Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
scottp96
I play football manager on my own laptop instead of the "family computer" tongue.gif so can I download the patches from this computer that has the internet and then transfer them onto the laptop via memory stick or something like that. rolleyes.gif

Because I am completely F**king clueless.
Kylesons
Last night I was in pre season with dumbarton after getting them to the SPL. I signed a shit load of new players and then the game crashes when processing meaning, I have to sign all the players again. sad.gif
gav-ffc
QUOTE (Dundee Par @ Apr 9 2008, 02:25) *
Dirk Kuyt scoring in a game laugh.gif

Fixed
BerwickMad
QUOTE (scottp96 @ Apr 9 2008, 09:55) *
I play football manager on my own laptop instead of the "family computer" tongue.gif so can I download the patches from this computer that has the internet and then transfer them onto the laptop via memory stick or something like that. rolleyes.gif

Yeah. I did that. As long as you know where to put the files when you load them to your laptop. I think the patch goes in the db file.
Iain
QUOTE (scottp96 @ Apr 9 2008, 09:55) *

Simply? Yes.
Iain
QUOTE (BerwickMad @ Apr 9 2008, 16:51) *
Yeah. I did that. As long as you know where to put the files when you load them to your laptop. I think the patch goes in the db file.

No it doesn't. Just put the patch file on the desktop and run it - it will find the game. IIRC.
BerwickMad
QUOTE (Iain @ Apr 9 2008, 16:55) *
No it doesn't. Just put the patch file on the desktop and run it - it will find the game. IIRC.

Thats what I did for the first patch, but I had to put the second one in the db file and open it in there.

Anyway, im 3rd in my second season at Newcastle. Its November and my ins and outs are:

IN:
Rafael van der Vaart, £10m
Anatoliy Tymoschuk, £12m
Andrey Arshavin, £9m
Leon Andreasen, £8.25m
Giles Barnes, £2.5m
Ibrahim Afellay, £7.5m
Christian Obodo, £9.5m
Yakubu, £18.5m
Plus I got Younes Kaboul and £10.5m for N'Zogbia. Well worth it.

Got rid of Butt, Smith, Ameobi, Ramage, Milner, Carr and Rozehnal. Michael Owen, Viduka and Duff rot in the reserves.
Sam_Jambo14
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Apr 9 2008, 01:07) *
How the f**k is this offside (the guy next to the Arbroath number 5)? mad.gif

Click to view attachment

What skin is that?
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Sam_Jambo14 @ Apr 9 2008, 18:02) *
What skin is that?

Still
Sam_Jambo14
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Apr 9 2008, 18:08) *

Cheers thumbup2.gif
scottp96
Cheers guys
Bryan
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 7 2008, 22:04) *
Behave yourself... you had me convinced at one point that the game would suffer some sort of Millenium Bug type crash when it hit 1/1/2100! rolleyes.gif ph34r.gif

laugh.gif is sir alex still going
The Naitch
QUOTE (Bryan @ Apr 9 2008, 22:02) *
laugh.gif is sir alex still going

No, but I did spot some Hungarian guy who's still going....playing top flight football at the age of 117! ohmy.gif
FC_1919
Does Sir Alex not retire after the first season in that game?
Sam_Jambo14
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 9 2008, 22:07) *
No, but I did spot some Hungarian guy who's still going....playing top flight football at the age of 117! ohmy.gif

He has to be signed.

Just for the comedy value of having a 117 year old in your team laugh.gif
BishyTON
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 9 2008, 22:07) *

Nearly as old as Andy Millen....
Mushroom
We need a screenshot of the 117 year old laugh.gif

My Doncaster game is going well, just pulled myself into 6th place a few weeks aftrer leaving Belle Vue for the Keepmoat stadium.

This was my first game at Keepmoat cool.gif

Click to view attachment

Now into the January transfer window I have made one signing, and its some kid from Celtic, currently trying to get Graham Stack on loan and Roddy McKenzie on a pre-contract from Joe Miller's Partick (huh.gif) (he's really good for some reason) oh and I'm trying to sign James McCarthy, even though I bumped up his potential in the editor (this was the db that was brought up to date) his value is still only 5k cool.gif
the_saints_are_coming
sinse my computer version broke i thought i would try the 360 version and i think it plays much the same. Started as St.Johnstone and got them promoted on the last day of the season. my main title challengers were livingston and stirling ohmy.gif This season played about 12 games and doing shite sitting eleventh 2 points clear of Gretna. Kostadinov is still a beast. cool.gif
berwick-the-unbeatable
QUOTE (BerwickMad @ Apr 9 2008, 17:49) *
Thats what I did for the first patch, but I had to put the second one in the db file and open it in there.

Anyway, im 3rd in my second season at Newcastle. Its November and my ins and outs are:

IN:
Rafael van der Vaart, £10m
Anatoliy Tymoschuk, £12m
Andrey Arshavin, £9m
Leon Andreasen, £8.25m
Giles Barnes, £2.5m
Ibrahim Afellay, £7.5m
Christian Obodo, £9.5m
Yakubu, £18.5m
Plus I got Younes Kaboul and £10.5m for N'Zogbia. Well worth it.

Got rid of Butt, Smith, Ameobi, Ramage, Milner, Carr and Rozehnal. Michael Owen, Viduka and Duff rot in the reserves.

Theres no way you sold Carroll for 9m in that other game btw, I ended up getting 900k. dry.gif

Also the 360 version is shite!
Fudge
For anyone vaguely interested, the players who have potential ratings of -10 (means they can become the best players in the game are

Aaron
Pato
Banega
Bojan
Dos Santos
Ustari
guardado
lulinha
Vela
Anderson
Saviet
Giovinci (I know this one is not exactly the right spelling, but he plays with Juve)
The Naitch
QUOTE (FC_1919 @ Apr 9 2008, 22:19) *
Does Sir Alex not retire after the first season in that game?

Why yes, yes he does.

Here's the 117 year old guy:

Click to view attachment

Mushroom
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 10 2008, 18:35) *
Why yes, yes he does.

Click to view attachment

Christ, want to keep an eye on him incase he dies or something laugh.gif

Does that ever happen in the game, the wierdest thing I remember was Stilian Petrov getting "suspended" for 90 days after assaulting a referee.

I assume their implying he got sent to jail.
dubs
Still hits a mean free kick - you never lose it do you!
The Naitch
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Apr 10 2008, 18:37) *
Christ, want to keep an eye on him incase he dies or something laugh.gif

Does that ever happen in the game, the wierdest thing I remember was Stilian Petrov getting "suspended" for 90 days after assaulting a referee.

I assume their implying he got sent to jail.

I've never come across someone being pronounced dead in the game. I see the 90 day suspension thing ocasionally. The one I see more often is where players get a one game ban for directing obscene gestures towards the opposition support!
Fudge
Things have seriously gone wrong in my game. After England putting in a decent show at Copa America, Portuguese teams now compete in the Scottish cup blink.gif
Fudge
Another thing, in quite a few games I've started in FM08, the Scotland results seem to mirror what happened in real life. Win away in France, then lose to Georgia and Italy.
qos_75
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 4 2008, 19:08) *
Only ever been sacked twice as well. Once with Bradford, despite taking them back to the Premiership and making them a stable 'mid-table' side. Second was with Newcastle...only lasted 7 months, was sacked in early March due to pish results, totally justified mind.

So aye, get better results and you can't go far wrong.

I have been sacked a couple of times I can't recall whom with though. Although I was given an ultimatumn with Malaga in this version.

I had got them promoted into la Liga and finished the first season back 11th I think. Anyway, the Valencia job came up and I went for it. However, this got in to the press and the fans were raging. I was given the option of resign or be fired! Ungrateful bastards. mad.gif
dubs
QUOTE (Fudge @ Apr 10 2008, 18:41) *
Another thing, in quite a few games I've started in FM08, the Scotland results seem to mirror what happened in real life. Win away in France, then lose to Georgia and Italy.

I managed them and did the exact same. blink.gif
Fudge
QUOTE (dubya @ Apr 10 2008, 18:54) *
I managed them and did the exact same. blink.gif

A 2-0 win in France seems to be the done thing, follwed by a high scoring narrow defeat in Georgia then a relatively close home defeat to Italy, normally 1-0 or 2-1.

Kris Boyd seems to score in every game he plays

In other news, Benzema scored 8 in a 12-0 win for France v Faroes

StewartyMac
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 10 2008, 17:35) *

Click to view attachment

A 20 for positioning? I guess the coffin helps laugh.gif
Supras
McCurry in charge of the world cup final laugh.gif unsure.gif
qos_75
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Apr 10 2008, 20:45) *

Aye, he commands the box well. ph34r.gif
Supras
Poor penalties and shite decisions from the ref, only from McCurry rolleyes.gif
MarreZ
QUOTE (Fudge @ Apr 10 2008, 18:40) *
Things have seriously gone wrong in my game. After England putting in a decent show at Copa America, Portuguese teams now compete in the Scottish cup blink.gif

Did you buy it or is it warez? I heard that warez versions seriously fuck up.
the trialist
im looking for some good cheap midfielders round about 2 mill any suggestion
gav-ffc
Scott Dalziel is the man for Stenny in the game and real life!
turboshandy
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Apr 10 2008, 18:35) *
Why yes, yes he does.

Click to view attachment

QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Apr 10 2008, 20:45) *

QUOTE (qos_75 @ Apr 10 2008, 23:09) *
Aye, he commands the box well. ph34r.gif

1 for reflexes, 4 for jumping and 1 for handling? I guess he'd never make a goalkeeper - he'll be rotten in the box...
jay_7
QUOTE (Fudge @ Apr 10 2008, 17:51) *
For anyone vaguely interested, the players who have potential ratings of -10 (means they can become the best players in the game are

Aaron
Pato
Banega
Bojan
Dos Santos
Ustari
guardado
lulinha
Vela
Anderson
Saviet
Giovinci (I know this one is not exactly the right spelling, but he plays with Juve)

I presume you mean Bojan from Barca and Carlos Vela from Udinese? Vela is a goal machine, he runs rings around everyone! So is Bojan mind you... A truely tremendous strike partnership, just don't use them as target men.
djchapsticks
After only ever managing St. Mirren in the past, I decided to embark on a game of dominating the World with my managerial prowess! wink.gif

Set up 24 divisions over 20 leagues of the world and took up my first job. The reins of Turkish Champions, Fenerbahce.

Two league defeats over the course of two seasons (including an undefeated 2nd season) saw 2 titles coming my way and although my record in Europe wasn't great, it was challenging having a very restircted area to make purchases within. I have now just left them after two seasons, having boosted my profile sufficiently enough to be linked with Bayern Munich, Portsmouth, Panathinaikos and FC Toulouse.

Currently waiting on the end of season managerial cull before taking my next foray. May go the far eastern or South African routes though...but may not do too much for my managerial reputation... unsure.gif
Dunc
I started a wee challenge typed game for myself, sticking Linlithgow Rose into the 2nd Division.

I deleted almost the entire squad, just keeping a basic 5 or 6 players, but stuck the Youth Set-up up to 20, so that there was a Youth Academy.

To be honest, it was fairly easy. I won the 3rd Division at a canter, then won the Second with a game or two to go, after myself and Partick Thistle both finished with 15+ more points than last season's champions.

My first season in the First, I lost out on goal difference on the last day, to Ross County. Won the league in Season 4.

First SPL season I did so much better than I expected. Finished 4th, and thanks to various Fair Play rules and whatnot, the top 7 teams got into Europe laugh.gif

So Season 6, and I'm top of the league after 22 games, with superior goal difference to Hearts in 2nd. Valencia put me out of the Uefa Cup at the First Round, beating me 2-1 in both legs.

However, my board just accepted bids for my two best players. mad.gif One of them was my top goalscorer, who was fucking immense. Just went to Man Utd for £4million. On his Scotland debut he scored 3 goals against Cyprus, and in his second game, he got all the goals in a 4-0 win over Finland.

Its going to be a lot harder now, my other strikers are fairly useless.
Mushroom
With Doncaster, I'm 3rd in league 1 just as the 07 January transfer window shuts.

The only transfers of any significance to my first XI were bringing in Lloyd Doyley and Lilian Nalis (and some kid) as a part exchange for Jason Price (Plymouths offer, not mine amazingly!)

My team now looks like this.

Neil Sullivan
Lloyd Doyley --- Gordon Greer --- Graham Lee --- Sean McDaid
James Coppinger -------- Lilian Nalis -------- Stuart Elliot
Brian Stock
Paul Heffernan --- Gareth Taylor

In the Johnstones Paint Trophy North Final but lost the first leg 2-0 away to Huddersfield, Greer helpfully getting sent off after 7 minutes dry.gif
kilgour11
QUOTE (the trialist @ Apr 11 2008, 01:26) *
im looking for some good cheap midfielders round about 2 mill any suggestion

Craig Winter (he becomes the best in the game)

TRUST ME
onejamesgrady
QUOTE (jay_7 @ Apr 11 2008, 12:27) *
I presume you mean Bojan from Barca and Carlos Vela from Udinese? Vela is a goal machine, he runs rings around everyone! So is Bojan mind you... A truely tremendous strike partnership, just don't use them as target men.

Vela plays for Arsenal wink.gif
Dunc
Breaking News: Fabio Cannavaro is the new Peterhead manager.

Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Dunc @ Apr 11 2008, 22:58) *
Breaking News: Fabio Cannavaro is the new Peterhead manager.

Louis Saha became the Stranraer manager in my game blink.gif
jay_7
QUOTE (onejamesgrady @ Apr 11 2008, 17:53) *
Vela plays for Arsenal wink.gif

Apologies, at my time of looking he was on loan at Udinese smile.gif
Mushroom
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Apr 11 2008, 16:35) *
My team now looks like this.

Neil Sullivan
Lloyd Doyley --- Gordon Greer --- Graham Lee --- Sean McDaid
James Coppinger -------- Lilian Nalis -------- Stuart Elliot
Brian Stock
Paul Heffernan --- Gareth Taylor

In the Johnstones Paint Trophy North Final but lost the first leg 2-0 away to Huddersfield, Greer helpfully getting sent off after 7 minutes dry.gif

Brought in Mark Reynolds on loan from Birmingham in place of McDaid.

For the second leg of the JPT N Final 2nd leg I had ridiculous injury problems (Reynolds also being cup tied) and drew 0-0, losing 2-0 on aggregate.

Now 2nd in League 1, behind Nottingham Forest.

In other news Conference North side Boston Utd took Liverpool to a replay in the FA Cup 4th round laugh.gif
staggy4life
Im in 2025 and Ross County,Morton and Hibs are consitantly the top 3 teams in the SPL with Rangers normally always 4th and Celtic struggling to make the top 6 every year ohmy.gif laugh.gif

Even more amazing is that Jim McInally is still in charge of Morton blink.gif laugh.gif
The Naitch
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Apr 12 2008, 15:16) *
Im in 2025 and Ross County,Morton and Hibs are consitantly the top 3 teams in the SPL with Rangers normally always 4th and Celtic struggling to make the top 6 every year ohmy.gif laugh.gif

Even more amazing is that Jim McInally is still in charge of Morton blink.gif laugh.gif

Now that's just plain silly... tongue.gif
Supras
QUOTE (Fudge @ Apr 10 2008, 17:51) *

Aaron
Pato
Banega
Bojan
Dos Santos
Ustari
guardado
lulinha
Vela
Anderson
Saviet

Signed bojan, aaron and dos santos for free in Liverpool.
Paying them about 5 million a year though laugh.gif sad.gif

Always sign banega, always plays shite, wants to leave.

Always buy saivet at the start of the year, lulinha never looks that good and chelsea always get guardado.

QUOTE (jay_7 @ Apr 11 2008, 12:27) *

Bojan pisses me off, especially in my 4-2-3-1 system, cesar delgado is far better.