Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Mushroom
Gone back to my Clyde game for a while and my season is a disaster, in January and sitting on 12 points and 12th place in 2015/16

I had to sell most of my best players because they wanted to move to a bigger club and others have stopped performing.

My current starting XI is

GK - Michael Poke - Signed from 220K from 1st division Motherwell, in hindsight, I think htat was a tad excessive, he's not THAT good
DC - Calum Woods - Plays for Dunfermline in real life, best av. rating, but has only made 5 appearances thanks to injury
DC - Ross Rae - Solid centre back, signed from Hibs
DC - Gregor Thomson - Superb young centre back, came through our youth system
MR - Martin Staaf - January signing from Sweden. 200K
ML - Tibor Durica - 21 year old Slovakian, is unsettled.
MC - Geoff Williams - 18 year old Irishman, one for the future
MC - Kevin Wilson - Another youth product
MC - Kenny Walker - Nabbed from Rangers youth system
FC - David Sullivan - Signed for 200K from Falkirk, biggest goal threat.
FC - Mateus - Angolan striker Very good

Subs: Nicholas Beck, Young Irish GK, Fraser Williams, DC, youth product, Kevin McDonald, Young centre back, Mike Bryson, Former Celtic midfielder, Aliaksandr Hleb, past it, Mike McGlinchey, Former Celtic and Falkirk winger/striker, Elliot Griffin, Aussie striker

The problem is, none of them are THAT good sad.gif
Severus Snape
highlander
Jimmy Briand Awesome.
CALDERON
Right, im nae looking through 131 pages for this.

Can someone suggest a site where i can download kits and badges for the sfl?? Cheers!
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(CALDERON @ Aug 18 2007, 22:34) *
Right, im nae looking through 131 pages for this.

Can someone suggest a site where i can download kits and badges for the sfl?? Cheers!

www.sortitoutsi.net
Kylesons
I'm the best at this game smile.gif
Eckauskas
QUOTE(Severus Snape @ Aug 18 2007, 12:41) *

Ian Ferguson laugh.gif
Mon The Clyde
Started with Chelsea - played Balliston, Armadale and Blackburn Utd for friendlys laugh.gif won them 4/5/6-0

Beat Liverpool 4-1 in the Charity Shield, Portsmouth 2-0 at home then just lost 1-0 away to Watford blink.gif
SampFan101
Anyone know why I can't play online with my mate, my connections are listen as excellent and when I host my mate gets a message saying he cannot connect to server is the problem at my end or at his.

I've also downloaded Hamachi, how does that work in corollation with FM?
Mr X
QUOTE(SampFan101 @ Aug 20 2007, 12:39) *
Anyone know why I can't play online with my mate, my connections are listen as excellent and when I host my mate gets a message saying he cannot connect to server is the problem at my end or at his.

Network games

Hamachi sets up a VPN connection. You shouldnt need it if you've got things set up correctly
Tomsk The Beano
My Queens Park game descended into chaos as I lost the Play-Off final to Albion Rovers in my first season in charge, drew 2-2 at Cliftonhill and then lost the home leg 4-0 (went chasing the game at 2-0 and ended up playing 2-3-2-3), proceeded to bolster the team thanks to a loan agreement with Rangers which saw me get three players but a late season injury crisis saw me lose 6 of my first 11 and then Gary Arbuckle (scored 15 goals in 11 appearances after picking him up on a free from Clyde) got sent off and copped a 6 game ban, I was left with Bobby Linn as my lone striker and despite only losing 2 league games all season ( and drawing 21) and only conceeding 15 goals I went out of the play offs on away goals to Peterhead - at this point the club were £1million in debt and I had to sell virtually all of the first team and bring in free transfers on £35 a week.

Jumped ship in December of the 3rd season (and in 2nd place despite the back 5 having an average age of 17) to manage Raith, 9th in the 2nd Divison, proceeded to buy 7 new players but couldn't get them out of the bottom two and a penultimate day humping at Forfar took me down into Divison 3.

Sold or released every single player who was at the club before me and thats when it went tits up as come the start of the season i could not find a striker who would play for me, only had 3 youth strikers to pitch into the team, have had to splash out £20k on Steven Campbell and Tommy Coyne and am now skint and 3rd in the league with a restless board and angry fans.
Mushroom
QUOTE(ochil-clyde @ Aug 17 2007, 10:36) *
Gone back to my Clyde game for a while and my season is a disaster, in January and sitting on 12 points and 12th place in 2015/16

I had to sell most of my best players because they wanted to move to a bigger club and others have stopped performing.

My current starting XI is

GK - Michael Poke - Signed from 220K from 1st division Motherwell, in hindsight, I think htat was a tad excessive, he's not THAT good
DC - Calum Woods - Plays for Dunfermline in real life, best av. rating, but has only made 5 appearances thanks to injury
DC - Ross Rae - Solid centre back, signed from Hibs
DC - Gregor Thomson - Superb young centre back, came through our youth system
MR - Martin Staaf - January signing from Sweden. 200K
ML - Tibor Durica - 21 year old Slovakian, is unsettled.
MC - Geoff Williams - 18 year old Irishman, one for the future
MC - Kevin Wilson - Another youth product
MC - Kenny Walker - Nabbed from Rangers youth system
FC - David Sullivan - Signed for 200K from Falkirk, biggest goal threat.
FC - Mateus - Angolan striker Very good

Subs: Nicholas Beck, Young Irish GK, Fraser Williams, DC, youth product, Kevin McDonald, Young centre back, Mike Bryson, Former Celtic midfielder, Aliaksandr Hleb, past it, Mike McGlinchey, Former Celtic and Falkirk winger/striker, Elliot Griffin, Aussie striker

The problem is, none of them are THAT good sad.gif

After 37 games and a 1-0 victory over Kilmarnock, I am proud to report Clyde have retained their place in the SPL.

10. Clyde: Played 37, Pts 31, GD -27
11. Falkirk: Played 37, Pts 29, GD -31
12. Kilmarnock: Played 37, Pts 28, GD -29

Falkirk and Kilmarnock play each other on the final day, ensuring my safety and a nail-biting finish to the season for them two!

Signed one free agent: Welsh goalkeeper Lewis Price, 50 caps and was still getting played regularly for Ipswich and getting a good av. rating last season.

Price
McDonald Rae Thomson
Staaf Wilson G.Williams Walker Durica
McGlinchey Mateus

Will be looking to get back to where I was last season, pushing for the top 6 and Europe.
port-ton
QUOTE(SampFan101 @ Aug 20 2007, 12:39) *

apprently you cant host a game if you have wireless, dont know if this has always been the case but its happening a lot now. you need a router or something to be able to host which suckss
gc_smfc
QUOTE(port-ton @ Aug 22 2007, 17:06) *
apprently you cant host a game if you have wireless, dont know if this has always been the case but its happening a lot now. you need a router or something to be able to host which suckss

In one of my games, it only worked when a password was used, and make sure you the host as the host button ticked
Severus Snape
QUOTE(Eckauskas @ Aug 20 2007, 00:56) *
Ian Ferguson laugh.gif

Yep, he was injured.
I was Ayr, and actually celebrated that result, it was excellent.
codfish
Second season into a game with Queens Park, and I've taken them up to Division 2. Missed out by a point last season, then blew it in the play-offs.

Now to decide whether to stay put or accept the offer from newly-relegated St Mirren sad.gif
Kylesons
My Queens Game im 4th in div 1 with 10 games played.
Won the league every season.
flyingscot
I've been playing Queens Park too, absolute nightmare due to debt levels. I suspect even in the SPL they'd still not manage to break even!

Won the 3rd division first time out, and despite being tipped for relegation, some loan signings got be 4th in a tight league, in the 2nd division. Managed to fluke a 1-1 draw with Ross County away and get a result back at Hampden. So jumped up to the 1st. Started terribly-couldn't buy a goal and started loosing by the odd goal in games. Eventually managed to tighten up and got some points on the board but lost Cardiff loan players to injuries. Terrible mid-season saw us bottom, 8 behind Queen of the South- totally cut-off from the rest of the league as Airdrie were so far away. We were consigned to playoffs by end of March but signed a boy on loan from Celtic looking for goals, and got what I wanted, made a superb duo with one of my signings from East Stirling in January. Eventually got results- draw to league leaders Gretna, beat St Johnstone away, beat Partick Thistle, draw to Dundee. Played Hamilton away, on the second last day of the season and won, finally leap-frogging QoS by 2 points who lost to St Johnstone. Final day we played Airdrie, a draw was enough since we had an O.K goal difference, and despite and edgy start, won the game, and the play-offs against Clyde and Ross County meaning we stayed up- fantastic!
Whistle Blower
Just won the 2nd division with Beast Fife, fans love me, media loves me, board loves me.

Time to bow out on a high.
JAMBO_4EVER
Does anyone else get shit loads of injuries throughout the season, begining to get annoying, especially if you have a small squad!
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(JAMBO_4EVER @ Aug 24 2007, 19:04) *
Does anyone else get shit loads of injuries throughout the season, begining to get annoying, especially if you have a small squad!

Aye, in January. Had an easy cup game at Forfar, with 15 out injured. scored in the last minute to avoid a reply!

The yellow card rule takes the piss though.
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Aug 24 2007, 23:20) *
The yellow card rule takes the piss though.

it really does so if my players are on a yellow and we are playing "lesser" oppostion i just drop them in case they miss out against the "bigger" opposition

it's annoying when you get 8 players booked v Annan in the 2nd round and you draw Gretna in the 3rd and 1/2 your good players are suspended

i remember once i had 6 players on a yellow and every one of them got booked in the first 45 v Annan and i just played for a draw cos i knew we cud gub them in the replay leaving my players free to face St. Mirren in the next round ( we won 3-0 incidently)
Severus Snape
I picked up FM07 for the PC out of HMV for a tenner today and I have started a game as Ayr United.

Does anyone reccomend any signings? I have no transfer funds sad.gif.
Severus Snape
In my game with Ayr United I have signed David Hagan, Chris Strain, David Craig, Paul Rudden, Alan Main, Rab Coulter and Martin Grant on free transfers.

My first league game was a 4-1 loss at Brechin City with Jerome Vareille grabbing my consolation goal.
My first eleven looks like this:
--------------------Main-----------------------
--Miller----Forrest-----Robertson-----Reid
---Dunn---Weaver----Stevenson----McLaren
------------Wardlaw-----Vareille-------------

In midweek after the loss to Brechin, my Ayr team travelled to Stenhousemuir on League Cup duty. A Vareille hat-trick and a strike by McLaren saw us leave with a 4-0 victory.

Next we play Stirling Albion in the league and then East Stirlingshire in the Challenge cup in midweek.
Severus Snape
In the second league game, Stirling Albion were beaten 3-1 with Jerome Vareille, Gareth Wardlaw and young striker Ryan Anderson scoring Ayr's goals. New signing David Hagan replaced David Dunn on the wing and had an impressive debut, setting up one of the goals.

In midweek my Ayr team administered a 5-0 hammering on East Stirling in the Challenge Cup. Vareille, Wardlaw and Caddis struck in the first half to kill the game before half time. A late penalty by Paul Weaver and a volley by Stevenson wrapped up the scoring.
Severus Snape
The next league game was a disappointing 2-0 loss to Peterhead at Balmoor.

Ayr then travel to Falkirk as massive underdogs in the League Cup game and Falkirk got themselves 1-0 after 22 minutes through Liam Craig and then doubled their lead just after half time through John Stewart.
However, with 25 minutes to go Jerome Vareille got onto the end of a Ryan Stevenson cross to shoot past Lambers and throw Ayr a lifeline.
As the game seemed to be slipping away from them, youngster Ryan Anderson capitalised on a defensive error to fire in the equaliser and force extra time.

In the 7th minute of extra-time, Wistcghe slotted the ball past Alan Main to give Falkirk a 3-2 lead.
In the 107th minute, the game was put out of Ayr's reach when Latapy scored for Falkirk to make it 4-2.

RoversInTheArea
QUOTE(Severus Snape @ Aug 25 2007, 20:36) *
I picked up FM07 for the PC out of HMV for a tenner today and I have started a game as Ayr United.

Does anyone reccomend any signings? I have no transfer funds sad.gif.

Another useful thing is to scour the Junior and Ameature ranks.

I unearthed a couple of decent goalscorers and gained a steady defence.

Chris Johnston from Maryhill.
Richie Barr from Renfrew, both do a decent job.

Plus maybe scour the 3rd division and offer trials to some of the best players.
Black&WhiteArmy
Is there a way to edit downloaded database files?

Edit: Whenever I try to open them with the editor, it brings up an error.
Dundee Par
Anyone know if there is any updates for the new season yet? And where I can get them? Cheers
kilgour11
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Sep 3 2007, 17:17) *
Anyone know if there is any updates for the new season yet? And where I can get them? Cheers

i've got 1 if u want it

just PM me your msn address
The Naitch
Left Aberdeen after 2 seasons after picking up 1 SPL title and the Scottish Cup...now the Scotland manager with 3 wins out of 3 so far in qualifying for the 2054 World Cup (1-0 at home to Russia, 4-0 away to Israel and 2-0 at home to the Czech Rep.).
Andyboy
Started a game with East Stirling last week and halfway into my second season as boss I sit a fantastic 4th in the Second Division biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

First season romped to the Championship by nine points thanks to the prolific strikeforce of Richard Bowers and John Dunn. Had a pish defence as well though, so won countless games with ridiculous scorelines. There were a number of 6-4's, 5-3s, 7-3's and there was one 7-5. Went out of every cup in the First Round, beaten by Hamilton in the Challenge, Queen of the South in the CIS and then Spartans at Firs Park in the Scottish.

Sold Bowers who had netted 39 (!!) times in the previous season and brought in Duncan Ferguson and young Dunfermline striker Calum Smith on loan to fill the void up front. So far so good. Romped to the top after 7 games but since a 1-0 defeat to Stranraer in October have won only one league match. Most recent game saw me score a last minute equaliser through Ferguson to get a 2-2 draw at Stranny. Cups again have been poor, Challenge Cup 2nd Round defeat to Hamilton, with Bowers scoring a double. League Cup 1st Round loss to Ross County and a Scottish Cup replay defeat to Brechin. Next match is home to Dundee, with only 11 days to the transfer window. Team currently is:

David Crawford

Paul Rudden --- Andy Brand© --- Calum Woods --- Stephen Oates

Steve McGlinchey --- Paul Stewart ---- Ruari MacLennan --- Stephen Adam

John Dunn --- Duncan Ferguson

Got some decent players in reserve as well, John Paul McBride is great midfield cover while youngsters Jamie Nixon and Kenny Stewart are good striking options along with Calum Smith. Paul Ronald can play there as well and both Gary McDevitt and Kevin McBride are versatile defenders. So, it's looking good at the mo!
gc_smfc
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Sep 3 2007, 19:32) *
i've got 1 if u want it

How updated is it, ie just scottish or are there other leagues????
Dundee Par
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Sep 3 2007, 19:32) *
i've got 1 if u want it

Cheers Kilgour, but I managed to find 1. Thanks anyway.
kilgour11
QUOTE(gc_smfc @ Sep 3 2007, 23:07) *
How updated is it, ie just scottish or are there other leagues????

its not updated from the transfer window but it is updated from some of the transfers during the summer
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
anyone know where i can get proper kits for scottish lower leagues? or a decent patch with recent updates.

pretty shit when it comes to this stuff sad.gif
Dundee Par
QUOTE(Bring Back Paddy Flannery @ Sep 4 2007, 18:41) *
anyone know where i can get proper kits for scottish lower leagues? or a decent patch with recent updates.

pretty shit when it comes to this stuff sad.gif

Head to sortitoutsi.net for kits etc. sigames.com for patches (7.0.2 is the latest) and I'll try and find where I downloaded my recent update. Can't remember exactly.
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Sep 4 2007, 18:58) *
Head to sortitoutsi.net for kits etc. sigames.com for patches (7.0.2 is the latest) and I'll try and find where I downloaded my recent update. Can't remember exactly.

cheers for the help smile.gif be sure to let me know where you got the update
gc_smfc
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Sep 4 2007, 18:58) *

Post it as soon as you remember
Dundee Par
Got it from here.

Had a quick look at the Scottish leagues and it all seemed fine at a quick glance.
gc_smfc
Thanks a lot
gc_smfc
Where is it you save the update to???? huh.gif
Dundee Par
QUOTE(gc_smfc @ Sep 5 2007, 12:39) *
Where is it you save the update to???? huh.gif

Once you've unzipped the file, place the folder here C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2007\data\db. There should already be folders with 700 (and maybe 701 and 702 if you have the patches). Then when you start your next game choose this database to start with.
gc_smfc
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Sep 6 2007, 00:00) *
Once you've unzipped the file, place the folder here C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2007\data\db. There should already be folders with 700 (and maybe 701 and 702 if you have the patches). Then when you start your next game choose this database to start with.

The unzipping was my main problem ie i didn't do it, thanks for the hope
MC Pee Pants
Not playing again till after 2008 comes out, and the inevitable patch.
gc_smfc
Started a new game with saints, with the unoffical patch that has updated most transfers

i drew 0-0 with Dundee Utd at home
then 0-0 with Aberdeen away
then 1-1 with Celtic at Home
then beaten 1-0 by hearts away

not a great start to the season, and it doesn't help that i cant get another striker
qos_75
QUOTE(kpj @ Sep 6 2007, 07:36) *
Not playing again till after 2008 comes out, and the inevitable patch.

I pre-ordered mine the other night from Amazon. Tenner off the RRP. 27th of October, I think it is released. smile.gif
Andyboy
QUOTE(ANDYBOY @ Sep 3 2007, 23:05) *
Started a game with East Stirling last week and halfway into my second season as boss I sit a fantastic 4th in the Second Division biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

First season romped to the Championship by nine points thanks to the prolific strikeforce of Richard Bowers and John Dunn. Had a pish defence as well though, so won countless games with ridiculous scorelines. There were a number of 6-4's, 5-3s, 7-3's and there was one 7-5. Went out of every cup in the First Round, beaten by Hamilton in the Challenge, Queen of the South in the CIS and then Spartans at Firs Park in the Scottish.

Sold Bowers who had netted 39 (!!) times in the previous season and brought in Duncan Ferguson and young Dunfermline striker Calum Smith on loan to fill the void up front. So far so good. Romped to the top after 7 games but since a 1-0 defeat to Stranraer in October have won only one league match. Most recent game saw me score a last minute equaliser through Ferguson to get a 2-2 draw at Stranny. Cups again have been poor, Challenge Cup 2nd Round defeat to Hamilton, with Bowers scoring a double. League Cup 1st Round loss to Ross County and a Scottish Cup replay defeat to Brechin. Next match is home to Dundee, with only 11 days to the transfer window. Team currently is:

David Crawford

Paul Rudden --- Andy Brand© --- Calum Woods --- Stephen Oates

Steve McGlinchey --- Paul Stewart ---- Ruari MacLennan --- Stephen Adam

John Dunn --- Duncan Ferguson

Got some decent players in reserve as well, John Paul McBride is great midfield cover while youngsters Jamie Nixon and Kenny Stewart are good striking options along with Calum Smith. Paul Ronald can play there as well and both Gary McDevitt and Kevin McBride are versatile defenders. So, it's looking good at the mo!

Left Shire with them sitting 6th in the division in mid January after the board refused to grant me any transfer funds despie the club having a fantastic financial situation and was threatened me with the sack for making "constant requests". So resigned and took over at Second Division strugglers Peterhead. Lost my first game one day later 7-0 to Hearts in the Scottish Cup at Tynecastle, before I realised I had £128K to spend on new players. Brought in keeper David Mathieson on a free transfer and signed midfielder Steve McGlinchey from Shirey for 10K. Have lodged 12K bids for both of the divisions top scorers, John Dunn from ES and Michael Moore from Stranraer. Sold Martin Bavidge to Hamilton for 1K also.

In my first league game in charge humped heavily fancied Raith Rovers 3-1 at Balmoor Stadium with the goals coming from Paul Weaver, Lewis Coult and Bobby Linn. Raith scored through Paul McManus, but I held on for a fantastic result which pulls me 15 points clear of 9th placed Ayr United.
Team currently is:

David Mathieson

Tony Stevenson ---- Alan Rattray --- Bryan Gilfillan --- Dougie Cameron

Steve McGlinchey --- Paul Weaver --- Jamie Buchan --- Stuart McKay

Bobby Linn --- Lewis Coult
berwick-the-unbeatable
Ive been invited to take part in the 08 Beta testing biggrin.gif
Hoochthedrummer
started with livi...wont the first division in my first season. Second season won myself a scottish cup final spot only to lose to rangers and finishing 4th in the SPL. THird season scottish cup win, Spl win and UEFA cup 1st knockout stage against Villareal...no a bad few seasons