Full Version: Lanarkshire Derby - Airdrie Vs. Accies
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Accies1
Tomorrow night.

Our first "proper" pre-season fixture. We played a behind closed doors game vs. Queens Park and won 1-0 and we played in the Oban Tournament with a few trialists and 2 first squad players.

With admission prices being quite cheap I reckon we'll bring a half decent support, most to see Carrigan rolleyes.gif .

Any way I'm looking quite forward to it, not been to a proper game of football in a while so hopefully it will be entertaining although Airdrie vs. Accies games never are dry.gif

I reckon we'll win by one or two goals, I'll go for 2-1 Accies.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Jul 15 2008, 17:04) *
Tomorrow night.

Our first "proper" pre-season fixture. We played a behind closed doors game vs. Queens Park and won 1-0 and we played in the Oban Tournament with a few trialists and 2 first squad players.

With admission prices being quite cheap I reckon we'll bring a half decent support, most to see Carrigan rolleyes.gif .

Any way I'm looking quite forward to it, not been to a proper game of football in a while so hopefully it will be entertaining although Airdrie vs. Accies games never are dry.gif

Accies1-the optimism of youth.

Both sides will field about 18 players and both sets of fans will feel fleeced as a result.Or am I being an old cynic with regard to friendlies?

Carrigan needs to seize the chance to prove he is not the waster some feel.For Accies fans,that is probably the main point of the match.
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
mmmm.....dunno...has all the hallmarks of tedium.

Kevin Mckee is god

Bit of a gulf in class between Accies and Airdrie these days, can see it being a pretty one sided affair and i'd imagine with Airdries squad they will quickly be dispatched back to division 2 after taking a few tankings from Dundee and St. Johnston, it's the weakest squad to play in the first division in many a year.
DundeeBoy
Tomorrow night.

Are we talking about the same Airdrie?
You will hammer them. laugh.gif
Firhill_Basin
Tomorrow night.

Why type all that when you could have just typed ZZZZZZZZZZZZ?
diamonds2002
I wouldnt cross the road to go to this game - possibly the dullest pre-season friendly in history
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Jul 16 2008, 09:14) *
I wouldnt cross the road to go to this game - possibly the dullest pre-season friendly in history

CODE
We are going to get humped!
tongue.gif
QUOTE (Kevin Mckee is god @ Jul 15 2008, 20:44) *
Bit of a gulf in class between Accies and motherwell these days, can see it being a pretty one sided affair and i'd imagine with Accies squad they will quickly be dispatched back to division 1 after taking a few tankings from Hearts and Motherwell, it's the weakest squad to play in the SPL in many a year.

sort your own problems out first.
diamonds2002
QUOTE (Lazarus @ Jul 16 2008, 09:26) *
CODE
We are going to get humped!
tongue.gif

I couldnt care less tongue.gif
YER SISTERS YER MAW
Tomorrow night.

I'm sure it's £8 for an adult,that seem quite fcukin expensive for a meaningless friendly to me.
YER SISTERS YER MAW
Just wondering if Airdrie are likely to field any new signings tonight or even trialists?

QUOTE (YER SISTERS YER MAW @ Jul 16 2008, 09:55) *
Just wondering if Airdrie are likely to field any new signings tonight or even trialists?

we'll have to...the squad is 14 at the moment....or so I believe.....I may be on the bench.
Stewartl
£8 is quite dear for what will no doubt be a dull affair played in an eary silence as 500 or so souls show up in a 10000 seater. i presume we are all in the main stand btw?
ClydeNewcomer
Airdrie will win.

Don't actually care aslong as you don't associate Clyde with a lanarkshire derby.

Makes me vomit
yummy fur
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Jul 16 2008, 08:14) *

I can understand Accies fans being unimpressed with a pre-season friendly against Airdrie but surely this is a glamour friendly for Airdrie, getting a chance to play against one of the SPl big boys.

For most Accies fans it's the first chance to see and show appreciation to our team since we won the league against Clyde and for the Airdrie fans it's the first chance to show appreciation for the club's uncanny knack of always benefiting from another club's demise.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
For anyone wanting an out-I am one body short for my seven a side team for tonight.All for the princely sum of £2 and a wee shot in goals every so often.
Kevin Mckee is god
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Jul 16 2008, 17:40) *
For anyone wanting an out-I am one body short for my seven a side team for tonight.All for the princely sum of £2 and a wee shot in goals every so often.

Fuken part timer, aye you can go to Hartlepool next week but you cannae go 10 mile away. wink.gif I hope you have paid for that season ticket or the mct's will be out to get you. FTW
diamonds2002
QUOTE (yummy fur @ Jul 16 2008, 14:19) *
I can understand Accies fans being unimpressed with a pre-season friendly against Airdrie but surely this is a glamour friendly for Airdrie, getting a chance to play against one of the SPl big boys.

For most Accies fans it's the first chance to see and show appreciation to our team since we won the league against Clyde and for the Airdrie fans it's the first chance to show appreciation for the club's uncanny knack of always benefiting from another club's demise.

We have played Hamilton 21 times in the last 6 years. It was milding interesting the first time we played you long as it had been so long since we last met but after that it has become possible the dullest fixture on the football calendar.

Kevin Mckee is god
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Jul 16 2008, 17:52) *
We have played Hamilton 21 times in the last 6 years. It was milding interesting the first time we played you long as it had been so long since we last met but after that it has become possible the dullest fixture on the football calendar.

Only 5 times out of those 21 games Airdrie managed to beat us.
RedV
QUOTE (yummy fur @ Jul 16 2008, 14:19) *

But that's precisely what you're not - you are THE SPL minnows this season.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE (Kevin Mckee is god @ Jul 16 2008, 17:43) *
Fuken part timer, aye you can go to Hartlepool next week but you cannae go 10 mile away. wink.gif I hope you have paid for that season ticket or the mct's will be out to get you. FTW

I thought you were paying for it Mr.McKee since you can afford to fill your wheels,pay into Airdrie and pay the yellow-jacketed brigade protection money.Once you wake from your wee North Lanarkshire snooze,you can give a Carrots report.The daily bulletin in the quest for fitness by a reformed character.

Soon to be appearing in an SPL/East Juniors League(delete as appropriate in 3 weeks)ground near you.Carrigan:From Heaven to Hell the blockbusting tale of the man who had it all and drowned in a sea of Cally Specials/Persil before finding redemption in the form of "The Messiah" Billy Badger-brush Reid.

The follow up From Hell To Hamilton is currently panning out as we speak.The starting point is the desolate wastelands of Airdrie's darkest scheme where the only joy is found in the daily toodling of the Sash by the local ice-cream man,Mr Craig Neuk.
Ade Eyemond
F*** me, has it still not dawned on Hamilton fans that we don't give a flying f*** about them ! rolleyes.gif
Perry
For everyone who thought we'd get "pumped" / "humped" etc, it finished 1 nil to the <>'s............ cool.gif
RedV
QUOTE (Perry @ Jul 16 2008, 22:05) *
For everyone who thought we'd get "pumped" / "humped" etc, it finished 1 nil to the <>'s............ cool.gif

Hamilton were truly shite, and for a good 30 minutes at the start of the second half we took them to bits comprehensively.

That'll do.
weigh cider
QUOTE (RedV @ Jul 16 2008, 22:22) *
Hamilton were truly shite, and for a good 30 minutes at the start of the second half we took them to bits comprehensively.

That'll do.

Personally I didn't even think they were as good as that Red V laugh.gif
Perry
QUOTE (RedV @ Jul 16 2008, 22:22) *

That'll do.

Did we play well then Red V, how were Dougal and Cardle on the flanks? Looking forward to seeing them 2 this season, if both play to their potential they could do a bit of damage. What about Di Jac?
Airdrie76
Hamilton are baws. Looks like they've had a clearly much needed kick up the @rse. Who'd have thought that suprise suprise it turns out they are p1sh. One good season in about 40 years and they think they'll be Premier League top 6.

Ah well, no doubt the same "we'll gub you" posters will return in denial to advise it was just a friendly (which wasn't apparent pre-kick off going by the Airdrie are going down threads).

Enjoy a year of getting pumped. Maybe we could have a race to see who gets relegated first?
RedV
QUOTE (Perry @ Jul 16 2008, 22:32) *
Did we play well then Red V, how were Dougal and Cardle on the flanks? Looking forward to seeing them 2 this season, if both play to their potential they could do a bit of damage. What about Di Jac?

Actually, we DID play very well at times, moved the ball about well - we even have some PACE!!

Di Jac was great, won most things in the air, looked hungry - in fact in the new strip he looks just like Owen Coyle smile.gif

McDougall looked good but tired quite early. He put in one sublime ball into the box which very nearly gave us our second goal.

KB made four changes at once for the last half hour which inevitably disrupted the momentum - but we were still far better than Accies.
Owsley
By all accounts it was a very experimental Accies line up with three of our main players from last year missing and a few trialists playing. Not overly worried, last year we lost 2-1 to Halifax while Dunfermline were beating Forest!
Perry
QUOTE (RedV @ Jul 16 2008, 22:36) *
Actually, we DID play very well at times, moved the ball about well - we even have some PACE!!

Di Jac was great, won most things in the air, looked hungry - in fact in the new strip he looks just like Owen Coyle smile.gif

McDougall looked good but tired quite early. He put in one sublime ball into the box which very nearly gave us our second goal.

KB made four changes at once for the last half hour which inevitably disrupted the momentum - but we were still far better than Accies.

Sounds not too bad, i was at Alloa on Monday, wasn't great but thought Cardle was good, really hungry, very direct and looking to shoot at every opportunity which is unusual for us. Add another couple of midfielders and defenders and i'll be quite happy with what we've got.
Perry
QUOTE (RedV @ Jul 16 2008, 22:36) *

Sounds not too bad, i was at Alloa on Monday, wasn't great but thought Cardle was good, really hungry, very direct and looking to shoot at every opportunity which is unusual for us. Add another couple of midfielders and defenders and i'll be quite happy with what we've got.
Perry
Apparently you only need to "Add Reply" once...... rolleyes.gif
Portlander
Like an earlier poster said you cannot read too much into friendlies.
Don't know too much what Accies starting line-up will be but I think big McCulloch will be in for a serious runaround in the SPL looking at the size of his frame.
Of the starting line-up how many Accies regulars were playing?
AirdrieAreAmazing
Who scored for us?, was working didnt have a chance to go mad.gif
weigh cider
QUOTE (AirdrieAreAmazing @ Jul 16 2008, 22:53) *
How scored for us?, was working didnt have a chance to go mad.gif

A guy from that great footballing family pedigree with the surname TRIALIST!!! although I believe he is actually Maguire from Motherwell?
josecomehome
Dull stuff. Hamilton passing the ball around without any real penetration. Airdrie quite sharp on the break. Should have been about 5-2 Airdrie if the teams had taken their chances. Airdrie showed more interest in winning the game and did so.

We found out that Parratt still isn't great at right-back and Waterworth is still rubbish.

RedV
QUOTE (weigh cider @ Jul 16 2008, 22:57) *
A guy from that great footballing family pedigree with the surname TRIALIST!!! although I believe he is actually Maguire from Motherwell?

He had a really good game all round, actually.
weigh cider
QUOTE (Owsley @ Jul 16 2008, 22:41) *
By all accounts it was a very experimental Accies line up with three of our main players from last year missing and a few trialists playing. Not overly worried, last year we lost 2-1 to Halifax while Dunfermline were beating Forest!

And ours wasn't - of course?

Your only kidding yourself as I can assure you you were absolutely rank and will be on the end of regular pumpings on that showing.
josecomehome
Hamilton had 5 outfield players who will be first choice X1 players next season. The other 5 will be playing 2moro night!
Reasonably strong Accies side. No idea who number 7 was.
jester
Hamilton Academicals 0

Get used to seeing it......
jester
QUOTE (Kevin Mckee is god @ Jul 15 2008, 20:44) *
Bit of a gulf in class between Accies and Airdrie these days, can see it being a pretty one sided affair and i'd imagine with Airdries squad they will quickly be dispatched back to division 2 after taking a few tankings from Dundee and St. Johnston, it's the weakest squad to play in the first division in many a year.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Incidentally, Alex Rae was there, doing a bit of writing with a crayon. Looks as if he was working out which Airdrie players he wants to be injured and in which order, for his team talk when they meet us.
A186
QUOTE (Kevin Mckee is god @ Jul 16 2008, 18:07) *
Only 5 times out of those 21 games Airdrie managed to beat us.

rolleyes.gif

Now 6

Reynard
QUOTE (A186 @ Jul 16 2008, 23:53) *
rolleyes.gif

Now 6

At least you won't see anything of KMIG for a while. He disappears when Accies don't do so well.
RedV
QUOTE (Reynard @ Jul 17 2008, 00:02) *
At least you won't see anything of KMIG for a while. He disappears when Accies don't do so well.

Really? I fervently hope they get pumped on a weekly basis then.
Reynard
QUOTE (RedV @ Jul 17 2008, 00:04) *
Really? I fervently hope they get pumped on a weekly basis then.

Yeah he is a bit of a c**t.
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE (weigh cider @ Jul 16 2008, 23:07) *
And ours wasn't - of course?

Your only kidding yourself as I can assure you you were absolutely rank and will be on the end of regular pumpings on that showing.

Anyone who takes any friendly result nearly one month before the start of the season seriously is a pickle short of a cheese sandwich.

Now,if Accies were so rank,they wouldn't be where they are would they?I will judge both teams when the real stuff starts,not in a game like this.

Remember Airdrie beat Accies last pre-season so it is not exactly a pointer.The decision of four of my seven a side team to give this game a bodyswerve seems like a good one now.

I would like to see the score if this game was played in September.Somehow,I think it would be completely different but at the end of the day.if Accies had won 4 or 5 would it matter?

As long as both sides gained fitness and with no injuries gained then it would serve the purpose of both Managers.

That game should have been cheaper anyway.Eight quid for a glorified training session judging by reports is still too much-especially as both sides will be sick of playing each other.Same with the fans.

As for Airdrie fans gloating at a friendly.What sad lives guys.Our club -whether we stay up or not-has an infrastructure in place with off field income and a top notch scouting system which will see us in the SPL quite a few times over the next 10-15 years.

If Gretna didn't fold,it was another hard season in The Seaside League for you guys.Count your lucky stars,you have the chance of making a fist of it this season.
Kevin Mckee is god
QUOTE (Reynard @ Jul 17 2008, 00:02) *

Do i really? biggrin.gif
Was quite a poor game, Accies had plenty possesion and moved the ball about well early on, in fact took airdrie a wee while to get a foot on the ball. Airdrie scored a somewhat scrambled effort from 2 yards, nearest Accies came was a header off the base of the post. Not very much in it actually.

Accies fans like myself were expecting our first choice line up tonight, we got nowhere near it and if folk had known we were going to play 7 guys from our youths in the second half we wouldnt have bothered giving airdrie the £8 admission.

We had 5 or 6 regulars in the line up and finished the match with 3 or maybe 4 tops. The trialist no. 7 was rubbish and two of our youths were like schoolboys.

Airdrie on the other hand were masterfull Dundee would only beat them by 3 or 4 laugh.gif really they are pish Stirling were better by quite a distance.

Anyway its Berwick Away tomorrow where i believe, carrots, lyle, mcarthur and corky might get a game. The reserves and youths should have been playing down there not at Airdrie.
RedV
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Jul 17 2008, 00:16) *
Anyone who takes any friendly result nearly one month before the start of the season seriously is a pickle short of a cheese sandwich.

Now,if Accies were so rank,they wouldn't be where they are would they?I will judge both teams when the real stuff starts,not in a game like this.

Remember Airdrie beat Accies last pre-season so it is not exactly a pointer.The decision of four of my seven a side team to give this game a bodyswerve seems like a good one now.

I would like to see the score if this game was played in September.Somehow,I think it would be completely different but at the end of the day.if Accies had won 4 or 5 would it matter?

As long as both sides gained fitness and with no injuries gained then it would serve the purpose of both Managers.

That game should have been cheaper anyway.Eight quid for a glorified training session judging by reports is still too much-especially as both sides will be sick of playing each other.Same with the fans.

As for Airdrie fans gloating at a friendly.What sad lives guys.Our club -whether we stay up or not-has an infrastructure in place with off field income and a top notch scouting system which will see us in the SPL quite a few times over the next 10-15 years.

If Gretna didn't fold,it was another hard season in The Seaside League for you guys.Count your lucky stars,you have the chance of making a fist of it this season.

All that effort just to look like a total twat.

Ye Olde Hamiltonian
QUOTE (RedV @ Jul 17 2008, 01:02) *

All that effort just to look like a total twat.

When will your side grace the top division again?Yep,the fabled Airdrie youth Academy is fairly churning out top class prospects.Beating a patched up Accies team 1-0 may be as good as it gets as most of the First Division sides appear to have strengthened since last season so it will be harder to stay up.

As for your comment above,it only took one sentence.Can you pass on this fine skill to me please,the next time I am passing.Thanks in anticipation.