It's time to put your money where your mouth is.
After a successful £10 bet that we'd finish above the Shire last season I am in buoyant mood and am ready to splash themore cash.
I am taking the cowards way out this time and will offer a £10 bet that we will finish above Annan, Rovers, Forfar or Elgin. Any fans of these teams wish to take the bet?
I bet Willie Hague on another thread £20 we would finish above them as he seems so confident of the opposite.
Needless to say no reply.
dreamteamer
Jul 7 2008, 13:10
Thats called hedging ya bets fudge
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Jul 7 2008, 13:19
QUOTE (Neilly @ Jul 7 2008, 14:09)

I bet Willie Hague on another thread £20 we would finish above them as he seems so confident of the opposite.
Needless to say no reply.
He's only a young boy though. I'm not even convinced he's 16 yet.
Oh and No I won't take the bet on his behalf. There's bugger all chance we'll be above Stennie this year, or too many other teams for that matter
Captain Kerthorse
Jul 7 2008, 14:25
QUOTE (Fudge @ Jul 7 2008, 13:54)

I am taking the cowards way out this time and will offer a £10 bet that we will finish above Annan, Rovers, Forfar or Elgin. Any fans of these teams wish to take the bet?
Fudge good sir I shall take you up on that action

Cash to change hands or to be put to charity? (not fussed either way)
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
Jul 7 2008, 14:29
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Jul 7 2008, 14:19)

He's only a young boy though. I'm not even convinced he's 16 yet.
for a young boy he's awfy cheeky.
i'll bet one of the stenny boys we'll finish above them this year.
risky i know, but i'm fuckin radio rental!
berwick-the-unbeatable
Jul 7 2008, 14:59
My 07-08 bet was that Berwick would finish above Peterhead, aye the c***s who humped us 9-2.
Therefore you can f**k right off!
QUOTE (Captain Kerthorse @ Jul 7 2008, 15:25)

Fudge good sir I shall take you up on that action

Cash to change hands or to be put to charity? (not fussed either way)
How about £10 to the winner's club's trust?
the_russian
Jul 7 2008, 16:44
£10 with the first Cowden fan who wants to take me up on this, I say they will finish 7th or lower.
Any of the previously uberconfident Berwick fans care to give me a decent spread of how many points they will win the league by?
£10 burning a hole in ma pooch.
Captain Kerthorse
Jul 7 2008, 17:07
QUOTE (Fudge @ Jul 7 2008, 17:19)

How about £10 to the winner's club's trust?
Yeah I'm happy with that - top idea. We don't have a trust in the conventional sense (long story) but we do have a supporters club that acts as a fundraising collective so a donation into there would be akin.
QUOTE (Captain Kerthorse @ Jul 7 2008, 18:07)

Yeah I'm happy with that - top idea. We don't have a trust in the conventional sense (long story) but we do have a supporters club that acts as a fundraising collective so a donation into there would be akin.

That's fine with me
LoonsYouthTeam
Jul 7 2008, 18:02
Fudge, shall you be running a book on how long it takes Harty to get fucked on our trip?
I won't take you on your suggested bet but I do re-call you finding our signing off Derek Lilley laughable. I however believe he shall get at least double figures in league goals. Care to wager a tenner on that?
QUOTE (LoonsYouthTeam @ Jul 7 2008, 19:02)

Fudge, shall you be running a book on how long it takes Harty to get fucked on our trip?
I won't take you on your suggested bet but I do re-call you finding our signing off Derek Lilley laughable. I however believe he shall get at least double figures in league goals. Care to wager a tenner on that?
I have said that I think Derek Lilley is a carthorse, but saying that so is John Gemmell and I think he made double figures. I'd rather bet that Dalziel scores more than him.
vince sinclair
Jul 8 2008, 07:44
QUOTE (the_russian @ Jul 7 2008, 17:44)

£10 with the first Cowden fan who wants to take me up on this, I say they will finish 7th or lower.
You're on
How about a double? Another £10 that we (Cowden) make the top 4.
i will take that bet £10 that cowden finish higher than 7th. in fact would go as far as £50 quid.
the_russian
Jul 8 2008, 08:44
QUOTE (vince sinclair @ Jul 8 2008, 08:44)

You're on
How about a double? Another £10 that we (Cowden) make the top 4.
Sounds good to me. I'll have to pass up Nelly's offer as you got there first, and I don't have £50 anyway
vince sinclair
Jul 8 2008, 08:56
QUOTE (the_russian @ Jul 8 2008, 09:44)

Sounds good to me. I'll have to pass up Nelly's offer as you got there first, and I don't have £50 anyway

So is it 2 single £10 bets or a £20 double?
I'll collect the cash at the 1st Cowden v EF match of season 2009/2010
QUOTE (vince sinclair @ Jul 8 2008, 09:56)

So is it 2 single £10 bets or a £20 double?
I'll collect the cash at the 1st Cowden v EF match of season 2009/2010

East Fife won't get relegated
vince sinclair
Jul 8 2008, 12:36
QUOTE (dubs @ Jul 8 2008, 13:26)

East Fife won't get relegated
Correct
I'll have a £10 on Dalziel to score more league goals than any named striker(except Dumbarton players or Coco Cramb)
Yes even John Baird!
berwick-the-unbeatable
Jul 8 2008, 16:00
Teeeempteeed.
Scott Dalziel v Jim Lister
tenner says mcinallys the 1st manager for the sack
I bet Vince Sinclair a tenner ill be at more Cowden games this season than him. AGAIN
QUOTE (Bodton @ Jul 9 2008, 02:39)

tenner says mcinallys the 1st manager for the sack
I'll take that.
Blueminer
Jul 10 2008, 12:27
Had £25 e.w. Cowden at 5/1 first 3 with Blue Square for the league. Had a rush of blood to the head after the signing of Tomana!
berwick-the-unbeatable
Jul 10 2008, 15:09
QUOTE (Fudge @ Jul 8 2008, 17:58)

Scott Dalziel v Jim Lister
f**k off, last year I jinxed the whole team, this year I should jinx someone who I know will be shite, so it would be Gemmill or Howat.
vince sinclair
Jul 12 2008, 16:38
QUOTE (Somey @ Jul 9 2008, 14:43)

I bet Vince Sinclair a tenner ill be at more Cowden games this season than him. AGAIN
The cheek of those "johnny come lately's"
I'll miss my usual 4 or 5 due to hols or work
I'll be you £100 that the real Somey (his wee brother) makes more games than you, drinks more than you snd pull's more than you
YIBBIDAY YABBA
Jul 17 2008, 20:42
i'll bet any rovers fan that one of our midfielders will score more than tommy coyne and mcnaught (if he signs for you lot) put together.
ten quid.
Dumbarton-Mad
Jul 17 2008, 22:07
QUOTE (YIBBIDAY YABBA @ Jul 17 2008, 20:42)

i'll bet any rovers fan that one of our midfielders will score more than tommy coyne and mcnaught (if he signs for you lot) put together.
ten quid.
That's dangerous talk. Don't underestimate anyone in this league.
YIBBIDAY YABBA
Jul 18 2008, 14:26
QUOTE (Dumbarton-Mad @ Jul 17 2008, 23:07)

That's dangerous talk. Don't underestimate anyone in this league.
no takers
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Jul 18 2008, 14:33
QUOTE (YIBBIDAY YABBA @ Jul 17 2008, 21:42)

ten quid.
Just seen this.
I'll bet you a tenner (preferably to go to charity) that Tommy scores more goals than Iain Chisholm in League games this season. We can throw McNaught in if (and it's unlikely) he signs.
Are we on?
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Jul 20 2008, 17:20
QUOTE (YIBBIDAY YABBA @ Jul 17 2008, 21:42)

ten quid.
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Jul 18 2008, 15:33)

Just seen this.
I'll bet you a tenner (preferably to go to charity) that Tommy scores more goals than Iain Chisholm in League games this season. We can throw McNaught in if (and it's unlikely) he signs.
Are we on?
Oh well, looks like it was all bluster from Mr Yabba
YIBBIDAY YABBA
Jul 24 2008, 13:01
sorry just noticed. i doubt mr chisholm will be a regular starter so i'm not taking this bet. i'll stick to my original offer. any takers?
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Jul 24 2008, 16:39
QUOTE (YIBBIDAY YABBA @ Jul 24 2008, 14:01)

sorry just noticed. i doubt mr chisholm will be a regular starter so i'm not taking this bet. i'll stick to my original offer. any takers?
Your original offer said "one of our midfielders". Chisholm is one of those midfielders.
Looks like your bluster has been found out and you now don't have the decency to go through with it. Poor show given we're only talking about a tenner that would be going to charity anyway.
YIBBIDAY YABBA
Jul 25 2008, 11:53
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Jul 24 2008, 17:39)

Your original offer said "one of our midfielders". Chisholm is one of those midfielders.
Looks like your bluster has been found out and you now don't have the decency to go through with it. Poor show given we're only talking about a tenner that would be going to charity anyway.

my original bet didn't say 'chose a midfielder'. its open to all midfielders, who i think, without a doubt, will score more than tommy coyne. original bet stands, take it or leave it.
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Jul 25 2008, 19:37
QUOTE (YIBBIDAY YABBA @ Jul 25 2008, 12:53)

my original bet didn't say 'chose a midfielder'. its open to all midfielders, who i think, without a doubt, will score more than tommy coyne. original bet stands, take it or leave it.
More bluster! Basically you made a cunt of yourself and you're not prepared to back it up.
Prick!
YIBBIDAY YABBA
Jul 31 2008, 10:15
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Jul 25 2008, 20:37)

More bluster! Basically you made a c**t of yourself and you're not prepared to back it up.
p***k!
Your clearly a bit slow if you can't seem to understand my original post.
My original bet stands.
p***k.
iggle piggle
Jul 31 2008, 10:35
QUOTE (YIBBIDAY YABBA @ Jul 31 2008, 11:15)

My original bet stands.
p***k.

Chisholm has played up front since coming to the sons so technically aint a midfielder.
Hows about picking another one like Stevie Murray possibly
Dumbarton-Mad
Jul 31 2008, 22:09
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Jul 25 2008, 19:37)

More bluster! Basically you made a c**t of yourself and you're not prepared to back it up.
p***k!
QUOTE (YIBBIDAY YABBA @ Jul 31 2008, 10:15)

My original bet stands.
p***k.

Calm down gentlemen.
john3574
Aug 16 2008, 19:44
QUOTE (the_russian @ Jul 7 2008, 17:44)

take that bet signor
QUOTE (Fudge @ Jul 9 2008, 14:04)

I'll take that.
Has the morton p***k paid out yet?
QUOTE (holme @ Dec 16 2008, 16:08)

Has the morton p***k paid out yet?
No
Aloysius Snuffleupagus
Jan 8 2009, 19:39
QUOTE (Aloysius Snuffleupagus @ Jul 18 2008, 14:33)

Just seen this.
Are we on?
Ironically, it would appear Yibbiday Yabba would have won this bet had he not shat it. Tommy Coyne has left Rovers having scored a whopping 1 in 16 games, with the prolific Chisi sitting on 2 for Dumbarton in only 14 games.
It's just a shame that all of this actually wins Mr Yabba f**k all. He could have used the tenner to travel to see his real team
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.