Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Kylesons
QUOTE(Eckauskas @ Sep 20 2007, 22:35) *
When you take over more than one team theres a wee clock symbol at the bottom of the screen indicating the amount of players.

Notice the lack of said symbol?

Ohh

CODE
I used an in-game editor and made alot of there players shite.
Eckauskas
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Sep 20 2007, 22:38) *
Ohh

CODE
I used an in-game editor and made alot of there players shite.

Why would I alter Real Madrid's stats for a game in 2010? unsure.gif

Any changes to the database dont occur until a new game is started.
Kylesons
QUOTE(Eckauskas @ Sep 20 2007, 22:39) *
Why would I alter Real Madrid's stats for a game in 2010? unsure.gif

Any changes to the database dont occur until a new game is started.

You know what im talking about wink.gif
You have got an in-game editor and used it before the match to alter there stats tongue.gif
Eckauskas
As far as Im aware, you can use the game editor to alter ertain aspects of the game.

Ive never even heard of an editor that allows you to change aspects of every match you play, before you play it huh.gif
Kylesons
QUOTE(Eckauskas @ Sep 20 2007, 22:43) *
As far as Im aware, you can use the game editor to alter ertain aspects of the game.

Ive never even heard of an editor that allows you to change aspects of every match you play, before you play it huh.gif

wink.gif
Only joking about you cheating mate. tongue.gif
There is a editor which loads up the game you are playing and you can edit stats etc but it's not as good as the editor you can use before the game.
GOURDiiEE
Good result against Real Madrid mate Hearts are pish in my game and they have alot o great players in there team one of them you just played against Gago.
Eckauskas
QUOTE(GOURDiiEE @ Sep 20 2007, 22:56) *
Good result against Real Madrid mate Hearts are pish in my game and they have alot o great players in there team one of them you just played against Gago.

I sent out my scouts to Scandanavia and they came across Casper Noorgard. Boys an absolute gem.

18 years old and already got 40 goals for the first team.

GOURDiiEE
Well i must admit i added a few players too Hearts in the editor too try make them better but it's not worked apperntly if you want a screen shot of the Hearts team it would be no problem just let me kno.

Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Sep 20 2007, 22:49) *
wink.gif
Only joking about you cheating mate. tongue.gif
There is a editor which loads up the game you are playing and you can edit stats etc but it's not as good as the editor you can use before the game.

There is also an editor you can use to edit a players fitness, you could in theory make the other team totally unfit before you play them..........................
kilgour11
whens 08 out?

Severus Snape
Tonight.
Iain
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Sep 22 2007, 20:28) *
whens 08 out?

Demo comes out next Sunday. Game shortly thereafter, few weeks maybe.
Mon The Clyde
19th October I think it was
Kylesons
How can you fix you computer/router/firewall.. whatever it is, to let people join in a network game with you ?
The Naitch
Two years down the line, still as Scotland manager. Qualified for Euro 2056 in England, but was out before I got started, losing 2-0 to both Croatia and Norway. Just my luck that I pumped Germany 4-1 in the final group game, which meant sweet fa.

Halfway through World Cup qualifying and lead England by 3pts (drew with them at Hampden 1-1, return game still to come).

That game I'm on has over 14 days of solid gameplay behind it, dating back from before last Christmas when I started it. I think it's only a matter of time before the database implodes and I lose everything in it ph34r.gif blink.gif ohmy.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(The Naitch @ Sep 25 2007, 12:19) *
Two years down the line, still as Scotland manager. Qualified for Euro 2056 in England, but was out before I got started, losing 2-0 to both Croatia and Norway. Just my luck that I pumped Germany 4-1 in the final group game, which meant sweet fa.

Halfway through World Cup qualifying and lead England by 3pts (drew with them at Hampden 1-1, return game still to come).

That game I'm on has over 14 days of solid gameplay behind it, dating back from before last Christmas when I started it. I think it's only a matter of time before the database implodes and I lose everything in it ph34r.gif blink.gif ohmy.gif

Wouldnt surprise me mate!!
Mushroom
QUOTE(GOURDiiEE @ Sep 19 2007, 22:49) *
screen shots biggrin.gif if you want to know anything about your club then just ask me smile.gif

Odd choice of teams to add into the 3rd blink.gif

Would have gone for Spartans and Clachnacuddin myself.
Mon The Clyde
Demo is out on Sunday morning for 2008: clicky

We are very happy to announce today, via the UK’s News of the World paper, that the demo of Football Manager 2008 will be released next Sunday morning, the 30th September.

There will be 2 different versions of the demo for each PC and Mac, with all demo’s providing half a season of unrestricted gameplay,

The “strawberry” version of the demo includes all player pictures and logo’s, with quickstarts from the world’s biggest leagues, giving people a chance to try out their skills in multiple countries. This will also include multiple language translations (insert list here). This demo will be available from our website at www.sigames.com

The “vanilla” version of the demo is just English language, and features the English and Scottish leagues, with no player photo’s or logo’s to try and keep the size of the download down. This version will be available from www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/footballmanager2008

There is still no firm release date for the game, but we hope to be able to have this in the next week or so, and will let everyone know as soon as it’s set.

There will also be demos for Worldwide Soccer Manager 2008 (the US release of the game) and a brand new version, Futbol Manager 2008, a South American version of the game. Release details for both of these will follow at the same time as we provide release dates, as they are still to be confirmed.

Whilst we’re on the subject of Football Manager 2008, now is also the time to reveal new licenses for this years game.

We are very proud to announce the procurement of a license for the French Ligue de Football Professionnel, with both the 1st & 2nd divisions covered by the license that provides real club names, logo’s and kits for all the clubs in those leagues.

We also welcome back the Dutch national team to the game, which was missing from last years game.

On top of this, we have new licenses in Italy from Sampdoria and Fiorentina.

We’ve been pretty quiet so far this year on the game apart from the press release revealing some of the new features which can be found here along with some screenshots. As of next week, we’re going to start revealing a lot more, with blogs coming daily throughout the week up until the release of the game, with lots more feature information, some indepth looks at some of the key areas of the game, and a few surprises along the way.

For now, we’ll leave you with 2 other things. First off is the packshot for the UK version of Football Manager 2008, which you can find below and also the minimum and recommended specs for the game which you can also find below.

Thank you for your continued support of Sports Interactive and our games. We hope you enjoy Football Manager 2008 as much as we enjoyed making it.

edited for links
GOURDiiEE
QUOTE(ochil-clyde @ Sep 25 2007, 17:17) *
Odd choice of teams to add into the 3rd blink.gif

Would have gone for Spartans and Clachnacuddin myself.

Well i thought that since both of thoes clubs reached the Scottish Junior Final thiought they should get in it smile.gif
Enigma
Demo out tomoro. Certainy looking forward to 2008!
cityfan
Demo available now biggrin.gif

from here...FM2008 Demo
BishyTON
Downloading the strawberry version right now and it is taking forever and a day. Must be thousands of people downloading it atm.
Stu
QUOTE(BishopTON @ Sep 30 2007, 11:44) *
Downloading the strawberry version right now and it is taking forever and a day. Must be thousands of people downloading it atm.

Took less than an hour for me - partly because I did segemented/accelerated downloading in Getright smile.gif
Severus Snape
I reccomend the signing of goalkeeper Martin Fearon, I signed him in my 3rd season with Ayr and he is shit hot. He has only conceded one goal in eight league games and saved every penalty in the shootout against Hamilton Accies.
CK
How does one unzip a file? ph34r.gif
BishyTON
QUOTE(Stu @ Sep 30 2007, 11:46) *
Took less than an hour for me - partly because I did segemented/accelerated downloading in Getright smile.gif

Thanks for the tip - downloaded getright and now it will be done in 45 mins - 1hr.
Severus Snape
Using WINZIP
MC Pee Pants
Download WinRAR to unzip files.

Is their a torrent of the demo available?
Kylesons
Can you go lower league teams in the demo?
cityfan
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Sep 30 2007, 12:57) *
Can you go lower league teams in the demo?

Aye
staggy4life
jeeze,how big is this demo? after 30mins its at 313MB and still going...
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Sep 30 2007, 15:05) *
jeeze,how big is this demo? after 30mins its at 313MB and still going...

536 Megabytes smile.gif
staggy4life
QUOTE(Steven @ Sep 30 2007, 15:09) *
536 Megabytes smile.gif

great dry.gif . the full Fm07 was only 527MB and this is only a demo.
berwick-the-unbeatable
This is basically the full game, but you can only play it for a season, im getting pissed, ive downloaded 3% in 15 mins, any help on gettin it quicker sad.gif
staggy4life
QUOTE(berwick-the-unbeatable @ Sep 30 2007, 15:27) *
This is basically the full game, but you can only play it for a season, im getting pissed, ive downloaded 3% in 15 mins, any help on gettin it quicker sad.gif

ah good, the demo last year was only half a season.
read the page before this one for help mate.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Sep 30 2007, 15:12) *
great dry.gif . the full Fm07 was only 527MB and this is only a demo.

I left it downloading overnight on my pc overnight, about to install it.........
CK
I downloaded the Vanilla demo, only took around 15 minutes until I started playing it.

Went Clyde, first game was a friendly against Alloa. I went 4-0 up within 30 minutes, final score was 4-3 ph34r.gif
StewartyMac
Is there any significant, obvious improvements/differences to 07 before I waste time and disk space d/loading this?
RWB
QUOTE(CK @ Sep 30 2007, 15:53) *
I downloaded the Vanilla demo, only took around 15 minutes until I started playing it.

Went Clyde, first game was a friendly against Alloa. I went 4-0 up within 30 minutes, final score was 4-3 ph34r.gif

I grabbed the strawberry demo as soon as it went on their website last night as I reckoned things might slow down during the day. Took longer than expected all the same after an initial 700+kb/s although I didn't go for a torrent file. Managed one match in the small hours.

Alloa had made it 1-1 after 33 minutes on mine but some tactical changes at half-time produced a 4-1 win in the end. A little too easy I thought. It included, in the words of the game, a "trademark Masterton free-kick" to open the scoring.

Next game I struggled very badly and lost 2-0 at Kelty Hearts but had made numerous changes as the condition of most first team players had dropped so much after the first game. Fans were not impressed with the lack of goal chances. Just played out a more defensive, slower tempo game and drew 1-1 at home to Aberdeen. Fans were dissapointed despite having only three shots on target to the Dons 8! Hutton was man of the match. I included Foy on trial and new signing from Celtic, Ryan McCafferty (D RC), who despite being valued at £35k with asking price of £1k, moved for nothing. Other bigger clubs had offered the £1k but came to Clyde for the guarantee of first team football. Seems like transfers might be easier then as my coach reckoned he'd be better than McGregor.

Sold McGregor to Norwich for £100k after cranking up the asking price from £28k when St.Johnstone offered Rutkiewicz and £12k. Hopefully I can find some better players than trialists and free's now. £30k to spend and space on the wage bill for a couple of decent players.

Nice new feature to increase wage/transfer budget at the outset by telling the board where you expect to finish in the table. Not much difference on offer at Clyde certainly but should be interesting at bigger clubs. Bound to cause a few sackings too. Not so happy about the alternative pitch dimensions offered.
Duracell Bunny
Click to view attachment

Not impressed with the Raith squad at all, a fair amount of editing before playing for the first time I think!

Marco Pelosi is a left midfielder while Sloan & Carcary as well can only play left wing!
Duracell Bunny
The Man United squad from 2008...........

Click to view attachment

£12 Million to spend pitty so many players are injured for around 2 months when the game starts........... sad.gif
CK
The Clyde squad is ok, missing Bestvina & Valentim, though they were signed after the transfer window closed.

There are a few U19's still in the team who have left.
Kylesons
Started to download both ways, but the torrent option is faster.
Kylesons
Click to view attachment

What is the problem blink.gif
garymcc1874
A few minor differences from 07 and thats about it.
berwick-the-unbeatable
Its fucking amazing man!!!! Such quicker game play! Amazing game biggrin.gif
Kylesons
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Oct 1 2007, 12:35) *
Click to view attachment

What is the problem blink.gif

sad.gif Anyone ?
rw89
~Dunno what the problem is Kyle. Hate to rub salt in the wound but it is very very good.
The Minertaur
Can anyone post up the Cowden team from the demo? Thanks in advance
staggy4life
QUOTE(The Minertaur @ Oct 1 2007, 18:08) *
Can anyone post up the Cowden team from the demo? Thanks in advance

theres the 1st team and reserves. wink.gif