Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Adam_Wee
Cheers guys smile.gif
BluebirdTon
I downloaded it last night,just opened the containing folder there and it looks...well impossible to install.I think i'll wait.
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Oct 19 2007, 13:43) *
Get a new keeper, plus new defenders. Also get a parent club and go for players that have no club.

was trying my hardest to find a keeper and i've been unsuccesful sad.gif i managed to bring in reilly from queens park at centre back and he has done well.

tried for a parent club and my board told me that they didn't see the point. sack the board.
QC Casual
can i still download the demo? my copy didn't arrive today. hope it comes the morrow!
Kylesons
QUOTE(Bring Back Paddy Flannery @ Oct 19 2007, 14:49) *
was trying my hardest to find a keeper and i've been unsuccesful sad.gif i managed to bring in reilly from queens park at centre back and he has done well.

tried for a parent club and my board told me that they didn't see the point. sack the board.

I got rangers as a parent club.smile.gif
cityfan
Anyone know if the SFL kits and logos are available yet? and if aye, where from?
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Oct 19 2007, 15:01) *
I got rangers as a parent club.smile.gif

I got Celtic laugh.gif

Charlie Grant and Ryan Conroy were the youngsters loaned out.

Also signed Keigan Ayres and Steven Lennon on loan. smile.gif
Kylesons
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Oct 19 2007, 15:10) *
I got Celtic laugh.gif

Charlie Grant and Ryan Conroy were the youngsters loaned out.

Also signed Keigan Ayres and Steven Lennon on loan. smile.gif

I had 4 games as dumbarton in 07 and i got rangers in every game. blink.gif

Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Oct 19 2007, 15:48) *
I had 4 games as dumbarton in 07 and i got rangers in every game. blink.gif

Had a choise of Celtic, Rangers or, Falkirk blink.gif

Looked at Rangers and most of their half decent reserves are already offski, so I choose Celtic.
highlander
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Oct 19 2007, 11:53) *
waiting all morning for it but it never came. sad.gif looked out my window and the postie(her first day) had it in her hand,looked at my door and then walked past mad.gif

Didnt you shout her ?? Coming from Tain, why didnt you just mug her ??
XaaronPrimus
Grrr, League cup QF vs Celtic, and 3 /4 of my midfeild can't play for one reason or another... mad.gif

Oh, and Mackie has just been sent off 11 minutes in...
Kylesons
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Oct 19 2007, 15:51) *
Had a choise of Celtic, Rangers or, Falkirk blink.gif

Looked at Rangers and most of their half decent reserves are already offski, so I choose Celtic.

Yes, i always get a choice but rangers and celtic are the best to have. I was offered Partick,St Mirren and Rangers.
The Naitch
QUOTE(dave_binos @ Oct 19 2007, 09:37) *
Guys, is it fairly realistic? I remember buying a couple of the games after champ man 01/02 which were huge disappointments and so haven't bought any of them since. Also, is it easy enough to get used to considering I've only ever played the old champ mans to death?

I'm in the same boat. Have stuck with Champ Man 01/02, with seasonal updates to keep the squads relatively fresh.

In my third season as Hibs boss, took them back to the SPL and in 7th place heading into the split. It's now 2063 in the game, with nearly 16 days of gameplay behind it...I'm sure it's going to pack it in any day soon... unsure.gif ph34r.gif tongue.gif
staggy4life
QUOTE(highlander @ Oct 19 2007, 16:56) *
Didnt you shout her ?? Coming from Tain, why didnt you just mug her ??

Tain? blink.gif . i was in my dressing gown. couldn't be arsed. tongue.gif
garymcc1874
b*****ds have put stupid stuff in the game that appear on copied versions etc. Such as the Euro qualifiers - the 2 teams who finish bottom go through rather than the top 2, and other bugs if you download it from the net. Suppose it's a good way to go about trying to get people to just buy it. ph34r.gif
Dafc-15
Not getting my game untill 11th of November.

Sounds like its a good game though. I loved 07!
Butterfield
I've had the demo for a week or so, was hoping to get the full version today but didn't get a chance to get out of work to buy it. Will get it on the way home from work tomorrow, then draw the blinds and deprive myself of sleep for a day or so! laugh.gif
Mon The Clyde
Started a game with Clyde earlier, but kinda fell away.

Restarted with a new game with Shrewsbury. Lost in the cup to Swansea, was 2-0 up then Jason bloody Scotland scored a last min equaliser to put the game into ET. He scored again in ET to put the Jacks through. dry.gif

Signed Dougie Imrie and Chris Higgins from Clyde for about a total of £90k. Sold Kelvin Langmead to St.Johnstone for £40k.

Quite uptight about how the players fitness drops to about 50% in each game blink.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Oct 19 2007, 21:11) *
Quite uptight about how the players fitness drops to about 50% in each game blink.gif

I have the same problem, I started a game with Derby (see if I could keep them up) and by around 70 minutes nobody is more than 70% fit unsure.gif

Currently sitting 18th in the table with Derby despite having a decent team, Played 17, won 3, drew 5 and lost 9 sad.gif

Scored 30 goals but leaking them at the back with 36 against so far huh.gif
TWS
Started my 1st game with ICT, currently in Mid-January '08 sitting in 6th place, 5 points clear of Falkirk in 7th.I've signed a few youngsters on frees and have just secured the sigining of Devidas Cesnauskis on a bosman at the end of the season.

Heres my current line-up :

Dean McDonald is top scorer for me with 18 goals, Niculaes only managed 12 games and 4 goals because of injury, dry.gif
Casper Rose
16 games into my season with Airdrie already, not signed many players. Trainings hard to master, if it's too hard the players are fucked and too light the players aren't match fit! Anyone got any recommendations for players to sign? If you are a lower league team get Erik Paartalu from Gretna, he has been a revelation for me in midfield this season. 3rd in the league so far.
highlander
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Oct 19 2007, 19:32) *
Tain? blink.gif . i was in my dressing gown. couldn't be arsed. tongue.gif

You Wear a dressing Gown ?? 1, 2 , 3 GEEK !! laugh.gif
staggy4life
QUOTE(highlander @ Oct 19 2007, 22:40) *
You Wear a dressing Gown ?? 1, 2 , 3 GEEK !! laugh.gif [/size]

it was cold bawbag. smile.gif
FC_1919
Just got it there, seems quite good. Queen's have about 40 players that are no longer with us, we also play in a 3700 allseater stadium!
Duracell Bunny
Just beat Man United at Old Trafford by playing an ultra defensive formation and hitting them on the break with Derby cool.gif

Click to view attachment

I think survival is on the cards thumbup2.gif thumbup2.gif
Stu
QUOTE(TWS @ Oct 19 2007, 22:18) *
Started my 1st game with ICT, currently in Mid-January '08 sitting in 6th place, 5 points clear of Falkirk in 7th.I've signed a few youngsters on frees and have just secured the sigining of Devidas Cesnauskis on a bosman at the end of the season.

Decided to sign Cesnauskis as you said he was available. Got him on a pre-contract but he's coming in February rather than the summer ohmy.gif

Perfect replacement for Chris Birchall who I think is about to do one back to Coventry sad.gif
MarreZ
I alsways find i lose interest as soon as i lose my first game, none of the Football manager games are still anywhere near as good as Champ Man 2, ill go back to the updated one of that i think.
Moriarty
So what's the general consensus on FM2008? More of the same? Better? Worse?

Still waiting on my copy arriving. sad.gif
Cabbage
I think it's much better. Only bad thing being that there are far too many chances in games, which leads to thousands of disallowed goals, which gets frustrating after a while.
stuart.
I won the first division and got to the league cup semis with morton in my first season.

Jamie Stevenson is good - as is Bobby Linn.
Swampy
There's a few ridiculous mistakes in Spain, saying players are making their debut when in one particular case the guy's just about in his testimonial season!
staggy4life
just about to give it a spin just now.

since when does a postie come at 3 oclock. mad.gif
saints1884
Got this yesterday afternoon,not played any league games yet though. Started with St Johnstone. cool.gif
staggy4life
wee tweaks like these make the game a bit more better/realistic.
Swampy
Is it really realistic to think that people would bring their kids to a game involving Airdrie? tongue.gif
highlander
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Oct 20 2007, 17:33) *
wee tweaks like these make the game a bit more better/realistic.

Still Championship Manager for me. rolleyes.gif
stuart.
My target was to stabilise Morton in the first division over 2 seasons.

I won the first then got us to finish 9th in the SPL - getting us out the red with about 1 million in the bank.

And they didn't renew my sodding contract - filthy swines.
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
i just beat arbroath 8-6 huh.gif i was also defeated in one of my friendlies 8-1

apart from the odd unrealistic score i much prefer the new fm.

how do you take screenshots?
The Real Saints
I have started as St. Johnstone, and made 5 decent signings so far -

Momo Sylla - Kilmarnock
Erik Paartalu - Gretna (Loan)
Markus Paateleinen - Inverness CT
Mark Corcoran - St. Mirren
David Barron - St. Mirren

My starting line-up -

Main

Irvine Barron James Stanic

Sylla Hardie Paartalu Corcoran

Paateleinen Quinn

Won my first league game 2-0 at home to Clyde, then beat East Stirlingshire 4-1 in the CIS Cup, where I am set to play Partick Thistle away in the next round.
However, I was knocked out of the Challenge Cup at the first hurdle by Morton, and have failed to win in the league since the first game of the season.
A pretty poor start from a team which looks strong enough to win the league.
StewartyMac
Paateleinan was superb in the 2007 game, although I could never sign him for Stirling, he just wanted too much wages. I think he now plays for Morton in my game.
Moriarty
Anyone know if the facepacks, etc from 'sortitoutsi' are available for the new version?
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Moriarty @ Oct 21 2007, 14:09) *
Anyone know if the facepacks, etc from 'sortitoutsi' are available for the new version?

Surely it would be easier to go to the site and see rather than wait for an answer here? huh.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Oct 21 2007, 14:31) *
Surely it would be easier to go to the site and see rather than wait for an answer here? huh.gif

You would think huh.gif rolleyes.gif
staggy4life
highest scoring game i've noticed so far. ohmy.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Oct 21 2007, 15:05) *
highest scoring game i've noticed so far. ohmy.gif

That's fucking mental blink.gif I've only had one game 0-0 so far and I've scored in every game with Derby apart from that one.
The Minertaur
Started a game with Cowden - signed some young guys from Sheffield United to bolster my midfield. Just played my friendlys and I didnt win any. Not looking like a successful start laugh.gif
Kylesons
QUOTE(The Minertaur @ Oct 21 2007, 16:02) *
Started a game with Cowden - signed some young guys from Sheffield United to bolster my midfield. Just played my friendlys and I didnt win any. Not looking like a successful start laugh.gif

I lost all my firendlys, but not lost in the league smile.gif
Mackie The Staggie
QUOTE(Moriarty @ Oct 21 2007, 14:09) *

Give it a couple of weeks before someone puts one together, at the moment it's a tad early to find one.
StewartyMac
From what I've seen on here, looks like the game needs a patch already. 8-6 scorelines? Hmmm.