Full Version: Halliwell Signs
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
QosLoyal
for queens! at least now we have 1 goalkeeper in place
HulltoonPehShop
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Jul 12 2008, 16:13) *
for queens! at least now we have 1 goalkeeper in place
I think Queens will need TWO goalkeepers in every game to keep up with Dundee and Saints this season. I can't see anything other than a 1-2 for us and Saints.
FC_1919
QUOTE (HulltoonPehShop @ Jul 12 2008, 16:15) *
I think Queens will need TWO goalkeepers in every game to keep up with Dundee and Saints this season. I can't see anything other than a 1-2 for us and Saints.

rolleyes.gif

Happy enough with the signing.
Stainrod's Fedora

Now that was a bit of a foolish thing to say in a Queen's thread, considering the damage they have inflicted on us recently, wasn't it...? dry.gif
19QOS19

Fud. We owned you last season and if I'm being honest, with the signings Dundee have made SO FAR it wouldn't surprise me if that's the case again next season!

QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Jul 12 2008, 16:19) *
Now that was a bit of a foolish thing to say in a Queen's thread, considering the damage they have inflicted on us recently, wasn't it...? dry.gif

Spot on mate. Someone who talks from their mouth and not their erse!

On topic. Can't say I'm overly excited about that signing but I have faith in Chisholm and maybe Queens could be a good move for him.
QosLoyal

laugh.gif put a donk in it!!
19QOS19
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Jul 12 2008, 16:28) *
laugh.gif put a donk in it!!

You wereny at the lochside tavern last night were you?!
QosLoyal
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 12 2008, 16:32) *
You wereny at the lochside tavern last night were you?!

laugh.gif nah mate a wasnt! was in jaks!
Accies1
An excellent signing for Queens in my opinion. He's a very talented goalkeeper, has his moments though. Played very very well for us in the first half of the season and then a poor performance against St. Johnstone and he was dropped. Still a very capable goalkeeper and he's slowly getting back to the excellet form he showed at Clyde earlier in his career. So in my opinion this is a very good signing.
19QOS19
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Jul 12 2008, 16:43) *
laugh.gif nah mate a wasnt! was in jaks!

A was in there after the tavern. Just that I was playing pool in the tavern and on the darts chalk board someone had written PUT A DONK ON IT! laugh.gif
QosLoyal
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 12 2008, 16:48) *
A was in there after the tavern. Just that I was playing pool in the tavern and on the darts chalk board someone had written PUT A DONK ON IT! laugh.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif class! the songs actually quite good!
silvery tay
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Jul 12 2008, 16:19) *

Lightening disna strike twice does it, well does it, damit answer me aw feck it sad.gif
silvery tay
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 12 2008, 16:27) *
Fud. We owned you last season and if I'm being honest, with the signings Dundee have made SO FAR it wouldn't surprise me if that's the case again next season!

Spot on mate. Someone who talks from their mouth and not their erse!

On topic. Can't say I'm overly excited about that signing but I have faith in Chisholm and maybe Queens could be a good move for him.

Tell the truth now you did not own us rolleyes.gif
HulltoonPehShop
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jul 12 2008, 17:36) *
Those fools probably believe they can win the league, they won't finish in the top two.
Scott_L
He always played well against Gretna, one game in particular stands out when he was playing for Dunfermline when they beat us 1-0 in the CIS cup. He was awesome that night and made 4 or 5 world class saves and we just couldn't get the ball past him and Dunfermline scraped a 1-0 win. I remember him playing against is for St Johnstone near the end of the season when we won the 1st division and I was suprised they dumped him for Main.

Seemingly he can be a bit error prone but on the occasions I've seen him he's been very good. Queens could be dark horses this year...
19QOS19
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jul 12 2008, 17:33) *
Lightening disna strike twice does it, well does it, damit answer me aw feck it sad.gif

Struck 4 times for you lot last time against us.

Your record against QoS last season.

Dundee W D L F A PTS
1 0 4 5 9 3

I don't think you could say overall our head to heads were close!

QUOTE (HulltoonPehShop @ Jul 12 2008, 17:37) *
Those fools probably believe they can win the league, they won't finish in the top two.

It's just as laughable if you think Dundee can win it next season. You are hardly miles ahead of QoS in quality!
BluebirdTon
No real surprises there.

Whatever one of the remaining two that you don't sign will probably sign for us - assuming we aren't tieing down Bradley on a contract.
Lando Griffin
Was there not an incident either last season or the season before where Halliwell did a "BJ Corr" and let the Palmerston crowd know exactly how he felt about them?

Changed days!
FC_1919

rolleyes.gif
We clearly did.

QUOTE (HulltoonPehShop @ Jul 12 2008, 17:37) *

No I don't think we will win the title. But we did clearly "own" you, you are weakend from last year. We shall see when the season kicks off.
Tubbs
A good keeper you can get better if he retains his confidence.

Great shot stopper but average kicking and staying on his line too often can undermine him.
kirkyblue2
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Jul 12 2008, 18:10) *

Great shot stopper but average kicking and staying on his line too often can undermine him.

Sounds like Jamie MacDonald MK2.
gatehouseqos
QUOTE (kirkyblue2 @ Jul 12 2008, 18:17) *
Sounds like Jamie MacDonald MK2.

I heard we are still trying to get him back.
kirkyblue2
QUOTE (gatehouseqos @ Jul 12 2008, 18:35) *
I heard we are still trying to get him back.

Wonder who would be 1st choice.
19QOS19
QUOTE (kirkyblue2 @ Jul 12 2008, 18:44) *
Wonder who would be 1st choice.

Needless question rolleyes.gif
Fife Saint
Where now for Kev Cuthbert?
19QOS19
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Jul 12 2008, 19:14) *
Where now for Kev Cuthbert?

Still think he'll sign tbh. Unless he wants a sh$tload of money which again tbh he isn't worth!
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
Halliwell looked in with the bricks pre New Year at Accies.He wasn't doing much wrong,but Cerny had to be patient for a chance and seized it when he got it.

Good shot stopper,but like most keepers at this level he has one or two faults-coming off his line for a start.However,his reflex save at Broadwood when Accies were already two down and his penalty save were probably the moments which helped to decide the destiny of the title.

Accies regained our confidence after that game and that was in no small part to the contribution made by Bryn that day.For that Accies fans should be eternally grateful to the guy.I know I am.

Surprised he left,perhaps more to it than we know?Who knows?.On form will do well for Queens with Big Jim offering protection in front of him.Clearly a confidence player and the last thing he needs is the fans to get on his back.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 12 2008, 19:40) *
Still think he'll sign tbh. Unless he wants a sh$tload of money which again tbh he isn't worth!

Cuthbert has gone. He won't be signing.
19QOS19
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jul 12 2008, 20:03) *
Cuthbert has gone. He won't be signing.

Do you think it will be Esson then Drifter? Or is there any truth in the rumour about McDonald coming back?
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 12 2008, 20:05) *
Do you think it will be Esson then Drifter? Or is there any truth in the rumour about McDonald coming back?

So far as I am aware Esson has also gone. I think if either was in any way likely to be coming then they'd have been sitting on the bench at least today.

Neither I nor anyone else will know anything much about Jamie MacDonald since Hearts haven't had a manager until yesterday. In any event under the rules he can't come back on a season loan. Half season yes but I don't see the point in borrowing a keeper for half a season.
19QOS19
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Jul 12 2008, 19:57) *
Halliwell looked in with the bricks pre New Year at Accies.He wasn't doing much wrong,but Cerny had to be patient for a chance and seized it when he got it.

Good shot stopper,but like most keepers at this level he has one or two faults-coming off his line for a start.However,his reflex save at Broadwood when Accies were already two down and his penalty save were probably the moments which helped to decide the destiny of the title.

Accies regained our confidence after that game and that was in no small part to the contribution made by Bryn that day.For that Accies fans should be eternally grateful to the guy.I know I am.

Surprised he left,perhaps more to it than we know?Who knows?.On form will do well for Queens with Big Jim offering protection in front of him.Clearly a confidence player and the last thing he needs is the fans to get on his back.

Why is Barry John Corr springing to mind?! sad.gif
19QOS19
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jul 12 2008, 20:07) *
So far as I am aware Esson has also gone. I think if either was in any way likely to be coming then they'd have been sitting on the bench at least today.

Neither I nor anyone else will know anything much about Jamie MacDonald since Hearts haven't had a manager until yesterday. In any event under the rules he can't come back on a season loan. Half season yes but I don't see the point in borrowing a keeper for half a season.

Aye that's true!

Love to think Jamie Mac would come back! Either way we definately need another keeper!
Mon The Clyde
Fantastic keeper at Clyde. Still think he ruined himself by sitting on the Dunfermline bench most of the season.

Should be a good signing for Queen's.
Doonhamered
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jul 12 2008, 20:07) *

Was Cuthbert not on the bench yesterday? I'm quite sure I saw a substitute goalkeeper.
a_mac
Happy with the signing, definitely need another quality keeper in the ranks.
Jim Pansy
A brutal keeper, or at least every time I have seen him he has thrown in a goal. Likewise Cuthbert, two guys who keep getting contracts and I have absolutely no idea why.
gatehouseqos
QUOTE (Doonhamered @ Jul 13 2008, 01:26) *
Was Cuthbert not on the bench yesterday? I'm quite sure I saw a substitute goalkeeper.

No, there was a young boy on the bench
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (Doonhamered @ Jul 13 2008, 01:26) *

The substitute keeper yesterday was Andrew Boyd from the u16's squad.
FCUnited
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 12 2008, 19:08) *
Why is Barry John Corr springing to mind?! sad.gif

All goalkeepers rely on confidence to be a success, its a specialist position and the position where if you make one mistake then ultimately it leads to a goal so if keepers make mistakes and the fans get on their backs its no wonder they go through a bad patch, BJ corr was an excellent keeper before he joined us in much the same mould as halliwell and was prone to an error or 2 which most keepers are lets be honest. Corr was just unfortunate that he never regained confidence for what reason i dont know and i believe he has now retired at the age of 27 which in my opinion is still a goalkeepers teenage years. i think halliwell will be excellent for us and we could not now justify signing cuthbert or esson after all we could not afford to pay a backup keeper 800 quid a week to sit on the bench.

i also heard ths rumour about jamie macdonald and to be honest i really dont see the point and i certainly woudnt see the point in signing halliwell if this was in anyway true. i have heard however previous to halliwell signing that we would sign one of the 3 trailist keepers and we have the option of signing a young motherwell keeper who has also played for celtic, there were no names giving.
Grant228
Who was in goals for Queens on the last day of the season?
gatehouseqos
QUOTE (Grant228 @ Jul 13 2008, 12:41) *
Who was in goals for Queens on the last day of the season?

Stephen Grindlay
KingfaetheSooth
Halliwell is prone to spells of inconsistency and can lack confidence. I'm not sure he has the strength of character needed to perform any higher than SF1 and I have my doubts about him at this level too. I never rated him that highly when I watched him for Wimbledon Youth teams and I've not changed my mind having watched him quite a few times in Scotland.

Time will tell...good luck to him.
Radford
Having seen both Halliwell and Cuthbert in action for Saints, I know who would have been the safer option, and Queens haven't taken it. KC lacks a bit of presence and isn't a Hollywood goalkeeper but he's far more reliable than Halliwell. If we'd had Cuthbert in goal for the whole of 2006/07, I'm certain we'd have won the league. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a massive fan of KC but I'm even less of a fan of Bombscare Bryn.

I did think Ryan Esson would show himself to be better than both though.
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (Radford @ Jul 14 2008, 09:23) *
Having seen both Halliwell and Cuthbert in action for Saints, I know who would have been the safer option, and Queens haven't taken it. KC lacks a bit of presence and isn't a Hollywood goalkeeper but he's far more reliable than Halliwell. If we'd had Cuthbert in goal for the whole of 2006/07, I'm certain we'd have won the league. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a massive fan of KC but I'm even less of a fan of Bombscare Bryn.

I did think Ryan Esson would show himself to be better than both though.

I'd agree with that. Not every confident if Halliwell starts the season as Queens number one, hope we are looking for another more proven stopper.

I have a feeling that money may have played a role in either/both Esson or Cuthbert signing for Queens though. Halliwell would be the cheapest of the three options I reckon.
Ross
He's only there for back up wink.gif

Just keep watching this space
KingfaetheSooth
QUOTE (Hiro @ Jul 14 2008, 11:35) *
He's only there for back up wink.gif

Just keep watching this space

Good stuff. Perhaps Jamie joining FT or another decent loanee, like the kid rumoured from Killie?

Happy to have Halliwell on the bench. smile.gif
FC_1919
QUOTE (KingfaetheSooth @ Jul 14 2008, 12:59) *
Good stuff. Perhaps Jamie joining FT or another decent loanee, like the kid rumoured from Killie?

Happy to have Halliwell on the bench. smile.gif

He was at Annan on Friday night, more to do with the fact he is from Annan though I think.
Grant228
QUOTE (gatehouseqos @ Jul 13 2008, 13:06) *
Stephen Grindlay

Couldn't you just have stuck with im in goals?
bluntstuds
QUOTE (FC_1919 @ Jul 14 2008, 13:48) *
He was at Annan on Friday night, more to do with the fact he is from Annan though I think.

why so coy? is there something wrong with saying his name? cameron bell would be a great asset if he's now fully fit. oops, have i said too much?
louisxiv
QUOTE (Tubbs @ Jul 12 2008, 18:10) *

I thought his kicking was pretty good on Saturday at Annan.