Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
The Naitch
Here's how my current season (2101-2102) finished up in the four divisions. Highlight being winning the 2nd Division title with Rangers.

Click to view attachment

Szamo's_Ammo
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Apr 12 2008, 15:16) *
Im in 2025 and Ross County,Morton and Hibs are consitantly the top 3 teams in the SPL with Rangers normally always 4th and Celtic struggling to make the top 6 every year ohmy.gif laugh.gif

Even more amazing is that Jim McInally is still in charge of Morton blink.gif laugh.gif

I'm in 2022 and Rangers, Hearts and Aberdeen are in Division One. ohmy.gif

Inverness have won two SPL titles. laugh.gif
staggy4life
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Apr 12 2008, 17:46) *
I'm in 2022 and Rangers, Hearts and Aberdeen are in Division One. ohmy.gif

Inverness have won two SPL titles. laugh.gif

I also forgot to mention Kilmarnock were in Division 3 by 2018 but they are now in Division 2 in 2025! blink.gif laugh.gif
berwick-the-unbeatable
QUOTE (Supras @ Apr 12 2008, 15:51) *
Bojan pisses me off, especially in my 4-2-3-1 system, cesar delgado is far better.

Bojans class!

Are you playing 3 attacking mids?

He always needs support to play better, hes a shit target man too!
Supras
QUOTE (berwick-the-unbeatable @ Apr 12 2008, 21:27) *
Bojans class!

Are you playing 3 attacking mids?

He always needs support to play better, hes a shit target man too!

Yes and good attacking mids as well.

Aimar, Riquelme, Alex, Van Der Vaart, Giovani Dos Santos, Rosina, Gasbarroni.

He has scored one goal in about 6 games.

And he's as good as you'd expect a 5 foot 7 target man to be.
turboshandy
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 12 2008, 17:28) *
Here's how my current season (2101-2102) finished up in the four divisions. Highlight being winning the 2nd Division title with Rangers.

Click to view attachment

Plenty draws, not many goals, yet the most ridiculous thing about it is Gretna are still in business!! laugh.gif
mikey
after years of insisting to my friends that fm was not as good as cm03-04 tp my friends i finally bought fm08 today for a tenner.

been impressed so far, starting off at dundee united, made a few loan signings and just about to start the season.

any decent young scottish players in game?

Mon The Clyde
blink.gif laugh.gif

Click to view attachment
staggy4life
Chris(Mon the Clyde) look who scored 4 goals for me! My hero! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Apr 13 2008, 20:04) *
Chris(Mon the Clyde) look who scored 4 goals for me! My hero! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Banchooooo

edit; Bullock scored!? blink.gif
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
I got FIFA Manager07, just started a new season with St Mirren, along with being the Scotland national manager.

Made some decent (and much needed) signings, will hopefully manage to stay clear of relegation, possibly an outside chance of the top 6.

We lost our only pre season friendly 3-0 away to some Korean side (Ulsan Hyundai) mainly down to poor defending (like real life, eh?)

Current Squad: (Random number at end is the player rating)

1. Graham Stack (GK) Ireland, 63
2. Pedro (RB) Spain, 67
3. Daniel Stucki (LB) Switzerland, 64
4. Silva (CD) Spain, 65
5. Kirk Broadfoot (CD) Scotland, 63
6. Martin Rowlands (CM) Ireland, 63
7. Hugh Murray (CM) Scotland, 61
8. Hurriyet Gucer (LM) Turkey, 61
9. Phillipe Toledo (ST) France, 65
10. Stewart Kean (ST) Scotland, 60
11. Richard Brittain (RM) Scotland, 57
12. Tony Bullock (GK) England, 56
13. Ian Maxwell (CD) Scotland, 50
14. David Van Zanten (RB) Ireland, 57
15. John Potter (CD) Scotland, 51
16. Craig Molloy (CM) Scotland, 55
17. John Sutton (ST) England, 60
18. Brian McGinty (ST) Scotland, 52
19. Simon Lappin (CM) Scotland, 57
20. Andy Millen (SW) Scotland, 54
21. Stuart Balmer (CD) Scotland, 50
22. Alan Reid (RM) Scotland, 50
23. Kevin McGowne (CD) Scotland, 50

Will tend to play a 4-4-2, with the first 11 players named above in their selected positions.

First game of the season is away to Motherwell. Ironically, it's been postponed a few days because of a waterlogged pitch laugh.gif

League Cup 1st Round match is away to QOTS.

On the same day as the QOTS match, it is the first Euro08 Qualifier, home against Croatia.

Heres to a (hopefully) succesful campaign beerchug.gif
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Apr 13 2008, 20:04) *

Tony Bullock scored laugh.gif (my backup 'keeper in FIFA07 tongue.gif )
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
Good start to my season. After waiting a few days due to postponment ( mad.gif ), the game went ahead, and we won smile.gif

Calum Elliot scored for the 'Well in the 63rd min. Into the 67th, our sub John Sutton passed the ball across the box, finding Philippe Toledo for him to score his first in a Saints shirt. 87th min, a poor kickout by the 'Well 'keeper was intercepted by John Sutton who ran into the box and eased it in. At the end of the match, I found out Sutton has got a 5 week injury mad.gif which sucks, because we got a bad schedule for the next 5 games, playing every 4 days or so.

Overall, a good game. Stack had to make a good save 10 minutes in. Stucki nearly scored two free kicks, one tipped onto the post, the other onto the roof of the net. When the first was cleared, Broadfoot shot from 40 yards out nearly scoring. Lappin hit the post in the second half.

Next updates will be on the QOTS and Scotland matches. Before then, home to Dundee United biggrin.gif

Happy gaming smile.gif
CalderwoodRFC
Just started a new game with Motherwell. Not even played a game yet. Hoping for a good season taking the 'Well into Europe either through SC or SPL finishing 3rd.
Will update soon!
CalderwoodRFC
2 games into the season and top of the league. Really surprising. Have a look at the table, long may my luck last! ohmy.gif
Mushroom
Lost to Southend on the last day of the season - so I finished 3rd, 1 point behind Nottingham Forest.

Seriously, how annoying is that.

I bet I lose the in the playoffs now, guess who I drew, yup, Southend mad.gif

Lost 2-1 on aggregate mad.gif

Well next season looking bright. The board just accepted a bid for one of my players, Brian Stock - I would have held out for more, but when your budgets £170k, its very hard not to be pleased with an extra £975k in the kitty.

Unfortunately, most of the players that have 5+/10 from my scouts (means they're better than what you have) are £600k+ dry.gif
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
Won our second game of the season against Dundee United 4-0. After two matches, Saints and Aberdeen are joint top of the league biggrin.gif
Phillipe Toledo scored two of the goals, Hugh Murray scored a free kick, and sub Brian McGinty netted the fourth.

QOTS 3-1 St Mirren - League Cup 1st Round

Many changes were made in the Saints squad from the Dundee United match, with a very weakened defence, as better players were rested for Saturdays match against Celtic. John Sutton returned from injury. Graham Stack was not involved in the squad as he had an international call up to the Republic of Ireland squad. He didn't play though, as Shay Given got the starting spot in goals.
Sutton opened the scoring with a header 9 minutes in. Goals in the 22nd and 29th minute gave QOTS a 2-1 lead, which was extended 52 minutes in. QOTS had a sending off with 20 minutes left, and Saints pushed hard, but couldn't find any more goals. Shows what a depleted squad does for you. Sutton injured his ligaments again, and is a doubt for the Celtic match.

Scotland 1-1 Croatia - EURO 08 Qualifier

Scotland Selection: (Players in Bold started the match, Subs in Red)

GK:
Craig Gordon (Hearts, 73), David Marshall (Celtic, 65)

DEF:
Mark Wilson (Celtic, 68, 1st Cap) Steven Smith (Rangers, 66, 1st Cap), David Weir (Everton, 72), Andy Webster (Wigan Athletic, 71), Dominic Matteo (Blackburn Rovers, 67)

MID:
Richard Hughes (Portsmouth, 69), Jamie Smith (Aberdeen, 68), Lee McCulloch (Wigan Athletic, 69), Barry Ferguson (Rangers, 75), Darren Fletcher (Manchester United, 72), Nigel Quashie (West Bromich Albion, 64), Paul Hartley (Hearts, 72)

ATT:
James McFadden (Everton, 76), Robbie Winters (SK Brann, 71), Derek Riordan (Celtic, 66, 1st Cap), Kris Boyd (Rangers, 66)

Croatia took the lead only 3 minutes in, when Mark Wilson let Sokota run by him, and he eased it by Craig Gordon.
Croatia were poorly disciplined, receiving 5 yellow cards. The last one resulted in Scotland's goal.
Kris Boyd had came on 70 minutes in to replace the battered Derek Riordan, who took some heavy fouls, and may miss the Celtic vs St Mirren match.
87 Minutes in, Croatia received their 5th booking, giving away a free kick on the left side. Paul Hartley (came on 60min) crossed the ball in, which found the head of Boyd, and soared into the net.

Next game updates - Scotland Friendly (TBA), possibly updates after Celtic vs St Mirren and St Mirren vs Hibernian.
Mon The Clyde
Was jumping about as this unfolded;

Click to view attachment

edit; I drew Livingston in the next round dry.gif never fear though;

Click to view attachment

further edited; I drew Rangers in the next round at Ibrox biggrin.gif ££££
Iain
That first game reminds me of a 9-9 draw I had with Ayr against Peterhead once. Classic.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Apr 14 2008, 23:30) *
further edited; I drew Rangers in the next round at Ibrox biggrin.gif ££££

After being 3-0 down, I have clawed back 2. mellow.gif

Click to view attachment

yep, you guessed it, Rangers then win 8-2. dry.gif
Bryan
http://community.sigames.com/eve/forums/a/...85/m/9062069493 you need to have an SIgames username ...

the guy says

"Football Manager ruining Celtics season??"

"Reading interviews with players, i think it is safe to say that most of them play a little football manager in their spare time. Do you think the way that Aiden Mcgeady and others have been horribly underrated by SI could acctually be affecting their real life performances??"

Supras
Got a new player for 675k, good striker and his finishing was 20 before he arrived.

Terrible name for my point of view sad.gif
gav-ffc
Patch with january transfers?
gav-ffc
Won my first game of the season with Rangers 7-1 laugh.gif laugh.gif away to ICT.

Gow scored straight from a corner biggrin.gif laugh.gif

Cueller was sent off on 20 mins and i only had 1 upfront on scored 7!!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Take note Walter laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Calinho
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Apr 15 2008, 14:13) *
After being 3-0 down, I have clawed back 2. mellow.gif

Click to view attachment

yep, you guessed it, Rangers then win 8-2. dry.gif

What skins this?
QC Casual
How do i get the skins? (before anyone says there is 190 odd pages if it had already been mentioned)

Is it the Scottish Grounds only or Enlgish too?

Quite cool, Im sure there was a Champ Manager that had the grounds background built into the game!
QC Casual
Into January in my 2nd season with Carlisle.

Struggling with life in the Championship, just slipped into the relegation zone after hovering about it for the first half of the sesaon!

I am abseloutely useless at home (was class last season). Have won a mere 2 games and gained 2 draws out of 15 home games, gad!

Away form is pretty decent with 5 away wins, at Sc**thrope (3-1) QPR (4-3) Crystal Palace (3-2) Hull (3-0) and Burnley (3-0) and points here and there including a 3-3 draw at Fulham.

Need to sort out the home form if I am to stay up.

Team:

Dean Kiely (free from WBA)

Stephen Carr (free from Newcastle) Paul Reid David Edgar (loan from Newcastle) Peter Murphy

Michael Bridges (30k from Hull) Luke Joyce Shaun Derry (free from Leeds) Lee Martin (loan from Man Utd)

John Rankin (40k from ICT)

Frazer Campbell (loan from Man Utd)

Subs:

Graham Stack (free from Reading)
Stephen Wright (free from Sunderland)
Danny Graham
Simon Hackey
Steven Presley (free from Celtic)

Stephen Dobbie returned to Scotland 100k transfer to Dunfermline, also punted a few moer boys out.

Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Calinho @ Apr 17 2008, 15:07) *
What skins this?

QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Apr 9 2008, 18:08) *

QUOTE (QC Casual @ Apr 17 2008, 16:35) *
How do i get the skins? (before anyone says there is 190 odd pages if it had already been mentioned)

Is it the Scottish Grounds only or Enlgish too?

Quite cool, Im sure there was a Champ Manager that had the grounds background built into the game!

Skins and backgrounds are two different files.

If you know what to do with ectracting etc then put skins; Sports Interactive > Football Manager 2008 > data > skins

For backgrounds; Scottish Backgrounds and put them; Sports Interactive > Football Manager 2008 > data > db > Graphics > Backgrounds
gypoarmy
QUOTE (RussellV1 @ Apr 17 2008, 21:55) *
Busy transfer window at Tannadice ohmy.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

is that a glitch
Mushroom
Had a great pre-season with Doncaster beating 3 championship sides and narrowly losing to Everton and Villa, as well as beating a couple of diddy teams.

I did start poorly in the league - this was because I'd been quite demanding of the quality of player I was bringing in, and come the start of the season I had a couple of injuries, and having to fill the gaps with young players, that aren't really ready.

I'd already signed Roddy McKenzie, Graeme Smith (Rangers one), Gabor Bori (winger), Stephen O'Halloran (defender), Ryan Hall (left back/winger), Carlo Monti (child) and Jimmy-Floyd Hasselbaink but com the last week of the window in a desperate bid to add depth I threw money at the issue signing Jack Ross (cheap at 4k cool.gif), Velice Sumilikoski (centre back/centre mid), Chris Sedgewick (right/centre mid), Julian Gray (left winger), James Chambers (right back/winger) making my total summer spending £1M - and thanks to selling Stock I still amde a profit - yeah baby!

Only played one game with that lot available and I lost 3-0 but I will let the fact there were 3 debutants and the defence were torn apart by Stephen Constantine account for that.

The team will probably look something like this in the long run

Roddy McKenzie
Lloyd Doyley --- Graham Lee --- Velice Sumilikoski --- Sean McDaid
James Coppinger --- Lilian Nalis --- Paul Green --- Julian Gray
Paul Heffernan --- Jimmy-Floyd Hasselbaink

RussellV1
QUOTE (gypoarmy @ Apr 17 2008, 22:02) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

is that a glitch

looks like it, the player of the month is a belter as well laugh.gif

- accidently deleted the original post sad.gif
Moriarty
Just got Dumbarton out of the 3rd division second time of asking. Lost a late goal in the play-off finals in the previous season.

Got Celtic as a parent clubs and if it wasn't for the loans I got from them then I'm pretty sure I'd still be in the 3rd.

Paul Caddis, Michael Staunton, Paul McGowan, Cillian Sheridan all brought in. Sheridan is a giant striker who averaged a goal a game in the 3rd. Formed a lethal partnership with Stephen Doris (free transfer from St Johnstone).

Only problem is with spending money. I've improved the finances of the club considerably. However, the transfer budget following promotion was reduced from £4K to £0. Not impressed. mad.gif Could become an issue during the transfer window.

FC_1919
QUOTE (QC Casual @ Apr 17 2008, 16:45) *
Into January in my 2nd season with Carlisle.

Struggling with life in the Championship, just slipped into the relegation zone after hovering about it for the first half of the sesaon!

I am abseloutely useless at home (was class last season). Have won a mere 2 games and gained 2 draws out of 15 home games, gad!

Away form is pretty decent with 5 away wins, at Sc**thrope (3-1) QPR (4-3) Crystal Palace (3-2) Hull (3-0) and Burnley (3-0) and points here and there including a 3-3 draw at Fulham.

Need to sort out the home form if I am to stay up.

Team:

Dean Kiely (free from WBA)

Stephen Carr (free from Newcastle) Paul Reid David Edgar (loan from Newcastle) Peter Murphy

Michael Bridges (30k from Hull) Luke Joyce Shaun Derry (free from Leeds) Lee Martin (loan from Man Utd)

John Rankin (40k from ICT)

Frazer Campbell (loan from Man Utd)

Subs:

Graham Stack (free from Reading)
Stephen Wright (free from Sunderland)
Danny Graham
Simon Hackey
Steven Presley (free from Celtic)

Stephen Dobbie returned to Scotland 100k transfer to Dunfermline, also punted a few moer boys out.

Steven Carr and Shaun Derry, both generally horrible. Get them punted!

I am currently 7th with Carlisle in the first season!

Donnerkebab
New formation is working a treat, 3 points off the top in 1st season at the start of March, recently signed Niculae fae Caley, fukin bargain, also got a centre half who is heading for over 20 goals this season, shabba. cool.gif
Donnerkebab
PS the screen seems to have gone all wonky, funny things happening when I post again, shocker.

Donnerkebab
QUOTE (Donnerkebab @ Apr 18 2008, 15:28) *
PS the screen seems to have gone all wonky, funny things happening when I post again, shocker.

Back to normal again, gonna stop fuking about with my posts.
QC Casual
7 games to go and my recent good form has me sitting 4 points above relegation!

Went on a six game unbeaten run, Home wins over Colchester (4-1) and Southampton (2-0) along with draws against Leicester (1-1) and Cardiff (3-3) along with an away victory at Sheff United (2-1) and a goaless draw at Bristol City.

Run came to and end though as I Lost 3-0 at home to C.Palace though which suggests all is still to play for ...
Donnerkebab
Just won the SPL on the last day of the 1st season, was a point behind both Celtic and Rangers, they played each other and drew 1-1 and I beat Hibs 3-2 at home. This tactic is the biz. cool.gif
Bryan
QUOTE (RussellV1 @ Apr 17 2008, 22:12) *
looks like it, the player of the month is a belter as well laugh.gif

- accidently deleted the original post sad.gif

can we see the dundee united squad tongue.gif
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
FIFA Manager07 - St Mirren/Scotland

Third league match of the season was away to the dreaded Celtic. Put on a 4-4-2, and worked well. Craig Beattie hit the bar for Celtic 30mins in. Just before half time, Beattie hit the post, V of H scored the rebound. 76 mins in, we equalized, Simon Lappin's free kick to the edge of the box was headed goalwards by Richard Brittain, and Alan Reid ( blink.gif ) headed it by Artur Boruc. 1-1 Draw.
Next up was home to Hibs. Went 1-0 down 58 mins in (Chris Killen), then John Sutton forced a save, Stewart Kean tackled the defender and scored biggrin.gif another 1-1.

Friendly: Scotland 1-1 Denmark (Players in bold started, oncoming subs in red)

GK: Craig Gordon (Hearts, 73), Neil Sullivan (Leeds United, 65)

DEF: Mark Wilson (Celtic, 67), Steven Smith (Rangers, 66), David Weir (Everton, 72), Steven Pressley (Hearts, 69), Steven Whittaker (Hibernian, 67, uncapped)

MID: Jamie Smith (Aberdeen, 65), Lee McCulloch (Wigan Athletic, 67), Darren Fletcher (Manchester United, 69), Nigel Quashie (West Bromich Albion, 66), Barry Ferguson (Rangers, 75), Richard Hughes (Portsmouth, 67), Shaun Maloney (Celtic, 71, uncapped)

ST: Robbie Winters (SK Brann, 69), Gary O'Connor (Lokomotiv Moscow, 69), James McFadden (Everton, 73), Paul Dickov (Manchester City, 66)

Whittaker didn't make the squad, as he took an injury in training 3 days before the match.
Fell behind 1-0 20 mins in. 80th Minute equalized, Dickov passing goalwards to McFadden, who shot of the post then scored the rebound.

Next League match was away to Falkirk. Falkirk were missing some of their best players because of a cup match a few days before. On paper, St Mirren were by far the better side.
Pedro Moutinho wasted 4 great chances for Falkirk, while Stewart Kean wasted two for Saints, one hitting the outside of the post. In the 82nd minute, Saints scored, Pedro (meant to be a right back) was for some reason at the edge of the box on the left side. Anywayz, he passed it in to Phillippe Toledo, who scored his fourth goal of the season. Finished 1-0.

Going surprisingly well so far after 5 matches, Aberdeen lead the league on 12 PTS, followed by Saints on 11PTS, then Celtic and Rangers on 10 PTS. Motherwell and Inverness have 1 PT each.
Awesome result in Div1, Dundee, currently bottom, won 9-0 away to Partick Thistle.

Here are some League Cup results.

Quarter Finals:

Celtic 1-1 Rangers (Rangers win 3-2 on pens)
Gretna (Div1) 3-1 Hearts
Hibernian 3-2 Falkirk (2-2, AET)
QOTS (Div1) 3-1 Dunfermline (1-1, AET)

Semi Finals:

Gretna (Div1) vs Rangers
QOTS (Div1) vs Hibernian

Lastly, made a few squad changes.

IN:
25 Billy Mehmet (From Reserves)
26 Alex Burke (From Reserves)
27 Nuno Viveiros (Skoda Xanthi)

OUT:
20 Andy Millen (To Reserves)

Next updates will be not long, as the next 3 league matches are all matches we really should win (but we wont, we've had our glory being Scotland's second best)

The Naitch
Won the 1st Division with Rangers with a game or two to spare. Will need a total rebuild for the SPL because I have no idea how my team managed to win that league after just coming up from the 2nd Division.

Click to view attachment

Donnerkebab
Nae chunt is probably interested but this is my squad a couple of weeks into the 2nd season.

Keepers - Roy Carroll, Asmir Begovic

Defenders - Leandro Gioda, Kieran Lee(loan), Ryan Bertrand(loan), Jordan Spence(loan),
Obama, Michael Mancienne(loan), Rhys Wiggins, Danny Mills,
Havard Nortdveit(loan), Keith Watson,

Midfielders - Pablo Piatti, Diego Buonanotte, Danny Rose(loan), Alejandro Gomez,
Adrian Ropotan, Distel Zola, Jamie Adams, Hossan Kaebi, Danny Swanson,Lee Martin(loan), Gabriel Torje, Jake Thomson(loan)

Forwards/Strikers - Mauro Zarate, Franco Di Santo(loan), Agustin Delgado,
Marius Niculae, Fabien Brandy(loan), Jozy Altidore, Mauricio(Palmeiras),
Danny Welbeck(loan), David Templeton

Still got £5 million in the bank but saving that for now I think, no bad squad.
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere
FIFA Manager07 - St Mirren/Scotland

Dunfermline Athletic 1-2 St Mirren

Good match. Put on the same 11 players that started the match against Falkirk, along with the same 5 subs.
Dunfermline had the better of the first 10 minutes, but 12 minutes in, Scott Thompson was sent off for the Pars after taking down Phillipe Toledo in the box. Extremely wreckless, as Roddy McKenzie had the ball covered. Stewart Kean scored the penalty. The game continued on, with the Saints starting to take control of the game with their goal. Right before half-time, Silva cleared the ball from his own box, Toledo's pace was too much for Bamba, and Toledo unleashed a shot from 20 yards out which crashed off the bar.
The second half continued with more chances for Saints, but the lead wasn't doubled till the 71st minute. Pedro made a good run down the right wing, his cross found the unmarked Kean who's header was too powerful for McKenzie. Three minutes later, the Pars hit back with a free kick being headed in by loanee Scott McDonald. Late on the Pars hit the post, confusion as to who hit the ball, whether it was Kirk Broadfoot or McDonald. Saints held on, and continue the pressure on Aberdeen.

1. Aberdeen 15 PTS
2. St Mirren 14 PTS
3. Rangers 13 PTS

11. Inverness 2 PTS
12. Motherwell 1 PT

Celtic fall 5 points behind Aberdeen after a 3-2 loss to Hearts.

And Dundee managed another massive away win, this time 5-0 at Airdrie.

Next updates after we (lose) at home to Inverness and away to Killie.
Bryan
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 18 2008, 23:05) *
Won the 1st Division with Rangers with a game or two to spare. Will need a total rebuild for the SPL because I have no idea how my team managed to win that league after just coming up from the 2nd Division.

Click to view attachment

not many goals in your game anymore
The Naitch
QUOTE (Bryan @ Apr 19 2008, 22:25) *
not many goals in your game anymore

That's actually a quite productive season for that division when you compare it to other screenshots i've posted e.g. Queens Park scoring only 6 in a 36 game season ohmy.gif

EDIT: I was right when I said I had to strengthen for the SPL. I added some quality signings and am still bottom of the league with this run of sorry results:

Kilmarnock 0-0 Rangers
Rangers 0-1 Ayr
Dundee 1-0 Rangers
Rangers 0-3 Motherwell
Gretna 2-1 Rangers
Rangers 0-0 Hibs
Dundee Utd 2-1 Rangers
Rangers 1-2 Celtic
Rangers 0-0 St Mirren

I have beaten Stirling and Hamilton in the League Cup though, face either Ayr or Celtic away in the Quarter Finals.
Mushroom
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 19 2008, 23:29) *
That's actually a quite productive season for that division when you compare it to other screenshots i've posted e.g. Queens Park scoring only 6 in a 36 game season ohmy.gif

EDIT: I was right when I said I had to strengthen for the SPL. I added some quality signings and am still bottom of the league with this run of sorry results:

Kilmarnock 0-0 Rangers
Rangers 0-1 Ayr
Dundee 1-0 Rangers
Rangers 0-3 Motherwell
Gretna 2-1 Rangers
Rangers 0-0 Hibs
Dundee Utd 2-1 Rangers
Rangers 1-2 Celtic
Rangers 0-0 St Mirren

I have beaten Stirling and Hamilton in the League Cup though, face either Ayr or Celtic away in the Quarter Finals.

Does this game really prove that teams never go bust on FM/CM

On my Doncaster game (FM07 with updated database) I was very surprised to see Gretna finishing 10th in the SPL, but most of their squad was made up of loans, although only 3 or 4 were regular starters.

Their wage bill is pretty pathetic for an SPL team with 12 on around £200 p/w and about 4 on £750+ p/w the rest are on under £100 p/w, and a few games into the new season the're on 0 points. Their finances are "insecure", but that might have alot to do with expanding Raydale to a 5k all seater.

They will probably go into recievership slash their wages and slide down the leagues
The Naitch
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 19 2008, 23:29) *

Just as an update, got to the final where I lost 1-0 to Dundee. Finished a safe 10th in the SPL, with Ross County stranded at the bottom. Pretty poor season all round, punctuated by the fact that I was pumped at Ibrox by Coldstream in the Scottish Cup Third Round! laugh.gif
Casper Rose
QUOTE (Donnerkebab @ Apr 18 2008, 20:43) *
Just won the SPL on the last day of the 1st season, was a point behind both Celtic and Rangers, they played each other and drew 1-1 and I beat Hibs 3-2 at home. This tactic is the biz. B)

can you post your tactic up ?
TWS
Has anyone ever scored from 100 yards before ? ohmy.gif
staggy4life
QUOTE (TWS @ Apr 22 2008, 18:09) *
Has anyone ever scored from 100 yards before ? ohmy.gif

No but last week i had Tony Bullock score from a goal kick, around 94 yards.