Full Version: Carrigan Signs For Hamilton?
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Junior Football
coolio
Can anyone confirm this? cool.gif
hawsman
QUOTE (coolio @ Jul 8 2008, 16:30) *
Can anyone confirm this? cool.gif

big loss for lithgae if he has.
the trialist
ill be very surpised if carrigan has signed for hamilton he might be the best junior player around but the step up would be huge i dont think his fitness or attitude off the park would help
sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (the trialist @ Jul 8 2008, 17:30) *
ill be very surpised if carrigan has signed for hamilton he might be the best junior player around but the step up would be huge i dont think his fitness or attitude off the park would help

Don't think he would make the step up. Especially with his off the park training!!!!!
Gypsy till I die
Would be very surprised if this was true. Carrots had a great career ahead of him when he signed for Stockport from us but his off the field antics have ruined his chance at making more of himself.
City Fan
QUOTE (Gypsy till I die @ Jul 8 2008, 21:45) *
Would be very surprised if this was true. Carrots had a great career ahead of him when he signed for Stockport from us but his off the field antics have ruined his chance at making more of himself.

Confirmed on the Accies website that Brian Carrigan is on a month long trial with a view to a permanent transfer
roseyposey
had a couple of calls from press colleagues last night to tell me of this and this appears to be totally true
they were after him last year as well

A big loss to our hopes for this season and a big gap for new boss Brian Fairley to fill

cmontheloknow
QUOTE (roseyposey @ Jul 9 2008, 09:02) *
had a couple of calls from press colleagues last night to tell me of this and this appears to be totally true
they were after him last year as well

A big loss to our hopes for this season and a big gap for new boss Brian Fairley to fill

Dingy's on a 2 year deal! Hands off! biggrin.gif
YER SISTERS YER MAW
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Jul 9 2008, 09:24) *
Dingy's on a 2 year deal! Hands off! biggrin.gif

The two clubs have already agreed a 15k compensation package if we offer him a deal after his trial period.

edit to add-Why Dingy,i take it that is the nickname he has been tarred with through there?

cmontheloknow
QUOTE (YER SISTERS YER MAW @ Jul 9 2008, 10:32) *
The two clubs have already agreed a 15k compensation package if we offer him a deal after his trial period.

edit to add-Why Dingy,i take it that is the nickname he has been tarred with through there?

The message about Dingy was to the Linlithgow fan talking about a big gap for Fairley to fill. Lok striker Bryan 'Dingy' Dingwall would be an obvious candidate for the Rose but luckily for us he's well under contract.

The best of Bryan Dingwall below - worth a watch for anyone that doesn't know him. One of the best centre forwards in the part-time leagues IMHO.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56NmKzMHCuc

They start to get spectacular around the 2 min mark.
City Fan
QUOTE (YER SISTERS YER MAW @ Jul 9 2008, 10:32) *

Dingy refers to a Pollok striker not Carrigan.
YER SISTERS YER MAW
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Jul 9 2008, 10:47) *
The message about Dingy was to the Linlithgow fan talking about a big gap for Fairley to fill. Lok striker Bryan 'Dingy' Dingwall would be an obvious candidate for the Rose but luckily for us he's well under contract.

The best of Bryan Dingwall below - worth a watch for anyone that doesn't know him. One of the best centre forwards in the part-time leagues IMHO.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56NmKzMHCuc

They start to get spectacular around the 2 min mark.

Some right guid goals there,although some of the defending for his goals is less than desirable to say the least.Might be worth having a look at.Can we take him on trial as well? biggrin.gif

edit to add less than,thanks VI.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (YER SISTERS YER MAW @ Jul 9 2008, 11:03) *
Some right guid goals there,although some of the defending for his goals is desirable to say the least.Might be worth having a look at. Can we take him on trial as well? biggrin.gif

nope! laugh.gif biggrin.gif

A bit of dodgy defending is one of the highlights of watching the Juniors! laugh.gif

Dingy's certainly taken advantage of it, 100 goals in 3 years at Maryhill and he's added 57 for us in the past 2 seasons.

Accies were actually talking to him about signing when he was still at Maryhill but nothing came of it.

At 32, his chances of going Senior have probably slipped by, but he would have made a cracking signing for someone back in 2003 when he left Bellshill to go to Maryhill.
Virtual Insanity
QUOTE (YER SISTERS YER MAW @ Jul 9 2008, 11:03) *
Some right guid goals there,although some of the defending for his goals is desirable to say the least.Might be worth having a look at.Can we take him on trial as well? biggrin.gif

fauchledean
can't see Carrigan achieving the step-up from junior football to SPL . last season was a poor effort culminating in the sending off at Camelon. he is playing at his appropriate level with the Rose. blink.gif
sponsorsladdie
QUOTE (fauchledean @ Jul 9 2008, 12:41) *
can't see Carrigan achieving the step-up from junior football to SPL . last season was a poor effort culminating in the sending off at Camelon. he is playing at his appropriate level with the Rose. blink.gif

Slightly harsh. He was injured for most of the season and playing with no real supply to him and he had to drop short to get the ball on alot of occasions. He did put is some great performances and carried us through a fair few games.

Have you got a bit of a short memory? Do you remember the season before last when the Rose were playing well every week and he was fully fit?
roseyposey
QUOTE (fauchledean @ Jul 9 2008, 12:41) *

Then again lets hope you are right and he returns to score another 30 odd for the Rose ??
but I would like to see him make it again for his sake and to prove a thing or two about standards in
the juniors

Joethistle
QUOTE (roseyposey @ Jul 9 2008, 13:09) *
Then again lets hope you are right and he returns to score another 30 odd for the Rose ??
but I would like to see him make it again for his sake and to prove a thing or two about standards in
the juniors

This guy is over rated at junior and will hardly play at this level. Shouldn't be a worry for rose fans as he will probably be back. Not in McGrillens class even and hes 36 IMO rolleyes.gif
fauchledean
QUOTE (Joethistle @ Jul 9 2008, 13:31) *
This guy is over rated at junior and will hardly play at this level. Shouldn't be a worry for rose fans as he will probably be back. Not in McGrillens class even and hes 36 IMO rolleyes.gif

not over-rated but under-applied. stepping fwd to take corner kicks ands free kicks .....75% of his game last season .........is not good enough.
Lickmahaws
QUOTE (Joethistle @ Jul 9 2008, 13:31) *

change yer bait mate!! laugh.gif
Joethistle
QUOTE (Lickmahaws @ Jul 9 2008, 15:17) *
change yer bait mate!! laugh.gif

No bait. I am serious. The guy blew all his chances.You can never say never but very unlikely to play much at top level. wink.gif
the trialist
QUOTE (Joethistle @ Jul 9 2008, 20:14) *
No bait. I am serious. The guy blew all his chances.You can never say never but very unlikely to play much at top level. wink.gif

im not a fan of bathgate or linlithgow but give me carrigan or herd before mcgrillen any day of the week if mcgrillen doesnt get his own way the red mist starts to fall i cant see carrigan getting a start with hamilton but i hope he grabs this chance with both hands
Ronson
Brian was a big fish in a wee pond in the juniors. If he gets a move to Accies he'll be a minnow in the ocean. He's been offered the chance and will take it and good luck to him.
If I was an Accies fan I'd be wondering why my manager is going to the juniors for a lad who is carrying heavy baggage, only Billy Reid knows.
I'm not clear on this, but if the trial doesn't work out then does Carrots come back to the Rose?
City Fan
QUOTE (Ronson @ Jul 10 2008, 10:33) *
Brian was a big fish in a wee pond in the juniors. If he gets a move to Accies he'll be a minnow in the ocean. He's been offered the chance and will take it and good luck to him.
If I was an Accies fan I'd be wondering why my manager is going to the juniors for a lad who is carrying heavy baggage, only Billy Reid knows.
I'm not clear on this, but if the trial doesn't work out then does Carrots come back to the Rose?

Yes, he is a Rose player and will be till someone buys him. Hamilton may have agreed a potential fee with the Rose but if he doesn't go there then there is no reason why Linlithgow have to sell to anyone else
FuzzyBear
QUOTE (City Fan @ Jul 10 2008, 10:50) *
Yes, he is a Rose player and will be till someone buys him. Hamilton may have agreed a potential fee with the Rose but if he doesn't go there then there is no reason why Linlithgow have to sell to anyone else

Watched Carrots at Oban on Saturday when the Accies finished 2nd to a very strong Dundee Utd squad. His attitude was top notch and his ability made him a stand out. A few more weeks like that and he will have a nice wee SPL contract. Good Luck to him.

However, the Rose without him and Herd -who looks like is leaving as well - look pretty weak. We need a creative midfielder and 2 or 3 strikers as soon as possible.
sunlight
has he signed yet?surely thats been a month ???

FuzzyBear
QUOTE (sunlight @ Aug 4 2008, 12:25) *
has he signed yet?surely thats been a month ???

It was a 6 week trial period. A decision will be made after tomorrow night when he will play for Accies against the Rose.
Specky
Old news now, nut he signed a one year deal, with the chance of a year's extension.

GOOD LUCK CARROTS !!
lyt

LATEST NEWS Brian Carrigan signs for Hamilton Accies, Rose's Top Striker for the last two years has put pen to paper on a one year deal after a succesfull trial period.
[b]

and hes not good enough creameryparkfan.where will mowgli be playing next season, again ? [/b]
sunlight
aye good luck to him,hope he gets a good run in the team.
lyt
Carrigan thanks Rose as SPL dream is realised[b]Published Date: 06 August 2008 [/b]
By MARK BONTHRONE, BRIAN CARRIGAN today paid tribute to Linlithgow Rose for giving him a "once in a lifetime" opportunity after he signed for SPL new boys Hamilton Accies.
The Evening News can reveal that the striker, who scored an incredible 66 goals in two seasons in the juniors, has put pen to paper on a one-year deal at New Douglas Park with the option of a further year.
The move nets Rose a record-breaking £17,500 the most ever payed for a junior player in scotland
Pure Mince
QUOTE (lyt @ Aug 6 2008, 19:54) *
Carrigan thanks Rose as SPL dream is realised[b]Published Date: 06 August 2008 [/b]
By MARK BONTHRONE, BRIAN CARRIGAN today paid tribute to Linlithgow Rose for giving him a "once in a lifetime" opportunity after he signed for SPL new boys Hamilton Accies.
The Evening News can reveal that the striker, who scored an incredible 66 goals in two seasons in the juniors, has put pen to paper on a one-year deal at New Douglas Park with the option of a further year.
The move nets Rose a record-breaking £17,500 the most ever payed for a junior player in scotland

Great move for Carrigan and hope he realises his 2nd chance...Only problem is that Billy Reid described him as an "impact player" which suggests he may not start many games,
drs
Will be signing for either Linlithgow or Pollok by next week.
Edge
QUOTE (drs @ Nov 21 2008, 11:15) *

An interesting rumour that one........
sconnybotland

Ah hope its Pollok, is he cup tied however???
Auld Heid
QUOTE (FuzzyBear @ Jul 14 2008, 09:02) *
Watched Carrots at Oban on Saturday when the Accies finished 2nd to a very strong Dundee Utd squad. His attitude was top notch and his ability made him a stand out. A few more weeks like that and he will have a nice wee SPL contract. Good Luck to him.

However, the Rose without him and Herd -who looks like is leaving as well - look pretty weak. We need a creative midfielder and 2 or 3 strikers as soon as possible.

Herd the Junior equivalent of Kenny Millar - plenty industry and effort but a striker has to be ultimately judged on Goals. Sadly he doesn't look likely to ever be a 20+ goals a season striker. Don't get me wrong I'm a big fan of Herd but sometimes you require more than 110% graft. Agree a striker who can put the ball in the net is a major requirement but they don't grow on trees.
theesel1994
QUOTE (sconnybotland @ Nov 21 2008, 14:25) *
Ah hope its Pollok, is he cup tied however???

If he signed for Hamilton in August he wouldn't have got a chance to play in the cuo, surely?
Or am I missing something?
The Gudderman

Where are you getting this information from mate? Don't keep it to yourself.

You can send me a message if you don't want to disclose your source in front of everyone.

Cheers.
theesel1994
QUOTE (The Gudderman @ Nov 21 2008, 15:47) *
Where are you getting this information from mate? Don't keep it to yourself.

You can send me a message if you don't want to disclose your source in front of everyone.

Cheers.

Possibly the Evening Times
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/displa...hills_blank.php
(down at the bottom of page)
ClydeSI
Can a club sell a player and then re-sign him on loan in the same season?
cmontheloknow
QUOTE (ClydeSI @ Nov 21 2008, 16:47) *
Can a club sell a player and then re-sign him on loan in the same season?

It's pretty much the basis of the Delayed Transfer that exists between Junior and Senior clubs. Whoever Carrigan goes to, it will be on a delayed transfer as there is no loan arrangement between the SFA and SJFA.

A delayed transfer of a Senior to Junior football means the player is released by the Senior club (Accies in this case), signed by the Junior club, then immediately re-signed by the Senior club (Accies) but is left with the Junior club until some point in the future when the delayed transfer is completed. He will be able to play for both Accies, if required, and the Junior club.

Sometimes a Senior club signs a Junior player on the basis you describe - can think of Swift to Livingston from Benburb as an example. He signed for Livi and was loaned back to Bens for the rest of the season. Chris McLuskey, St Roch's to Partick Thistle another example.
juniornews
O'Donnell has just been reading stuff on here or elsewhere
cause he has NO sources at Linlithgow

"Meanwhile, word has it that SPL outfit Hamilton Accies are poised to allow striker Brian Carrigan out on loan and his former Junior club Linlithgow Rose are strong favourites to snap him up.

But sources through there believe Carrott's close relationship with ex-Rose gaffer Jim Sinnett could temp him West - possibly to play for West Region champions Pollok?"

cmontheloknow
QUOTE (juniornews @ Nov 21 2008, 20:53) *
O'Donnell has just been reading stuff on here or elsewhere
cause he has NO sources at Linlithgow

"Meanwhile, word has it that SPL outfit Hamilton Accies are poised to allow striker Brian Carrigan out on loan and his former Junior club Linlithgow Rose are strong favourites to snap him up.

But sources through there believe Carrott's close relationship with ex-Rose gaffer Jim Sinnett could temp him West - possibly to play for West Region champions Pollok?"

They say it's in his contract to mention Lok at least twice a week! laugh.gif
theesel1994
QUOTE (cmontheloknow @ Nov 21 2008, 22:07) *
They say it's in his contract to mention Lok at least twice a week! laugh.gif

All the other mentions are just for fun then?