Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Mon The Clyde
Get a parent club Toma. Or loan Kosstadinov ect, then they will love the club and will make it easier to sign.
Toma_BullyWee
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Mar 23 2008, 21:23) *
Get a parent club Toma. Or loan Kosstadinov ect, then they will love the club and will make it easier to sign.

Tried it! All of the above also dingied my loan wantage. Tried to get a parent club and the board said no. There arent any suitable teams... Suitable teams? Falkirk is just round the fucking corner!

I'm getting quite annoyed by the whole thing.. Literally no one wants to sign for me. 2 days until the transfer window shuts and i have nothing. Even the free agents are telling me where to go!

Looks like my little comedy game won't happen. I'm going to stick at it though. I have a couple of decent players here.

The annoying thing is, Kostadinov probably could have won me this league by himself.
Ho hum.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Mar 23 2008, 21:37) *
Tried it! All of the above also dingied my loan wantage. Tried to get a parent club and the board said no. There arent any suitable teams... Suitable teams? Falkirk is just round the fucking corner!

I'm getting quite annoyed by the whole thing.. Literally no one wants to sign for me. 2 days until the transfer window shuts and i have nothing. Even the free agents are telling me where to go!

Looks like my little comedy game won't happen. I'm going to stick at it though. I have a couple of decent players here.

The annoying thing is, Kostadinov probably could have won me this league by himself.
Ho hum.

He scored 60-70 goals in my season;

Click to view attachment
Toma_BullyWee
Haha.. Is that supposed to cheer me up!?!

I've finally signed players. 3 of them.... all without clubs. One scored on his debut, but it just so happens i got pumped 3-1.

Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Mar 23 2008, 21:52) *
Haha.. Is that supposed to cheer me up!?!

I've finally signed players. 3 of them.... all without clubs. One scored on his debut, but it just so happens i got pumped 3-1.

Well aye in a way.

If you look at the top, I am second mellow.gif
The Naitch
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Mar 22 2008, 23:00) *
Just secured my 2nd Premiership title in three seasons with Blackburn, though crashed out of the Champions' League Quarter Finals to Barnet and the FA Cup semis to Luton. unsure.gif

Just as a follow up....faced Barnet at the same stage the following season, lost the 1st leg at Underhill then took them back to Ewood Park and done this:

Click to view attachment

Went on to win the final by beating Barcelona biggrin.gif

Click to view attachment

gav-ffc
My 2007 games are fucked:(

I load up the disk and then i start a new game and half way through the set-up it says "cannot save fixtures". So i set the game with say Gretna and it has the pre-season matches and the next league fixture is the 1st of january.

Anyone know what the hell is up?

I have re-installed it and it is happened again.

I am also re-installing it right this moment.

Answers on a postcard...
Szamo's_Ammo
QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Mar 23 2008, 21:37) *

Ho hum.

You'll need to increase the reputation of East Stirling in the editor, to get players to sign for you.

I haven't looked at the editor for FM08 but in the old ones you could set your teams reputation to between 1-20.
Szamo's_Ammo
QUOTE (gav-ffc @ Mar 24 2008, 00:33) *
My 2007 games are fucked:(

I load up the disk and then i start a new game and half way through the set-up it says "cannot save fixtures". So i set the game with say Gretna and it has the pre-season matches and the next league fixture is the 1st of january.

Anyone know what the hell is up?

I have re-installed it and it is happened again.

I am also re-installing it right this moment.

Answers on a postcard...

FM2007 was always fucking up. A terrible game with so many bugs, even after the patches.
spud131
Anyone know where I can download any part time training schedules??
Mushroom
QUOTE (Szamo @ Mar 24 2008, 00:35) *
You'll need to increase the reputation of East Stirling in the editor, to get players to sign for you.

I haven't looked at the editor for FM08 but in the old ones you could set your teams reputation to between 1-20.

in FM07 its in thousands the SFL teams are between 1000 and 5000

Started a new game on my updated database, started unemployed and got the Doncaster job.

Not made too many signings, Andrew Cave-Brown, Zac Barrett, Tommy Tejan-Sie, Ryan Hall on a pre-contract for next season and Neil McGregor on loan from Stoke (bought oof Clyde for 50k)

The only player of them who gets anywhere near the team is McGregor, the rest are all in the reserves (except Cave-Brown)

12th in league 1 after 10 games but have been in around the play-off places which is my personal aim.

Beat QPR 4-0 in the Carling Cup which was nice, and have got an away draw to Everton in round 3 smile.gif

The team I play looks like this,

Sullivan
O'Connor Greer Lee McDaid
Coppinger --- Green --- Elliot
Stock
Heffernan Taylor

Subs: Barrett, McGregor, Wellens, Guy, Roberts
Toma_BullyWee
Right.

So i've fannied about with the database giving me enough funds to try and do a Gretna.

I've got 9 million to spend, and i'm using that sparingly but i won't let myself spend over 8 million for the duration of this game.

20 games into the first season and i'm top of the third by 17 points. Won 18, drawn 2 and lost none.

The most notable thing is the fact i'm not enjoying it. It's easy to pump every team in the league when you have a massive financial advantage over the rest. But i'll keep at it.

When Gretna won the 3rd on route to that big dream of theirs they won with 98 points. 20 games in and i have 56. Don't think i'll reach their points tally. They also scored 130 goals that season. So far i've only scored 46. They conceeded 29 goals, i've conceeded 12. It looks like i'll concede less than them, but that's about it.

I'm in the 4th round of the Scottish Cup... Hugely unlikely i'll get anywhere near the final.. But i don't suppose any of you stat boys know what round they got to in their 3rd Division winning season?

Edit-= Got promotion on the 1st March, 4 days before Gretna did. But i'm not sure if it's less games than they played. Got to the last 8 of the Scottish Cup. Beat off Hibs 3-0.

Oh well.
Szamo's_Ammo
If you are a part time club, and you get up the leagues and become better off financially, does the club ever change to 'full-time'.

I've seen Queen of the South go back to part-time before but never saw a Raith or a Stirling revert to 'full-time'.
The Naitch
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Mar 24 2008, 19:54) *
If you are a part time club, and you get up the leagues and become better off financially, does the club ever change to 'full-time'.

I've seen Queen of the South go back to part-time before but never saw a Raith or a Stirling revert to 'full-time'.

I've never see it happen in any of the older versions, though no idea if it happens or not in FM 08.
ginge123
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Mar 14 2008, 17:07) *
Also got a feeder club in East Stirling, I've always wanted to be able to send my weans to a diddy team.

Anyone else like to see their feeder teams do well? Might seem obvious but there's nout better than yer diddy feeder team winning.
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Mar 24 2008, 20:29) *
I've never see it happen in any of the older versions, though no idea if it happens or not in FM 08.

when i got dumbarton into the first my board decided to change the club to full time. it allowed me to sign much better players especially on loan, and i finished 4th or something.

i gave up after that season through being bored so i don't know if it would have helped with a promotion push the following season.
Toma_BullyWee
Right. I've just got promotion to the first. So far i've spent just over 2.4 million on players and wages. So that leaves me with a decent chunk of cash to spend on a promotion push for the SPL.

Strange thing is i'm not bored yet. I think this could be my new thing in FM.. Just simply try to match or better real life performances.

I think i might go Newcastle next. I'll find out when big Sam got sacked and see if i can have the team in a better position he had them come that fateful day.
dubs
QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Mar 25 2008, 14:00) *
I think this could be my new thing in FM..

What, cheating?

Aye sounds a laugh likes. huh.gif
Toma_BullyWee
QUOTE (dubya @ Mar 25 2008, 13:32) *
What, cheating?

Aye sounds a laugh likes. huh.gif

It was only a matter of time before folk started saying that.

All i'm wanting to see is if it's possible to do a Gretna using the same amount of finances they used without fucking it up.

And anyway, when i said "I think this could be my new thing.." you clearly didn't bother to read further on before replying.

Now go eat a lightbulb.
gypoarmy
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Mar 24 2008, 20:29) *

It depends on the ontracts your players are on
gav-ffc
I have just bought FM08 biggrin.gif
cityfan
Bored of the PC version. 360 is out in a couple days, anyone know if there are any differences between the PC and 360 versions? Apart from the obvious not being able to download shirts, logos, badges etc.
'Steve
Football Manager on any games console is just wrong.
peteqos
QUOTE ('Steve @ Mar 27 2008, 00:39) *
Football Manager on any games console is just wrong.

Agreed! wink.gif
berwick-the-unbeatable
It is.

Ill probably still get it though laugh.gif
Toma_BullyWee
QUOTE (berwick-the-unbeatable @ Mar 27 2008, 13:56) *
It is.

Ill probably still get it though laugh.gif

Your avatar gives me the heebie jeebies.
berwick-the-unbeatable
Thanks. laugh.gif
The Minertaur
Just got East Stirling promoted to the 2nd division through the play offs. Scored a barrowload but my defence was awful.

Anybody recommed a cheap right back? laugh.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Mar 27 2008, 22:46) *
Just got East Stirling promoted to the 2nd division through the play offs. Scored a barrowload but my defence was awful.

Exactly what I was like. Scored 130+, conceeded 90+ huh.gif
The Minertaur
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Mar 27 2008, 23:01) *
Exactly what I was like. Scored 130+, conceeded 90+ huh.gif

Scored 105 and let in 58 laugh.gif

Had the highest goal difference at the end of the season.

Had quite a few 4-3 games and even had a crazy 6-4 game laugh.gif

Managed to sign Cowdens Mark Baxter somehow. So happy with that. Shame Cowden got relegated but I am more than happy to take Baxter of their wage bill!

I am confident that my team can stay up next season but I need to get a striker in. Kostandinov doesnt want to come back for a second season sad.gif
LoonsYouthTeam
Just re-installed it after having to wipe my laptop and was wondering if anybody had a link to the patch? I found an old link somewhere in this topic but it no longer works. Cheers

Edit to add: My old saved game that I kept was played with the beta patch, would I be able to play it without a patch or with a better patch or would it have to be the same patch?
dubs
QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Mar 25 2008, 15:38) *
It was only a matter of time before folk started saying that.

All i'm wanting to see is if it's possible to do a Gretna using the same amount of finances they used without fucking it up.

And anyway, when i said "I think this could be my new thing.." you clearly didn't bother to read further on before replying.

Now go eat a lightbulb.

I just don't the see fascination of providing yourself with resources over and above any othert team of the level you start, it'd be much better to succeed without doing it.

Any idiot can win leagues at a canter by editing in their own favour.

Not for me, and I'd feel I'm in the majority here. If you want to cheat play LMA manager, you can get the cheat codes online
The Minertaur
QUOTE (dubya @ Mar 28 2008, 13:33) *
I just don't the see fascination of providing yourself with resources over and above any othert team of the level you start, it'd be much better to succeed without doing it.

Not for me, and I'd feel I'm in the majority here. If you want to cheat play LMA manager, you can get the cheat codes online

I agree fully. It takes away the enjoyment of winning the league fairly. Plus it makes the game much more realistic!
berwick-the-unbeatable
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Mar 28 2008, 00:27) *
I am confident that my team can stay up next season but I need to get a striker in. Kostandinov doesnt want to come back for a second season sad.gif

Take a look at the likes of Johnny Russell on loan from Dundee Utd, he did better than Kostadinov for me in less games!

And if you can try get Kiegan Ayres (CM).
Toma_BullyWee
QUOTE (dubya @ Mar 28 2008, 13:33) *

It's not as if i sit and do this all the time. For f**k sake, all i'm doing is trying to see if i can do what Gretna done and try to match them point for point, and then do the Newcastle thing i mentioned before.

It's the first time i've fannied about with the Database and it's not as if i'm going around bragging to people about how amazing i am at it.

QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Mar 28 2008, 15:24) *
I agree fully. It takes away the enjoyment of winning the league fairly. Plus it makes the game much more realistic!

Aye, but as i said...

QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Mar 24 2008, 17:07) *
20 games into the first season and i'm top of the third by 17 points. Won 18, drawn 2 and lost none.

The most notable thing is the fact i'm not enjoying it.

Oh my!
RussellV1
Mark Corcoran has just been suspended for 6 matches in my game for headbutting a hearts player dry.gif
The Minertaur
QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Mar 28 2008, 18:49) *
It's not as if i sit and do this all the time. For f**k sake, all i'm doing is trying to see if i can do what Gretna done and try to match them point for point, and then do the Newcastle thing i mentioned before.

It's the first time i've fannied about with the Database and it's not as if i'm going around bragging to people about how amazing i am at it.

Aye, but as i said...

Oh my!

I wasnt referring to you in particular - if anything you have made the game more realistic by making Gretnas funds the right amount.

I was talking about people who make their team have millions of pounds just so they can be the best team in the world. Thats no fun at all and I know it because I have done it in the past in different games!
Supras
What are the chances ohmy.gif
Casper Rose
QUOTE (berwick-the-unbeatable @ Mar 28 2008, 15:43) *
Take a look at the likes of Johnny Russell on loan from Dundee Utd, he did better than Kostadinov for me in less games!

And if you can try get Kiegan Ayres (CM).

Played with johnny russell at boys club level for about a year, didn't realise it was him until after my mates funeral when all the boys from the football club were chatting and he mentioned that he was full time with united, he's highly rated anyway.
BishyTON
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Mar 27 2008, 22:46) *

Alex Trouten from Queens Park is pretty shit hot.
The Minertaur
QUOTE (BishyTON @ Mar 29 2008, 00:21) *
Alex Trouten from Queens Park is pretty shit hot.

Is it not Alan?

Tried to sign him but after like a dozen contract offers he has rejected everyone and stayed at Queens. Still Mark Baxter should be good enough smile.gif
The Naitch
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Mar 29 2008, 00:41) *
Is it not Alan?

Tried to sign him but after like a dozen contract offers he has rejected everyone and stayed at Queens. Still Mark Baxter should be good enough smile.gif

Aye, that'll be Alan Trouten surely.
Donnerkebab
Aye Casper hes a good young prospect, has already come on in a few first team games and seems to score regularly for the reserves. Since the new patch Kostadinov is nowhere near the player he was previously.
berwick-the-unbeatable
QUOTE (Supras @ Mar 28 2008, 22:17) *
What are the chances ohmy.gif

1. Impossible, its the law that you're not allowed to start that heap of shite.
2. It must be a photoshop. tongue.gif
Supras
This guy looks like a good winger, but you've got to worry when he has half the work rate of kris boyd and juan roman riquleme.

Does he just not move at all?
Supras
Can anyone find a quicker hat trick cool.gif
Virtual Insanity
I hate this game. Took on the Derby challenge, went down with a respectable 28 points or so, then started the Championship season on fire, 6 points clear at the top and I was sacked because "my poor relationship with the players was the reason for the teams poor performance." Shite.
The Naitch
What a finish to the season I just had there. Went into the last day ahead on goal difference, two goals better off than Brentford.

Brentford done this:

Click to view attachment

Luckily, I done this:

Click to view attachment

Leaving the table like this:

Click to view attachment

Champions on goals scored! biggrin.gif
BishyTON
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Mar 30 2008, 21:51) *
What a finish to the season I just had there. Went into the last day ahead on goal difference, two goals better off than Brentford.

Brentford done this:

Click to view attachment

Luckily, I done this:

Click to view attachment

Leaving the table like this:

Click to view attachment

Champions on goals scored! biggrin.gif

You'll never see that table in real life - especially incredible to see Chippenham finishing 4th in the Premiership!
Virtual Insanity
You might in 2099 but we'll never know laugh.gif 48 goals and 68 points is pretty low though, strange.