sign dave
Jul 15 2008, 14:29
Not sure if this has been done yet as im a new member but....
what would you say your teams goal of the season was last year?
I'd imagine one of saints to be against st mirren as all three were cracking goals.
But if i picked one it would probably be (cant believe im picking him) but john stewarts volley against dundee at home. was a great cross that found him in the open and he just fired with all his power past the the dens keeper!
AlanPartridge
Jul 15 2008, 14:39
QUOTE (sign dave @ Jul 15 2008, 15:29)

Not sure if this has been done yet as im a new member but....
what would you say your teams goal of the season was last year?
I'd imagine one of saints to be against st mirren as all three were cracking goals.
But if i picked one it would probably be (cant believe im picking him) but john stewarts volley against dundee at home. was a great cross that found him in the open and he just fired with all his power past the the dens keeper!
I'd hate to see your worst goal of the season if that was your best.
sign dave
Jul 15 2008, 14:45
QUOTE (AlanPartridge @ Jul 15 2008, 15:39)

I'd hate to see your worst goal of the season if that was your best.
it was probably down to more what the goal meant for the team with you being the opposition!
well excluding that, ill give it to rocco quinn then for his volley against st mirren.
there was jackos that night when sheerin peaso made a great dummy
and also peasos goal itswelf was a great curler.
then theres the goals from the challenge cup final!
Casper Rose
Jul 15 2008, 14:47
McDonalds rasper against Queens Park in the 3-2 game
EdinburghLivi
Jul 15 2008, 16:36
There were plenty of good ones for us last season but a few that stood out were; Liam Fox's belter against Morton (1st Home), Steven Craig's looping half-volley against Stirling (2nd away), Mark Tinkler's 30 yard howitzer (

) against Clyde (2nd away), Dave Mackay's link-up and finish with Dorrans (2nd Home) and Graeme Dorrans/Robert Snodgrass' deflected screamer at Cappielow (2nd away).
As I said, there was plenty of good gosals last season and I really can't remember them all. If I had to pick the best of the bunch it would probably be Craig's. He was shite for the majority of the 2nd half of the season and that probably showed he had some ability and kept him in the team.
smithybby
Jul 15 2008, 18:36
Ryan Mccann from 84 yards

watchin that ball bounce over the line was an incredible moment for every doonhamer
& jim Thomson's equaliser against Rangers in the Cup final

jus 4 the record i am still gutted a man wi such stupid facial hair scored against us.
Nothing stands out in the league apart from Stephen Dobbies's Hat-trick at Cappielow
PTFC27
Jul 15 2008, 19:43
Mark Roberts v Dundee.
die hard doonhamer
Jul 15 2008, 19:52
QUOTE (smithybby @ Jul 15 2008, 19:36)

Ryan Mccann from 84 yards

watchin that ball bounce over the line was an incredible moment for every doonhamer
& jim Thomson's equaliser against Rangers in the Cup final

jus 4 the record i am still gutted a man wi such stupid facial hair scored against us.
Nothing stands out in the league apart from Stephen Dobbies's Hat-trick at Cappielow
Tosher's at Stirling? What a goal that was. McCann's was the best though. And Dobbie at the Saints midweek game.
Dougie Mills
Jul 15 2008, 20:28
Neil MacFarlane's strike in the league opener against St Johnstone was a peach!
miketheheadlesschicken
Jul 15 2008, 20:42
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jul 15 2008, 17:36)

Steven Craig's looping half-volley against Stirling (2nd away), Dave Mackay's link-up and finish with Dorrans (2nd Home)
A half decent keeper, or at least one over 6 foot, would have stopped Craig's volley. Mackay's goal was one of the best team goals I've seen for a few years and was far better. Dorrans also scored a screamer in that game that was better than Craig's.
EdinburghLivi
Jul 15 2008, 20:57
That's probably a fair comment. It was just so accurate compared to what he had been doing in the games before that. IIRC, the Stirling fans were going ape-shit at the rferee because they thought their right-back had got knocked over by one of our players. Play continued, someone took a shot, it bounced out to Crag and he looped it perfectly over the goalie.
And to think, Niz laughed when I called Mackay's goal world-class

. I don't remember Dorrans though that was the time when he was on absolutely astounding form. That game saw his hat-trick as the first for Livi for about four years!
DundeeBoy
Jul 15 2008, 20:59
Kevin McDonald's last minute winner against the Saints.
&
Bob Davidson's 30 or so yard goal against Livvy.
miketheheadlesschicken
Jul 15 2008, 21:14
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jul 15 2008, 21:57)

IIRC, the Stirling fans were going ape-shit at the rferee because they thought their right-back had got knocked over by one of our players.
Pretty sure that was Livi's 1st goal in that game. The one that Dorrans scored that took a ridiculous deflection.
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jul 15 2008, 21:57)

I don't remember Dorrans though that was the time when he was on absolutely astounding form.
To be fair, it was pretty hard to keep count of Livi's goals against us nevermind remember them all.
Accies1
Jul 15 2008, 21:30
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Jul 15 2008, 20:43)

Mark Roberts v Dundee.
Goal of the season without a doubt!
Offiongs goal vs. Dunfermline in that superb 5-0 win at EEP, any Pars fans seen a better goal this season or even in their lifetime?
EdinburghLivi
Jul 15 2008, 22:15
QUOTE (miketheheadlesschicken @ Jul 15 2008, 22:14)

Pretty sure that was Livi's 1st goal in that game. The one that Dorrans scored that took a ridiculous deflection.
To be fair, it was pretty hard to keep count of Livi's goals against us nevermind remember them all.

To be fair, you held your own and gave us a few back. You had actually 8 against us in the four games
Juan Sara
Jul 15 2008, 22:17
Kevin McDonald against Saints on January 2nd. Brilliant strike.
Agree with opening post, that was a good goal.
DundeeBoy
Jul 15 2008, 22:21
QUOTE (Accies1 @ Jul 15 2008, 22:30)

Offiongs goal vs. Dunfermline in that superb 5-0 win at EEP, any Pars fans seen a better goal this season or even in their lifetime?
Arrogant cnut
Just enjoy it while it lasts
Stainrod's Fedora
Jul 15 2008, 23:15
My top five, off the top of my head (may change when I give it more thought) -
Bob Davidson v Livingston (first game at Dens) - 30 yard screamer
Bob Davidson v Livingston (same game) - chipped over defender's head, held off challenge and tucked away
Mikael Antoine-Curier v Livingston (second game at Dens) - bullet into far corner
Kevin McDonald v St Johnstone (first game at Dens) - cool side foot finish into corner, virtually last kick of game
Mikael Antoine-Curier v Morton (second game at Cappielow) - great turn and finish
19QOS19
Jul 15 2008, 23:20
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Jul 16 2008, 00:15)

Bob Davidson v Livingston (same game) - chipped over defender's head, held off challenge and tucked away
Mikael Antoine-Curier v Livingston (second game at Dens) - bullet into far corner
Kevin McDonald v St Johnstone (first game at Dens) - cool side foot finish into corner, virtually last kick of game
Mikael Antoine-Curier v Morton (second game at Cappielow) - great turn and finish
None against QoS?
Stainrod's Fedora
Jul 15 2008, 23:36
Saving them for the coming season (although Bob did crack in a decent winner in the first game at Dens).
As for McCann's 'wonder' goal - I'd expect most professional footballers to find the target (with no defenders or goalie in the way) from that distance.
The circumstances/importance/timing/uniqueness may have made it memorable, but the goal itself was technically nothing special.
RossDFC
Jul 16 2008, 03:47
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Jul 16 2008, 07:15)

I'd agree with those, possibly Swankie's free kick vs. Partick?
PTFC27
Jul 16 2008, 08:15
QUOTE (RossDFC @ Jul 16 2008, 04:47)

I'd agree with those, possibly Swankie's free kick vs. Partick?
Wasn't a great goal just quick thinking and crap positioning from Tuffey.
Grant228
Jul 16 2008, 11:08

Ive seen quite a few good goals this season
And i have definatly seen better in my lifetime yes.
Parscelona
Jul 16 2008, 11:59
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Jul 16 2008, 12:08)

Ive seen quite a few good goals this season
Aye...in the wrong net
Well considering we only scored thirty six goals (the lowest in league unsurprisingly)...I would have to go for Scott Morrison's free kick against Queen of the South.
scottp96
Jul 16 2008, 12:06
From waht I can think of Albertz free kick vs stirling or Clarkes overhead kick vs Airdrie
PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF
Jul 16 2008, 12:53
Anything by Mark Roberts the man can do no wrong, Damon Gray against Rangers or Damon Gray beating the pace of 3 gypos 2 slide home a 4th goal in the 2nd gubbing of the gypos last year
Glesga Frm
Jul 16 2008, 13:00
Damon Grays strike at Ibrox!!
jagsvayne
Jul 16 2008, 13:02
Liam Buchanan's 2nd against Dunfermline in the cup was a neat wee finish. I seem to remember he put it away from a very tight angle. Good goal.
Albertz vs Stirling or Imrie vs Montrose & Accies. Dusan Bestvina scored the best own goal I've ever seen against Alloa.
Grant228
Jul 16 2008, 22:09
QUOTE (Parscelona @ Jul 16 2008, 12:59)

Aye...in the wrong net
Well considering we only scored thirty six goals (the lowest in league unsurprisingly)...I would have to go for Scott Morrison's free kick against Queen of the South. indeed
QUOTE (jagsvayne @ Jul 16 2008, 14:02)

Liam Buchanan's 2nd against Dunfermline in the cup was a neat wee finish. I seem to remember he put it away from a very tight angle. Good goal.
I'm almost positive it would not have went in if it wasn't for the strange bounce it took of the wrecked goalmouth.
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Jul 16 2008, 23:09)

I'm almost positive it would not have went in if it wasn't for the strange bounce it took of the wrecked goalmouth.
Amd we wouldn't have won if the game had ben played on the original date...and...and..and..blah, blah, blah. I don't remember it taking a particularly strange bounce on the way in.
Footage of the game. It's not a bounce that carries the ball in, it's spin.
Yellow Army Faithful
Jul 18 2008, 15:07
Goal of the season?
Well I think Mcdonald's goal against dunfermline in the final was a beaut
But then again so was rocco's against st Mirren
Scofield
Jul 18 2008, 16:49

Offiongs goal was indeed a cracker and it certinly up there. I think, however
this is a better goal that i've seen.
As for our goal of the season, i'd say Mark Burchills run and finish against Partick.
IainMorton
Jul 18 2008, 17:36
Nice to see no Morton fans have posted in this thread yet...
Erm... probably Peter Weatherson's goal at EEP on the second day of the season when we won 1-0. Got the ball halfway inside the Pars half and ran towards goal with the home defenders standing off him, at the edge of the box when he looked like he was gonna turn onto his left foot for a shot, he turned onto his right foot and dinked it over the stranded keeper in off the far post.
Dunning1874
Jul 18 2008, 17:38
Kevin Finlayson on the last day at Firhill.
What a fucking strike.
IainMorton
Jul 18 2008, 17:40
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Jul 18 2008, 18:38)

What a fucking strike.

Or how about the f**k up between Alan Main and the defender at McDairmid Park in December?
Dunning1874
Jul 18 2008, 17:51
QUOTE (IainMorton @ Jul 18 2008, 18:40)

Or how about the f**k up between Alan Main and the defender at McDairmid Park in December?

Oh aye, that certainly goes down as the funniest goal of the season.
Garrowhillclyde
Jul 18 2008, 19:11
QUOTE (scottp96 @ Jul 16 2008, 13:06)

From waht I can think of Albertz free kick vs stirling or Clarkes overhead kick vs Airdrie
That was the exact two I was thinking of. I think Albertz' wins though, if only because his was from so very far out. I remember thinking 'behave yerself' when he was lining it up and lo and behold in it flew. Very memorable.
PTFC27
Jul 18 2008, 22:32

What a fucking strike.

Brilliant strike. Can I point out we weren't trying though.
If Scotland classifies as my 'own' team, it has to be Faddy v France.
SaltyTON
Jul 18 2008, 22:45

What a fucking strike.

Kevin's goal against Thistle, or maybe Brian Graham's goal at Dens.
David W
Jul 19 2008, 08:29
Imrie vs Montrose for me. Albertz' goal was spectacular but I'd never rate a long distance thump over an individual dribble or team goal.
Dark Blue
Jul 19 2008, 11:28
I thought McDonalds strike against Stirling at our 3-1 home win was fell decent.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.