
Russell Edward Brand
QUOTE (dee4life @ Jul 16 2008, 16:40) *

Leavin' the 'ouse at a reasonable time and refrainin' from actin' like throbbin' phalluses would be the simple solution, you iron 'oof.
MTJ
QUOTE (dee4life @ Jul 16 2008, 17:07) *
Dont expect to get threatened with the jail for asking if more gates could be opened,it was pissing of rain and got herded into line for asking a question,would you be happy with that?

Thats the fault of Dundee then for reporting that there would be less fans than what actually turned up. TBH I've no sympathy at all for any Dundee fan moaning about having a hard time from Police at away games considering the behaviour of the screws up there.
dee4life
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jul 16 2008, 17:09) *
Thats the fault of Dundee then for reporting that there would be less fans than what actually turned up. TBH I've no sympathy at all for any Dundee fan moaning about having a hard time from Police at away games considering the behaviour of the screws up there.

Well thats where we differ,I hate hearing of fans getting treated like shit at dens,it does not look good for the football club and puts people of going.
Nizzy
QUOTE (dee4life @ Jul 16 2008, 17:07) *
it was pissing of rain

It wasn't raining during the run up to kick off. Me and Webby walked from Coopers to Munns and then from Munns to Firhill and it was dry as a bone. You're full of shit.
dee4life
QUOTE (Russell Edward Brand @ Jul 16 2008, 17:08) *
Leavin' the 'ouse at a reasonable time and refrainin' from actin' like throbbin' phalluses would be the simple solution, you iron 'oof.

You know nothing soft lad,so just zip it eh.
dee4life
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 16 2008, 17:13) *
It wasn't raining during the run up to kick off. Me and Webby walked from Coopers to Munns and then from Munns to Firhill and it was dry as a bone. You're full of shit.

I met my mate from glasgow in the pub just down from the ground and it was pissing down by the time we got to the ground,thats a fact.
Nizzy
QUOTE (dee4life @ Jul 16 2008, 17:15) *
I met my mate in the from glasgow in the pub just down from the ground and it was pissing down by the time we got to the ground,thats a fact.

That's bollocks. What time would you have made that?
Toma_BullyWee
I don't like going to Dens because of Robosteward and his friends.

But for some reason i quite like the place apart from that.

ph34r.gif
dee4life
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 16 2008, 17:16) *
That's bollocks. What time would you have made that?

No to sure what time but we had to wait in the pub for my mate who is local so it must,ve been near kick off.
Juan Sara
Something about Broadwood I don't like...
LTP
St J away. I hate McDermaid Park.
EdinburghLivi
Again I just like watching my team play. No matter who it's against. So on that basis, I'd have to go with Ross County because it's highly unlikely that my dad will take me to watch them. It's just too far away sad.gif
DundeeBoy
Queen of the South considering the humpings they gave us last season.
Saints away, always get a draw. mad.gif
Loki
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jul 16 2008, 13:50) *
Ross County at home. Despite the Staggies only ever winning twice at Broadwood (one of the was in the League Cup back in 2002 with Alex Bone getting the winner and that horrific 4-2 in the Miller season as went 4-0 down)

Horrible games of football.

We also horsed you 4-0 in 1999 in a Challenge Cup game.
P45
St J away. Just award them the 6 points now and give the Thistle players the 2 Saturdays off.
Hebridean
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jul 16 2008, 17:37) *
Something about Broadwood I don't like...

Me? biggrin.gif

H Wragg
QUOTE (P45 @ Jul 16 2008, 19:10) *
St J away. Just award them the 6 points now and give the Thistle players the 2 Saturdays off.

Add to that Dunfermline away. Our last twelve visits there have ended in 10 defeats and 2 draws.
Our last win at EEP was on 5th March 1983, when we won 3-0. Ironically, the other league game there that season ended in a 4-0 win for Thistle.
Juninho
Clyde.
Fuctifano
Has to be St Johnstone @ McDiarmid. Same heavy handed policing / stewarding as Dens but add in that absymal record of 1 win there since it opened, and most games in recent years we haven't even threatened to take a point there.

As H Wragg said, we haven't won at EEP in 25 years either, although that's slightly misleading as ourselves and Dunfermline had a tendency to miss each other with getting promoted /relegated at the same time- for example we didn't play in the same league as them between 1990 and 2003. Still a fairly shocking record though.
Ade Eyemond
Add me to "Any team from Tayside"
Grant228
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Jul 16 2008, 15:10) *
Games against St J, Dunfermline and especially Livi just fail to excite me, days away at Almondvale are by far the worst in the league.

Not even the steak bridie sad.gif
For me i fail to get exicted by playing clyde always bring a piss poor away support and cumbernauld is bloody frezing dry.gif
wearealldoomed
Apart from the usual Tasyide guff, I can't be bothered with Clyde or Livingston either.

Of the soulless lego stadia, I think ours (the main stand anyways) is one of the better ones. Clyde and Livingston are equally devoid of atmosphere and character, and offer pretty shitty views in comparsion with where I sit at NB.