Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (CK @ Dec 27 2007, 20:02) *

I started a game with Shire. I got rid of all the dross, around 9 or so players, and brought in Eddie Annand, Scot Gemmill, Robbie Foy, Ryan Pow, Billy Brawley, Graham Gibson, Stephen Payne, David Duke, Kevin MacDonald & Kevin Budinauckas, plus David Nixon, Ross Campbell, Damon Gray and Sean Lynch on loan.

Is that Fm08?
CK
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Dec 28 2007, 17:36) *
Is that Fm08?

Yes.

I won my first league game 2-1 at Arbroath, then had Thistle in the cup. The three Hibs players were ineligible, and I lost 4-1. The squad have terrible fitness levels, 4 of my players were under 50% at half time!
Don Diego De la Vega
Is there a bug in the game? i have been going Sheff Utd to start with and i get an enquiry about a player lucketti and when i respond to it my game crashes 3 times this has happened now and its doing my tits in simply because i only remember not to click the tab once i have done it aaaaaaaaaargh
Mon The Clyde
This game is unreal, every game its like 3-5, 4-2, 3-7 and all this.

Friendlys are the best, I started with East Stirling and it was like;

Threave Rovers 7-0 East Stirlingshire
Brora Ranegsr 5-1 East Stirlingshire
East Stirlingshire 3-4 Kelty Hearts
Glenafton Athletic 5-1 East Stirlingshire
East Stirlignshire 1-4 AFC Telford

Then I bring in Damon Gray as mentioned above..

Inverurie Loco Works 1-8 East Stirlingshire! With Gray scoring 7!

Then the first leauge game; Elgin 1-7 East Stirlingshire.

edited for typos
Mon the Rovers
I've not too long started my game, and I'm going incredibly well with the Rovers in Division 2 blink.gif

Have played 8 leage games, won 8 league games, got to the third round of the League Cup before getting beat 4-3 by Falkirk. I'm just about to play Morton in the Challenge Cup semi-final after disposing of Berwick, Dunfermline and East Fife.

Loan Signings

Ross Campbell
Marco Pelsoi (already at Rovers)
Branamir Kostadinov
Someone Krol, a Hibbe goalie.

I've also signed a couple of players from Queens Park who's names escape me. I love how you can just walk in and take their players laugh.gif

I'd also recommend Graham Weir to anyone managing a lower league side. The man's a goal machine! Pity he can't show the same in real life sad.gif
Mon The Clyde
Hmm..I just lost 7-2 at home to Stenny in the Scottish Cup. I played them away in the leauge next.

I beat them 7-3!!!!!!!!
South Lanarkshire Jag
ive just got a new laptop with Vista. Does FM08 play on Vista cos wherever ive looked for it has said it only plays on XP sad.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (South Lanarkshire Jag @ Dec 29 2007, 01:35) *
ive just got a new laptop with Vista. Does FM08 play on Vista cos wherever ive looked for it has said it only plays on XP sad.gif

Yep, I am playing it just now on vista and works perfectly smile.gif
Mon The Clyde
Fucking hell man, check some of these scores!

Click to view attachment
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Dec 29 2007, 01:42) *
Yep, I am playing it just now on vista and works perfectly smile.gif

good smile.gif
kilgour11
Tis the season to be jolly...

1. Top of the League (Went on an unbeaten run for 22 Games)
  2. Won the Challenge Cup (Beat four First Division clubs)
  3. Reached the League Cup 3rd Round (Knocked out Motherwell on Penalties)
  4. In the 5th Round of the Scottish Cup (Knocked out Stirling and Hamilton)
So, in total, i have beaten 6 First Division clubs (Clyde, St Johnstone, Livingston, Stirling, Hamilton & Queen of the South)
GoTeamGaz
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Dec 29 2007, 01:49) *
Fucking hell man, check some of these scores!

Click to view attachment

get yourself to sortitoutsi.net & download the strips & badges!!
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (GoTeamGaz @ Dec 30 2007, 22:50) *
get yourself to sortitoutsi.net & download the strips & badges!!

Tried - it comes up some shite and just doesnt let me sad.gif

it's strange cos it done it my laptop unsure.gif

Click to view attachment Click to view attachment
Michael
anyone fancy a network game
Mon The Clyde
Anyway, with my Shire game, into my second season, after scoring an increadable 92 goals and finnishing 6th, yes sixth in the 3rd divison, I signed;

Eddie Annand - Lochee Utd - Free
Scot Gemmil - Free
Billy Brawley - Selkirk - Free
Kevin MacDonald - Free
Stephen Payne - Free
David Duke - Free
Ross Campbell - Loan - Hibernian
David Nixon - Loan - Motherwell
Damon Gray - Loan - Hibernian
Gary Glen - Loan - Hearts
Matej Rapnik - Loan - Hearts
Lewis macKinnon - Forres Mechanics - £3k
Willie Stewart - Linlithgow Rose - £1k
Dean Thornton - Free (I recommend this guy, young decent goal keeper)
Scott Chaplian - Free - Partick Thistle

Realsed lots of the shite at the start.

This season in comes;

Ian Harty - Free
Laurie Ellis - Free
Brian Carrigan - Free (Macclesfield paid £8k for him, 2 months before releasing him!!)
Ryan Pow - Free - Preston Athletic
And Hearts, my feeder club helped me out with;
Jamie MacDonald - Loan
Gary Glen - Loan extension
Branimir Kostadinov.

After 6 games into the 2nd season, I am top (4 wins 2 draws). Out both cups; 0-1 Queens Park and 4-5 QoS.

Click to view attachment
GoTeamGaz
dean furman & steven lennon from rangers on loan are absolutley essential
1993staggie
QUOTE (GoTeamGaz @ Dec 30 2007, 23:52) *
dean furman & steven lennon from rangers on loan are absolutley essential

i got Steven lennon from loan as well as alan lowwing from rangers and i have to say they are playing well for me
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Dec 30 2007, 23:33) *
This season in comes;

Ian Harty - Free
Laurie Ellis - Free
Brian Carrigan - Free (Macclesfield paid £8k for him, 2 months before releasing him!!)
Ryan Pow - Free - Preston Athletic
And Hearts, my feeder club helped me out with;
Jamie MacDonald - Loan
Gary Glen - Loan extension
Branimir Kostadinov.

After 6 games into the 2nd season, I am top (4 wins 2 draws). Out both cups; 0-1 Queens Park and 4-5 QoS.

In the Third Division he could get about 40 goals! I'm about halfway through my first season with the Rovers and he has 19 to his name.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (Mon the Rovers @ Dec 31 2007, 12:04) *
In the Third Division he could get about 40 goals! I'm about halfway through my first season with the Rovers and he has 19 to his name.

20 goals 11 games.
Mon The Clyde
Now its 18(1) app, 37 goals laugh.gif
kilgour11
QUOTE (Michael @ Dec 30 2007, 23:29) *
anyone fancy a network game

yes, if you can tell me how to work it
Mon The Clyde
The guy's a legend, when he was injured I lost 8-3 to Dumbarton, he then bagged a hat trick when he returned a week later as I stroll through Berwick 4-0!

Click to view attachment

staggy4life
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jan 1 2008, 18:42) *
The guy's a legend, when he was injured I lost 8-3 to Dumbarton, he then bagged a hat trick when he returned a week later as I stroll through Berwick 4-0!

Click to view attachment

how on earth are you not top with that team? huh.gif
CK
My special 4-5-1 formation is working a treat, I am top after 8 games. Ross Campbell is on fire, with 8 goals in 8 games. Sean Lynch is out for 5 months! sad.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Jan 1 2008, 19:36) *
how on earth are you not top with that team? huh.gif

I have the worst back 4 imaginable.

Click to view attachment
Michael
QUOTE (kilgour11 @ Jan 1 2008, 17:51) *
yes, if you can tell me how to work it

i was hoping that someone could tell me that rolleyes.gif
Fife Saint
I've got a problem. I downloaded some kit packs and when i load up a game for Championship/league 1 etc. there is a thin kit image over the top of the original one that comes with the game. I've checked all the kit packs i downloaded and can't find championship etc. ones to remove. How can i get rid of the original kits that are default on the game?
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Jan 1 2008, 18:42) *

Click to view attachment

laugh.gif laugh.gif

That's just ridiculous!

I've got about 7 league games to go as well as a Scottish Cup semi final (I beat St Mirren and Dundee United on penalties after holding them to 0-0 over two games and extra time! laugh.gif laugh.gif ) against Rangers to look forward to, and old Branny has nabbed 36 biggrin.gif Graham Weir has 23 goals as well.
Mon The Clyde
Click to view attachment

That's me going into the play off's with Berwick laugh.gif
Gaz
My second season as Valencia manager is not going as well as the first one. A disappointing Champions League campaign saw me crash out of the competition at the group stages, and then put out of the UEFA Cup at the second knockout stage. A defeat by Real Madrid put me out of the Spanish Cup in the Quarter Final, and in the league I am facing a battle for third place between myself, Sevilla and Athletico Madrid. My loss in form is due mostly to the retirement of Canizares - in my first season I conceded 51 goals in 58 games (and only 23 in the league), this season so far I have conceded 67 in 47 (and 41 in the league) - and my over-reliance on David Villa, who has been injured for February and March.

My current first-choice team would be:

GK Javi Martinez
LB Antonio Lopez
CB Pablo
CB Raul Albiol
RB Alexis
LW Vicente
CM Silva
CM Marchena
RW Joaquin
CF David Villa
CF Javier Arizmendi

I'm needing a new goalkeeper, a defensive midfielder, a striker and a right back... looking to keep as much of the squad Spanish as possible, although for a goalkeeper I'm going to have to go international.
Kylesons
Got a new computer so can now play FM again. biggrin.gif
Kylesons
I now can't extract anything with WINRAR. mad.gif
the_saints_are_coming
started a new game with Derby.
Signed Flamini and Jonathon Evans on loan and also signed a goalkeeper from Equador and Steve Marlet on a free transfer.
Won all my games pre season confartably but started the league with a 2 - 0 defeat away at aston villa before getting beat 2-1 at home to everton. mad.gif
Kylesons
QUOTE (Kylesons @ Jan 4 2008, 13:41) *
I now can't extract anything with WINRAR. mad.gif

Fixed it. biggrin.gif
Scott_AUFC
Decided to go Aston Villa for a bit of a challenge.

Given a transfer budget in the region of £20 million after telling the board I would get a European place.

Ultimately I spent my money badly and finished 2 points off a European spot.

Highlights of the season were beating Liverpool 3-0 and 3-1, beating Arsenal and Chelsea 1-0 once each.

Was suprisingly kept on and given £25 million budget currently sitting 3rd in the league with 11 games played and only 2 points off top spot.

Edit: On 3rd pic players blocked out are Molinaro and Srna.

Supras
QUOTE (Scott_AUFC @ Jan 4 2008, 18:46) *
Decided to go Aston Villa for a bit of a challenge.

Given a transfer budget in the region of £20 million after telling the board I would get a European place.

Ultimately I spent my money badly and finished 2 points off a European spot.

Highlights of the season were beating Liverpool 3-0 and 3-1, beating Arsenal and Chelsea 1-0 once each.

Was suprisingly kept on and given £25 million budget currently sitting 3rd in the league with 11 games played and only 2 points off top spot.

My best game was Aston Villa, I won the UEFA cup and got into the top four in the second season. Got some really immense players.

Distel Zola
Alou Diarra
Aaron Hunt
Edmilson
Ever Banenga
Genero Zeefuik
And luke moore scored a goal a game, even in the UEFA cup. Was losing 1-0 to juve in the final, moore scores in the 84th then Zeefuik in the 111th.

Brilliant cool.gif

But with all my good games I get pissed off with players looking for bigger clubs and moved somewhere where I was pish.

Bet result was in a different game when I beat Italy 4-1 in the San siro, four goals from naismith, it was a friendly but still.

I am the master of the 5-4-1 formation, defensive, quick tempo, short passing, closing down often, tight marking, counter attack. Has worked wonders for me.

Now saints manager and have signed lennon and weir along with
Marlet
Chris James
Seyfo Soley
Richard Duffy
and driver on loan.

Doing not bad so far, semis of the league cup and am playing rangers in the scottish cup semis, 9th in the league due to good start.
Mushroom
My Clyde team has collapsed big style towards the end of 2017-18 season.

In the January window I cashed in on two players whos contracts were up in the summer, and were not wanting to renew

Tibor Durica - £2.5M (bought for free a few years ago)
Fraser Williams - £2M (Youth product, been paying him £90 a week for about 3-4 years, not a bad return cool.gif )

Both with significant sell on clauses, both quite young so I could be in the money, just like I was with Neil English's sell on to Chelsea (got 4M from 11M laugh.gif )

Made a couple of big money signings, Rudy Olivier and Fracois Bouffard and a bunch of Scandanavian weans who have massive potential for buttons.

The problem is Olivier and Bouffard are not as good as the guys I've sold, they could however going to be world class in the future (Bouffard touted as new Makelele) but this means I've lost significant quality, which resulted in me dropping down to the bottom half of the SPL.

Should be safe from relegation though, unless Morton seriously come good at the end. I personally don't see it.
Supras
QUOTE (ochil-clyde @ Jan 5 2008, 19:07) *
My Clyde team has collapsed big style towards the end of 2017-18 season.

In the January window I cashed in on two players whos contracts were up in the summer, and were not wanting to renew

Tibor Durica - £2.5M (bought for free a few years ago)
Fraser Williams - £2M (Youth product, been paying him £90 a week for about 3-4 years, not a bad return cool.gif )

Both with significant sell on clauses, both quite young so I could be in the money, just like I was with Neil English's sell on to Chelsea (got 4M from 11M laugh.gif )

Made a couple of big money signings, Rudy Olivier and Fracois Bouffard and a bunch of Scandanavian weans who have massive potential for buttons.

The problem is Olivier and Bouffard are not as good as the guys I've sold, they could however going to be world class in the future (Bouffard touted as new Makelele) but this means I've lost significant quality, which resulted in me dropping down to the bottom half of the SPL.

Should be safe from relegation though, unless Morton seriously come good at the end. I personally don't see it.

When I get to 2010 it gets really slow.

I usually have 3 leagues and a large database.
Mushroom
QUOTE (Supras @ Jan 5 2008, 19:35) *
When I get to 2010 it gets really slow.

I usually have 3 leagues and a large database.

I'm 4 leagues (SPL to 3rd) on a medium database and it's OK.

Its FM07 though.
qos_75
QUOTE (ochil-clyde @ Jan 5 2008, 22:23) *
I'm 4 leagues (SPL to 3rd) on a medium database and it's OK.

Its FM07 though.

I think he meant three countries, i.e Scotland, England and Spain and all the leagues within these.
bluetooner
Yes biggrin.gif im getting a computer soon and will be buying atleast the american version of this biggrin.gif
Mushroom
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Jan 7 2008, 11:08) *
I think he meant three countries, i.e Scotland, England and Spain and all the leagues within these.

I wasn't sure, thats why I elaborated tongue.gif

With 3 games to go in the season, I changed to a 3-5-2 with a playmaker.

Played 2, both won 3-0, but still 9th dry.gif

St. Mirren should be an easy three points though ph34r.gif , and I'll be garuanteed 8th place, as 7th and 8th are playing each other. Although I'm not sure 7th is even possible sad.gif
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE (kilgour11 @ Jan 7 2008, 17:20) *
Won the league with Raith and the challenge cup in my first season

I've finished my season as well, won the league and got to the Scottish Cup Final where I was cruelly defeated 2-0 sad.gif

I beat Threave, St Mirren (after a replay and AET), Queen of the South, Rangers (after a replay and on penalties) and Dundee United (luckily, Very luckily. They missed three penalties!)
GAFFER
do u think altering team instructions makes much of a difference? i just got it, went stirling albion, my start was drew 2 friendlies + beat everton 2-1 then beat dunfermline 3-1 away first game of season, drew 0-0 with hamilton at home with gribben missing a pen, then beat dumbarton 3-0 away in league cup, but then i lost 2-1 to alloa which made me get quitre pissed off then lost 3-0 away to morton, who are top of the first division after 3 games and i exited game without saving and nearly snapped the disk, dont think il play it again, its a sick kind of enjoyment, most of the time im pissed off and even when im winning im shiting it that i will concede........... i play an attacking 4-4-2 with the wingers in between the strikers and midfielders so kind of 4-2-4 anyone got a better formation?

i dont think i actually enjoy it, but am addicted to it. so i intentionally forgot to take it with me back to my bit after leaving my maws hoose.. where it got delivered (xmas present!)

i allways think after playing it... what was the point in that, that was totally pointless, then il play it for 4 hours nonstop a few days later, cant get out the vicious circle, must sleep
scottp96
This is my usuall clyde line up and formation.

GK
Hutton

LCB CB RCB
Scott Cuthbert Mckewon Paul Caddis

DM
Masterton/McHale*

LM MC RM
Bradley Paul McGowan Cardle

AMC
MacLeannan/Smith*

ST ST
Konsatadinov McKenna

*McHale=Re-signed from dundee
*Smith=Trained to play there
Duracell Bunny
For the midfield do you keep it

winger dm am winger (as in all in a line)

or

DM
Winger Winger

AM

unsure.gif

Supras
QUOTE (bluetooner @ Jan 7 2008, 16:32) *
Yes biggrin.gif im getting a computer soon and will be buying atleast the american version of this biggrin.gif

There's an american version, make sure it's soccer wink.gif

Being St Mirren I usually play a defensive, 4-5-1, or 4-1-4-1, with closing down, deep defence, tight marking and counter attack.

Finished 9th, same goal difference with killie but they scored more.

Got Chris James for free at the start of the game then sold him for 2 million after a season to Auxerre ohmy.gif

Bought Graeme smith for 1 million and a polish left winger from feyenoord.
scottp96
QUOTE (Steven @ Jan 8 2008, 16:08) *
For the midfield do you keep it

winger dm am winger (as in all in a line)

or

DM
Winger Winger

AM

unsure.gif

Na spread it out like a midfield diamond
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (scottp96 @ Jan 8 2008, 18:43) *
Na spread it out like a midfield diamond

Cheers smile.gif
scottp96
QUOTE (Steven @ Jan 8 2008, 18:51) *
Cheers smile.gif

Your very welcome wink.gif cool.gif tongue.gif