Full Version: Embarassed For Your Own Fans! ...
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
19QOS19
Have you ever been to a ground watching your team and there has been a fan in your section that has made you actually feel embarassed for them?? Actions or what they said etc.

I can't think off the top of my head anything that has been said but I can remember up at Stirling last year there was a guy in the next section across from me who had been giving Tosher pelters all game. (for what reason I don't know as he was playing well!) Needless to say Tosher scored a screamer minutes after he had given a monologue on my he should not have been playing! I was sitting next to my mate and his brother and they went apesh%t and nearly flew for this guy when the ball went in! From then on he was "never in doubt" of Tosher's abilitys!
Stainrod's Fedora
It happens at just about every game for us.

Nizzy
I can't remember being embarrassed for an individual fan, but I recall being embarrassed by the group of supporters that went to the Clyde/Inverness Caley game. Cringeworthy stuff that came back to bite them on the arse. They were even savaged in a national newspaper at the time.
campbell must go
I remember a few years ago at Perth we were having a bit of banter with Andy Rhodes.There was this one guy who was mostly pissed,that decided it would be a laugh to throw a toilet roll on he pitch,pretty harmless i admit but he then put in a complaint to the Police when the keeper pretended to wipe his arse with it and throw it back.Don't know if this guy still goes to games but he was a regular source of embarresment.
Nizzy
The guys that complained about Simmons in the immediate aftermath of his 'cigar' celebration were pretty embarrassing. The twat got himself booked, what more did they want?
sign dave
god where do i start?

saints fans are always arguin amoungst each other. last time, admitilly it was my fault. i shouted something against alan main due the many times he got lobbed, some fans starting shouting at me saying i should back the team, a couple of others backed me up n said he was s**t, (he did cause a lot of problems for us)

mind once there was a couple of drunks right behind me (sounded like old firm supporters) just saying all the way through the game to each other "ah this is s**t, wana go to the 208, how can people pay for this etc) and just would not shut up!

saints fans are forever getting kicked out of the ground at home games just for even thinking about standing up which always gives the away support something to laf at us about.

any more?....
O'Rourke
I can recall an erse giving wee Allan Moore pelters at a home game against Meadowbank (perhaps) before he scored a hatty.

That erse was ME!
ClydeSI
Duff Man.

On several ocassions.

That is all.
HertsSaintee
A couple of seasons ago we played a cup replay down at Somerset Park (Hellishly cold night as I remember...) There was a bloke at the back of the away end stand who moaned and complained at his own team for the whole game. Said moans and complaints issued forth from his mouth like a slowed down tape recording of a holier-than-thou-smart-a**e fed through a megaphone, causing much mirth and embarassment amongst us. I believe at one point he called one of the Saints players a "twunt". huh.gif I've honestly never heard this guy since, so god knows who he was. The Ayr fans probably planted him there.
RedV
I'm saying nowt......
Jamie_Beatson
Herts - that sounds like the work of "Tonerman" - who I think is also known as "shouty man" to others.

He is called Tonerman because at a Saints v Motherwell match he once shouted at referee Kevin Toner - "I've got more decisive toner in my photocopier". He is unreal. He is permatanned and at one stage sported an amazing castaway beard. When I was working in Perth cinema he once came in and started a massive argument about the Da Vinci Code with one of the ushers who happened to be a churchgoer. He regularly goes on massive rants that sound completely scripted. They go on forever. The people he sits beside must cringe when he goes off on one, which he regularly does. Some guy.
KingC
The only time I've ever really been embarassed as a County fan (besides getting relegated), was a few years ago against Falkirk. Latapy was ripping us a new arsehole and one guy made a couple of monkey noises. There was a stunned silence (well, more of one than there usually is) and I didn't hear it again. I know there's not much ethnic diversity up our way, but that goes against what the club stands for.

An ex-director of the club was telling me one time that (the chairman) Roy McGregor's giant son (who's mentally disabled) was watching a game with McGregor's mother, a very small, extremely religious lady. The players had taken to teaching him to swear on the fly and in the middle of a game he stood up and started bellowing at a player: "Pass the fucking ball, you c**t!". His granny, mortified, told him to sit down and behave. He turned around and explained to her: "Aye, but granny, the c**t WON'T PASS THE FUCKING BALL!" The whole stand was shaking from laughter.
Glesga Frm
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 11 2008, 06:57) *
I can't remember being embarrassed for an individual fan, but I recall being embarrassed by the group of supporters that went to the Clyde/Inverness Caley game. Cringeworthy stuff that came back to bite them on the arse. They were even savaged in a national newspaper at the time.

Hey!!!

I was one of that group!!

Anyhoooo, theres a guy that shouts "CLANK" all the time, thats kind of embarrasing i suppose, i still dont know what he means..... laugh.gif
Jamie_Beatson
Who is the Partick fan who sits near the away end at Firhill that often just randomly hurls abuse at visiting supporters? Commonly known amongst Saints fans as "Shellsuit Bob". Weird character he is.
Kirky Gypo
Last season when QOS beat us 3-1 at Palmerston, when their 3rd goal went in, we started singing "Hendry Hendry get to f**k!" (Duff Man and Mon The Clyde from here included). Which was much to the displeasure of a group of older men down the bottom who were shouting at us saying we should get behind Colin and the team but we thought otherwise. Suppose we brought it on ourselves but QOS fans watching our own fans arguing with each other was embarassing.

Funnily enough Hendry resigned a week later.

Glesga Frm
QUOTE (Jamie_Beatson @ Jul 11 2008, 10:46) *
Who is the Partick fan who sits near the away end at Firhill that often just randomly hurls abuse at visiting supporters? Commonly known amongst Saints fans as "Shellsuit Bob". Weird character he is.

Is he a kinda older guy with really short black hair?
Miles Brookeson
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Jul 11 2008, 10:56) *
Is he a kinda older guy with really short black hair?

Probably....
Ross
QUOTE (Kirky Gypo @ Jul 11 2008, 10:49) *
Last season when QOS beat us 3-1 at Palmerston, when their 3rd goal went in, we started singing "Hendry Hendry get to f**k!" (Duff Man and Mon The Clyde from here included). Which was much to the displeasure of a group of older men down the bottom who were shouting at us saying we should get behind Colin and the team but we thought otherwise. Suppose we brought it on ourselves but QOS fans watching our own fans arguing with each other was embarassing.

Funnily enough Hendry resigned a week later.

I sit level with the half way line which is as near to the away end at Palmerston as you can get and it is quite funny watching the away fans argue with themselves laugh.gif

Not an embarrassing story, but one I found funny - it was the Hamilton game at the turn of the year and one of our fans (Budgie) was giving this hell of a rant, can't remember if it was players or the officials, but it was a hell of a rant all the same, people were turning round to watch him and he was getting redder and redder. Well a policeman came up to him to tell him to pipe down a bit, and Budgie's reply was one along the lines of "You can't blame me, look at what's happening out there" and the policeman just gave a nod of agreement and a polite warning
Ludo *1
When I was at Broadwood, even Dundee fans found the squeaky Clyde woman that kept shouting every 5 minutes tongue.gif

Apart from that theres "Davie Farrel's Dad Guy laugh.gif " and this guy that shouts nonsense beside me when i'm at Dens laugh.gif
allezlesrouges
Yes, some fans start singing 'Oh Jimmy Jimmy' sometimes, clowns.
EastFootball
Yes, those arseholes who started shouting "MacKinnon...OUT" at nearly every away game in the latter part of last season.
FTOF_PTFC_1
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Jul 11 2008, 10:42) *
Hey!!!

Anyhoooo, theres a guy that shouts "CLANK" all the time, thats kind of embarrasing i suppose, i still dont know what he means..... laugh.gif

I know who you mean, at Livi in the Scottish Cup he was passing out eccies to people and started shouting " KILL THE MONSTERS"
Adamski
In the season just passed I had two encounters with Queens fans shouting racist abuse at opposition players. One was at the cup final. Out of order at any time, but an extra shame that they chose to do it on the biggest day in our history.

The other time was from a guy standing next to my girlfriend the first time I took her to a Queens game (I didn't hear what was said at the time - she only told me later). Not the greatest first impression to give someone.

mad.gif
Mr X
Is anyone else reading this thread to make sure their not being mentioned? ph34r.gif
BullyWee1878
Any of the Clyde fans who sit near to the away dugout and continually slag off the referee the whole game and seem to know every detail about the refs life. They are a total embarrasment and blame the ref for things when its quite clear the ref had done nothing wrong.
washsacks
QUOTE (allezlesrouges @ Jul 11 2008, 11:34) *
Yes, some fans start singing 'Oh Jimmy Jimmy' sometimes, clowns.

I know, singing the name of your most successful manager since Fergie would be strange.
O'Rourke
QUOTE (KingC @ Jul 11 2008, 09:50) *
Roy McGregor's giant son (who's mentally disabled)

I'm embarassed for anyone who refers to somone as being "mentally disabled." Surely he has learning difficulties?
parslad
Dunfermline v Celtic many years ago.My mate from London was up with his coloured girlfriend and a group of Pars fans in the cage made monkey noises every time Paul Elliott kicked the ball.Stood and cringed for 90 minutes.
HertsSaintee
Two incidents at the cup semi we played against Hibs at Tynecastle a couple of seasons ago:

1) The infamous "Saintees Streaker" (that wasn't me, incidentally rolleyes.gif ). It was a pretty cold night, so that was maybe his excuse ... laugh.gif

2) Mr Angry Hibs fan up at the Saintees end of the Wheatfield getting thrown out for making a complete a**e of himself after some other Hibees told him to shut up. Hilarious!
Parscelona
Nothing embarrasing i can think of but last season at a game someone took a shot and it hit this guy who dropped his pie! laugh.gif

He went bright red, took a bow and sat down! laugh.gif
SteamingparBoz
2004 Cup final and Dempsey is about to take a free kick in the first half, still 0-0 at this point. Runs up and next thing I know the ball beats the keeper and has rolled along the back of the net, queue massive celebrations in the Pars end of Hampden.
Didn't realise it went just wide and had went and rolled behind the goals until about 2 minutes later when the woman behind shouted at us to sit down and asking why we were celebrating.

Countless other moments like having an inflatable banana taken off us against Kilmarnock after Killie fans complained it was racist towards Simon Ford after he got red carded for bringing down Hammill. We had Bamba and Daquin in our team though, was strange.

Being thrown out for calling a steward a beaver tooth looking cu*t. And then going back into the other stand for the rest of the match.

Celebrating a goal against Dundee United and a number of us fell to the walkway at the front of the North stand, and I got completely trampled over.

And also anytime I look at the crazy woman in the norrie stand who dances to herself and generally is embarrasing to watch.
Livi_Lad
Its about what the fans for us dont say to be honest.... quietly sitting watching the game. Fannys
DundeeBoy
QUOTE (Livi_Lad @ Jul 11 2008, 16:04) *
Its about what the fans for us dont say to be honest.... quietly sitting watching the game. Fannys

Typical Livi fans at a game.
At the Dundee - Livi game (the 1-1 draw). The guy through the PA said something like "make a big roar for the Lions" and all you hear is a few people going wooo! laugh.gif
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (parslad @ Jul 11 2008, 13:54) *
Dunfermline v Celtic many years ago.My mate from London was up with his coloured girlfriend and a group of Pars fans in the cage made monkey noises every time Paul Elliott kicked the ball.Stood and cringed for 90 minutes.

Stood and cringed?? You should've told them to shut the f**k up.
Gall09
QUOTE (DundeeBoy @ Jul 11 2008, 16:11) *
Typical Livi fans at a game.
At the Dundee - Livi game (the 1-1 draw). The guy through the PA said something like "make a big roar for the Lions" and all you hear is a few people going wooo! laugh.gif

I remember years ago, when Ross County had only been in the League for a year or 2, we played them at Hampden.

We were 3-0 down wi 5/10 minutes to go when we scored direct from a corner and me and my mate jumped up celebrating facing the Ross County fans in a GIRUY manner (why i was doing that at 3-1 down wi 5 minutes to go i don't know). Wondered why no one else was at least applauding, when it turned out the ball had actually went into the side netting and the game had commenced.

That's a riddy.
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (DundeeBoy @ Jul 11 2008, 16:11) *
The guy through the PA said something like "make a big roar for the Lions"

Tannoy announcers can be embarrassing themselves, and really get on my nerves sometimes. I don't like the guy currently at Dens. Plays some ridiculous 'in joke' tunes which I think are sometimes aimed at taking the piss out of whoever we're playing, but just make us look petty and stupid. I remember not too long ago they even played crowd noises over the speakers to boost the atmosphere! That's not just embarrassing, it's humiliating and insulting.

St Johnstone have some irritating English bloke, Livingston guy (as highlighted above) is also a bit of a tit. And was it at Firhill, a good few years ago, where the guy would go 'Good Afternoon Sports Fans!'?? Just read the half time scores, maybe the odd birthday/bit of information about upcoming games, play a couple of decent songs and be done with it.
Parscelona
Our tannoy announcer likes to tell us right before the start of the game what day it is and who we are facing...because we didn't know that already! rolleyes.gif
DundeeBoy
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Jul 11 2008, 16:38) *
Tannoy announcers can be embarrassing themselves, and really get on my nerves sometimes. I don't like the guy currently at Dens. Plays some ridiculous 'in joke' tunes which I think are sometimes aimed at taking the piss out of whoever we're playing, but just make us look petty and stupid. I remember not too long ago they even played crowd noises over the speakers to boost the atmosphere! That's not just embarrassing, it's humiliating and insulting.

St Johnstone have some irritating English bloke, Livingston guy (as highlighted above) is also a bit of a tit. And was it at Firhill, a good few years ago, where the guy would go 'Good Afternoon Sports Fans!'?? Just read the half time scores, maybe the odd birthday/bit of information about upcoming games, play a couple of decent songs and be done with it.

Were you at the derby a few years ago when he played The Arab Family, and Dinnae Bring An Arab Hame Tae Me. laugh.gif
It was all over the papers the next day.
19QOS19
I can remember when Gr£tna came to town, down by their dugout the QoS fans were giving Alexander and Irons pelters. It turned out that they decided to fight back and they started having a banter with the QoS fans, then this guy came out of nowhere, grabbed a policeman and said he wanted Irons and Alexander charged!!! I cringe just writing this. The QoS fans told him to get away and not to be stupid!
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (DundeeBoy @ Jul 11 2008, 16:44) *
Were you at the derby a few years ago when he played The Arab Family, and Dinnae Bring An Arab Hame Tae Me. laugh.gif
It was all over the papers the next day.

Exactly. Makes us look like stupid childish twats. In my opinion.
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Jul 11 2008, 10:42) *
Hey!!!

I dont get that clank shit either and it does my nut in, plus the wee fuckers always have their phones out and always seem to hunt my mates and I out at away games resulting in me being in a fair few shite youtube videos. Normally just leave them too it but in either the last or second last game of the season there were a couple of them so annoying I had to move seats. A terrible combination of squeeky voices, getting words wrong and just doing my tits in.

But then again who am I to complain, I've made an arse of myself now and again as well (allegedly) nologo.gif
Adam_Wee
QUOTE (ClydeSI @ Jul 11 2008, 09:20) *
Duff Man.

On several ocassions.

That is all.

You were on Postcode Challenge again tonight. It's still as funny as the first time I seen it.

Embarrasing moments. One that sticks out to me was when we played Celtic in the Scottish Cup, when we won. Now as most know, we held the lead for about 80 minutes, then Celtic scored. This younger boy, probably only 15 or so but a pain in the arse none the less, was hammered (at a 12.30pm kick-off!) started singing - "You only sing when you're winning, sing when you're winning!"

I had to turn round and explain that we were still winning, not Celtic.
Ade Eyemond
QUOTE (parslad @ Jul 11 2008, 13:54) *

QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Jul 11 2008, 16:23) *

At least "Parslad" has had the decency, at least twice in the last week alone, to admit to instances of this despicable behaviour amongst the Dumfermline support - Unlike others amongst the Dunfermline support who prefer to dish out self righteous criticism to other teams whilst sticking their heads in the sand re the problem within their own support.

Eh, "DAFC" ?
parslad
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Jul 11 2008, 16:23) *

Kind of difficult when I was behind the goals but cheers for the constructive advice.
Toma_BullyWee
One that springs to mind is when we played Dundee United in the Scottish Cup this year... Before the teams walked out for the second half some fanny played the Champions League tune.

Dougie Bell was fucking beeling!
ClydeSI
QUOTE (Adam_Wee @ Jul 11 2008, 17:42) *

You were on Postcode Challenge again tonight. It's still as funny as the first time I seen it.

Got me trips to berlin and paris, and a new bathroom. Pity i dont get a repeat fee!
jester
There's a particular wa nker who I saw with his mates kick f**k out of a young Morton supporter outside Cappielow. What a complete and utter dick splash. He's now one of those supporters who only appear when we play an SPL team.
Or Thistle.
EastFootball
QUOTE (Parscelona @ Jul 11 2008, 16:41) *
Our tannoy announcer likes to tell us right before the start of the game what day it is and who we are facing...because we didn't know that already! rolleyes.gif

I find your announcer to be very methodical with his pronunciations.

Hello. And. Welccccome. Along. To. East. End. Parkkkk.
parsboi
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Jul 12 2008, 00:17) *
I find your announcer to be very methodical with his pronunciations.

Hello. And. Welccccome. Along. To. East. End. Parkkkk.

Not as bad as the guy that used to be at McDiarmid.

"Scottish Preeemiur League match"

Anyways, for embarrasing pars fans, read Socks.

wink.gif
Grant228
QUOTE (SteamingparBoz @ Jul 11 2008, 15:52) *
And also anytime I look at the crazy woman in the norrie stand who dances to herself and generally is embarrasing to watch.

She confuses the feck out of me huh.gif

QUOTE (Ade Eyemond @ Jul 11 2008, 18:42) *
At least "Parslad" has had the decency, at least twice in the last week alone, to admit to instances of this despicable behaviour amongst the Dumfermline support - Unlike others amongst the Dunfermline support who prefer to dish out self righteous criticism to other teams whilst sticking their heads in the sand re the problem within their own support.

Eh, "DAFC" ?

Difference is though if you have noticed both these incidents happened at the earliest 15 years ago! Dunfermline moved on from that pish Airdrie never.

Also I'm surprised Partick fans haven't picked up on there baldy ball boy yet.