Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
zuluroyal
game is running now.... join the msn chat

21.25pm
Twynholm
I just started a game with Morton last night.

signing targets are- Allan Je***s
Tom Brighton
Willie McLaren
Craig Bryson
Neil McGregor etc

Not a bad start eh smile.gif
Twynholm
Am Morton on my game and have won 22 games out of about 24 rolleyes.gif top of the league with 14 wins out of 14 smile.gif

made challenge cup final but got beat by partick and got beat in CIS cup 3rd round Killie who were lucky dry.gif

Anyway i rule as a manager ph34r.gif laugh.gif
Twynholm
Forgot to add in my 1st game Beat Gretna 5-0 then beat them 2 weeks later in the cup 3-2 then beat them 1-0 in the League again!

Anyway how do you post screenshots???
supermac
Took St Albans City into the Conference National in my first season but now, in with the big boys and no transfer kitty, I keep getting pumped left, right and centre.

I've tried different players, formations etc and still cant get a result. Any other ideas? I'm desperate sad.gif

(And if things dont improve I'll just quit and go a better team cool.gif )
Twynholm
QUOTE(supermac @ Jan 12 2006, 19:46) [snapback]840766[/snapback]

Took St Albans City into the Conference National in my first season but now, in with the big boys and no transfer kitty, I keep getting pumped left, right and centre.

I've tried different players, formations etc and still cant get a result. Any other ideas? I'm desperate sad.gif

(And if things dont improve I'll just quit and go a better team cool.gif )

Play 442 Free as your tactic and have a training routine which improves your players stats wink.gif works for me wink.gif
PaleGreySky
got thistle into the first division. took two years. im cheating lots though. took about 4million off chelsea and milan and gave them ricky gillies,colin stewart and stevie nicholas in return dry.gif ........ cool.gif

currently have calum davidson,grant murray,tugay,stevie crawford,jim mcintyre and kenny deuchar/steven mcconalogue as recognisable players in my team. grady and deuchar got me promoted the year before though geting about 30 goals each...having a shit pre season so far...lost 5-0 to exeter,4-1 to milton keynes dons and drew 2-2 with cowdenbeath...all the performances have sucked...anyone know any good players to get in...looking for young 'uns.anyone got a game going where adam strachan(thistle) gets good???
Neilly
You're cheating and are still shite.

I would give up.
Twynholm
I got Morton too the SPL with 2 straight promotions and League wins and made the challenge cup final once and won it the other time, Also made the Scottish cup semis when i was in Division 2. have a class act team and have about 5 million in the bank with no cheating, only problem is the SPL is solid sad.gif

Anyway i am after either the stenhousemuir job(new challenge unsure.gif tongue.gif ) or a spl job preferablly Hibs wink.gif

BTW bought Danny Graham off Middlebrough on a free transfer and sold him to Aberdeen 1 day later for 1 million pounds smile.gif

And Andy Welsh off Sunderland(sold him to Rangers for 1.3 Million smile.gif ) is immense on it, so is Darren Potter(Liverpool) wink.gif
Deco
I've just started my third season with Morton and I'm in the 1st division.

Got out of the 2nd at my first attempt and then came 7th in the 1st. I'm hoping to get promoted this year though. tongue.gif

It's too late at night to be going through my signings/team etc, I'll do all that tomorrow.
Mushroom
QUOTE(PaleGreySky @ Jan 13 2006, 17:31) [snapback]842385[/snapback]
got thistle into the first division. took two years. im cheating lots though. took about 4million off chelsea and milan and gave them ricky gillies,colin stewart and stevie nicholas in return dry.gif ........ cool.gif

I used to do that until I realised it was more fun playing honestly rolleyes.gif

Playing honestly, I somehow managed to sell Mark Gilhaney to Man City for 1.5m laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Through to the UEFA cup 3rd round cool.gif

beat G.Birligi 4-2 on aggregate (CM03/04 mind ph34r.gif )
Dunc
Using the hefty power of my new PC, i booted up the editor and made myself a team of superstars in the Third Division, taking the place of the Shire.

Its quality. I can't wait to see the East Fife defence line up against my attacking 5 of Henry, Ronaldo, Ronaldinho, Robben and Eto'o...

Ronaldo is struggling to settle in the area! laugh.gif He's also slightly concerned that i'm not motivating the team enough - we just won 11-0, what kind of motivation does the team need!?!
zuluroyal
hahahaha, superb.

Did you change the club's finances and make them rich? Or just add the superstars?

I take it our net game has gone tits up?
Dunc
QUOTE(zuluroyal @ Jan 17 2006, 11:24) [snapback]849258[/snapback]

hahahaha, superb.

Did you change the club's finances and make them rich? Or just add the superstars?

I take it our net game has gone tits up?

Yip, the club is the richest i could set it, and i also ticked the "Cash Injection" and "Sugar Daddy" boxes!

In my last 8 games, i've scored 53 goals, without reply. Most of the team are slightly concerned about my team-talks, but what are you supposed to say to a team of superstars who've just beaten Arbroath 11-0?
Twynholm
Carrying on from last time i got Morton to the SPL kept them a couple of points clear of the relegation zone with about 6 games to go. I then left them for Livingston who where a point below Morton(who Mark McGhee took over and did a class job rolleyes.gif ) and Morton finished about 8th 7 or 8 points ahead of me and i managed to keep Livi up although in my 7 games played the refs gave the opposing team 7 f'cking penalties i was furious, they also disallowed a goal in my huge relegation game.

now i have to take Livi up the SPL wink.gif
Dunc
I've been beaten by Hearts crying.gif My league cup dream is out the windae. I'm still on course for a treble of the Scottish, the Challenge and the Third Division though.

Just recorded my biggest win so far, a 13-0 romp at home against Queens Park. Ronaldo grabbed 6, Eto'o scored 5 including his 30th of the season, and 100th league goal of his career. Ronaldinho and Henry both scored one each.

Every one of my players finished with a rating of 10, except Petr Cech, who got 8, but I he had no shots to deal with at all.
Dunc
I've just witnessed what must surely be the greatest moment of Wayne Rooney's life...

Scoring a hat-trick in the Challenge Cup Final, helping me to a 6-0 mauling of Gretna.
Francesc Fabregas
QUOTE(Dunc @ Jan 16 2006, 22:08) [snapback]848716[/snapback]

Using the hefty power of my new PC, i booted up the editor and made myself a team of superstars in the Third Division, taking the place of the Shire.

Its quality. I can't wait to see the East Fife defence line up against my attacking 5 of Henry, Ronaldo, Ronaldinho, Robben and Eto'o...

Ronaldo is struggling to settle in the area! laugh.gif He's also slightly concerned that i'm not motivating the team enough - we just won 11-0, what kind of motivation does the team need!?!

Why would you want to do this though? It makes the game incredibly dull. far better if you go a wee team and work your way up with them, not if you cheat and maipulate the game.
dubs
QUOTE(Francesc Fabregas @ Jan 17 2006, 15:45) [snapback]849716[/snapback]

Why would you want to do this though? It makes the game incredibly dull. far better if you go a wee team and work your way up with them, not if you cheat and maipulate the game.

I used to cheat at Champ and that when I was 10... it's just pointless. The game loses it's appeal after a while. Nothing better than guiding small teams to glory.
Dunc
I've started hundreds (well, about 7) games with lower teams, its usually all I do. I just fancied a change, and wanted to see how it would all work.

I've still not conceded a goal in the league, and it is indeed really boring, but the cup is still quite exciting.

In my last game, against Albion Rovers, Henry was injured about half an hour in, and I only had 2 fit players on my bench - Van Der Sar, and Ashley Cole. I'm selling Ashley Cole to Arsenal, so I brought big Edwin on. He scored a header in the last minute thumbup2.gif He's starting against Montrose.
Follow Follow
To move the Old Firm to the English Premiership:

Create a file called rangers.edt in <footyman folder location>/data/db and put this in it:

Code:
"SWAP_TEAMS" "West Brom" "Septic"
"SWAP_TEAMS" "West Ham" "Rangers"

Then create a file called rangers.ddt (in the same folder):

Code:
"RETAIN_PLAYERS" "Septic"
"RETAIN_PLAYERS" "Rangers"

Now fire up your game of footy man, go to option -> preferences then check the rangers boxes at the bottom for 'extra data files' and 'keep player detail files'.

If you start a new game after your rangers in the epl exploits you can uncheck those boxes and it'll go back to normal.

And it doesn't have to be west brom / west ham - it can be anyone from the epl.

*Septic should be Celtic obviously...
sergie's no1 fan
QUOTE(Follow Follow @ Jan 17 2006, 20:07) [snapback]850195[/snapback]

To move the Old Firm to the English Premiership:

Create a file called rangers.edt in <footyman folder location>/data/db and put this in it:
Code:
"SWAP_TEAMS" "West Brom" "Septic"
"SWAP_TEAMS" "West Ham" "Rangers"
Then create a file called rangers.ddt (in the same folder):
Code:
"RETAIN_PLAYERS" "Septic"
"RETAIN_PLAYERS" "Rangers"
Now fire up your game of footy man, go to option -> preferences then check the rangers boxes at the bottom for 'extra data files' and 'keep player detail files'.

If you start a new game after your rangers in the epl exploits you can uncheck those boxes and it'll go back to normal.

And it doesn't have to be west brom / west ham - it can be anyone from the epl.

*Septic should be Celtic obviously...

thats too good to be true laugh.gif

my stenny team just knocked the wee saints out the quarters of the challenge cup biggrin.gif

I have a battle on my hands with the lichties for the title though.

No offence but the squad is really poor in the game and most are on 2 year deals so i gave everyone a 1 year deal and brought in 12 loan players and dont pay any of their wages. Same with all 3rd division teams, they are all low standard? your better off signing players from Hibs under 19's and Hearts,Aberdeen ect

At the end of the season hopefully i'll be up and have no squad atall, i plan to build a squad to take my to the 1st division with only loan signings, what an achievement that would be !
Twynholm
QUOTE(dubya @ Jan 17 2006, 15:50) [snapback]849726[/snapback]

I used to cheat at Champ and that when I was 10... it's just pointless. The game loses it's appeal after a while. Nothing better than guiding small teams to glory.

Totally agree, it is pointless. I got Morton to the SPL without cheating and left them with a class squad a good manager now in charge 5 million in the bank, a new stadium coming up and their SPL status and had a good feeling after doing that biggrin.gif
Twynholm
I played it today for about 3 hours and the fucker crashed dry.gif so i lost all my data sad.gif
supermac
Thinking of starting a new game as Stenny.

Any potential there? Any tips for signings/loan players before I commence?
supermac
Made a decent start as Stenny gaffer, top of the league after 5 games but out both cups.

Signed: McGovern and Mulgrew on loan from Celtic, Andy Ross, Kevin Christie and Paul Rudden on frees, Molloy and McKenna on loan from Saints, Chris Hogg on loan from Hibs.

Sold Andy Barbuckle and Joe Savage.

Frankie Carroll has been great but McGrillen out for 6 months with a broken leg ohmy.gif

codfish
I've taken Peterhead into the UEFA Cup group stages, after hammering Galatasaray 7-1 on aggregate (with a 0-0 draw away from home) and am sitting top of the group after a draw with Besiktas and an away win against Sparta Prague smile.gif

On the domestic front, I crashed out of the League Cup with a defeat to First Division Dunfermline, but I'm sitting second in the SPL, 5 points behind Celtic after 14 games smile.gif
Scott_L
I have edited the data using 'data-editor' on Football Manager 2005 (I'm so tightfisted I haven't bought my own copy, far cheaper to update all the data/stats I need to from last years game wink.gif ) but when I start a new game my new data wont load up and there are no apparent changes. Can anyone help?
'Steve
Took over Gretna and led them to 3rd place in the 2nd division before winning the play-offs in order to get promoted to the 1st division.

1st Division started off ok, somehow signed Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink who fired Gretna up near the top single handedly but towards the end of the season the team collapsed and ended up finishing in 5th place.

This season I thought I meant business, I signed Lee Miller from Dundee Utd, Dean Shiels from Hibs, Serginho blink.gif from AC Milan and Deivedas Cesnauskas from Hearts, but I'm hovering above the relegation zone due to conceding countless last minutes goals!! Does anyone else have a habit of losing last minute goals? How can this be avoided?

Doesn't look like I'm going to get anywhere this season, with Partick throwing money about at the likes of Shaun Maloney I have no chance. sad.gif
Dunc
QUOTE('Steve @ Jan 20 2006, 22:48) [snapback]854400[/snapback]

This season I thought I meant business, I signed Lee Miller from Dundee Utd, Dean Shiels from Hibs, Serginho blink.gif from AC Milan and Deivedas Cesnauskas from Hearts, but I'm hovering above the relegation zone due to conceding countless last minutes goals!! Does anyone else have a habit of losing last minute goals? How can this be avoided?

Grrrr. I lost two last minute goals in 2 games on a NWG. I played Hamilton, picked up 8 yellow cards, 1 red and got an injury after i'd made all my subs. In injury time, they got 5 or 6 corners in a row, and finally scored in the 95th minute mad.gif Then the next week I lost an 89th minute goal to Ross County.
Bairnboy
I always find myself playing fm after a dissapointing result IRL (yes im the sad bugger who doesn't go out on a sat!) laugh.gif

Currently got my Falkirk season running, 1st yr got relegated on last day to Livi, (St Mirren promoted, Hearts Champs) then steamed the 1st divison (offered the Livi job and 2 mill to spend but turned it down because I don't like them! )

Now back in the SPL - fixtures were rangers (a) Hearts (h) Hibs (a) to start, lost to gers then 6 straight wins (including a 4-0 humping of Dunfermline) sitting 2nd in SPL! after 7 games! If only it was real!....
Mushroom
CM03/04

I'm just about to face Man Urinal in the quarters of the UEFA Cup ohmy.gif

Humped Vit. Guimares in the last round though 1-0 at home then 3-0 away cool.gif
Twynholm
I am just about to start a new game!
Mon_The_Fife
QUOTE(Twynholm @ Jan 22 2006, 16:47) [snapback]857172[/snapback]

I am just about to start a new game!

As who?

I'm in season 2010 with East Fife and i'm top of Division 1, so doing ok and with over £4m in the bank all is good biggrin.gif

If you want any tips for a lower league club regarding players let me know!
Twynholm
QUOTE(Mon_The_Fife @ Jan 22 2006, 17:19) [snapback]857217[/snapback]

As who?

Was as Hibs, but i got bored wink.gif
supermac
QUOTE(Mon_The_Fife @ Jan 22 2006, 17:19) [snapback]857217[/snapback]

As who?

I'm in season 2010 with East Fife and i'm top of Division 1, so doing ok and with over £4m in the bank all is good biggrin.gif

If you want any tips for a lower league club regarding players let me know!

I'm Stenny (still this season) so any tips on players gratefully received smile.gif
'Steve
Being the stupid tit I am I accidently deleted my Gretna game!

Started off a new game with Morton and I'm doing very well, gone about half the season and only lost once, any other season I'd be well on my way to the title but bloody Partick and Gretna just keep winning as well! mad.gif

Like I did with Gretna, I've made quite a few shock signings. Somehow managed to pick up Todorov and Richard Hughes from Portsmouth! Both are on about £750 a week! Also signed some Angolan called Mendonca who is excellent.

Mon_the_fife, signing tips would be appreciated, as I can't afford to pay all these big signings wages!

PS:- If you start a new games make sure to pick up Robert Snodgrass from Livi. Only 17 years old and his stats are pretty impressive, and would no doubt improve as the years go on.
Burnsie
Just started a new game with Stenny. Decided to get rid of some of my fringe players to make way for new signings. Managed to sell Renwick for 3k and Collins for 2k both to Cowden and Joe Savage to Montrose for 1k. Amazingly I managed to make Forfar fork out 20k for John "BC" McKeown and East Fife 10k for Andy Arbuckle.

New signings are Kevin Christie, Paul Rudden, Graeme Holmes, Craig Campbell and Steve McGlinchey on free transfers and Robert Harris on loan form Clyde. I've now got 15k to spend any suggestions who I should buy?
Twynholm
Good players at SFL level

No money or on Loan

Paul Rudden,
Kieran McAnespie
Paul Nugent
David O'Brien
Shaun Fagan

Those of you who have money,

Craig Bryson
Alex Williams
Neil McGregor
Eddie Malone
Stephen O'Donnell
Tom Brighton
Willie McLaren

All very good players!
Mushroom
QUOTE(Twynholm @ Jan 23 2006, 10:20) [snapback]858475[/snapback]
Good players at SFL level

Those of you who have money,

Craig Bryson
Alex Williams
Neil McGregor
Eddie Malone
Stephen O'Donnell
Tom Brighton

Willie McLaren

All very good players!

We are honoured wink.gif

I lost 2-1 twice to Man Utd. in the UEFA Cup quarters but I fininshed 2nd in the SPL and won the Scottish cup so I'll take that.

Can anyone think of an easier cup run than this though

3rd rnd. - Coldstream (a) rested a few guys so only won 3-0 ph34r.gif
4th rnd. - Ayr Utd. (h) 1st Div.
Q/F - Motherwell (a) 2nd div laugh.gif
S/F - Dunfermline - Lower SPL - took me to a replay ohmy.gif
Final - Ross County - Lowerish SPL took me to penalties ohmy.gif

Signed a few guys over summer a defensive mid that I plan to play as a centre-back and a young striker because after my injury crisis where at one point I had 3 of them injured, I learned you really need more than 4 strikers.
Mon_The_Fife
When I started with East Fife I signed:

Andrew Appleby - Pish ratings but scores for fun.
Steven Bonar
Paul Rudden - Superb biggrin.gif
Roddy Hunter - Loan
Kevin Byers
Eamonn Fullerton
Andrew Middlebrook
Sean McInulty
David Graham - You might not get him though!
Tom Fletcher
David White
John Stark
John Burton

In the East Fife side defo sign Craig Smart the rest are waash!

I was also Scotland Under 19's manager and managed to sign Chris Kelly from Arsenal blink.gif He is superb in Division 1.

Later on if you can I recommend signing Dennis McLaughlan and Jamie Mole from Hearts! Both turn out to be amazing.

I have signed some crackers over the seasons but they are the players who got me started and up the leagues.

Dunc
This game is brilliant for building up teams with wacky names.

My team features:

Charlie Daniels
Tommy Lee
Prince

Dr Feelgood sitting in the Purple rain down in Georgia, anyone?
Twynholm
Who made up Airdrie on this game as they are hard as f'ck to beat sad.gif dry.gif
supermac
QUOTE(Mon_The_Fife @ Jan 23 2006, 17:19) [snapback]859174[/snapback]

When I started with East Fife I signed:

Andrew Appleby - Pish ratings but scores for fun.
Steven Bonar
Paul Rudden - Superb biggrin.gif
Roddy Hunter - Loan
Kevin Byers
Eamonn Fullerton
Andrew Middlebrook
Sean McInulty
David Graham - You might not get him though!
Tom Fletcher
David White
John Stark
John Burton

In the East Fife side defo sign Craig Smart the rest are waash!

I was also Scotland Under 19's manager and managed to sign Chris Kelly from Arsenal blink.gif He is superb in Division 1.

Later on if you can I recommend signing Dennis McLaughlan and Jamie Mole from Hearts! Both turn out to be amazing.

I have signed some crackers over the seasons but they are the players who got me started and up the leagues.

Will see how many of these want to come to Stenny cool.gif

I signed quite a few Celtic kids on loan including Mulgrew, the goalie (forget his name), and McGlinchey (fantastic left winger). David McKenna on loan from the Saints has scored a barrowload as well in the Third Division.

Tried various times to get Markus Put-a-line-on to come from Cowden but no joy. He has scored hunners for them mad.gif
supermac
Has anyone seen this before on either CM or FM?? unsure.gif

"Top East Fife player distracted by personal problem.

In a relevatory interview with a local paper, East Fife player Richard Usherwood has conceded he is currently experiencing problems in his personal life.

The striker says he currently has little appetite for football and will be looking to take a short break from the team" laugh.gif

Sadly no pics or any more detail. I think I'll try and sign him. biggrin.gif
Francesc Fabregas
I started a game with Barcelona on Sunday night, and have only suffered one defeat in the season (Champions League, at Sparta Prague when I put out a diddy team when qualification was already assured).

Out went Maxi Lopez, Thiago Motta, Santiago Ezquerro and Sylvinho.

In came Patrice Evra (best left back in the game), John Obi Mikel (I took off his arranged trasnfer in the Data Editor, because know one knows where he's going), Sidney Govou, Sanli Tuncay, Jose Antonio Reyes, Eddie Johnson, Karim Benzema from Lyon and Freddy Adu.

Unbeaten in the league so far (I'm just about to go into January) and I even beat Real Madrid 5-0 in my first game, despite Luxemburgo trying to play the mind games with me.

AWOOGA!
codfish
Took Peterhead into the knock-out stages of the UEFA Cup, but lost 4-3 on aggregate to Olympiakos sad.gif

Currently sitting second in the SPL after 29 games, and have reached the semi-final of the Scottish Cup, where I'll face a Kilmarnock side that I've just beaten 3-1 at Rugby Park on league duty smile.gif
supermac
QUOTE(Francesc Fabregas @ Jan 24 2006, 17:04) [snapback]861027[/snapback]

I started a game with Barcelona on Sunday night, and have only suffered one defeat in the season (Champions League, at Sparta Prague when I put out a diddy team when qualification was already assured).

Out went Maxi Lopez, Thiago Motta, Santiago Ezquerro and Sylvinho.

In came Patrice Evra (best left back in the game), John Obi Mikel (I took off his arranged trasnfer in the Data Editor, because know one knows where he's going), Sidney Govou, Sanli Tuncay, Jose Antonio Reyes, Eddie Johnson, Karim Benzema from Lyon and Freddy Adu.

Unbeaten in the league so far (I'm just about to go into January) and I even beat Real Madrid 5-0 in my first game, despite Luxemburgo trying to play the mind games with me.

AWOOGA!

Hmmmm... are you cheating at all FF or do you have a 100 billion Euros budget?! dry.gif
cfczoomcfc
Getting the actual game for my laptop tomorrow (cant be arsed dloadin all the programs and torrents to mount it on this)

Think I will either:

Stick the OF in the Premiership and play with Celtic

Create a new Euro league or

Go East Stirling and try and build from there ohmy.gif
The Minertaur
In charge of Gretna - first year won the league (took a while as Partick won nearly every other game) and won the challenge cup. Knocked out in league cupo and scottish cup quarter finals.

Now in the 1st division we are in 3rd having not lost in the opening 6 games. Still in all the cups.

Looking good! Managed to sign Duffy from Falkirk. Great signing! 10 goals in 7 games!