Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Mr X
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Mar 11 2008, 21:50) *
Nah, even that didn't work. sad.gif

What about the no-cd?

QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Mar 12 2008, 14:35) *
Right.. It's question time.

Is there any way i can hook up 2 computers to play the same game? I don't mean online, like local networking.

I fancy taking my laptop round to my mates and having a bit of competition with him. Is there any way i can do this?

Online isn't an option. My internet is very picky and cuts me off whenever it likes.

If you can help me i'll give you a pound.

If your mate has a router then plug both PC's into it and start a network game the same as you would over the internet. If he doesnt have a router then its too complicated to be worthwhile, you may as well just use the same PC, as suggested.
Toma_BullyWee
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Mar 12 2008, 15:10) *
How about using the same computer? wink.gif

Nah. Although it is the easiest way...

I've been told that an Ethernet cable might be the way to go.. I'll try it out tomorrow.
Gaz
QUOTE (Toma_BullyWee @ Mar 12 2008, 14:35) *
Right.. It's question time.

Is there any way i can hook up 2 computers to play the same game? I don't mean online, like local networking.

I fancy taking my laptop round to my mates and having a bit of competition with him. Is there any way i can do this?

Online isn't an option. My internet is very picky and cuts me off whenever it likes.

If you can help me i'll give you a pound.

Do you mean, like playing the game on one computer, saving it and then being able to play the same game on another computer?

If so, it should just be a case of locating your saved game, putting it on a memory stick and then taking it over to another computer, putting it on that and loading it up as normal.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Mar 12 2008, 16:38) *
Find the game file in your folders, put it on a memory pen and put it onto the second computer

QUOTE (Gaz @ Mar 12 2008, 20:09) *
If so, it should just be a case of locating your saved game, putting it on a memory stick and then taking it over to another computer, putting it on that and loading it up as normal.

tongue.gif
qos_75
QUOTE (Lightning McQueen @ Mar 12 2008, 17:13) *
What about the no-cd?

That didn't work either. I have went out and bought a new one though,hopefully this will work, I will try it later tonight.
Mon The Clyde
Where do you put skins? I made a folder like the ones for Kits and badges, they work, but the Skin isnt in the list. Also, what boxes do you tick/untick in preferences?

Tah
qos_75
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Mar 13 2008, 10:26) *
That didn't work either. I have went out and bought a new one though,hopefully this will work, I will try it later tonight.

Right, this is well out of order now. I bought a brand new 2008 and I am still getting the white screen of death! mad.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Mar 13 2008, 23:18) *
Right, this is well out of order now. I bought a brand new 2008 and I am still getting the white screen of death! mad.gif

Is your folders for kits ect in the right place?

I fucked about with it once and got a white screen, changed it back then it was fine unsure.gif
Mr X
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Mar 13 2008, 23:18) *

I think there is something on the SI forums about doing a "clean uninstall" - see if you can find that.

IIRC, the basic steps are something like

- uninstall FM
- manually delete FM folders in Progam files (or whereever it was installed)
- delete any FM folders in My Documents
- reinstall Java
- do the registry clean up mentioned before
- reinstall FM

Its obviously not FM thats the problem. Must be either Java, or a folder issue. You havent installed a newer version of Java lately?

qos_75
QUOTE (Lightning McQueen @ Mar 14 2008, 09:25) *
I think there is something on the SI forums about doing a "clean uninstall" - see if you can find that.

IIRC, the basic steps are something like

- uninstall FM
- manually delete FM folders in Progam files (or whereever it was installed)
- delete any FM folders in My Documents
- reinstall Java
- do the registry clean up mentioned before
- reinstall FM

Its obviously not FM thats the problem. Must be either Java, or a folder issue. You havent installed a newer version of Java lately?

Just before you posted this I tried loading it again and it works!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

I think it was Java that was the problem although, removing Java did not work for the old disc. No matter, it is back and I am now getting the graphics back in the game. Thanks for the help mate. smile.gif
dubs
Just started playing this the other day after my CM 01/02 disc snapped in the drive randomly. Have to say it's very enjoyable but I find it a tad difficult. Went Barcelona (no, really) and I am top of the league by a coupla points and through to the next round of the Champions League, only about halfway through the season as yet. My main problem seems to be breaking teams down; I play a standard 4-3-3 (or 4-1-2-3) with the wingers being AMR/AML. But it works really as a very defensively strong tactic rather than expansive and dangerous going forward. Every single home game is a case of nicking one goal becausse there is so little room to work with the teams sitting with 10 men behind the ball.

Just wondering if there is anyone who has ever had similar problems and is there anything that can be suggested to remedy this? Letting in very few goals is satisfying to an extent but it's Barcelona for christs sake. I shouldn't have to worry about scoring goals.
Mushroom
My awesome FM 07 Clyde game died - which is a shame as I had some incredible young players who could have made a big mark on the SPL in the next few years.

So, I downloaded a data update to bring 07 up to the current data, and sorted out the major falws that were left in Scotland - and tinkered a few abilities where I though appropriate (Pat Clarke, Current Ability 55 - Iain Campbell, CA 78 - don't think so laugh.gif )

I think the Clyde team is pretty accurate, the defence is strong, but the major weakness was the left hand side, I signed in Craig McPherson to be a gap filled at LWB, and did an OK job for the time being.

Also brought in, Mirnes Ibrahimovic - a Slovenian striker from Dundee North End, he is better than Clarke by some distance (even after I fixed him)

Dayne Robertson
- Free agent, don't see him making the starting XI right now, Ibrahimovic, Clarke, McKay and even McKenna (who is in great form) are all better right now.

Peter McMahon - Came to us along with 3k from Falkirk, the out of form Higgins heading in their direction.

David MacGregor - not a done deal, I'd imagine I'll get him the next time I play. Bestvina had taken Higgins' place anyway, but him going left me a bit thin for options. Speaking to him after 2k bid was accepted, I've met his demands. - edit- signed

Danny Ogunmade Signed as a youth player, I have high hopes for him.

T. Bendikson Some Norwegian kid

Branamir Kostadinov Got Hearts as my parent club, and they sent me him, not quite the player he is on FM08, but he's still pretty good.

Also put in loan bids for Jim McAlister and Matthew Doherty from Hearts (they must have signed McAlister from Morton)

Also got a feeder club in East Stirling, I've always wanted to be able to send my weans to a diddy team.

edit - had a wee reshuffle with the lineup, it seemed to work

Hutton
N.McGregor McKeown Bestvina D.MacGregor
M.McGowan B.Gibson huh.gif Wilson Bradley (seeking replacement)
Ibrahimovic Kostadinov
Mon The Clyde
Want a challenge? Dont know a lower leauge team to go?

Let Frank help you.
qos_75
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Mar 14 2008, 19:26) *
Want a challenge? Dont know a lower leauge team to go?

Let Frank help you.

Frank says: 'Dumbarton'.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Mar 14 2008, 19:36) *
Frank says: 'Dumbarton'.

Lucky you, I got fucking Harrogate Town huh.gif
Scott_L
Hucknall Town, Is that Mick's team?
Mr X
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Mar 14 2008, 11:24) *
Just before you posted this I tried loading it again and it works!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

I think it was Java that was the problem although, removing Java did not work for the old disc. No matter, it is back and I am now getting the graphics back in the game. Thanks for the help mate. smile.gif

No probs. Glad you got there in the end biggrin.gif
Szamo's_Ammo
How do you get it in windowed mode? Every time I put FM on the resolution changes so I can't put it in windowed mode. Normally it is 1280 by 800 pixels put when I load FM up it changes to a larger screen and when I click off "full screen" it says it cannot change.
Szamo's_Ammo
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Mar 14 2008, 17:07) *
Also brought in, Mirnes Ibrahimovic - a Slovenian striker from Aberdeen North End, he is better than Clarke by some distance (even after I fixed him)

He plays for Dundee North End.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Mar 14 2008, 19:43) *
Lucky you, I got fucking Harrogate Town huh.gif

Decided to play a game with them, and doing not too shabby! Sold the 'best' players, got in wee Polish lads for hee-haw and they are doing well.

QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Mar 14 2008, 22:12) *
How do you get it in windowed mode? Every time I put FM on the resolution changes so I can't put it in windowed mode. Normally it is 1280 by 800 pixels put when I load FM up it changes to a larger screen and when I click off "full screen" it says it cannot change.

1152 by 864
Szamo's_Ammo
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Mar 14 2008, 22:20) *
1152 by 864

It still changes to 1024 by 768 when I load up FM though, even though the resolution set in my display settings is different. Very annoying.
Mushroom
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Mar 14 2008, 22:17) *
He plays for Dundee North End.

pedant tongue.gif
Danny Torres
I got Busan Transportation Corporation from the korean second division as my team dry.gif
GoTeamGaz
in my third season as sons boss

2007/08 - 2nd in third division (lost playoff final to forfar dry.gif on penalties)
2008/09 - 1st in third division (by miles & miles, league was over by the beggining of Feb)
2009/2010 - 1st in second division (by 5 points, went down to the last game!)

apparentley the supporters trust was to put up a statue of me outside the ground, cheers ben!! biggrin.gif
The Naitch
Here's the state of play after doing 94 seasons ( ohmy.gif ) and having just won the UEFA Cup with Blackburn:

Click to view attachment
an86
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Mar 18 2008, 19:04) *
Here's the state of play after doing 94 seasons ( ohmy.gif ) and having just won the UEFA Cup with Blackburn:

Click to view attachment

Jesus Christ! How long has it taken you to get that far?
The Naitch
QUOTE (an86 @ Mar 18 2008, 19:36) *

Started that game in December 2006...been plodding along on it ever since.
BadgersNadgers
QUOTE (an86 @ Mar 18 2008, 19:36) *

Bloody hell! I thought it was set up so you could only go 30 seasons or so!

What version of FM is that? It looks well old, ie before Sega took over.
Mon The Clyde
How old are you in that game? laugh.gif
The Naitch
QUOTE (BadgersNadgers @ Mar 19 2008, 00:03) *
Bloody hell! I thought it was set up so you could only go 30 seasons or so!

What version of FM is that? It looks well old, ie before Sega took over.

It's CM 01/02....the God of football management games smile.gif

There is no reason (except the database exploding) for the game NOT to carry on....

QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Mar 19 2008, 00:29) *
How old are you in that game? laugh.gif

Old enough to know better tongue.gif laugh.gif

Mon The Clyde
Click to view attachment

Get out of jail free laugh.gif
port-ton
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Mar 21 2008, 16:43) *
Click to view attachment

Get out of jail free laugh.gif

wish he would do that in our network game sad.gif
Mon The Clyde
Right, this is doing my box in. I have got folders for kits, badges, backgrounds and even tactics which all work. I also have a seperate folder for Skins, which dont appear in the drop list in Preferences. How is this and how can I change to the many skins I have downloaded?
Dundee Par
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Mar 19 2008, 18:53) *
It's CM 01/02....the God of football management games smile.gif

thumbup2.gif

Certainly the most addictive one so far. I tried playing installing it on my laptop some time last year but it didn't work sad.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Dundee Par @ Mar 22 2008, 01:23) *
thumbup2.gif

Certainly the most addictive one so far. I tried playing installing it on my laptop some time last year but it didn't work sad.gif

Right-click the icon on the desktop, propperties, compatibility, tick the 'Run this programe in compatibility mode for' and Windows 98 or 95 or whatever.
Dundee Par
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Mar 22 2008, 01:28) *
Right-click the icon on the desktop, propperties, compatibility, tick the 'Run this programe in compatibility mode for' and Windows 98 or 95 or whatever.

Cheers thumbup2.gif I'll try that sometime. Don't have the disc on me at the moment
Mon The Clyde
On a sidenote, I have realised that I have made the most posts on this thread. 264 unsure.gif
Dundee Par
How do you find that out? unsure.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Dundee Par @ Mar 22 2008, 02:03) *
How do you find that out? unsure.gif

Click to view attachment

Click the number of replies
staggy4life
Never knew you could do that. Post 91! laugh.gif
Kylesons
I never post on this thread and i'm at 165. ohmy.gif laugh.gif
berwick-the-unbeatable
Decided to leave my Berwick game for a while, and start a new one with Newcastle for a better challenge, even though I dont like them. laugh.gif

Signed Van Der Vaart(10m), Riquelme(10m), Huntelaar (10m), Hans Vonk (Good keeper for 50k!), Okan (Some turkish guy 250k), Arshavin (good rm, russian, 6m).

I could have had quite a few more but no c**t wanted to buy Owen off me, and I was relying on the money from his transfer to buy me players who were on delay.

Currently 6th, after winning 4-1 (Huntelaar x3, Van Der Vaart) against Wigan then losing 4-0 against Chelsea. laugh.gif
The Naitch
Just secured my 2nd Premiership title in three seasons with Blackburn, though crashed out of the Champions' League Quarter Finals to Barnet and the FA Cup semis to Luton. unsure.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Mar 22 2008, 23:00) *
Just secured my 2nd Premiership title in three seasons with Blackburn, though crashed out of the Champions' League Quarter Finals to Barnet and the FA Cup semis to Luton. unsure.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

That's so bizzare it's hilarious! laugh.gif
Paco
I hadn't played this for a while up until last night- I'm hooked again! laugh.gif

Top of the First Division in my second season with Raith, and I'm flying. I'm at the start of December and have lost once (in my last match, actually, to Hamilton) despite the fact I seem to play Saturday, Wednesday, Saturday, Wednesday all the time. I reached the Scottish Cup final in my first season somehow, and drew Ajax in Europe, which resulted in a few league cancellations. Re-arranged games keep getting put back due to international call-up's.

My first choice team sheet currently looks like:

David Grof (loan from Hibs)

Michael Hart (signed from Aberdeen for free)
Marvin Andrews
Todd Lumsden
Shaun Molloy (free from Queens Park)

Robert Sloan
Jordan Cropley (signed from Hibs for £50,000)
Simon Ferry (loan from Celtic)

Ross Campbell (loan from Hibs)

Branimir Kosstadinov (loan from Hearts)
Alex Williams (signed from Ayr)/Graham Weir/Richard Bowers (from QP)/Steven Burley (youth player who scores goals)

I'm hugely undecided on my second striker, as you'll see, as all of them seem to be injury jinxed and score when they play.

I've got Craig Sives signed from Hearts who comes in on January 1st to replace Lumsden.

My funds from transfers incidentally were raised by three cup runs last season, and the fact I made the UEFA Cup. The great Kirkcaldy public have also responded to my success, with my average crowd being over 5000.
1993staggie
Am well gutted

I sarted my game with Ross County and in the first season with them i got them promoted which was what my board were wanting. So they were happy with me and so were the fans.

then i did my seconed season with them with me just wanting to get a Mid table finsh which i did with an ease, There was only 9 points to my place which was 5th the first place were dundee were. So it was a very close season. Then i finsh the season with the board relaseing a statement sayiny they will not renew my contract with Ross County. I hate the board. I got them to the position were they wanted.

So i am now at Shrewsbury town in league 2 in england. I signed some of my players from my former County team

I signed

Sean Webb
Alan Navvaro
Paul Lawson and
Andrew Barrowmen

who have all really help my season so far
Mushroom
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Mar 22 2008, 02:06) *
Click to view attachment

Click the number of replies

oh dear ph34r.gif
Kylesons
Has there been another update out that has all the correct transfers after the january transfer window? The official update has loads of players missing etc.
dubs
Saving trawling through an obscene amount of posts, is there a way to get the EPL players face and the right kits and stuff?
Toma_BullyWee
Whats going on?

I got a bit bored with my old game and decided to start another. East Stirling for me.

I thought i'd try and do a Gretna. So i have 8 million here and a good amount to spend on wages.

I decided to go for Kostadinov, Sheridan, Rory Loy, Bryn Halliwell and a few others.

They all said no. Even when i offered them the highest i could possibly pay. They still said no.

No one wants to sign for me at all. It would appear that money doesn't talk if you're East Stirling. I was hoping for a little comedy game to get me back in the mood.. But it's went tits up. I'm closing in on the end of the transfer window and i have no one new. Not even a wee loan signing.

Want to know the really annoying thing?

I'm doing pretty well without the money. mad.gif