Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Francesc Fabregas
QUOTE(supermac @ Jan 24 2006, 20:49) [snapback]861575[/snapback]

Hmmmm... are you cheating at all FF or do you have a 100 billion Euros budget?! dry.gif

Not cheating, you start off with a transfer budget of £25 million. I got a good price on Maxi lopez and Motta (around £10 million each, they went to England), while players like Johnson, Adu, Benzema and Mikel all cost £15 million or less between them!

With regards to the "big" signings, I gave them all £7 million up front with payments over the next 24 moths. I reckon I'll be bankrupt soon, but at the moment, life is sweet!
dubs
Cheating at Champ/FM is sad.
Francesc Fabregas
QUOTE(dubya @ Jan 25 2006, 16:47) [snapback]863141[/snapback]

Cheating at Champ/FM is sad.

Well said that man!

I gace myself £1.7 billion to spend, but it was quite shit and a bit boring. better to see all these deals go through and have a world-class team at your disposal.
Neilly
What's the point in cheating/using the editor in Football Manager, it defeats the purpose and makes it unrealistic.
Scott_L
QUOTE(6BOOTHY6 @ Jan 25 2006, 17:07) [snapback]863206[/snapback]

What's the point in cheating/using the editor in Football Manager, it defeats the purpose and makes it unrealistic.

I used it to make it more realistic, some players higher stats others lower etc.

Only thing is the changes don't appear when I start a new game, anyone know if you need to re-install, modify or anything?
Francesc Fabregas

I only cheated that time, and, like I said it was shit. I wheeled and dealed to bring in those world-class players for my Barca team, but now, Samuel Eto'o has broken his leg. So that means I have Reyes along with Benzema and Johnson up front. I want to sign someone in on loan for the rest of the season - any ideas?
Neilly
Colin Cramb.
djchapsticks

Basically, I only use it if I want to stick a club I am used to (St. Mirren), in a different league for a new challenge.

That and I always turn off the European Union, (means no work permits, not exactly cheating as it means that any club signing any player is fair game) and give whatever club I'm going to play as, an oppurtunity to expand the stadium to whatever they feel like. (Again not cheating, St. Mirren's potential capacity after expansion is only 24000. This becomes a hinderance as in a previous game (Champ Manager 2000/2001), I was seeling it out week after week and couldnt upgrade any further) at least with a potential capacity of whatever you want, you can expand upon your clubs succes, but still have to part with the many millions of pounds to get your ground up to scratch)
djchapsticks
Anyway, started a new game as St. Mirren in Scotland (got fed up with England, Championship mid-table was frustrating but I'll go back to it eventually)

I have signed up to an already decent squad:

William Arzamendia (Paraguayan Right Mid - 19 y/o, free agent)
Craig Campbell (On reccomendation of an earlier post on this thread from a Stenny Fan)
Carmelo Carioti (Swiss full back - 19 y/o, free agent)
Marc Kalenga (French Def Mid. - 20 y/o, free from Rangers, 10% sell on)
Craig Dargo (Caley Thistle - £0 up front, £50k over next 18 months and 15% sell on)
Darren Potter (Right/Central Mid - 20 year old Irish U21 on a seasons loan from Liverpool)

I'm also hoping to land Antoino Murray from Hibs on a season long deal.

I've pre-empted the stadium move and the side move into the brand spanking 12,000 (tongue.gif) seater New St. Mirren Park on 15th July 2005 (set the year incorrectly in the editor).

I'm trying to get another one or two cheapo signings in before my game against Partick in the LCC in 10 days time, but my squad is already big enough.
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Dec 29 2005, 15:59) [snapback]817327[/snapback]

I had considered it, but I fear my team wouldn't have been good enough for the Second Division anyway. Now I have the chance to continue to gradually improve my team for the step up - and I'm getting close to the kind of team I'd like

With McCluskey and Ritchie now marshalling the centre of defence, I've added Craig Tully to nail pesky left wingers, and the experienced Mark Roberts up front. Craig O'Reilly from Dundee has just accepted a move to Borough Briggs, and Marcus Gayle is considering a player/coach offer. Then I'll just need a decent goalkeeper, and I'll be all set! biggrin.gif

I've also reduced the club's debt by around £100,000 over two years, without having to sell anyone biggrin.gif

Hmm, not as strong a team as I would have liked in my third season, but Stephen Tulloch as done well at left-back since signing from Raith in January. Gayle is going to retire after the playoffs, which I've reached again, which is an annoyance as he's my top scorer. I need a new midfield as well sad.gif

Craig O'Reilly's scored 15 goals for me, too, so he's the man to look to in division two, should I get up. I'm confident going into the playoffs though, as I've won my final 4 league games without conceding a goal, including a 1-0 win over champions Albion Rovers.

I've not renewed any contracts yet though, as I want to improve my team accordingly for whatever division we end up in. Last season's heroes, John O'Neill and Brian McLaughlin are on their way out!
1878afc
I go Airdrie, didn't install the editor. My brother told me that to build a strong squad in first div the 3 main qualities are speed, strength and stamina. I went for two under 19's players in the lower leagues; Brian Fevlus(or Felvis blink.gif ) and a player that goes by the name of Lohan. They are both gems, you also can't do worse than bring in Shaun Fagan on loan from Scummerwell
Twynholm
QUOTE(1878afc @ Jan 26 2006, 00:16) [snapback]864332[/snapback]
They are both gems, you also can't do worse than bring in Shaun Fagan on loan from Scummerwell

Fagan is very good at centre mid on it. Good performances every week rolleyes.gif
Peterhead Dave
FINALLY!

After three long seasons, Elgin City have been promoted to Division Two! The play-off semi against Alloa was tough, I won the first leg 1-0, but lost the second 2-1. Fortunately, that vital away goal set me up for the trip to Hampden to face Montrose - who I had knocked out in the playoff semis (and thus relegated) a year previously.

It was nervy stuff, but Marcus Gayle's goal just before the half hour, in his last game for the club, secured the victory and the step up.

Bugger me, I hope I can sign some decent players. And an Assistant Manager, as Kenny Black has left. Bugger.
Twynholm
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Jan 26 2006, 16:33) [snapback]865105[/snapback]

FINALLY!

After three long seasons, Elgin City have been promoted to Division Two! The play-off semi against Alloa was tough, I won the first leg 1-0, but lost the second 2-1. Fortunately, that vital away goal set me up for the trip to Hampden to face Montrose - who I had knocked out in the playoff semis (and thus relegated) a year previously.

It was nervy stuff, but Marcus Gayle's goal just before the half hour, in his last game for the club, secured the victory and the step up.

Bugger me, I hope I can sign some decent players. And an Assistant Manager, as Kenny Black has left. Bugger.

When i am at a decent SFL club i sign all the Queens staff as they are cheap and have a local reputation. I recommend Alan Keraghan as Assistant if he has been sacked by Scumdee. Get him as a Player/Assistant it worked for me!!!
cfczoomcfc
Sitting joint top of the premiership with chelsea after 9 games both of us have 19 points it is extremely tight between top 6 or 7 though.

Maciej Zurawski is on fire scoring 8 goals already.

Injuries are mounting up though and I am starting to struggle with them though and cant wait for January transfer window.

Anyone know any good players I should buy on a strict budget that will cut it at the business end of the premiership.
Twynholm
QUOTE(cfczoomcfc @ Jan 26 2006, 17:05) [snapback]865202[/snapback]

Sitting joint top of the premiership with chelsea after 9 games both of us have 19 points it is extremely tight between top 6 or 7 though.

Maciej Zurawski is on fire scoring 8 goals already.

Injuries are mounting up though and I am starting to struggle with them though and cant wait for January transfer window.

Anyone know any good players I should buy on a strict budget that will cut it at the business end of the premiership.

Shaun Maloney
Kirk Broadfoot wink.gif

Both good young SCOTS smile.gif who develop into good players wink.gif
cfczoomcfc
QUOTE(Twynholm @ Jan 26 2006, 17:10) [snapback]865214[/snapback]

Shaun Maloney
Kirk Broadfoot wink.gif

Both good young SCOTS smile.gif who develop into good players wink.gif

Maloney is already in my team biggrin.gif

Broadfoot ill have a look at but need a short term fix to try and clinch the league.... away to embark on another session of FM biggrin.gif
Kyle
Got a St Johnstone team sitting 3rd in the SPL in my second season.

Some rather unrealistic buys though.

Got Kevin Kyle, Dennis Bergkamp and Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink to pick from upfront as well as Jason Scotland laugh.gif

Got some swiss winger called david degan.. class player... along with a finnish 19 year old called tim sparv in defensive mid - got him for next to nothing from southampton and he's class... stats wise not so much, but he's 8/9 most games. Neil McGregor, Mensing, Danny Griffin and Sean Dillon at the back with Ian Walker in goals.

Quite happy with my team really smile.gif
Mushroom
Champions League Group A

Manchester United 0-2 Clyde

Clyde 1-0 Lazio

cool.gif

Trying to sell a few guys that I dropped on ridiculous wages, On £5,000, £8,000 and £10,750 p/w! ohmy.gif

Easy to see why I'm about 20k over the wage budget! laugh.gif Shifting them would clear it thank f'k!
'Steve
Ended up walking the league with Morton in my first season, as thankfully Partick slipped up quite a few times towards the end of the season.

Robert Snodgrass and Svetoslav Todorov bagged about 50 goals between them.

Signed Hugo Viana and Bradley Wright Phillips ohmy.gif in the summer to bolster my squad for the first division and despite winning my first three matches I've slipped up quite a few times which has seen me fall down to mid-table. In my last match I was 3-1 up at Airdrie and cruising but I lost 2 goals in the 90th minute!

Being manager of Morton I've constantly told Duncan Shearer (St Mirren manager) that I hope his team would crash and burn! laugh.gif The Morton fans adore me! biggrin.gif
Mushroom
Here is my starting 11 - how sad am I laugh.gif

[attachmentid=5921]

Note: some of these aren't actually the players but people (or mice) with the same name laugh.gif

Binus points if you can guess who they all are! laugh.gif
Chris
QUOTE(ochil-clyde @ Jan 26 2006, 20:57) [snapback]865556[/snapback]

Here is my starting 11 - how sad am I laugh.gif

[attachmentid=5921]

Note: some of these aren't actually the players but people (or mice) with the same name laugh.gif

Binus points if you can guess who they all are! laugh.gif

Absolutely chronic.

John would have been quick to pick up on this Freudian slip though. cool.gif
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Jan 25 2006, 19:53) [snapback]863515[/snapback]

I've not renewed any contracts yet though, as I want to improve my team accordingly for whatever division we end up in. Last season's heroes, John O'Neill and Brian McLaughlin are on their way out!

Those two retired, thank christ, as they still had a year on their contracts and there was no interest in them!

A rebuilt Elgin side, with star striker Christopher Templeman has started the new season with a bang. I wasn't too confident as I hadn't improved as much as I would have liked, but a 5-0 cup victory over Alloa soon calmed my nerve, Templeman banging in 4, and ex-Rangers man Craig Frizzel also getting on the scoresheet.

The additions of ex-St Johnstone duo Kevin James and Mark Campbell added depth to the defence, while Ricky Gillies adds an extra dimension in midfield. James was handed the captains armband for the first league game against, er, Peterhead. I may now have to resign, as I beat them 5-1, including a goal from substitute Gillies.

I'm not getting carried away after that start though, as I still desperately need a goalkeeper - which is a bit of a bugger given the fact that STILL nobody wants to sign for me!

Next up: Clyde in the cup. 3-3 draw, Alex Williams had two penalties saved in normal time, and also his shootout effort! laugh.gif Temps kept his scoring run going, and Frizzell scored again!
'Steve
After a sticky start in the 1st division my Morton side have gone 9 games undefeated, 8 of which have been victories.

Bradley Wright Phillips has banged in 25 goals already this season with still about half to go. Robert Snodgrass is also developing into a very good player.

Things are looking up for the 'ton! biggrin.gif
MTJ
[attachmentid=5946]

blink.gif
MTJ
Right, this isn't on. I am NK Maribor of Slovenia and I can't play my best team cause of f'kn EU regulations. mad.gif
1878afc
Just got the tin tac with Airdrie 3 games after getting a new 2-year deal blink.gif I'm now Queens Park biggrin.gif
g_m_f_c_1874_g_m_f_c
Only got the game this week and am unbeaten so far (except in pre season) Obviously ive started as Morton, sold Millar, J Walker and John Adam. Bought Stewart Devine, Bobby Linn and Tom Brighton. My best players so far have been Finlayson and Weatherson (who is finding a lot of interest but is NOT for sale smile.gif ). Templeman was my best player in the opening 3 league games then got an injury which will keep him out for upto a year !!!!!!!!! Just got knowcked out the Challenege Cup in the semi's by Dundee, after a last minute winner !!
1andymclaren
QUOTE(g_m_f_c_1874_g_m_f_c @ Jan 28 2006, 11:44) [snapback]868255[/snapback]

Only got the game this week and am unbeaten so far (except in pre season) Obviously ive started as Morton, sold Millar, J Walker and John Adam. Bought Stewart Devine, Bobby Linn and Tom Brighton. My best players so far have been Finlayson and Weatherson (who is finding a lot of interest but is NOT for sale smile.gif ). Templeman was my best player in the opening 3 league games then got an injury which will keep him out for upto a year !!!!!!!!! Just got knowcked out the Challenege Cup in the semi's by Dundee, after a last minute winner !!

Well i was unbeaten in the league until GILLIES gave Partick a 2-1 lead in the 92nd minute !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ohmy.gif tongue.gif
SimonLichtie
SPL with Shire in 2012! biggrin.gif

Currently top after 2 games! laugh.gif

The trick in the game is simply to buy good prospects who are 18/19 years old, watch them develop and after they help you to a promotion, good cup run etc, sell them on and buy another one in for a 10th of what you got! smile.gif
WeAreThePeople
Won SPL,Champs Leauge,Scottish Cup and CIS Cup with Rangers IN MY FIRST SEASON biggrin.gif
WeAreThePeople
QUOTE(MTJ @ Jan 27 2006, 22:39) [snapback]867553[/snapback]

[attachmentid=5946]

blink.gif

bad result for silema laugh.gif
WeAreThePeople
I seen something on the web saying you can move Rangers and Cellic down south is this true???? huh.gif
Mushroom
QUOTE(MTJ @ Jan 27 2006, 22:39) [snapback]867553[/snapback]
[attachmentid=5946]

blink.gif

Pah!

If I was Liverpool manager I'd have scored at least 16 wink.gif

In Bully Wee News

EASY EASY EASY

[attachmentid=5959]
Peterhead Dave
Get yer pish old games off the FM 2006 thread! Taht's not even a football manager game! rolleyes.gif
Mushroom
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Jan 28 2006, 22:41) [snapback]869548[/snapback]
Get yer pish old games off the FM 2006 thread! Taht's not even a football manager game! rolleyes.gif

I've posted on here before and no-ones complained about it rolleyes.gif

The games around the Lazio game make it even more confusing

League Cup Q/F - Ayr(Div1) 2-0 Clyde
SPL Dundee 0-0 Clyde
LAZIO 1-5 CLYDE
SPL Clyde 1-3 Rangers

blink.gif wtf?
Mushroom
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

1andymclaren
Highest win for me is 13-0 against Fraserburgh laugh.gif 9 different goalscorers as well biggrin.gif smile.gif
Mushroom
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Jan 29 2006, 16:35) [snapback]870738[/snapback]
Highest win for me is 13-0 against Fraserburgh laugh.gif 9 different goalscorers as well biggrin.gif smile.gif

That wisnae me rolleyes.gif

I've never won more than 5-0 sad.gif

AND I played Coldstream in the cup last season, only winning by 3 sad.gif
'Steve
Went on to record 15 straight wins before the end of the season and finished about 15 points clear of Partick Thistle.

I have only signed Derek Riordan over the summer and I haven't had a fantastic start. Lost 1-0 to Celtic in the first match, 1-1 draw with Aberdeen in the second match and a 1-0 defeat against Hibs in the third. sad.gif
1andymclaren
Ive now started absolutely pish in the 1st division sad.gif

7 defeats in 8 games and 1 draw ohmy.gif

Sold Jim McAlister for 1.3M to Newcastle !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Transfer window is fucked on this game
sergie's no1 fan
stenny are playing airdrie in the challenge cup final! awooga

struggling in the league , 1 win in 4 and 4 points behind the lichties

sw**kie and walker ( my top scorers ) are out for 2 months so my goals have dried up big style

should get the double though wink.gif
Peterhead Dave
I'm pissed off with this. I had a trawl through the English lower leagues to find an experienced goalkeeper who'd been released. BINGO! Shaka Hislop. Available on a free, and wants to join me for £160 a week as player/coach (god knows my other keepers need the coaching!)

The downside? He played two games before retiring from the playing side. Fucker.
Twynholm
Is their a january update coming out?
Francesc Fabregas
My Barcelona team are ace. I won the league and cup in my first season, and have got rid of the dead wood at the club (van Bommel, Saviola, Sylvinho) and saved up to bring in Petr Cech for £36 million (£10 million up front, £26 million afer 24 months) and Nigel de Jong, just to shore up the back line. The team is ace.
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Jan 30 2006, 01:33) [snapback]872028[/snapback]

I'm pissed off with this. I had a trawl through the English lower leagues to find an experienced goalkeeper who'd been released. BINGO! Shaka Hislop. Available on a free, and wants to join me for £160 a week as player/coach (god knows my other keepers need the coaching!)

The downside? He played two games before retiring from the playing side. Fucker.

Still sitting in mid table in Division Two with half the season gone, and big Temps is still banging in the goals - 21 in 24 games so far!

I've just taken the unusual step of releasing a player during a game. Pat Scullion was moaning about not getting a game, so with Mark Campbell suspended, he was given his chance. Giving away a penalty after 2 minutes is not conduicive to being a first team regular. He lasted til half time, but when I subbed him, I also released him - which was cheap since he was only on month to month deals anyway.
munro7
I've given up and gone back to Football Manager 2005. I can't play the 2006 game at all, lasting on average 1 season before getting the Spanish Archer and then struggling to get another job. I'll try again when I have more patience.
The Minertaur
Still playing as Gretna. Not played in a while.

Still just my second season and I am top of the first division by 4 points from Clyde who have sold there 2 best player to Aberdeen. I was 5 points behind them before this happenend!!! Livie in the Scottish cup soon. SHould be interesting!
The Minertaur
Just played Livingston.

I won 4-1!! I better get a big team in the next round!
1andymclaren
Just been sacked by Dougie Rae for failing to impress in SPL ohmy.gif !!!

tongue.gif laugh.gif