Do you consider yourself as part of the "Tartan Army" or like me, do you consider yourself just a Scotland fan like myself who chooses to act with dignity at Scotland games and do not feel the need to expose yourself, vomit and urinate in public? You decide.
PTFC27
Jul 14 2008, 22:50
Just a Scotland fan.
QUOTE (CRM @ Jul 14 2008, 23:23)

Do you consider yourself as part of the "Tartan Army" or like me, do you consider yourself just a Scotland fan like myself who chooses to act with dignity at Scotland games and do not feel the need to expose yourself, vomit and urinate in public? You decide.
Do we really need another one of these threads?
We've established in the past that the Tartan Army is a collective term for Scotland suppoters, like it or not. We've also established in the past that not every single person at games expose themselves, vomit and urinate in public. We have however established that some do, and certain members of this site take great pleasure in saying so. So do we need another one of the inevitable bitching threads, with the usual suspects inevitably making the same points over and over and over and over and over and over and over again?
For the record, I voted Scotland supporter, as I wouldn't class myself as a 'footsoldier' as it says in the poll - that's just gay.
Michael W
Jul 14 2008, 23:09
I'd say the Tartan Army is a tabloid term for all Scotland fans. I personally see myself as a Scotland fan rather than s a member of the Tartan Army.
Anyway, we've been through this pish before.
3 replies, no bites.
0/10
South Lanarkshire Jag
Jul 15 2008, 01:46

You're part of the "Tartan Army" so don't deny it
I'm a Scotland fan thanks and proud
get a proper job and stop working in Sainsburys with a shitty stupid looking haircut
YER SISTERS YER MAW
Jul 15 2008, 08:30
I have not worn tartan to a Scotland game in many years but i don't consider myself to be less patriotic because of this.I havn't been a travel club member since about 2000 either.I went to Wembley at euro 96 and i don't think i've missed a home qualifying tie since then.I also travelled to France 98 and attend most home friendlies.
The answer to your question is "Who gives a fcuk",i will always support my country no matter what.
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
Jul 15 2008, 08:51
I think it's a disgrace our national team has been hijacked by a bunch of cretins.
The whole national football voice is drowned out by around 20thousand halfwits and all we can do is stand back and watch.
Sad really.
Jordo1872
Jul 15 2008, 09:33
This is getting really boring now. Obviously a fishing attempt, and a poor one at that.
The Tartan Army is a media coined phrase for a collective group of Scotland fans. Like it or not. Do I class myself as a member of the Tartan Army? Yes. Does it bother me that some anonymous(sp) muppets on a football website dont like the term? Nope
Neilly
Jul 15 2008, 09:38
You've made your point a millions times before CRM it's so fucking boring.
glasnost
Jul 15 2008, 09:39
I am surprised that Scotland fans seem quite happy to be named after a violent Scottish Nationalist Group (or terrorists as they would be called by many on here) that operated in the early 70's.
Jordo1872
Jul 15 2008, 09:42
QUOTE (glasnost @ Jul 15 2008, 10:39)

I am surprised that Scotland fans seem quite happy to be named after a violent Scottish Nationalist Group (or terrorists as they would be called by many on here) that operated in the early 70's.
And i'm not surprised that Celtic fans support a terrorist group, glorifying the slaughter of innocent women and children.
Bit off topic mind. Back to your slum
glasnost
Jul 15 2008, 10:03
QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Jul 15 2008, 10:42)

And i'm not surprised that Celtic fans support a terrorist group, glorifying the slaughter of innocent women and children.
Bit off topic mind. Back to your slum

Celtic fans don't glorify the slaughter of innocent women and children.
Back back on topic - as I say, I am surprised that Scotland fans seem quite happy to be named after a violent Scottish Nationalist Group (or terrorists as they would be called by many on here) that operated in the early 70's.
Or maybe I shouldn't be surprised?
Jul 15 2008, 10:08
a bunch of unelected unrepresentative fandans masquerading as working in the interests of the national team when they have only self interest at heart.
some very laudable charity work but that has nowt to do with the issue.......
I'm a fan of the national team and they do not speak for me yet somehow a few vocal arseholes have crteated a platform to spout from.
Jordo1872
Jul 15 2008, 10:17
QUOTE (glasnost @ Jul 15 2008, 11:03)

Celtic fans don't glorify the slaughter of innocent women and children.
Back back on topic - as I say, I am surprised that Scotland fans seem quite happy to be named after a violent Scottish Nationalist Group (or terrorists as they would be called by many on here) that operated in the early 70's.
Or maybe I shouldn't be surprised?
The term 'Tartan Army' was created by the media and I don't know of anyone who would ever relate the two. Unless of course your in the frame of mind where Football and terrorist organisations mix...!
QUOTE (The Ghost of Ron Burgundy @ Jul 15 2008, 11:08)

a bunch of unelected unrepresentative fandans masquerading as working in the interests of the national team when they have only self interest at heart.
some very laudable charity work but that has nowt to do with the issue.......
I'm a fan of the national team and they do not speak for me yet somehow a few vocal arseholes have crteated a platform to spout from.
Granted I do take exeption when I read things in the paper such as 'Tartan Army spokesman...<insert self appointed [email="tw@t"]tw@t[/email] here>'. These people dont speak for me or any of my mates but again its probably something thats orchastrated by the media.
Serious question, why does it bother you so much? I've followed Scotland for years and yes there is an element of attention seeking idiots, as there is in any large following (type manchester riots into Google for example

) I also meet alot of decent, friendly football supporters who choose to follow the national team (thats Scotland in case Glasnot gets confused) regardless of what their called.
Live and let live eh?!
Jul 15 2008, 10:20
QUOTE (Jordo1872 @ Jul 15 2008, 11:17)

The term 'Tartan Army' was created by the media and I don't know of anyone who would ever relate the two. Unless of course your in the frame of mind where Football and terrorist organisations mix...!
Granted I do take exeption when I read things in the paper such as 'Tartan Army spokesman...<insert self appointed [email="tw@t"]tw@t[/email] here>'. These people dont speak for me or any of my mates but again its probably something thats orchastrated by the media.
Serious question, why does it bother you so much? I've followed Scotland for years and yes there is an element of attention seeking idiots, as there is in any large following (type manchester riots into Google for example

) I also meet alot of decent, friendly football supporters who choose to follow the national team (thats Scotland in case Glasnot gets confused) regardless of what their called.
Live and let live eh?!
I cannot get to a scotland game and have little chance of getting to one at any time in the foreseeable.....
I was given the opportunity to go the UEFA cup final by want of a public ballot......seesm fair that there is a public ballot for a uefa final in scotland yet none, of any meaningful size, for scotlands home games.
Some folk seem to think that attending away games ENTITLES them to absolute access to scotland games...I do not believe this to be fair or right.
glasnost
Jul 15 2008, 10:26

The Tartan Army were a violent Scottish Nationalist Group (or terrorists as they would be called by many on here) that operated in the early 70's.
When did the media create this term?
now I'm just a scotland fan, but in autumn I'll go to Hampden and then I'll see if the famous Tartn Army is the right thing for me
QUOTE (South Lanarkshire Jag @ Jul 15 2008, 02:46)

get a proper job and stop working in Sainsburys with a shitty stupid looking haircut

What and work in Tesco?

I won't even go into your "haircuts" at school!
ClydeNewcomer
Jul 15 2008, 11:07
Just a Scotland fan.
I am more of a fan than any of the tartan army anyway.
In the scale of things the tartan army make up about 0.5% of scotlands potential support.
End of story.
Tartan army member is someone with a kilt and a hat with a feather in it. If you havn't got that then you are just a normal scotland fan
Oh dear. I fear some people here might be getting court-martialled and banned from the next qualifying group manoevres.
QUOTE (glasnost @ Jul 15 2008, 10:39)

Aye, because a terrorist organisation has any relevance to football or supporting your national football team.
None of yer terrorism pish here, thanks. Keep the glorification of baby killers out of football (or within Parkhead)
Gallacticos
Jul 15 2008, 11:36
How stupid is this thread?
(A lot stupid)
For the record, I'd consider myself both. I like to dress a bit ridiculous for Scotland games, with my Lion Rampant cape, Scotland shirt and a kilt, because they're such a one-off occasion, but I wouldn't say I urinate in public, drink too much and generally cause mayhem. I have no problem being classed as a Scotland fan nor would I have a problem being a Tartan Army footsoldier.
I don't get the negativity at all. If you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all, you know?
Hitcher
Jul 15 2008, 12:20

I am a Scotland fan.
You, sir, need to change the fu
cking record.
QUOTE (Gallacticos @ Jul 15 2008, 12:36)

I don't get the negativity at all. If you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all, you know?
You're not very big on balance are you?
Makoliunas
Jul 15 2008, 12:40
Neither. Why isn't that an option?
glasnost
Jul 15 2008, 12:42
QUOTE (H_B @ Jul 15 2008, 13:34)

It seems to be a recurring theme on here. Don’t dare speak any evil of the Tartan Army.
Gallacticos
Jul 15 2008, 13:17
QUOTE (H_B @ Jul 15 2008, 13:34)

There's very little balance on Pie & Bovril, I've found
QUOTE (Gallacticos @ Jul 15 2008, 14:17)

There's very little balance on Pie & Bovril, I've found
Then you aren't looking hard enough.
There are for and against arguments on almost every topic.
I am a Scotland supporter, and I attend games, what I don't do though is dress in a kilt and football top. I attend Scotland games and act in the same way I do when attending St.Mirren games. I wouldn't call myself a Tartan Army member any more than I would claim to be part of the Supras.
Rovers_Lad
Jul 15 2008, 14:17

Hes not a self appointed twat.Hes appointed by ATAC and speaks on behalf of these clubs which represents approx 1500 supporters.He does not speak on behalf on anyone else
Scotland supporter/Tartan Army,both.
GIRUY dissenters
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Jul 15 2008, 15:17)

Hes not a self appointed twat.Hes appointed by ATAC
What is ATAC? Who is "he"? Was there a ballot?
Is ATAC deliberately named to align itself with the whole martial thing?
Rovers_Lad
Jul 15 2008, 14:42
Affiliation of Tartan Army Clubs
Was there a ballot?
Yes,did you not get vote?
QUOTE (Rovers_Lad @ Jul 15 2008, 15:42)

Affiliation of Tartan Army Clubs
Yes,did you not get vote?
Sadly, the voting form confused me.
Is Hamish the Husband the holder of this post?
Rovers_Lad
Jul 15 2008, 15:35
He is indeed.
I'm sure he is doing a fine job. I do remember this quote from him (concerning a possible 2016 host bid) :-
Tartan Army spokesman Hamish Husband said: "Scotland fans, the best fans in the world, party everywhere we go and are fantastic ambassadors for Scotland when abroad.
"We feel its our turn to host the party and would like to welcome all football fans to Scotland in 2016, should we go for it.
"David Taylor was the driving factor behind the Euro 2008 bid. We are confident his successor, with the backing of Alex Salmond, the Scottish government, the Tartan Army and the people of Scotland, will push on with a successful Scotland Euro 2016 Campaign and bring the tournament to Scotland, the hame of fitba."
Mmmm. "Hame of fitba" eh?
FilthyMack
Jul 15 2008, 17:58
How many 30,000 seater stadiums will we be short of by the time the tournament's expanded to 24 teams in 2016 anyhoo?
raith_94
Jul 15 2008, 18:08
QUOTE (Paco @ Jul 15 2008, 00:04)

Do we really need another one of these threads?
We've established in the past that the Tartan Army is a collective term for Scotland suppoters, like it or not. We've also established in the past that not every single person at games expose themselves, vomit and urinate in public. We have however established that some do, and certain members of this site take great pleasure in saying so. So do we need another one of the inevitable bitching threads, with the usual suspects inevitably making the same points over and over and over and over and over and over and over again?
For the record, I voted Scotland supporter, as I wouldn't class myself as a 'footsoldier' as it says in the poll - that's just gay.
What he said.
QUOTE (FilthyMack @ Jul 15 2008, 18:58)

How many 30,000 seater stadiums will we be short of by the time the tournament's expanded to 24 teams in 2016 anyhoo?
Yeah, that little bit of information has been conveniently overlooked by most publications.
Slightly better chance of qualifying, norfolk in chance of ever hosting it now.
chics bunnet
Jul 16 2008, 09:36
I've been to loads of home and away Scotland games over the years and have never come across any of the 'upsetting' antics (p*shing in the middle of streets in broad daylight,frightening kids and women etc) that would appear to be 'widespread' and that gives Scotland and our support a 'bad name' around the world (WTF??!!). What a load of total and absolute bollox. Its obvious that some posters get tremendously bent out of shape over the square root of f**k all. Who gives a flyer wether someone wears a kilt or a pair of ferkin jeans to a football match? I couldn't give a toss if the bloke next to me is wearing a glengarry with half a pheasant attached to it or nothing mentioning the national team at all. CRM why don't you take this up face to face instead of hiding on the internet? Oh, don't tell me those nasty, vicious, violent hooligans from the 'Tartan Army' will hold you down, p*sh in yir mouth and give you one up the 'council gritter' while lots of upset women and kids watch.
QUOTE (chics bunnet @ Jul 16 2008, 10:36)

that would appear to be 'widespread' and that gives Scotland and our support a 'bad name' around the world
As you've used quotation marks, can you tell us what particular quotes "widespread" and "bad name" came from?
Jul 16 2008, 10:21
QUOTE (H_B @ Jul 16 2008, 10:45)

As you've used quotation marks, can you tell us what particular quotes "widespread" and "bad name" came from?
glasnost
Jul 16 2008, 10:22

CRM why don't you take this up face to face instead of hiding on the internet?
In other words - don't dare speak any evil of the Tartan Army on here.
Version No. 345
P.S. What's your favourite film chic - See No Evil, Hear No Evil?
Jul 16 2008, 10:26
Makoliunas
Jul 16 2008, 12:38

...don't tell me those nasty, vicious, violent hooligans from the 'Tartan Army' will hold you down, p*sh in yir mouth and give you one up the 'council gritter' while lots of upset women and kids watch.
More like gather in a circle around him and try to turn him into a human digestive, I'd guess.
AldoLeon
Jul 16 2008, 12:50
I would love to be a member of the Tartan Army - they are known throughout the world as being the best support in the world. We should all be proud of them. However it is within the Scottish's character to be critizes anything we have in our society which is good.
But I am only a Scottish support as I dont go to every match, I can't afford to go abroad to watch them and I don't suit tartan - so I can't join this great army at the current time.
Jul 16 2008, 12:52
QUOTE (AldoLeon @ Jul 16 2008, 13:50)

I would love to be a member of the Tartan Army - they are known throughout the world as being the best support in the world. We should all be proud of them. However it is within the Scottish's character to be critizes anything we have in our society which is good.
But I am only a Scottish support as I dont go to every match, I can't afford to go abroad to watch them and I don't suit tartan - so I can't join this great army at the current time.
you certainly appear to have the main attribute for membership.

so I can't join this great army at the current time.
Maybe there is a reservist movement you can join.
Kindof like a Home Guard.
ClydeNewcomer
Jul 16 2008, 12:53

Absolutely correct.
We love critisising ourselves mainly. We all care when it boils down to it. Extremely passionette when we need to be but over critical the rest of the time.
We have always been like this and always will
Makoliunas
Jul 16 2008, 12:53

ClydeNewcomer
Jul 16 2008, 12:54
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 16 2008, 13:53)

bolt ya lithuanian tosser
glasnost
Jul 16 2008, 13:05

I would love to be a member of the Tartan Army - they are known throughout the world as being the best support in the world.
Half true. They are known throughout the world (you got that bit right) as a group of embarrassing, cringeworthy, attention seeking supporters.

That’s heartbreaking. This closed shop nature of the tartan army which has resulted in you being unable to be part of it is quite tragic.
I’d write a strongly worded letter to Hamish Husband.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.