QUOTE (scottp96 @ Jan 8 2008, 19:48)

to you as well
And I raise you a

and a
Mushroom
Jan 9 2008, 21:26
QUOTE (ochil-clyde @ Jan 7 2008, 18:52)

I wasn't sure, thats why I elaborated
With 3 games to go in the season, I changed to a 3-5-2 with a playmaker.
Played 2, both won 3-0, but still 9th
St. Mirren should be an easy three points though

, and I'll be garuanteed 8th place, as 7th and 8th are playing each other. Although I'm not sure 7th is even possible

Drew with St. Mirren after half my team got called up for international duty (no postponement bizzarely)
Finished 9th, but the question is How the fcuk did I qualify for Europe
Only major signing has been Paul Hinshelwood from Liverpool (1M) and some Spanish wean who might get the odd game this year, and a few weans as well - have millions of the fuckers now! - Just imagine how awesome they will be in 5 years though
Kylesons
Jan 9 2008, 21:32
Started a new game last week with dumbarton.
Won the 3rd divsion and i'm now currently 3rd in the 2nd division with around 13 games played. Only 3 points off the top (partick). Signed quite a few players and also have a great young keeper who is currently in the scotland under 21 squad. Will post screenshots later.
Mon The Clyde
Jan 9 2008, 22:52
Is it Peter Logan by any chance?
Kylesons
Jan 9 2008, 22:57
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jan 9 2008, 22:52)

Is it Peter Logan by any chance?
Murray.
Supras
Jan 10 2008, 09:00
QUOTE (ochil-clyde @ Jan 9 2008, 21:26)

Drew with St. Mirren after half my team got called up for international duty (no postponement bizzarely)
Finished 9th, but the question is How the fcuk did I qualify for Europe
Only major signing has been Paul Hinshelwood from Liverpool (1M) and some Spanish wean who might get the odd game this year, and a few weans as well - have millions of the fuckers now! - Just imagine how awesome they will be in 5 years though

Recently beat rangers 4-0 at LS, got to Euro cup after getting to Scottish cup final but was knocked out first round by a portuguese team.
Got chris james for free then sold him for 2 million the next season to auxerre, bought graeme smith and michal janota.
Also got nengomashe, neil lennon, david weir, jody morris, marlet, lee miller, stephen wright, soley, tall, vito mannone, andrew driver on loan.
Dundee Par
Jan 10 2008, 15:33
Not got round to buying the new one yet as I have a long running game on 07 with Liverpool, but is it worth getting the new one now? I've heard there's loads of bugs in it but I take it there's a patch out now fixing most of them?
Dundee Par
Jan 10 2008, 16:14
Ahh f**k it. Just went and bought it anyway
1993staggie
Jan 10 2008, 16:35
Done my first season with County and got to the Playoffs and slaughtered Airdrie in the final. Second season i signed a few players like:
Sean Webb - free
Alan Navarro - free
Gary Mackay Steven - free
Alan Lowing - loan from Rangers
Steven Lennon - loan from Rangers (try and sign him he is a legend and a vital player in your team)
Sold:
Dene Shields: free
Andy Dowie: 16k
Joe Malin: 10k
Mark Nicholson: free
Ian Anderson: free
Second in the league just now as been tipped to get relegated
I'm enjoying this a lot more than older ones given that I've set myself some proper challenges rather than going Falkirk and Newcastle all the time.
Got games running concurrently with Valencia, Juventus and Ajax, looking to restore Juventus and Ajax to their European glories make Valencia a European powerhouse using only domestic players where possible
Mon The Clyde
Jan 10 2008, 17:16
Peter Logan from Killie is some keeper, despite scoring 113 goals in my East Stirlingshire season I cannot score into him! (he signed for Berwick)
berwick-the-unbeatable
Jan 11 2008, 12:07
I started a Berwick one last night and made various signings and sellingages.
SignedRobbie Foy
Scott McLean
Scot Gemmill
David Currie (U19)
Ryan Pow (Res)
Stephen Payne
David Duke (Res)
Eddie Annand
Stephen Mconalugue (1k)
---- Musker (Scout)
Loans.Branimir Kostadinov (Got fucking injured after playing class aswell though.

Attempted sprint

)
Euan McLean (Dundee United keeper)
Gregory Cameron (Or somat like that, Dundee United CM)
Johnny Russell (or somat like that, United CF)
I strongly suggest loaning the last two, their stats are beast.
Got rid of.Robbie Horn (1k)
Tommy Lennox (Free)
Chris McGroaty (2k)
Sent 4 away to Eyemouth (feeder club)
Started well beating Cowden 4-2, then Livi on Pens in the cup 3-1, Beat of Raith 2-1 (Late goals + Injury to Branimir

), then beat Elgin 3-0, got beat off Peterhead 5-1.

Continue it later.
Scott_AUFC
Jan 11 2008, 22:52
QUOTE (berwick-the-unbeatable @ Jan 11 2008, 13:07)

Greg Cameron (Or somat like that, Dundee United CM)
In my game when I click on positions he can play everywhere
Duracell Bunny
Jan 11 2008, 22:54
QUOTE (Scott_AUFC @ Jan 11 2008, 22:52)

In my game when i click on positions he can play everywhere

You need to coach him so he can play in another position
stuart.
Jan 11 2008, 22:55
WHere do you get the patch thing that makes the game work better?
Supras
Jan 11 2008, 22:55

So can Vanden Borre and Taarabt
Scott_AUFC
Jan 11 2008, 23:05
QUOTE (Steven @ Jan 11 2008, 23:54)

You need to coach him so he can play in another position

Yes I am aware of this but he already has has competent and such like for every position.
berwick-the-unbeatable
Jan 12 2008, 10:58

Aye versatile

Hes ok, The GK is class, has an off day every few games though, and Branimir and Russell upfront will make you win.
Scott_AUFC
Jan 12 2008, 22:17
staggy4life
Jan 12 2008, 22:27
QUOTE (Scott_AUFC @ Jan 12 2008, 22:17)

i have only ever had one appeal rescinded and that was Zander diamond in 07.
berwick-the-unbeatable
Jan 13 2008, 11:26
QUOTE (Scott_AUFC @ Jan 12 2008, 22:17)

Whoa whoa whoa its magic you knoooooowww...
Mon the Rovers
Jan 13 2008, 12:02
That's the first time I've ever saw that!
And I appeal against every sending off I get, just for the hell of it.
Andyboy
Jan 13 2008, 12:15
An appeal's worked for me in FM once or twice.
For some reason, it makes you feel so big, and clever.
The Naitch
Jan 13 2008, 12:29
Only get around 10% of my appeals going through successfully as well, but that's probably because any of my team's disciplinary records are so poor
I appeal for everything and have never had an appeal accepted if anything it normally goes up
Supras
Jan 13 2008, 15:01
Lost Franco
Andy and Dion Dublin retire and have already lost potter, weir, malone, reid and basically every other defender I have
Still got seyfo soley, pressley, wright, santanconti (Celtic wing back signed from Inter, he's immense) McCay, DVZ, Haining,
Armand 2
Jan 14 2008, 01:12
Not really got a chance to play the new Footy Manager due to the student life of boozing and studying. Well maybe not the latter.
But got a craving to play it so once my Business exam is out the way on Tuesday, it'll be Footy Manager time. Well that's a lie, it will be pub time but Footy Manager will follow on Wednesday probably. Bolton will be the fortunate team to welcome my managerial talent, me thinks. Already got Anelka's replacement lined up in my head.
The Minertaur
Jan 14 2008, 10:42
QUOTE (Armand 2 @ Jan 14 2008, 01:12)

Not really got a chance to play the new Footy Manager due to the student life of boozing and studying. Well maybe not the latter.
But got a craving to play it so once my Business exam is out the way on Tuesday, it'll be Footy Manager time. Well that's a lie, it will be pub time but Footy Manager will follow on Wednesday probably. Bolton will be the fortunate team to welcome my managerial talent, me thinks. Already got Anelka's replacement lined up in my head.
After my exams this week my laptop should be fixed at the shop so I can finally continue my Hibs game....or try and get Cowden to the spl again
Richard_B
Jan 14 2008, 13:00
Started a game with Bolton, still in pre-season the now.
Bought Eddie Johnson from Kansas for 2.6m, Kyle Lafferty for 700k, and Engeelar from Twente (target man) for 2.8m
Out goes Joey O Brien for 2.8m to Birmingham and El hadji Diouf to Lyon for 4.8m (half in installments).
Just tweaking around with tactics at the moment, Engeelar acting as a foil for Anelka seems to work a treat, with Johnson and Lafferty providing cover for each player. Looking into signing either a centre back or an attacking left back, maybe from an Iberian country for a bit of flair and all that.
Dundee Par
Jan 14 2008, 16:16
Right, I've just installed it. Is there a patch out that I can download before I start a game? And any other recommendations on stuff to download?
Michael W
Jan 14 2008, 16:23
Branir Konstandinov on loan from Hearts - goal machine

QUOTE (MW RRFC @ Jan 14 2008, 16:23)

Branir Konstandinov on loan from Hearts - goal machine

Cause we havn't been told that before
Michael W
Jan 14 2008, 16:36
QUOTE (phil7 @ Jan 14 2008, 16:28)

Cause we havn't been told that before

You probably have, but I really can't be arsed trailing through 170 pages just to see if somebody else has mentioned him.
CODE
Oh dear! he got a mention on page 87! I'd better make damn sure I don't mention this player, or people won't be happy
SimonLichtie
Jan 14 2008, 16:39
QUOTE (Dundee Par @ Jan 14 2008, 16:16)

Right, I've just installed it. Is there a patch out that I can download before I start a game? And any other recommendations on stuff to download?
www.sigames.com
Download the latest patch for FM08, there's only 1

Im currently Stenny, in my 2nd season and 3rd in the 2nd division, miles ahead of 5th place and only got 5 games to go. Went on a 15 match unbeaten run!

400k or so in the bank, so think begin the transition from part time to full time in the summer with a few players. Also maybe get the training and youth facilties done up.
Has anyone had their team go full time (as in, the board have made the club full time) when they went into div 1?
qos_75
Jan 14 2008, 16:50
Does anyone have a fools guide to changing a background picture in the game? I have downloaded background pictures (stadiums) for most leagues. Sadly, the Palmerston one looks like it was taken about 15 years ago and from the outside the ground. I now have better one and I wanted to add it to my backgrounds, but I am unsure how to do it without making a pigs ear of it. Any help will be gratefully accepted.
The Arch
Jan 14 2008, 16:53
Kostandinov is brilliant as many have said. He's scored 14 goals in 13 for my Thistle team yet the Thistle fans are "unsure about what he really adds to the side"
These same fans think Michael Lea is a "brilliant capture" yet has an average rating of 6.62
This new confidence bar annoys me
Mushroom
Jan 14 2008, 16:53
QUOTE (SimonLichtie @ Jan 14 2008, 16:39)

Has anyone had their team go full time (as in, the board have made the club full time) when they went into div 1?
(FM07)
With Raith I now offer full-time contracts to anyone whos wanting more than £150 per week, which is currently 1 player (David Orr) but I'm signing Gavin Sw**kie and some guy from Gretna (Cooke?) in January who will be full-time.
I started 08-09 OK being 3rd after about 7 games but now approaching December and I'm 8th and not won in about 10 games.
The weaknesses in my team are really beginning to show, I have a few good players (Michael Brown, Mark Campbell, Jonothan Baillie (loan from Hibs) Neil Lennon, Andy Ross and Armand One) but that leaves some major gaps.
With the upcoming window - I already have those two signed, so will hopefully be able to play something along these lines.
Michael Brown
Mark Campbell --- Jonothan Baillie --- ??????
Andy Ross --- ?????? --- Neil Lennon --- ?????? ---- Cooke?
Armand One --- Gavin Sw**kie
Richard Smith may fill in one of the midfield slots, as may Gary McPhee, Andy Dick or Jason Darling. A young reserve, Craig O'Mara may be blooded in to that defensive slot also.
Scott_AUFC
Jan 15 2008, 17:04
QUOTE (SimonLichtie @ Jan 14 2008, 17:39)

www.sigames.com
Download the latest patch for FM08, there's only 1
Im currently Stenny, in my 2nd season and 3rd in the 2nd division, miles ahead of 5th place and only got 5 games to go. Went on a 15 match unbeaten run!

400k or so in the bank, so think begin the transition from part time to full time in the summer with a few players. Also maybe get the training and youth facilties done up.
On FM07 once I was promoted to the 2nd division my Queen's Park board decided to go full time!
Duracell Bunny
Jan 15 2008, 17:17
StewartyMac
Jan 15 2008, 17:26
Finally got a decent skin for FM2008, so I'm back playing it again for the first time in months.
Got a Stirling/Sunderland concurrent game going, but I've lost my first 6 league games as Sunderland boss. Hardly surprising when the players are rotten, and you get no money at the start of the season.
I think I'm gonna have to restart, and give myself a bit of cash in the editor thingy....yes staggy, that's right, gonna follow your lead and cheat
Either that, or I'll just resign from the Mackems and concentrate on the Albion game, which is going not bad after the first few games. Well, better than their real life counterparts anyway, although J-Rod doesn't want to come to us on loan. C'mon, I thought this was supposed to be realistic!!!!
Scott_AUFC
Jan 15 2008, 18:50
On my computer when I go into the program file for Sports Interactive and then Football Manager 2008 most of the things such as graphics, skins, fonts don't appear as folders but as files. Is this the same with everyone's or is mine f*cked up?
Kylesons
Jan 15 2008, 19:00
QUOTE (Scott_AUFC @ Jan 15 2008, 18:50)

On my computer when I go into the program file for Sports Interactive and then Football Manager 2008 most of the things such as graphics, skins, fonts don't appear as folders but as files. Is this the same with everyone's or is mine f*cked up?
Same with mine.
Scott_AUFC
Jan 15 2008, 19:22
How do you put in more logos and player pictures, anyone know?
Supras
Jan 15 2008, 19:33
I can't get the editor, I can only use the FM07 one
Kylesons
Jan 15 2008, 19:51
QUOTE (Scott_AUFC @ Jan 15 2008, 19:22)

How do you put in more logos and player pictures, anyone know?
I just put them in db.
Scofield
Jan 17 2008, 01:29
Enjoyed sticking 15 players on the transfer list just after I started my game for Dunfermline. My team now consists of On loan Premiership players and bought Celtic youngsters. Cillian Sheridan is a gem.
Won Division 1 and the Chellange Cup but lost to Celtic in the Scottish Cup Semis. Drew Rangers away in the League cup in the first round I played in, lost, and was told by the board that it must never happen again. c**ts. Beat some diddy Hungarian side before playing Napoli. Drew 0-0 and 2-2 but lost on away goals
Dundee Par
Jan 17 2008, 01:41
Just started on the new one. Drew my 1st 2 games (both at home

) before travelling to Fredrikstad (I think) in the UEFA Cup. Went 2-0 down at half time and told the players what I thought of them. Made 3 subs and ended up winning 3-2 with a hattrick from Konstandinov (sp?)

Looking good for the next leg now but will need to start taking my chances in the league games as I dominated both of them so far.
staggy4life
Jan 17 2008, 10:59
how long until the january transfer window patch comes out.....a month?
dont think i will bother starting a new game until its out.
SuperTommy
Jan 17 2008, 19:05
what formations does everyone use?
i'm into my second season as dundee manager,
1st season i finished 3rd but was 7 points clear at one stage and fell apart, my problem is i can't win at home, away from home i have been pulling off some fantastic results, i'll win away to top two sides two weeks running then lose 4-1 at home to team second bottom next week.
2nd season is no better i'm lower league and can't win at home again,
any tactic help will do, tried loads of different formation but nothing seems to work at home
Supras
Jan 17 2008, 19:10
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jan 17 2008, 19:05)

what formations does everyone use?
i'm into my second season as dundee manager,
1st season i finished 3rd but was 7 points clear at one stage and fell apart, my problem is i can't win at home, away from home i have been pulling off some fantastic results, i'll win away to top two sides two weeks running then lose 4-1 at home to team second bottom next week.
2nd season is no better i'm lower league and can't win at home again,
any tactic help will do, tried loads of different formation but nothing seems to work at home
4-1-4-1 with defensive
closing down often
defence deep
tempo quick
style direct
man marking
counter attack
Note do not go ultra defensive, half way between middle and end is probably the best.
And have someone with good physical attributes up front, andy gray or lee miller for me.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.