Full Version: Stirling Albion 2 Ayr United 2
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
RedWeb
As the season ended Ayr immediately went one up when Chris Aitken rammed home his signature on a contract at Somerset Park. Stirling heads dropped further when a quick Ayr counter attack saw Albion target Ryan Borris double the Honest Men's advantage. Stirling needed to pull one back quickly but it didn't look good as John O'Neill seemed likely to pull Ayr further clear. However, some good tactical play by Aldo Moore saw O'Neill turn tail for Forthbank and put Stirling back in the game. It then went quiet for a while as both sides knew the next strike could be decisive. Eventually up popped Andy Lawrie and with both sides looking to attack it was the Beanos who stunned the crowd by levelling up the scores. With pre-season upon us will either side get the winner ?

On a more serious note...a cracking signing by Stirling. On paper he looks a better right back than the one we lost and is a key capture for us.

PaulC biggrin.gif
allowafletic
QUOTE (RedWeb @ Jul 2 2008, 09:25) *
As the season ended Ayr immediately went one up when Chris Aitken rammed home his signature on a contract at Somerset Park. Stirling heads dropped further when a quick Ayr counter attack saw Albion target Ryan Borris double the Honest Men's advantage. Stirling needed to pull one back quickly but it didn't look good as John O'Neill seemed likely to pull Ayr further clear. However, some good tactical play by Aldo Moore saw O'Neill turn tail for Forthbank and put Stirling back in the game. It then went quiet for a while as both sides knew the next strike could be decisive. Eventually up popped Andy Lawrie and with both sides looking to attack it was the Beanos who stunned the crowd by levelling up the scores. With pre-season upon us will either side get the winner ?

On a more serious note...a cracking signing by Stirling. On paper he looks a better right back than the one we lost and as a key capture for us.

PaulC biggrin.gif

FFS fantasist springs to mind lol grow up ass wipe
RedWeb
QUOTE (allowafletic @ Jul 2 2008, 09:28) *

Cheeky cow huh.gif
Monster
Shouldn't the score be Stirling Albion 2 Ayr United 3 after the early Albion own goal known as David Lowing? wink.gif
RedWeb
QUOTE (Monster @ Jul 2 2008, 09:35) *
Shouldn't the score be Stirling Albion 2 Ayr United 3 after the early Albion own goal known as David Lowing? wink.gif

I think that one has been passed to the dubious goals panel ohmy.gif
Monster
Technivcally no, RedWeb, because we were releasing him anyway.
davidkennedyshand
If Lawrie stays fit he'll be the best right back in the division quite easily.So we'll just attack you down the Lowing side.

I'd have been more annoyed about O Neill if we had lost Stevenson but at the moment thats not looking likely.Would have liked Lawrie to sign but hey ho...Stirling are clearly the new Gretna and threw thousands at him wink.gif
rw89
QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Jul 2 2008, 10:04) *
If Lawrie stays fit he'll be the best right back in the division quite easily

I reckon Craig Wilson could give him a run for his money. How he wasn't picked in team of the year last year was beyond me.

Anyway, on the topic i believe Ayr have made the better signings out of all the players signed.
RedWeb
If Lawrie stays fit he'll be the best right back in the division quite easily.So we'll just attack you down the Lowing side.

Don't think there will be such a thing. As our squad currently looks I'd imagine David Lowing will be playing as a left sided centre back ohmy.gif
GavMan_AUFC_1910
QUOTE (RedWeb @ Jul 2 2008, 12:38) *
Don't think there will be such a thing. As our squad currently looks I'd imagine David Lowing will be playing as a left sided centre back ohmy.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif Even better. Definatley 3-2 Ayr just now!
StewartyMac
QUOTE (allowafletic @ Jul 2 2008, 09:28) *

You completely missed the entire gist of that post, didn't you?

Still, my hopes weren't high.
Bad Uncle

I'd have been more annoyed about O Neill if we had lost Stevenson but at the moment thats not looking likely.Would have liked Lawrie to sign but hey ho...Stirling are clearly the new Gretna and threw thousands at him wink.gif

Holy f**k. Lawrie the best in the league, that has to be a wind up.
RedWeb
QUOTE (Bad Uncle @ Jul 2 2008, 16:12) *
Holy f**k. Lawrie the best in the league, that has to be a wind up.

Naw...this is the second division pal...even your rejects look good down here...err...except Kevin Moffatt who was utter shite ohmy.gif
Paco
How old is Lawrie these days? And where's he been hiding for the last few years?
Billy Budd
QUOTE (Paco @ Jul 2 2008, 16:37) *
How old is Lawrie these days? And where's he been hiding for the last few years?

With us!!

Best known up here for bombscare defending and poor positional play, oh and falling backwards over an adverstising board when taking a long throw in....Quality!!
Shibuya
Not too bothered about losing out on this one, I have a feeling we'll have a couple of signings crop up from the open trials that wont have been on anybody's radar.
Bad Uncle
QUOTE (RedWeb @ Jul 2 2008, 16:22) *
Naw...this is the second division pal...even your rejects look good down here...err...except Kevin Moffatt who was utter shite ohmy.gif

You weren't in the 2nd division when Moffatt was on loan were you? Not that I'm saying Moffatt won't turn out to be utter shite, but he does have time on his side.

Swinging his right foot and hitting the ball with his left is my favourite "glue" memory.
Cliche Guevara
I'm really disappointed at this one as I was hoping Lawrie would sign for us. Time will tell how significant missing out on him will be, though.

I have to say I am a bit surprised as I reckon we would have been offering more money. Perhaps he chose Stirling for other reasons.

I wonder if we might have asked him to prove his fitness, before offering him a solid contract, and he rejected the offer.

Either way, what game was this reporter at as Ayr didn't try to sign John O'Neill, and as Monster said Lowing is an own goal (and red card). If Stirling end up above Ayr this season I'll eat My les Hogarth!
GoRdY_b
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Jul 2 2008, 17:19) *
If Stirling end up above Ayr this season I'll eat Myles Hogarth!

Careful now laugh.gif
RedWeb
QUOTE (Paco @ Jul 2 2008, 16:37) *
How old is Lawrie these days?

allowafletic
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Jul 2 2008, 15:08) *
You completely missed the entire gist of that post, didn't you?

Still, my hopes weren't high.

Bawbag
Raving On
QUOTE (allowafletic @ Jul 2 2008, 21:12) *
Bawbag

StewartyMac
QUOTE (allowafletic @ Jul 2 2008, 21:12) *
Bawbag

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Brilliant
Shibuya
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Jul 2 2008, 17:19) *
Either way, what game was this reporter at as Ayr didn't try to sign John O'Neill, and as Monster said Lowing is an own goal (and red card). If Stirling end up above Ayr this season I'll eat Myles Hogarth!

Aye we did, just wasn't in the papers.
Cliche Guevara
I heard him linked with us before the summer (as with Colin Cramb huh.gif ) but no way he'd get a game before Stevenson, Aitken or Keenan
kullibino
Isn't Keenan pish?
RedWeb
QUOTE (kullibino @ Jul 3 2008, 08:51) *
Isn't Keenan pish?

So is Aitken if you believe some of the Albion tifossi ohmy.gif Either way I think O'Neill might somehow have made the odd appearance despite the presence of so many Galacticos huh.gif
davidkennedyshand
QUOTE (kullibino @ Jul 3 2008, 08:51) *
Isn't Keenan pish?

He's there to kick your midfield about and give the ball to Stevenson,Agnew and Aitken
kullibino
QUOTE (davidkennedyshand @ Jul 3 2008, 10:02) *
He's there to kick your midfield about and give the ball to Stevenson,Agnew and Aitken

Fair enough.
Cliche Guevara
And McCLaren.

Or Borris.