Full Version: Team You Look Forward To Playing The Most
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
PTFC27
As it says. Not neccesserily (sp?) your rivals.

I'd go for Airdrie (away more than home) because you always get a good atmosphere and a good match (which Thistle usually win ph34r.gif ).
Dee4Life1893
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Jul 16 2008, 10:15) *

I'd go for Airdrie (away more than home) because you always get a good atmosphere and a good match (which Thistle usually win ph34r.gif ).

Dundee United.

That's why we really need to stop slumming it down here.
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
i'm looking forward to all away trips except to Tayside....so depressing.....
lazyjack
biggrin.gif Would have to be Plastic Whistle

After last seasons gubbins revenge will be sweet tongue.gif
diamonds2002

Partick in Maryhill is usually a good laugh - cant beat a game of hate
PTFC27
QUOTE (lazyjack @ Jul 16 2008, 10:21) *
biggrin.gif Would have to be Plastic Whistle

After last seasons gubbins revenge will be sweet tongue.gif

Revenge laugh.gif
AyrshireTon
St. Mirren a week on Saturday.

Don't give a toss about the rest of you.
Ross_dee
Everyone and anyone really, can't wait until new season.

But If any always good banter with st johnstone.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
I have £10 behind the bar in Maryhill so will be looking forward to collecting 3 points and three pints biggrin.gif

Roll on November 22nd.
PTFC27
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Jul 16 2008, 10:41) *
I have £10 behind the bar in Maryhill so will be looking forward to collecting 3 points and three pints biggrin.gif

Roll on November 22nd.

Aahhh, you Livi fans always crack me up tongue.gif .
The ghost of Jim Morton
For a good day out it would have to be Ross County in Dingwall....but for atmosphere, passion, raw emotion and excitement it would have to be Dundee. smile.gif
SaltyTON
QUOTE (AyrshireTon @ Jul 16 2008, 10:29) *

Same, the rest of the games are shit. The cup is about the only thing worth looking forward to in this division. Bring back Ayr!!
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Jul 16 2008, 10:57) *
Same, the rest of the games are shit. The cup is about the only thing worth looking forward to in this division. Bring back Ayr!!

Careful what you wish for Salty. you could well be playing them next season in the second division.Or worse, they might come up and you'll miss them on the way down laugh.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif
Haitch
Im looking forward to going to Dunfermline and Livi next year. Perth is always a good day out though.
Uncle Albert
Has to be our Chums from the North of the city! A great day out and getting home is no bother afterwards.oh and we are due a few good results after the debacle of last season!!
RedV
QUOTE (AyrshireTon @ Jul 16 2008, 10:29) *

Just like they don't really give a toss about Morton any more?

Anyway, for me it's Thistle every time.
SaltyTON
QUOTE (RedV @ Jul 16 2008, 12:05) *

That's why it'll be their biggest away support of the season then... laugh.gif
Radford
The Dundee games are by far the biggest ones we play at the moment, so probably those ones, even though we're far from guaranteed a good result.
Firhill_Basin
QUOTE (The Ghost of Ron Burgundy @ Jul 16 2008, 10:20) *
i'm looking forward to all away trips except to Tayside....so depressing.....

Would have to agree. Add in Livingston to that as well.
wearealldoomed

I'm not sure whether I've been "wooshed" or not, but Thistle went from circa 1981 to 2005 without a league win in Airdrie.

Anyhow, Thistle away and Morton away are the games I'm most looking forward to. Queens is always good too, but more for a day out than as a rasult of the game.
MTJ
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Jul 16 2008, 12:47) *
I'm not sure whether I've been "wooshed" or not, but Thistle went from circa 1981 to 2005 without a league win in Airdrie.

Anyhow, Thistle away and Morton away are the games I'm most looking forward to. Queens is always good too, but more for a day out than as a rasult of the game.

Hes obviously not been following Thistle long enough to realise that as we had a woeful record against Airdrieonians but have a surprisingly good one against Airdrie United.

I enjoy playing Airdrie and Morton either home or away and like Clyde away as its just as easy for me to get to Broadwood as Firhill. Home in 10-15 minutes after the game.
thommohawk
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jul 16 2008, 10:55) *
For a good day out it would have to be Ross County in Dingwall....but for atmosphere, passion, raw emotion and excitement it would have to be Dundee. smile.gif

Passion, is that what you call it haha.

Got to be United away. St Johnstone good too only cos they hate us and we don't understand why. Pity McDiarmid wasn't closer to the centre as it would be perfect then!
Radford
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jul 16 2008, 12:53) *
Hes obviously not been following Thistle long enough to realise that as we had a woeful record against Airdrieonians but have a surprisingly good one against Airdrie United.

We're totally the opposite. We are something like 22 league games unbeaten against Airdrieonians before they became United and since then we've struggled to beat them, especially at New Broomfield, with one win in seven attempts.

QUOTE (thommohawk @ Jul 16 2008, 13:00) *

Got to be United away. St Johnstone good too only cos they hate us and we don't understand why.

Zzz...
PTFC27
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jul 16 2008, 12:53) *

I enjoy playing Airdrie and Morton either home or away and like Clyde away as its just as easy for me to get to Broadwood as Firhill. Home in 10-15 minutes after the game.

Was just goin to write that.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (thommohawk @ Jul 16 2008, 13:00) *

Got to be United away. St Johnstone good too only cos they hate us and we don't understand why. Pity McDiarmid wasn't closer to the centre as it would be perfect then!

To play United , you have to be in the same league as them or get them in the cup.On the league front , it won,t be anytime soon.And don,t flatter yourself that we hate you.It's pity we have for you.Thats why we always bring the biggest away support to Dense Park. We know your desperate for the cash.. tongue.gif
gypoarmy
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Jul 16 2008, 10:27) *
Revenge laugh.gif

yes...Revenge

robosaintee
The Tayside Derby of course!
jagsvayne
Love when we play QOS. There fans are always brilliant when they come to Firhill. Always create a great wee atmosphere.
PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF
Clyde and Airdrie - games of pure hatred and 3 points at the end 2 sweeten it for the mighty jags, at least we will get 24 easy points next season with these 2 diddy teams in the league, and airdrie must be scared for marko roberts putting another few past them like a few years ago
Dee4Life1893
QUOTE (jagsvayne @ Jul 16 2008, 13:43) *
Love when we play QOS. There fans are always brilliant when they come to Firhill. Always create a great wee atmosphere.

The word in bold being the key word there laugh.gif

I'm sorry
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (RedV @ Jul 16 2008, 12:05) *

Your lucky to be in this league after we spanked ye
Mon The Clyde
Thistle, Quen of the South and Ross County (all away)
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF @ Jul 16 2008, 13:44) *
Clyde and Airdrie - games of pure hatred and 3 points at the end 2 sweeten it for the mighty jags, at least we will get 24 easy points next season with these 2 diddy teams in the league, and airdrie must be scared for marko roberts putting another few past them like a few years ago

Bring it on thistle tramp
jagsvayne
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Jul 16 2008, 13:46) *
Bring it on thistle tramp

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

So nice.
LIVIFOREVER
all our home games for obv reasons biggrin.gif looking forward to the jags this season, think we'll beat them this time round wink.gif
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Cant help but get excited about playing Airdrie, apart from that its Palmerston Park every time, the fact we are playing them on a Sunday in a few weeks meaning you cant get the train there and back is a load of shit. mad.gif
Stainrod's Fedora
Thistle at Firhill. Nothing to do with the football, but because we can go out on the lash in Glasgow afterwards.
CK
I'm not looking forward to playing any team in this league. We played every team in the league bar Ross County last season, and this will be the 9th time in the last 10 seasons we have been in the same division as them. I'm more excited about friendlies against Great Yarmouth Town and Rutherglen Glencairn.
gav-ffc
QUOTE (Dee4Life1893 @ Jul 16 2008, 10:19) *
Dundee United.

That's why we really need to stop slumming it down here.

Just a shame your not good enough.
EdinburghLivi
I really just want to see us play football again. Since we have no obvious rivals, most opponents are not hated by the fans that much. It's a shame as a good derby game always creates a good atmosphere.

I'll say Airdrie on the basis that they are probably going to give us the easiest three points.
vikingTON
Ross County away October 4th. cool.gif
Apart from that, Airdrie: there's a bit more atmosphere in this game than others.
Ade Eyemond
PTFC
Steak & Barley
Airdrie's probably the only one.
Grant228
Airdire because there there the new team and might create some atmosphere
Mustafa Sheet
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Jul 16 2008, 15:15) *
Cant help but get excited about playing Airdrie, apart from that its Palmerston Park every time, the fact we are playing them on a Sunday in a few weeks meaning you cant get the train there and back is a load of shit. mad.gif

Get a cheap day return on the train to Lockerbie (journey only takes 1 hour) then the service bus to Dumfries (journey 25mins). Problem solved smile.gif
MAC-attack
The fermers in Perth is the game i'm most lookin forward to, always a crackin atmosphere and cracking grub..

Lambie's Pigeon Feed
QUOTE (Mustafa Sheet @ Jul 17 2008, 06:59) *
Get a cheap day return on the train to Lockerbie (journey only takes 1 hour) then the service bus to Dumfries (journey 25mins). Problem solved smile.gif

The only train on the way down doesnt get into Lockerbie until 2.30pm so thats a non starter. Its also not possible to go to Carlisle and back and connect with a bus from Dumfries after the game. So the only way is to go train to Carlisle, bus to Dumfries, watch game, train to Kilmarnock, replacement bus service (due to engineering works) to Glasgow. Paying for all that seperately costs a fortune and will take ages. mad.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Jul 17 2008, 11:36) *
The only train on the way down doesnt get into Lockerbie until 2.30pm so thats a non starter. Its also not possible to go to Carlisle and back and connect with a bus from Dumfries after the game. So the only way is to go train to Carlisle, bus to Dumfries, watch game, train to Kilmarnock, replacement bus service (due to engineering works) to Glasgow. Paying for all that seperately costs a fortune and will take ages. mad.gif

Go on a supporters bus.
wearealldoomed
QUOTE (Lambie's Pigeon Feed @ Jul 17 2008, 11:36) *

No it's not.

There's a train every hour (or better) to Carlisle, then a rail replacement bus to Dumfries.

Cheap day return from Glasgow is £14.40.

Tis a bit of a pain in the erse, but an extra hour's bevving, I suppose.
DomDom
I'd have said St. Mirren, but since it means absolutely f**k all, I won't bother.

I'd have to say Partick Thistle. Our good record against them has made me enjoy the games, and made me think "ah good, a team we can beat".