Full Version: Elfsborg
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Dunning1874
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 9 2008, 13:23) *
Of course not.

Too late to backtrack now. I saw your angry posts both here and on Kickback, where you registered (again) specially to have a wee rant. Aww.

Yeah, it's just a pre-season frie...oh, hang on, it isn't! No, wait, it is! If Hivs were serious about this, they should've prepared for it properly. If not, why not, er, play an actual friendly?

Obviously we'd have been well prepared, Lithuania's season is in full flow.

PS, what's with all the wee laddie "Communist" Morton fans on here? Do you sit in a corner with vikingTON at parties and talk about politics to try and get the birds?

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
AndyM
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 9 2008, 22:15) *
Yeah, you're clearly "over it". Hence the big, long post about it. It doesn't bother you at all, oh no, not you, no sirree, no way Jose.

Nice to see that you're admitting that the games were indeed competitive, though.

By the way, if you're going to get on your high horse and tell me to grow up, it probably isn't the greatest of ideas to use terms such as "window licker" - as you did earlier in this thread.

Window licker is a pretty accurate decsciption I'd say for someone whose idea of fun is 'Ooooh Dean Shiels has only one eye, lets get busy with Photoshop' and whose excuse for banter verges from the downright deluded to patronising whataboutery.

Back to the football, the game was competitive as far as Elfsborg were concerned, Hibs treated it like friendly and got what they deserved.
Makoliunas
QUOTE (AndyM @ Jul 10 2008, 10:15) *
Window licker is a pretty accurate decsciption I'd say for someone whose idea of fun is 'Ooooh Dean Shiels has only one eye, lets get busy with Photoshop' and whose excuse for banter verges from the downright deluded to patronising whataboutery.

Back to the football, the game was competitive as far as Elfsborg were concerned, Hibs treated it like friendly and got what they deserved.

"Window licker" is just as offensive as anything that I've said about Sh els. Get off of your high horse. As for banter, you're possibly the third most boring poster on here with the obvious exceptions of The Hun and HibeeJobee.

Back to the football, and please make your mind up as to whether or not Hivs (ooh, get me) saw it as a friendly. It's getting confusing for us window lickers.
AndyM
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 10 2008, 13:23) *
"Window licker" is just as offensive as anything that I've said about Sh els. Get off of your high horse. As for banter, you're possibly the third most boring poster on here with the obvious exceptions of The Hun and HibeeJobee.

Back to the football, and please make your mind up as to whether or not Hivs (ooh, get me) saw it as a friendly. It's getting confusing for us window lickers.

Oh very good, consider me well and truly put in my place. I'll put my high horse in the stable.

rolleyes.gif
Makoliunas
QUOTE (AndyM @ Jul 10 2008, 14:35) *
Oh very good, consider me well and truly put in my place. I'll put my high horse in the stable.

rolleyes.gif

No, no, you're the one who's obviously far too sophisticated and urbane for me. It's the rolling of the eyes that does it.
Cabbage
I'm unsure if Hibs actually treated this one as a friendly. I believe, that the squad we have just now is quite frankly shaming on the club and plainly pish.
Beren
QUOTE (Cabbage @ Jul 10 2008, 22:48) *
I'm unsure if Hibs actually treated this one as a friendly. I believe, that the squad we have just now is quite frankly shaming on the club and plainly pish.

I agree. 1-0 against Brechin

**sniggers**
Makoliunas
QUOTE (Cabbage @ Jul 10 2008, 22:48) *

Nice to see someone's admitting it. smile.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Juninho @ Jul 9 2008, 20:52) *
Elfsborg got beat tonight 0-1 by Gefle.

Then I shall wager Gefle to win the intertonto smile.gif

Does Elfsborg translate into Elfs city, the pictures of thier team seemed to show normal size people huh.gif
Frank Booth
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Jul 11 2008, 14:28) *
Then I shall wager Gefle to win the intertonto smile.gif

Does Elfsborg translate into Elfs city, the pictures of thier team seemed to show normal size people huh.gif

Have you not seen the LOTR films? Elfs are normal sized, it is dwarves that are wee.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Jul 11 2008, 16:16) *
Have you not seen the LOTR films? Elfs are normal sized, it is dwarves that are wee.

I stand corrected my fantasy genre enriched person smile.gif
AndyM
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 10 2008, 20:47) *
No, no, you're the one who's obviously far too sophisticated and urbane for me. It's the rolling of the eyes that does it.

Indeed.

Another latte anyone?
TranentBRFC
Hibs 1 0 down at half time, and it's a howler from............their keeper McNeil
sainteesean
they truly sound awful.

its on radio scotland (94.3) btw.
sainteesean
good god, 4-0 on aggregate now.

2-0 today.
DAFC
SPL - worst top league in Europe?

craigkillie
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jul 12 2008, 18:34) *

No.

Next question?
Beren
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jul 12 2008, 18:34) *

What does that mean? I mean seriously, what exactly does 'Worst top league in Europe' actually mean?

Are you implying that out of the top 10 leagues in Europe, the SPL are 10th (which they are)? What constitutes the 'top leagues in Europe'? I'd say the top leagues in Europe are, in no particular order, Spain, England, Italy, Germany and France, the rest don't have a real look in. Are you saying we're 6th?

Still at least they weren't beaten by Brechin. 1-0. (have i posted this on here yet?)
chico
David Van Zanten.

Get it right up you.
DAFC
What does that mean? I mean seriously, what exactly does 'Worst top league in Europe' actually mean?

Are you implying that out of the top 10 leagues in Europe, the SPL are 10th (which they are)? What constitutes the 'top leagues in Europe'? I'd say the top leagues in Europe are, in no particular order, Spain, England, Italy, Germany and France, the rest don't have a real look in. Are you saying we're 6th?

Still at least they weren't beaten by Brechin. 1-0. (have i posted this on here yet?)

It means that out of all the top leagues in Europe the SPL could be the worst.
Our third placed teams have been beaten comfortably by teams from all over Europe and leagues that nobody really respects.
I say take away the Old Firm and we probably have the worst record in Europe in the last 20 years.
Hearts and Aberdeen qualified for the UEFA cup league stage.
That's about it.

guacamole
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jul 12 2008, 22:08) *
Our third placed teams have been beaten comfortably by teams from all over Europe and leagues that nobody really respects.
I say take away the Old Firm and we probably have the worst record in Europe in the last 20 years.
That's about it.

It would help if mediocre teams who finish runners-up in cup competitons weren't put in the UEFA cup.

Edited to add: Yes, I am aware that my team falls under this category.

Further edited to add: you're talking nonsense.
DAFC
Okay lets list countries with winners since 1990.

Italy, France, Jugoslavia, Holland, Germany, England, Spain, Portugal, Russia, Turkey.

We have had two runners up, so have Austria.

Some Scottish results outside the Old Firm.

Gretna 3-7 Derry City MyPa (a)2-2 Dundee United F.C. Hibernian F.C. 1-5 FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk Dunfermline Athletic 1–2 BK Häcken FH 4-3 Dunfermline Athletic F.C Heart of Midlothian F.C. 5-3 SC Braga
Aberdeen (a) 1–1 Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk KS Vllaznia 0-6 Dundee F.C. Dundee F.C. 1-3 Perugia Calcio Heart of Midlothian F.C. 2-0 FK Željezničar FC Girondins de Bordeaux 2-1 Heart of Midlothian F.C. FC Vaduz 1-1(a) Livingston F.C. Aberdeen F.C. 1-0 FC Nistru Otaci Aberdeen F.C. 0-1 Hertha BSC Berlin SK Sturm Graz 8-6 Livingston F.C.

15 games only 5 wins.

Pretty impressive.

Beren
That's about it.

01/02 - Hibs were beaten 4-3 on aggregate by AEK Athens from Greece (ranked 6th best league at the time)
02/03 - Livi were beaten 8-6 by Sturm Graz, hardly a pumping. In the same season Aberdeen were beaten by one goal against Hertha Berlin.
03/04 - Hearts were beaten by the odd goal in three against Bordeaux.
04/05 - Hearts were beaten comfortably by only one team, Feyenoord in their campaign.
05/06 - Hibs were pumped, so agreed on the pumping bit. But nobody respects the Ukrainian league??
06/07 - Rangers were beaten by the odd goal in three against Osasuna, from the Spanish league that nobody respects?
07/08 - Aberdeen were pumped by Bayern. Oh aye, shite team and a league that nobody respects.

Any other common misconceptions about how bad our league is you'd like disproved?
craigkillie
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jul 12 2008, 23:07) *
Okay lets list countries with winners since 1990.

Italy, France, Jugoslavia, Holland, Germany, England, Spain, Portugal, Russia, Turkey.

We have had two runners up, so have Austria.

Some Scottish results outside the Old Firm.

Gretna 3-7 Derry City MyPa (a)2-2 Dundee United F.C. Hibernian F.C. 1-5 FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk Dunfermline Athletic 1–2 BK Häcken FH 4-3 Dunfermline Athletic F.C Heart of Midlothian F.C. 5-3 SC Braga
Aberdeen (a) 1–1 Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk KS Vllaznia 0-6 Dundee F.C. Dundee F.C. 1-3 Perugia Calcio Heart of Midlothian F.C. 2-0 FK Željezničar FC Girondins de Bordeaux 2-1 Heart of Midlothian F.C. FC Vaduz 1-1(a) Livingston F.C. Aberdeen F.C. 1-0 FC Nistru Otaci Aberdeen F.C. 0-1 Hertha BSC Berlin SK Sturm Graz 8-6 Livingston F.C.

15 games only 5 wins.

Pretty impressive.

Well that's it proved. By randomly selecting some, but not all, of the games played by Scottish clubs in Europe in the last few years, we can see definite evidence that we are the "worst top league in Europe".

By the same method, I can prove that the Premiership is the worst league in Europe:

Some English results:

Besiktas 2-1 Liverpool, Liverpool 0-1 Marseille, Sevilla 3-1 Arsenal, Larissa 2-0 Blackburn, Tottenham 1-2 Getafe, Sporting 1-0 Bolton, Bayer Leverkusen 3-2 Blackburn, AZ Alkmaar 2-0 Newcastle, Sevilla 2-1 Tottenham.

9 games, no wins.

Pretty impressive.
Beren
QUOTE (craigkillie @ Jul 13 2008, 01:17) *
Well that's it proved. By randomly selecting some, but not all, of the games played by Scottish clubs in Europe in the last few years, we can see definite evidence that we are the "worst top league in Europe".

By the same method, I can prove that the Premiership is the worst league in Europe:

Some English results:

Besiktas 2-1 Liverpool, Liverpool 0-1 Marseille, Sevilla 3-1 Arsenal, Larissa 2-0 Blackburn, Tottenham 1-2 Getafe, Sporting 1-0 Bolton, Bayer Leverkusen 3-2 Blackburn, AZ Alkmaar 2-0 Newcastle, Sevilla 2-1 Tottenham.

9 games, no wins.

Pretty impressive.

Aye, but the EPL really is the best worst mid-placed top worst best league in Europe. I think.
Hip Priest
You think we're bad? What about Spain? Population of, what, over 40m, fitba daft, yet no Spanish team has ever won the European Cup!

(If you don't count Real Madrid and Barcelona.)
Cabbage
It appears I was correct and Hibs are in fact dire.
craigkillie
QUOTE (Hip Priest @ Jul 13 2008, 03:03) *
You think we're bad? What about Spain? Population of, what, over 40m, fitba daft, yet no Spanish team has ever won the European Cup!

Beren
That's about it.

QUOTE (Hip Priest @ Jul 13 2008, 03:03) *

QUOTE (craigkillie @ Jul 13 2008, 14:24) *

I'm glad I wasn't the only one that found that comment more than just a tad strange.
Makoliunas
Who cares?

Elfsborg. laugh.gif
Cabbage
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 13 2008, 17:54) *
Who cares?

Elfsborg. laugh.gif

LOLOLOL
U WERENT EVEN IN DA INTERTATTIE M8
FLATS FLATS GLORIOUS FLATS

etc

sad.gif
DAFC
So where do you reckon our league would be ranked in terms of European results of all time?

Probably in the top half, but for the last twenty years we would struggle to be in the top ten possibly?

craigkillie
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jul 13 2008, 19:21) *
So where do you reckon our league would be ranked in terms of European results of all time?

Probably in the top half, but for the last twenty years we would struggle to be in the top ten possibly?

I'd say we're behind Spain, England, Italy, Germany, France, Portugal, Holland and Russia.

That would make us 9th out of 53 countries.

UEFA put Romania in front of us too, and have us sitting at 10th - but most of their points came in one freak season where 2 of their clubs reached the UEFA Cup quarter-finals. You could argue the case for Turkey being higher too.

EDIT: I have no idea whether this makes us one of the worst best middle-ranked top nations or not.
Beren
QUOTE (craigkillie @ Jul 13 2008, 19:49) *
I'd say we're behind Spain, England, Italy, Germany, France, Portugal, Holland and Russia.

That would make us 9th out of 53 countries.

UEFA put Romania in front of us too, and have us sitting at 10th - but most of their points came in one freak season where 2 of their clubs reached the UEFA Cup quarter-finals. You could argue the case for Turkey being higher too.

EDIT: I have no idea whether this makes us one of the worst best middle-ranked top nations or not.

Their points were also only divided by 3 as they were that pish up until that season they only had 3 teams in Europe.

We have not been out of the top 12 since 2001 and our current results have us well placed to continue this trend.

Our all-time record (1xEC, 2xCWC, 1xSC) is 9th equal with the Soviet Union (3xCWC, 1xSC) for a total of 4 trophies. Of the countries above us, Belgium have never had a club win the European Cup and France's haul of 17 titles also includes 15 Intertoto wins, so we can claim the high ground on them too smile.gif
Karl Fletcher
Hibs are shite. Along the same lines as Hearts however.
Makoliunas
QUOTE (Karl Fletcher @ Jul 14 2008, 13:12) *
Hibs are shite. Along the same lines as Hearts however.

Abergreen are fantastic.
capybara
Not that im one to give the Hibs advice, but maybe your board need to stop selling all your best players and spend some of the cash.

Its all very well having a go at Hearts finances etc but........
Bryan
it shows what ever team gets our third uefa cup place next year need to be better prepared.
Sauzee#4
QUOTE (capybara @ Jul 14 2008, 13:19) *
Not that im one to give the Hibs advice, but maybe your board need to stop selling all your best players and spend some of the cash.

Its all very well having a go at Hearts finances etc but........

Gordon, Skacel, Pressley, Hartley, Velicka, and soon to be Berra and Driver....

Your no much better for it are you? Time to take off those shite tinted glasses and face facts, your as big a diddy side as you try and make us out to be.....
Makoliunas
QUOTE (Sauzee#4 @ Jul 15 2008, 00:02) *
...your as big a diddy side as you try and make us out to be.....

No we aren't. We're a far, far bigger club than Hivs.
Sauzee#4
When pigs fly....
Karl Fletcher
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 14 2008, 13:16) *
Abergreen are fantastic.

CODE
[/code]Please argue with me...please[code]
Rory89
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 15 2008, 13:30) *
No we aren't. We're a far, far bigger club than Hivs.

Quick question, how many trophies have that huge club you support won in the last 40 years?

I'll give you a clue, it's a very small amount and their are quite a few Scottish clubs who have won as many or more then Hearts, many of them diddies. biggrin.gif
craigkillie
Hearts are undoubtedly a bigger club than Hibs.
Makoliunas
QUOTE (Karl Fletcher @ Jul 15 2008, 17:21) *
CODE
[/code]Please argue with me...please[code]

...says the guy who came into the thread and posted that both teams were shite.

Mr. Pot, meet Mr. Kettle - in terms of both of your posts in this thread.

QUOTE (Rory89 @ Jul 15 2008, 18:21) *
Quick question, how many trophies have that huge club you support won in the last 40 years?

I'll give you a clue, it's a very small amount and their are quite a few Scottish clubs who have won as many or more then Hearts, many of them diddies. biggrin.gif

Yeah. Good shout. Why not pick up on an even more arbitrary, "the exact timeframe that makes me look right" period of time, such as the last two years for example? C'mon, even Hivs have won more than us in the past two years. How about it, eh?
Rory89
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 15 2008, 20:27) *
...says the guy who came into the thread and posted that both teams were shite.

Mr. Pot, meet Mr. Kettle - in terms of both of your posts in this thread.

Yeah. Good shout. Why not pick up on an even more arbitrary, "the exact timeframe that makes me look right" period of time, such as the last two years for example? C'mon, even Hivs have won more than us in the past two years. How about it, eh?

Fine make it 50 or 60, even Hearts' whole history. The fact is neither Edinburgh team has won nearly enough to classify themselves as a big or important club.

As for craigkillies comment, Hibs and Hearts are both undoubtedly bigger clubs then Killie. Hibs however have more potential then either, so it is really a bit irrelevant. A bit like saying "I've got a bigger TV then you, but it doesn't work anymore".
craigkillie
QUOTE (Rory89 @ Jul 15 2008, 22:05) *
As for craigkillies comment, Hibs and Hearts are both undoubtedly bigger clubs then Killie. Hibs however have more potential then either, so it is really a bit irrelevant. A bit like saying "I've got a bigger TV then you, but it doesn't work anymore".

I know both Hearts and Hibs are bigger than us. I didn't claim otherwise.

However, Hearts are also bigger than Hibs.
Makoliunas
QUOTE (Rory89 @ Jul 15 2008, 22:05) *
...Hibs however have more potential then either...

How do you work that one out? laugh.gif

Go on, I'm interested.
Rory89
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 16 2008, 13:33) *
How do you work that one out? laugh.gif

Go on, I'm interested.

Well Hibs are run like a normal sensible club (maybe too sensible) but regardless we aren't run by a loon who picks the team and spends as much money as he can so he can make interest on it from his bank. We actually do have plans for a stadium expansion not just constant talk, and we have a training ground which isn't shared with students. As for Killie, well their so broke they'd probably sell me one of their empty stands to me if I paid them for it.

This isn't to say that Hibs have a lot of potential, we'll be shite for years to come no doubt, but Hearts and Killie are about as stable as Amy Winehouse on a tightrope.

Makoliunas
QUOTE (Rory89 @ Jul 16 2008, 17:51) *
Well Hibs are run like a normal sensible club (maybe too sensible) but regardless we aren't run by a loon who picks the team and spends as much money as he can so he can make interest on it from his bank. We actually do have plans for a stadium expansion not just constant talk, and we have a training ground which isn't shared with students. As for Killie, well their so broke they'd probably sell me one of their empty stands to me if I paid them for it.

This isn't to say that Hibs have a lot of potential, we'll be shite for years to come no doubt, but Hearts and Killie are about as stable as Amy Winehouse on a tightrope.

...which has nothing to do with how big a club you are. You're talking about potential for on-field performances.

For what it's worth, I don't think that there's a great deal of difference between Hivs and Killie. Killie are maybe a wee bit bigger, but not by all that much.