Kircer bairn
Jul 14 2008, 19:14
Seeing all the weeping and wailing down Easter Road way does get one thinking about whether our beloved bairns would have made a better fist of things against the swedes than Mixu's turnips!!!!!!!!!!!
Maybe our slick European passing game and the experience of seasoned campaigners such as McNamara and McCann would have given us a head start agains the kick and rush tactics the Old Reekie Green and Whites employ.............or is that me just seeing things from blue (navy) tinted specs?
Follow Follow
Jul 14 2008, 19:16
Kind of pointless question, Hibs qualififed - you never.
Who's to know what would have happened, I think the fact the Swede's are in full flow of their season the now defo helped them - add to the fact Hibs are pretty rank then its no wonder they won!
Szamo's_Ammo
Jul 14 2008, 19:19
QUOTE (Kircer bairn @ Jul 14 2008, 20:14)

Maybe our slick European passing game...
This is beginning to become as cliched as when Hibs were the Real Madrid of Scotland. I must be missing this amazing football that Falkirk play.
You would have maybe lost by only 3, because you have a better goalkeeper.
EricWimp
Jul 14 2008, 19:23
Hibs are an embarrassment.. intertoto failure = international ridicule
Hello btw

Seeing all the weeping and wailing down Easter Road way does get one thinking about whether our beloved bairns would have made a better fist of things against the swedes than Mixu's turnips!!!!!!!!!!!
Maybe our slick European passing game and the experience of seasoned campaigners such as McNamara and McCann would have given us a head start agains the kick and rush tactics the Old Reekie Green and Whites employ.............or is that me just seeing things from blue (navy) tinted specs?
I dunno, but I'm guessing the Hibs fans would've put this in the correct forum.
Scots in Europe for this pish
The big chair
Jul 14 2008, 19:29

No, the Bairns always bottle it in important cup ties
degenerated
Jul 14 2008, 19:33
QUOTE (EricWimp @ Jul 14 2008, 20:23)

Hibs
are an embarrassment.. intertoto failure = international ridicule
Hello btw

you have cheek to level that statement at anyone given the way you conducted yoursleves in manchester, or was some chelsea headhunters that did it and ran away

it would have been Elfsborg 8 Falkirk 0 on aggregate.
EricWimp
Jul 14 2008, 19:40
QUOTE (degenerated @ Jul 14 2008, 20:33)

you have cheek to level that statement at anyone given the way you conducted yoursleves in manchester, or was some chelsea headhunters that did it and ran away
No one told me we were talking about their fans
Makoliunas
Jul 14 2008, 20:06
I have no doubts that Falkirk would have done better than Hivs, as they are a superior side at the moment and play better football than Hivs' industrial hoofball. The two are similarly sized clubs.
Rory89
Jul 14 2008, 20:10
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 14 2008, 21:06)

The two are similarly sized clubs.
Must try harder.
Makoliunas
Jul 14 2008, 20:32
QUOTE (Rory89 @ Jul 14 2008, 21:10)

Must try harder.
You're all wee diddy teams to Scotland's Big Three.
yogisbairns
Jul 14 2008, 21:48
Don't think we'd have done any better than Hibs. Given the fact that Elfsborg are a good team by the looks of it and the fact that they hit the ground running. It would have been a hard task for any provincial Scottish club to get a result.
MattBairn
Jul 14 2008, 22:02
QUOTE (Follow Follow @ Jul 14 2008, 20:16)

Kind of pointless question, Hibs qualififed - you never.
Who's to know what would have happened, I think the fact the Swede's are in full flow of their season the now defo helped them - add to the fact Hibs are pretty rank then its no wonder they won!
Agreed.
Pointless question and no way to know the answer.
Sauzee#4
Jul 14 2008, 22:56
Simple answer...
Naw...
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 14 2008, 21:32)

You're all wee diddy teams to Scotland's Big Three.
Stop trying to drag Aberdeen into this.
Hughsie
Jul 15 2008, 12:05
I have no idea whether or not we'd have done better and I don't really care. Falkirk WILL finish above Hibs in the league this year however, of that I am certain.
Makoliunas
Jul 15 2008, 12:32
QUOTE (AndyM @ Jul 15 2008, 10:44)

Stop trying to drag Aberdeen into this.
Sorry, you're right.
All of you except Abergreen are wee diddy teams to Scotland's Big Three, Aberdeen are just slightly outside the elite group.
HanoMaSano
Jul 15 2008, 12:42
QUOTE (Hughsie @ Jul 15 2008, 13:05)

I have no idea whether or not we'd have done better and I don't really care. Falkirk WILL finish above Hibs in the league this year however, of that I am certain.
I reckon this is a distinct possibility, Falkirk will be top 6 this year at the expense of Hibs.
I was really disappointed when we didnt get the InterToto place.
Now it's looking like a blessing in disguise. We'd have lost to Elfsborg and have had to start pre season earlier than we wanted to.
latapythelegend
Jul 16 2008, 16:34
ive got a feeling we will have some sort of success in at least the cups or by qualifying for europe threw league placing.shame we cant do the treble this year(scottish cup, cis cup & stirlingshire cup)coz the stirlingshire cup has been cancelled so we will just have to settle for the double
airdrieman
Aug 5 2008, 14:53
they would have done better but still went out
BadgersNadgers
Aug 5 2008, 19:05
Would the Gers have done better than the Hibbies?

:D
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.