Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
RiG
QUOTE(bryantonfan @ Mar 20 2006, 19:36) [snapback]951471[/snapback]

rolleyes.gif laugh.gif

What the strut is that all about? blink.gif You were having a conversation with a St. Mirren fan! What a disgrace! mad.gif tongue.gif

I finished my first season as Tottenham. I cheated I won't lie. I gave myself and increased transfer budget from the £6 million I had to start with.

I'm still pish at this game. Tottenham are woefully inconsistent. I beat Chealsea 2 - 0 at Stamford Birdge and publicly abused Moaningro and then crushed Liverpool 4 - 2 (they scored twice in the last 10 minutes after Robinson decided to dribble past Kewell and Tuncay blink.gif ) but was then horsed 4 scud by Villa huh.gif

I finished 6th I think it was after an almighty scrap for the 4th spot and CL games. Going into the final 2 rounds of the season 4th - 8th was covered by about 4 points. Very tight. Have sold half of the pish players in my team to make way for new signings. I'm trying to sign youth like Tottenham do (even if it is from Sweden et al. or wherever they get their boys from) but made an exception to get Cicinho from Madrid for a bargain £2.9 million smile.gif
qos4eva
I started a new game last week and decided i wanted a bit of a challenge so went east stirling, in the first season made a few signings mostly youngsters and most notably a lad called steven mcglinchey from dunfermline. Season went as i imagined it would battling with Albion rovers at the bottom until i went on an amazing run of form during the January transfer window (mainly due to the signing of Mackay an AML) and on the last day of the season clinched the final play-off spot! Played Peterhead in the play offs and after the first leg it was 1-1 but in the second they proved too strong so the dream was over for another season.

During the pre - season i made a few more signings hill, and wake the main ones. pre-season was poor but the start of the season was great and i was up there challenging at the top, this form continued most of the season. I was top for a long time until our bottle crashed, and we then fond ourselves second and a bit of a goal diference to make up, on the last day of the season i was second only by 3 goals difference. we won the game but couldn't make up all the goal difference but a goal in the last few minutes for us put our goal difference level so a play - off was needed to decide the champions, played at murrayfield we went out 3-1 winners.

So promotion to the second divsion in my second season, i needed to strenghten my defence and bolster my strike force I signed andy Aitken, Paul Telfer and Dennis Berkgamp!!!! But i sold wake to queens park for 20,000 and then McGlinchey who the yaer previous was voted player of the year, to ross county for 150,000, was sad to see him go but we really needed the money. The season has been a real tough one fighting relegation. at the moment i'm 9th 6 points ahead of Stranraer, and 8 points behind Alloa and Ayr with only six games to go.............
Francesc Fabregas
QUOTE(Francesc Fabregas @ Mar 21 2006, 12:55) [snapback]952270[/snapback]

And so we begin the 2006-2007 season with lower expectations than the last, from expecting to winning the league to challenging for the league. Things have started off well, I beat Chelsea 2-0 in the first game of the season, goals from Fabregas and Messi at the very begining and very end of the game sorting that out. I then lost two consecutive games against Blackburn and Aston Villa, but crunched Liverpool 3-1, goals from Craig G Telfer (2) and Henry.

I sold Lauren because his indisciplne was a joke (4 red cards last season) and bought in Jonaton Zebina from Juventus, the only player I could afford to sign (although more funds have been made available and a bid for Lyon's Karim Benzema has been made). Incredibly, Vincent Kompany recived three red cards in the space of 7 games ohmy.gif

The team lines up thus:

--------------Henry-----------------Telfer----------------

---Tuncay-------------Messi--------------------Hleb-----

------------------Junihno Perumbucano-----------------

------------------------------------------------------------

--Cole-----Campbell--------Kompany-------Zebina----

---------------------Craig Gordon------------------------

With Lehmann, Eboue, Gonzalo, Toure, Cliche, Fabregas, Yeste, Reyes, Ljungberg and van Persie on the bench.

I played the game until 5am this morning (again), having completed my second season as Arsenal manager. That's me played 2 whole seasons since Sunday evening, that must be a record.

My second season proved to be very fruitless. I was knocked out of the league cup on penalties, West Ham proving too strong for my young reserves, and then knocked out of the FA Cup by Lincoln ph34r.gif they beat my young reserves 1-1 at the Emirates Stadium.

Even worse was in the Champion's League. In the second round I was drawn with Barcelona and managed a very respectable 3-2 defeat in the Nou Camp, the two away goals being crucial. Disaster struck at home as Ronaldinho scored a free kick after 36 seconds, and then fucking Saviola scored 5 (fucking 5!!!) goals after 25 minutes. Henry and Yeste scored the consolation goals sad.gif

And I finished second in the league one point behind Chelsea. The board have given me a kick up the arse for next season, but only £2 million to sign players. I brought in Frey from Middlesborough as my new goalkeeper, a full back from Brugge called Cor Gillies, or somethjing along those lines (he's bloody good) and Giovani dos Santos from Barcelona on a free transfer (Lazio, Betis, Liverpol were in for him, and tonnes of teams want to take him on loan from me). I need a new central defender (Nigel de Jong or Carles Puyol are my targets) and a new right midfielder. I want to sign Alves from Sevilla, but I can't afford to. I sold van Persie and Lupoli to make a bit of money, but it's not enough.

Onwards and upwards!
Andyboy
QUOTE(dubya @ Mar 20 2006, 01:50) [snapback]950584[/snapback]

Never played Football Manager. Was never good at the new editions of Champ after CM01/02 and gave up.

CM01/02 was the dug's baws though. biggrin.gif

Agree that 01/02 is fantastic. Tried to play FM 2006 but couldn't really get into it (due to the shite running speed of my computer) and I'm back playing 01/02 again.
caleycasual
QUOTE(ANDYBOY @ Mar 22 2006, 14:10) [snapback]954214[/snapback]

Agree that 01/02 is fantastic. Tried to play FM 2006 but couldn't really get into it (due to the shite running speed of my computer) and I'm back playing 01/02 again.

uncovered any gems in 01-02 ICT are only 1 point from division 3 football next season!!!!!!!!!
SimonLichtie
2012 now for AFC!

Ground is being upgraded again to 11000 odd! smile.gif

Im in the Euro Cup 1st round after going out of the Champs League qualifiers! sad.gif

Currently 2nd in the SPL! sad.gif

But losing 1-0 to Dundee United right now sad.gif
codfish
QUOTE(codfish @ Mar 20 2006, 02:38) [snapback]950589[/snapback]

Things are going well for me at Bilbao smile.gif

I'm into February now, and have been hit with an injury crisis that's seen me lose 6 of my first team squad all at once. However in the two games they missed, I've won 7-0 at home to Getafe and 4-0 away at Malaga. I'm now 2 points clear of Villarreal and Real Madrid at the top of the table after 22 games, and although I'm out of the Copa del Rey, I'm still in the UEFA Cup, and will face Bolton in the first knockout round. smile.gif

On the signings front, I was handed an extra £7 million over the transfer window because of the increased revenue I'd brought in through the gate, and spent it on Asier del Horno from Chelsea and Gari Uranga from Real Sociadad. smile.gif

Finished my first season at Bilbao now.

I got to the UEFA Cup final and faced Roma, but a late winner from Rodrigo Taddei meant I finished on the losing side. The season wasn't over there though, as I played host to Barcelona on th elast day of the league season knowing that a win would seal the championship. Pablo Orbaiz gave me a dream start with an 8th minute strike, and Aritz Aduriz made it 2-0 with 5 minutes to go before half time. Deco reduced the deficit in first half stoppage time, but a second goal from Aduriz on the 65th minute restored the two goal lead. Ronaldinho scored late on with a free-kick to give me a nervy last few minutes, but I held on to bring Bilbao their first Primera Liga title since 1984 biggrin.gif

I'm now into August, having signed Mikel Arteta from Everton with my increased transfer funds, and just off the back of a 4-0 Super Cup first leg win over Villarreal at El Madrigal. I've been installed as favourite to win the league this season! laugh.gif biggrin.gif
David W
Hmm. I'm top of League 2 with Harrogate Town and to be honest, I'm getting promoted, even though it's December.

However, I've just been offered the Newcastle job. What do I do sad.gif

Do I leave this side I've built up over several years, or do I take the chance to further my own career?

Help laugh.gif
Twynholm
Leave Newcastle will go on to better things than Harrogate! You can only go so far wink.gif
Twynholm
Im just about to play my 1st game in over a month! I think i will go St Mirren for a challenge wink.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(David W @ Mar 23 2006, 13:36) [snapback]955939[/snapback]

Hmm. I'm top of League 2 with Harrogate Town and to be honest, I'm getting promoted, even though it's December.

However, I've just been offered the Newcastle job. What do I do sad.gif

Do I leave this side I've built up over several years, or do I take the chance to further my own career?

Help laugh.gif

Stay! Newcastle are obviously on the slide.
Twynholm
Been playing for 2 hours or so with Queens. 7th in the league after 10 games with 14 points. Made the CIS semis and Bells Cup Semis! Got to play Killie in the Semis! And Jamie Stevenson wants to sign for me which will make my squad better rolleyes.gif
David W
I stayed. Seriously considered it, however I'm too emotionally attached to my current team.
Abstract
Been off work all week to use up holiday but im totally skint so im now in 2020. Started with Saints got them promoted and playin european football for 7 years on the trot before packin my bags for the bright lights of Inter Milan. Lasted 18 months before gettin the sack and now im at Everton. Won the premiership in first full season but had a shite start to the 2nd.

BTW are Selik amazing in anyone elses game? They've won the SPL every year in my game, the Scottish cup all but three times, the uefa cup twice and the champions league 3 times!
Twynholm
QUOTE(Abstract @ Mar 24 2006, 01:10) [snapback]957118[/snapback]

BTW are Selik amazing in anyone elses game? They've won the SPL every year in my game, the Scottish cup all but three times, the uefa cup twice and the champions league 3 times!

Anything but it wink.gif
1andymclaren
I've played Rangers in 2 back to back games in the CIS Cup then in the league.

In the cup game they played a 4-2-4 blink.gif and i won 2-0 smile.gif
League game they played a 5-1-4 blink.gif and i won 2-1 smile.gif

Who the hell would play any of those formations ?!
'Steve
Argh, I think the computer has someting against me! (Or more likely a bug)

[attachmentid=7318]

Right, this game was going fine, I was drawing 3-3 with Inverness in the League Cup after extra time and the game went to penalties. I then won 3-2 on penalties, but when I got back to my news section it informed me I lost 3-1 on penalties and I looked back to the fixture in horror, I had been knocked out the League Cup by a bug! Argh!

This was then followed by this: 3-0 up and it's thrown away...

[attachmentid=7319]

And then in the Champions League...2-0 and cruising and then they score two out of nowhere!

[attachmentid=7320]
'Steve
Oh well can't argue with the next result!

MTJ
Championees!!! biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=7326]

[attachmentid=7327]

[attachmentid=7328]
Francesc Fabregas
Wherabouts are you getting the SFL badges etc from? Where can I get this patch?
1andymclaren
QUOTE(Francesc Fabregas @ Mar 24 2006, 23:21) [snapback]958724[/snapback]

Wherabouts are you getting the SFL badges etc from? Where can I get this patch?

Team badges here

No idea where to get the Bell's logo thingy but
1andymclaren
gutted sad.gif need to start again ohmy.gif had to reboot my system and one of the only things i forgot to back up was my FM saved game sad.gif
Russ.
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Mar 26 2006, 15:40) [snapback]961452[/snapback]

gutted sad.gif need to start again ohmy.gif had to reboot my system and one of the only things i forgot to back up was my FM saved game sad.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif Sorry, have got to laugh, at least it wasn't your editor dry.gif
MTJ
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Mar 26 2006, 15:40) [snapback]961452[/snapback]

Oh, btw your Stirling kit in your signature is last seasons. wink.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(MTJ @ Mar 26 2006, 20:37) [snapback]961976[/snapback]

Oh, btw your Stirling kit in your signature is last seasons. wink.gif

I was delightfuly informed about that about 5 mins after putting it as my sig laugh.gif I'm taking it off now anyway, it's boring.
1andymclaren
I love beating the wee diddy teams laugh.gif

[attachmentid=7375]

1andymclaren
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Mar 27 2006, 00:46) [snapback]962464[/snapback]

I love beating the wee diddy teams laugh.gif

[attachmentid=7375]

2 weeks later:

[attachmentid=7376]

[attachmentid=7377]

smile.gif

Francesc Fabregas
Things have never looked so good, and things have never been so clear!

I started a new game with Stenhousemuir last night. Before I did it however, I went to the data editor and edited the player's "Preferred Moves". Having been watching the squad for some time, you begin to pick up on their traits and characteristics. For example, Paul McGrillen: winds up opponents, argues with officials, likes to beat the offside trap; Colin Cramb: comes deep to get the ball, gets the crowd going, shoots with power etc etc. This is not cheating, it adds a bit more realism.

The first thing I did as the Stenhousemuir manager was get rid of some of the crappy players getting paid £150 odds a week. That means Jim Mercer, Paul McGrillan and Colin Cramb were released straight away (I actually felt terrible when I sacked Cramby, I really did, then I thought, wait, its a game, and Cramby doesn't need to know anyway).

In came Liam Buchanan from Cowdenbeath and Gordon Lennon from Albion, both on free transfers. In also came Adam Green from Doncaster for a free, along with Paul McMullen from Hamilton. CRaig Campbell, unattached was signed up too, and will be moving to bigger and better things. I also took in Tommy Coyne from Kilmarnock, and, best of all Dene Shields from Gretna, both on loan.

Shields has been amazing, the top scorer. We're top of the league by ten points (having played a game more) and we're at the end of January, so things are looking really, really good. I'm out of the cups, I went out in the first round of the Challenge and League Cup (I was playing fucking St Mirren and Stirling respectively) and Partick put me out of the Scottish Cup 2nd Round.

Any suggestions for a GK I could sign?
Burnsie
QUOTE(Francesc Fabregas @ Mar 27 2006, 16:17) [snapback]963168[/snapback]

Try Scott Murray from Dundee or Michael McGovern from Celtic.
Bryan
QUOTE('Steve @ Mar 24 2006, 22:06) [snapback]958354[/snapback]

Argh, I think the computer has someting against me! (Or more likely a bug)

[attachmentid=7318]

Right, this game was going fine, I was drawing 3-3 with Inverness in the League Cup after extra time and the game went to penalties. I then won 3-2 on penalties, but when I got back to my news section it informed me I lost 3-1 on penalties and I looked back to the fixture in horror, I had been knocked out the League Cup by a bug! Argh!

[attachmentid=7320]

do you have the latest patch
'Steve
No I don't, I'm worried incase I f**k something up when installing the latest patch and I lose my saved game. unsure.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE('Steve @ Mar 27 2006, 21:17) [snapback]963636[/snapback]

No I don't, I'm worried incase I f**k something up when installing the latest patch and I lose my saved game. unsure.gif

You can't go wrong if you open the game, click Update Check and install it from there.
qos_75
I know it has been done before but trying to get a screen shot is a nightmare.

1) after you have just finished a match and you are at the screen where the result of your match is displayed. The print screen option is not valid. Ie. it dosen't allow me to click it. sad.gif

2) All other screens allow me to print and give options Choose printer, print as a web page or print as a text file. Where and how do I choose the save as a paint file, as mentioned in the previous post on this?

Cheers
Bryan
QUOTE(qos_75 @ Mar 27 2006, 22:04) [snapback]963712[/snapback]

I know it has been done before but trying to get a screen shot is a nightmare.

1) after you have just finished a match and you are at the screen where the result of your match is displayed. The print screen option is not valid. Ie. it dosen't allow me to click it. sad.gif

2) All other screens allow me to print and give options Choose printer, print as a web page or print as a text file. Where and how do I choose the save as a paint file, as mentioned in the previous post on this?

Cheers

use the print screen button on your keyboard, open paint, hit paste then save as a jpg
Bryan
QUOTE('Steve @ Mar 27 2006, 21:17) [snapback]963636[/snapback]

that wiill fix the issue, back up your save wink.gif
qos_75
QUOTE(bryantonfan @ Mar 27 2006, 22:06) [snapback]963715[/snapback]

use the print screen button on your keyboard, open paint, hit paste then save as a jpg

The print screen key does not seem to do anything. Certainly not on the final score screen. sad.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(qos_75 @ Mar 27 2006, 23:14) [snapback]963877[/snapback]

The print screen key does not seem to do anything. Certainly not on the final score screen. sad.gif

Did you try paste it onto paint ? It's not the same as when you select pront screen form the menu, you won't notice nothing happening. And are you pressing the right key (beside f12)
'Steve
QUOTE(qos_75 @ Mar 27 2006, 23:14) [snapback]963877[/snapback]

When you press 'print screen' it isn't supposed to do anything apart from copying the screenshot, although you should see the 'timer' flash quickly when you press it.

Once you have pressed print screen then go into the paint -> edit -> paste and there you go, the screenshot is ready to be saved as a JPEG. smile.gif
'Steve
Quite happy with my recent form... smile.gif

[attachmentid=7390]

Milan next though. unsure.gif
'Steve
No problem! Milan were a shambles, worse than Livi, and they only got the two goals at the end because my centre back was sent off and I stupidly kept a back 3! laugh.gif

The Minertaur
First league game in charge of Cowden. Good start in my opinion
Robot
QUOTE(Francesc Fabregas @ Mar 27 2006, 16:17) [snapback]963168[/snapback]

FF, try and get Chris Neal from Preston. I picked him up for the Shire for £1K. I'm now in my first SPL season and he is worth £500K. He doesn't look much but improves greatly if you play him week in, week out.

Robot: Here to help.
The Minertaur
The magic of the Challenge Cup!

BROOWNY!!!!
diezel_afc
I always have an amazing first season then I sell 3 or 4 of the key players to raise around 2.5 million then rebuild......Then my second season it goes pear shaped every time sad.gif dry.gif

I was promoted with Gretna and was well on my way to achieving their ambition , to stay up, then I was sacked out of the blue thumbdown.gif I think I need some new tactics smartass.gif
diezel_afc
Also sign Ryan Thomson from a free transfer on your first season, you can make about 1million from him biggrin.gif
South Lanarkshire Jag
up to the Premiership now

an 7-0 win over Norwich who went down to 8 men sealed it
qos_75
QUOTE('Steve @ Mar 28 2006, 08:20) [snapback]964137[/snapback]

When you press 'print screen' it isn't supposed to do anything apart from copying the screenshot, although you should see the 'timer' flash quickly when you press it.

Once you have pressed print screen then go into the paint -> edit -> paste and there you go, the screenshot is ready to be saved as a JPEG. smile.gif

Hmm, I have tried this. I am not seeing the timer flash. Also where do you find paint - edit - paste?
StewartyMac
QUOTE(qos_75 @ Mar 29 2006, 23:03) [snapback]967421[/snapback]

Hmm, I have tried this. I am not seeing the timer flash. Also where do you find paint - edit - paste?

Ok, here is the process in full.

When you're on a screen in FM that you want to post on here, press the 'Print Screen' button (right next to your F12 key) once. Nothing noticable will happen. The screen image is now on your virtual clipboard.

Open up the application, 'Paint' that would have come with your PC. To find this, click on your 'Start' key down the bottom left of the screen, then go into 'All Programs', then 'Accessories', and you'll see 'Paint' there.

Once you've opened it, you will then be able to pase the image you copied onto the screen. Save it as a 'jpeg' in your 'pictures' folder.

Reply to this topic, and below the main window where you type your message, you'll see 'File Attachments', which allows you to upload a file from your PC. Click on 'Browse' and locate where you saved the pic earlier. Then click on 'Add This Attachment', and Bob's yer aunty's live in lover.

Here to help biggrin.gif
qos_75
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Mar 29 2006, 23:42) [snapback]967519[/snapback]

Ok, here is the process in full.

When you're on a screen in FM that you want to post on here, press the 'Print Screen' button (right next to your F12 key) once. Nothing noticable will happen. The screen image is now on your virtual clipboard.

Open up the application, 'Paint' that would have come with your PC. To find this, click on your 'Start' key down the bottom left of the screen, then go into 'All Programs', then 'Accessories', and you'll see 'Paint' there.

Once you've opened it, you will then be able to pase the image you copied onto the screen. Save it as a 'jpeg' in your 'pictures' folder.

Reply to this topic, and below the main window where you type your message, you'll see 'File Attachments', which allows you to upload a file from your PC. Click on 'Browse' and locate where you saved the pic earlier. Then click on 'Add This Attachment', and Bob's yer aunty's live in lover.

Here to help biggrin.gif

This is just a test but I think you have solved the problem.
qos_75
Ha, ha. There we have it then. After all that, a 2 -0 away win in Perth. However, the attendance is decent. wink.gif

Thank's to all that helped. smile.gif