Full Version: Who Will Queens Get In The Next 2nd Qualifying Round Of The Uefa Cup?.
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Mr X
Just seen Davie Rae .. he looks as bored as the rest of us laugh.gif
The Minertaur
ooooh its time for the draw!
LeedsUnited
thumbup2.gif
The Minertaur
Queen Of the South v Fc Nordsfjelland (Denmark)
IXI THE ONE IXI
QotS vs FC Nordsjelland (Denmark)
MonTheRovers!!
Quality!! biggrin.gif
Toby Fair
Well that's that then - no foreign trip for me.
Never moan about teachers' holidays again. They're crap.
calcutta
home for the 1st game
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Toby Fair @ Aug 1 2008, 12:28) *
Well that's that then - no foreign trip for me.
Never moan about teachers' holidays again. They're crap.

Just pull a sickie and go! That's what i'll be doing!! biggrin.gif
qos_75
Great Stuff. Mon the Queens. biggrin.gif
IXI THE ONE IXI
FC Nordsjælland to give them their correct name.
QosLoyal
looking forward to it! biggrin.gif
Milners
mmm Denmark - pretty decent draw which will be cheaper than the other teams you could have played. Also a team that struggled last season. Been to Copenhagen with the dons and its a great place although not sure where they play in Denmark. Good Luck Queen of the South.

Start booking those flights now as the prices will go right up smile.gif
MonTheRovers!!
Anyone got any idea's on a half decent flight or ferry to the game?

23KM north of Copenhagen.
mcfc-par
QUOTE (Milners @ Aug 1 2008, 12:37) *
mmm Denmark - pretty decent draw which will be cheaper than the other teams you could have played. Also a team that struggled last season. Been to Copenhagen with the dons and its a great place although not sure where they play in Denmark. Good Luck Queen of the South.

Start booking those flights now as the prices will go right up smile.gif

Flights and ferries will be being snapped up very quickly as City will be in Denmark at the same time, though on the mainland rather than near Copenhagen.
MonTheRovers!!
Click to view attachment
Whistle Blower
Good luck to the Queen's

Every team that floats about the lower reaches of Scottish football deserves a wee shot at Europe.

Enjoy every minute.
Mr X
Coached by Morten Wieghorst, I see
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 1 2008, 12:57) *
Coached by Morten Wieghorst, I see

I saw that too, actually. I'm quite looking forward to this game already!!
QosLoyal
how cool was it seeing davie rae in his suit wi that mop of hair being interviewed! fantastic stuff
McFarlane
GOOD LUCK QUEENS I C UR UP AGAINST AN EX THISTLE PLAYER.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jukka_Santala
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (McFarlane @ Aug 1 2008, 13:21) *
GOOD LUCK QUEENS I C UR UP AGAINST AN EX THISTLE PLAYER.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jukka_Santala

He's a player. I remember him scoring against us for Thistle at SP.
ICTChris
We played them in our pre-season tour last week. It finished 1-1 report can be found here

Good luck to Queens.
Skyline Drifter
Just a word for anyone looking at being fast off the mark with booking away travel. Negotiations are currently underway with a view to the away leg coming forward a couple of days due to the number of games due to be played in Denmark on the 28th. We should have confirmation within the next hour or so.

Hope no-one has already booked.
EastFootball
If the away leg is moved, would that allow our game against you at Palmerston to be moved back to the Saturday, or is that set in stone?

You should know why I'm asking wink.gif
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Aug 1 2008, 13:41) *
If the away leg is moved, would that allow our game against you at Palmerston to be moved back to the Saturday, or is that set in stone?

I guess potentially it could be moved back to the Saturday if both teams wish it. Our manager would probably prefer not to though. An extra day's recovery would help regardless of when the UEFA game is played.

More importantly, if our game IS moved I'd presume they'll have to postpone our trip to Dingwall the Saturday before.
Mr X
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Aug 1 2008, 13:41) *

I shall be campaigning vigurously to make sure it stays on the Sunday tongue.gif
Flash
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 1 2008, 13:49) *
I shall be campaigning vigurously to make sure it stays on the Sunday tongue.gif

....with a 7.45pm kick-off - just to make sure.
palmy_cammy
What are your early thoughts on travel to this one?

Over on the Mad site the two soundest looking suggestions seem to be a budget airline flight from London to Copenhagen, or a reasonably short train ride from Berlin to Copenhagen as an option for people wishing to make a bit of a holiday out of it.

I have no fuckin' idea, and at the moment it's a solo mission for me anyway, probably hang back and see what the club has to say.
Juninho
Decent draw for QOS however IMO, not a very exciting draw overall in both Champions League and UEFA Cup.

Maybe they have a chance to progress though, Nordsjaellend are probably an average team in comparison to others they could have faced.
Skyline Drifter
The away leg has been moved to Tuesday 26th August.
Mozzamozza
Good draw. That mob are bottom of the league.

Good luck and enjoy the festivities!!
NeilJag
QUOTE (Mozzamozza @ Aug 1 2008, 14:12) *
Good draw. That mob are bottom of the league.

Aye, only after one game!
EastFootball
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 1 2008, 13:43) *
More importantly, if our game IS moved I'd presume they'll have to postpone our trip to Dingwall the Saturday before.

Why? Saturday-Tuesday is a normal arrangement.

In addition, Dundee are now within their rights to demand the game be moved to the Saturday. Now, it's only on the Sunday out of convenience as opposed to necessity.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Aug 1 2008, 14:20) *
Why?

Saturday-Tuesday is a normal arrangement.

..........a flight abroad in between however, funnily enough, is not. huh.gif

And a trip to Dingwall, just about the most awkward away fixture beforehand. Maybe they won't move it though. I guess the sides in the Champions league quite often play Saturday / Tuesday.
EastFootball
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 1 2008, 14:22) *
..........a flight abroad in between however, funnily enough, is not. huh.gif

And a trip to Dingwall, just about the most awkward away fixture beforehand. Maybe they won't move it though. I guess the sides in the Champions league quite often play Saturday / Tuesday.

Exactly.

So again, it would be down to Ross County being sympathetic to the cause as opposed to their hand being forced by UEFA.

Don't get me wrong, I want to see Queens do well in Europe, but I think the good of the domestic game has to come first.
TeeMan
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 1 2008, 14:10) *

Extra day in Copenhagen for us then!! Got in there early and booked flights via Stanstead (Tues-Fri), changed the outward leg to the Monday. Happy with the draw, I've always wanted to go to Copenhagen.
kirkyblue2
It should depend on how well we get on in the 1st leg before we need to move the game in Dingwall.

Who decides these fixtures? We've got the diddy cup then a trip to Dingwall before playing European games.
South Lanarkshire Jag
The game against Ross County should be moved if a suitable date can be found, maybe an international weekend to prevent a midweek trip allowing fans to attend?

The Dundee game should stay on the sunday to allow QOTS an extra day to recover from their dramatic penalty shoot out win smile.gif
Flash
QUOTE (kirkyblue2 @ Aug 1 2008, 14:32) *
Who decides these fixtures? We've got the diddy cup then a trip to Dingwall before playing European games.

The two guys in your avatar.
glasnost
You can fly cheapo into Billund from Stansted avec Ryanair.

I’ll be rooting for big Greenock in this tie I’m afraid.
EastFootball
QUOTE (South Lanarkshire Jag @ Aug 1 2008, 14:36) *
The game against Ross County should be moved if a suitable date can be found, maybe an international weekend to prevent a midweek trip allowing fans to attend?

The Dundee game should stay on the sunday to allow QOTS an extra day to recover from their dramatic penalty shoot out win smile.gif

As I said, both of these should now require the consent of Ross County and Dundee respectively, because UEFA's influence over this only extends to times where there's less than 48hrs between a domestic game and a European game, or vice versa.

From a purely selfish viewpoint, I want the Dundee game moved to the Saturday. And to be honest, there's absolutely no need for four full days rest after a game; even UEFA deem two to be sufficient.
kirkyblue2
QUOTE (Flash @ Aug 1 2008, 14:37) *
The two guys in your avatar.

They'd do a better job.
Flash
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Aug 1 2008, 14:41) *
From a purely selfish viewpoint, I want the Dundee game moved to the Saturday.

Are you not fed up watching your team getting beat at Palmerston? wink.gif
The Magic Moose
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 1 2008, 14:10) *

This is 100% definite?
smithybby
hw many tickets do u reckon we'll get?
they have a 10,000 seater stadium
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Aug 1 2008, 14:41) *
As I said, both of these should now require the consent of Ross County and Dundee respectively, because UEFA's influence over this only extends to times where there's less than 48hrs between a domestic game and a European game, or vice versa.

From a purely selfish viewpoint, I want the Dundee game moved to the Saturday. And to be honest, there's absolutely no need for four full days rest after a game; even UEFA deem two to be sufficient.

Well, it won't require the consent of Dundee NOT to move it. It's already scheduled for the Sunday. On the contrary it would require the consent of Dundee to move it back but I'd imagine we won't ask for it. I can't see the league insisting on it either so unless Dundee actually ask for it to be moved back for the benefit of their supporters I'd be surprised if it is. Even if they do ask, if we aren't compelled to do it, I'd be surprised if the manager voluntarily wanted to take a day off his preparation.

I take the point in hindsight about Ross County. There isn't any particular reason why it should have to be moved though it would be convenient for us, especially if the tie is still in the balance. I'm sure we'll ask for it to be postponed so I guess it will be up to the SFL in discussion with County to see what the feeling is. At the end of the day we'll only be handicapping ourselves by having to go back up there midweek (though I guess it might hit their gate receipts a little to have a midweek game instead of a weekend one).
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (The Magic Moose @ Aug 1 2008, 14:46) *
This is 100% definite?

Yes

QUOTE (smithybby @ Aug 1 2008, 14:49) *
hw many tickets do u reckon we'll get?
they have a 10,000 seater stadium

As many as we need.
EastFootball
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 1 2008, 14:50) *
Well, it won't require the consent of Dundee NOT to move it. It's already scheduled for the Sunday. On the contrary it would require the consent of Dundee to move it back but I'd imagine we won't ask for it. I can't see the league insisting on it either so unless Dundee actually ask for it to be moved back for the benefit of their supporters I'd be surprised if it is. Even if they do ask, if we aren't compelled to do it, I'd be surprised if the manager voluntarily wanted to take a day off his preparation.

If Dundee ask for it to be moved, it will be moved.

The only reason it was scheduled for the Sunday is because, at the time the list was revealed, it was already known you would have a game on the Thursday.

Now, there is no need for it to remain on the Sunday, thus if Queens turn down the request, an appeal to the SFL/A would be successful.
kirkyblue2
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 1 2008, 14:50) *
(though I guess it might hit their gate receipts a little to have a midweek game instead of a weekend one).

Yeah it's harder to count eyes in the dark.