Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
The Naitch
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jan 17 2008, 19:05) *
what formations does everyone use?

I'm STILL sticking with Champ Man 01/02 and use a 4-1-3-2 formation, only really works if you have a solid defensive midfielder, creative midfielders and strikers with speed to burn. It's done me well over the years, so can't complain too much tongue.gif
SuperTommy
QUOTE (Supras @ Jan 17 2008, 19:10) *
4-1-4-1 with defensive
closing down often
defence deep
tempo quick
style direct
man marking
counter attack

Note do not go ultra defensive, half way between middle and end is probably the best.

And have someone with good physical attributes up front, andy gray or lee miller for me.

just tried it there, won 3-1 against partick so hopefully onwards and upwards with this

QUOTE (The Naitch @ Jan 17 2008, 19:17) *
I'm STILL sticking with Champ Man 01/02 and use a 4-1-3-2 formation, only really works if you have a solid defensive midfielder, creative midfielders and strikers with speed to burn. It's done me well over the years, so can't complain too much tongue.gif

believe me i've tried it haha, still best ever tactic of champ/fm series
Scott_AUFC

Think I might get the job tongue.gif

Kylesons
QUOTE (Scott_AUFC @ Jan 17 2008, 20:22) *

You just added the guy in. huh.gif
staggy4life
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jan 17 2008, 19:05) *
what formations does everyone use?

i play a formation that i doubt many will have but it work wonders for me!

--------ST--^--ST--------
^------------|-------------^
|------------AM------------|
|---------------------------|
LM----------MC----------RM
------------------------------
-------------DM-------------
-------CB---CB---CB-------
-------------------------------
-------------GK--------------

hope you can see that unsure.gif
The Minertaur
Pat Scullion just got called up too the Republic Of Ireland under 21's side.....he doesnt even get a full game for me at Cowden laugh.gif
Mon The Clyde
Click to view attachment

Gaun yersel!
MTJ
Who is the bias fud who edits St. Mirren in this game? They are always in the top six minimum in my game and average about 8k for each home game. huh.gif
Dundee Par
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jan 17 2008, 23:47) *
Who is the bias fud who edits St. Mirren in this game? They are always in the top six minimum in my game and average about 8k for each home game. huh.gif

And they beat me 5-0 in a friendly mad.gif
Mon the Rovers
The crowd figures are very inaccurate on FM08.

I averaged little over 1600 during my first season, during which I won the league.

I'm now in December of my second season and I've not had a crowd under 4000 huh.gif Strangely, crowds also go down for games with Dunfermline.
Dundee Par
I'm currently averaging about 6500 (don't know the exact figure). I've only had 3 home games though (and drawn them all dry.gif )
The Minertaur
At Cowden I am averaging around 700 in the 2nd division. For some reason Ross County are unbeatable laugh.gif
Supras
QUOTE (Scott_AUFC @ Jan 17 2008, 20:22) *

That's desperate rolleyes.gif

QUOTE (staggy4life @ Jan 17 2008, 21:57) *
i play a formation that i doubt many will have but it work wonders for me!

--------ST--^--ST--------
^------------|-------------^
|------------AM------------|
|---------------------------|
LM----------MC----------RM
-------------DM-------------
-------CB---CB---CB-------
-------------------------------
-------------GK--------------

hope you can see that unsure.gif

Far too attacking for me, I'm a very defensive manager, and couldn't cope without full backs. Also Luca Santonocito agreed to move to palermo for free, what a fud mad.gif

QUOTE (MTJ @ Jan 17 2008, 23:47) *

Fm 2008, we're pish in that.

QUOTE (Dundee Par @ Jan 17 2008, 23:53) *
And they beat me 5-0 in a friendly mad.gif

Accurate tongue.gif

EDIT- The attendances are way off
Scott_AUFC
QUOTE (Kylesons @ Jan 17 2008, 22:24) *
You just added the guy in. huh.gif

I'm Villa and i agreed to join United at the end of the season, but I only realised I would miss out on the FA cup final and added my friend in to try and stop me from going and then I would join afterwards but it didn't work sad.gif
Supras
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jan 17 2008, 23:12) *

Good ole kirky, can be reied upon.

Don't want to rein on your parade but...
Mon The Clyde
Ah, but you didnt win the cup after it tongue.gif
Supras
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jan 18 2008, 16:49) *
Ah, but you didnt win the cup after it tongue.gif

No the next week I lost 4-0 to ICT in the cup, they were in the first division at the time sad.gif
The Minertaur
Cant imagine how many extra fans this will bring in laugh.gif
Virtual Insanity
What's everyone's best tips for going cold turkey on FM? I'm currently totally addicted to my Elgin game, after two successive 7th placed finishes I pushed up to 5th the next season and just finished 2nd in my 4th season, first leg semi playoff beat Alloa 2-1 at home, but have to get myself off the game at the end of this season. Considering giving the disc to the girlfriend but I know that will lead to me being mocked and also probably a fight at some stage. Any better ideas?
Supras
QUOTE (Virtual Insanity @ Jan 18 2008, 22:09) *
What's everyone's best tips for going cold turkey on FM? I'm currently totally addicted to my Elgin game, after two successive 7th placed finishes I pushed up to 5th the next season and just finished 2nd in my 4th season, first leg semi playoff beat Alloa 2-1 at home, but have to get myself off the game at the end of this season. Considering giving the disc to the girlfriend but I know that will lead to me being mocked and also probably a fight at some stage. Any better ideas?

Just loan it to a friend for a while, particularly a really cheap one who will probably never give it back
kilgour11

break the disc?

sell it?
Gaz
Get some willpower? It's only a game FFS.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Gaz @ Jan 19 2008, 00:01) *
Get some willpower? It's only a game FFS.

Ken.
dubs
Lol, whit a goon.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (dubya @ Jan 19 2008, 00:11) *
Lol, whit a goon.

who?
Gaz
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jan 19 2008, 01:05) *
who?

Probably the VI chap.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Gaz @ Jan 19 2008, 01:06) *
Probably the VI chap.

Aye.

Firstly, being addicted to Elgin huh.gif

then giving it to your burd huh.gif the post gets more bizzare as it goes along!
Mon The Clyde
Click to view attachment
The Minertaur
smile.gif
The Naitch
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jan 19 2008, 18:55) *

That's nothing. Man Utd have slipped into obscurity in my game, below Conference level certainly. Here's a pic of them and the company they keep.

Click to view attachment

How do you get the images onto your post, as opposed to just a link for downloading?
Swampy
How do you get the images onto your post, as opposed to just a link for downloading?

Don't save them as bitmaps. Use JPG or PNG or similar.
The Naitch
QUOTE (Swampy @ Jan 19 2008, 21:36) *
Don't save them as bitmaps. Use JPG or PNG or similar.

Ahh, thanks.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Jan 19 2008, 21:02) *
That's nothing. Man Utd have slipped into obscurity in my game, below Conference level certainly. Here's a pic of them and the company they keep.

2076!! rolleyes.gif

I'm only 2020!! ph34r.gif
The Naitch
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jan 19 2008, 21:54) *
2076!! rolleyes.gif

I'm only 2020!! ph34r.gif

I did start the game nearly 18 months ago, so it's not that bad..... ph34r.gif nerd.gif 1eye.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Jan 19 2008, 21:56) *
I did start the game nearly 18 months ago, so it's not that bad..... ph34r.gif nerd.gif 1eye.gif

I started mine about a year ago, started as Clyde, got into the SPL, won the Scottish Cup, into Europe where Shalke just beat me in the KO stages, then I get relegated in 2012 and got the sack. I then went on holiday til now, where I dont have anywhere to go! sad.gif

Sutton fucking United are the best choise, in the Conference North!
The Minertaur
After getting Cowden promoted the fixtures havent generated sad.gif Well pissed off laugh.gif
staggy4life
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Jan 19 2008, 22:48) *
After getting Cowden promoted the fixtures havent generated sad.gif Well pissed off laugh.gif

get the patch from www.sigames.com that will fix it
The Minertaur
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Jan 19 2008, 23:12) *

Cheers will do it tomorrow.

I had a good team too - managed to draw with Celtic in pre season!
Szamo's_Ammo

Have you contacted Jeremy Kyle yet?

If you have, and you still aren't over your addiction, I'm afraid I have no tips or advice for you.
Szamo's_Ammo
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Jan 19 2008, 23:12) *

I don't see an FM08 patch there. huh.gif
KnightswoodBear
I started a game as manager of At Madrid and managed to win La Liga in my first season. I was in need of a right sided wing back, so I managed to snap up Alan Hutton for a snip at £3.5 million.

Won the Uefa cup on penalties against Fiorentina as well.

Just started my 2nd season and managed to sign Anelka from Bolton for £15.25 million. this seasons looking good as I beat Espanyol 7-0 in my second game of the season. laugh.gif
The Minertaur
I downloaded the patch.....now what do I do? laugh.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Jan 20 2008, 12:17) *

Shift it into the 'db' folder.

Then start a new game!

(I realise that means f**k all in regards to your Cowdenbeath game ph34r.gif )
staggy4life
QUOTE (Szamo's_Ammo @ Jan 20 2008, 01:09) *
I don't see an FM08 patch there. huh.gif

sorry here you go

http://community.sigames.com/eve/forums/a/...91/m/5902009263

QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Jan 20 2008, 12:17) *

have you extracted it then loaded it up?
after that just start up FM08 as normal then when you click on 'new game' a database choice will appear so just select the 8.0.2 patch. smile.gif
The Minertaur
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jan 20 2008, 12:33) *
Shift it into the 'db' folder.

Then start a new game!

(I realise that means f**k all in regards to your Cowdenbeath game ph34r.gif )

Gracias!

Aww dammit I was enjoying getting Cowden promoted sad.gif Oh well next time I will just have to go out and win the league laugh.gif
The Minertaur
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Jan 20 2008, 12:33) *
sorry here you go

http://community.sigames.com/eve/forums/a/...91/m/5902009263

have you extracted it then loaded it up?
after that just start up FM08 as normal then when you click on 'new game' a database choice will appear so just select the 8.0.2 patch. smile.gif

Cheers - it seems to be working now smile.gif
The Minertaur
Well this season is going better than the game that crashed! laugh.gif In the old game I was knocked out of both early cup in the first round. This season I am in the quarter finals of the league cup (beat Dundee Utd 4-2 after extra time) and in the final of the challenge cup after this epic match :-

Scofield
Is there anyone playiong with a Scottish lower league side whose not bought the Bulgarian lad from Hearts?!
Kylesons
QUOTE (Scofield @ Jan 20 2008, 20:42) *
Is there anyone playiong with a Scottish lower league side whose not bought the Bulgarian lad from Hearts?!

Me. smile.gif
The Minertaur
QUOTE (Scofield @ Jan 20 2008, 20:42) *

I hadnt until last week - very glad I did now laugh.gif