Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
CalderwoodBluestar
QUOTE(bopolopoluss1 @ Jul 31 2007, 16:21) *
I'm playing FM 2007, in 2011 and trying to sign Freddy Adu, Eddie Johnson and Nicolas Millan. Thing is, every single time the work permit isnt granted. I dont understand because they all play regularly for the International side. Is there something else stopping them from signing?

There's a way to work round it 1st it might get rejected but DO NOT appeal but then work the same deal with that club. and most times the 2nd permit is succesful ohmy.gif
Mon The Clyde
Annyone know any site that's similar to sortitoutsi?

Can't find the Icelandic kit's dry.gif
CK
Not a bad start to the season for Craig Gunn!

Click to view attachment
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(CK @ Aug 1 2007, 16:48) *
Not a bad start to the season for Craig Gunn!

Click to view attachment

And your 7th huh.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Aug 1 2007, 16:51) *
And your 7th huh.gif

Dodgy defence I take it huh.gif
CK
He scored against two diddy teams in the Cups, hat-trick in one and five in the other ph34r.gif
garymcc1874
Chris Millar at centre back?

That's a mistake in the game. He's never played there, is a midget, scared to tackle, and doesn't have any good defensive attributes (outside of the game and in the game)
garymcc1874
I was beating St Johnstone 3-0 at half time and it somehow ended like this...

Click to view attachment

blink.gif laugh.gif huh.gif
DJP
QUOTE(DJP @ Jul 31 2007, 16:34) *
Football Manager 2007

Why are Aberdeen so crap on it. Hopefully I will see the end of the season out before I get the sack.

What kind of formation's do people play on football manager.

I tend to stick to 4-4-2 or 4-3-3 ( as i am with Aberdeen, due to them having no wingers and that young Norwegian kid doesn't get good for a few seasons)

Mcguire does seem to be one of the best youngsters I have had on f/m

Any tips for tactics?

Never mind.

Aberdeen League cup winners 2007/08, Realistic
Andyboy
Given the heave in my Clyde game after a new board of directors came in and appointed Sandy Stewart as boss in my place after 9 months at Broadwood, was just starting to do well there as well. Anyway, took me three months to get me a new job at Stirling Albion who are sitting 10th in the Second Division halfway through 2007/08.
CalderwoodBluestar
Forfar 2nd in 2nd Division 3/4 of way through 1st season will try to get screenshots.
Brodiemanthebino
Where has everyone got the patches for scottish teams kits and badges? I've tried googling but I have to trawl through a whole load of useless stuff to find anything renotely helpfull
The Warrior
sortitoutsi.net is the place to get pretty much all kits and logos in the game.
GOURDiiEE
This may sound really daft but can you put skins and kits on a game that you bought and not downloaded? And if yeh how do u do it?
staggy4life
wierdest goal i have seen on FM, shows how brilliant nicholas millian is laugh.gif

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=ybpem-KPoW4&...ted&search=
garymcc1874
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Aug 3 2007, 13:04) *
wierdest goal i have seen on FM, shows how brilliant nicholas millian is laugh.gif

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=ybpem-KPoW4&...ted&search=

Clearly offside. wink.gif
Whistle Blower
Just signed a new centre half for my Beast Fife side, and he doesn't appear in my squad.

Yet when I click on the player it clearly states he is a Beast Fife player.

sad.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Whistle Blower @ Aug 3 2007, 15:48) *
Just signed a new centre half for my Beast Fife side, and he doesn't appear in my squad.

sad.gif

Servers you right for being Beast Fife! wink.gif

But seriously that happened to me once sad.gif Only way I could fix it as to give the player a free transfer huh.gif
The Naitch
QUOTE(Whistle Blower @ Aug 3 2007, 15:48) *

sad.gif

QUOTE(Steven @ Aug 3 2007, 17:02) *
Servers you right for being Beast Fife! wink.gif

But seriously that happened to me once sad.gif Only way I could fix it as to give the player a free transfer huh.gif

Happened to me once as well. Took me half a season to realise that i had the filter on my squad page to show only those in my 'european' team, lost that player for all that time! ph34r.gif rolleyes.gif
Mr. Brightside
i got to the spl with elgin, it took me till 2011 and after all that i got relagated in two consecutive seasons AR15firing.gif death.gif wacko.gif
RoversInTheArea
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Jul 27 2007, 19:56) *
went to load my county game in season 2014/15 then this happens......... sad.gif

A wee tip about that. When you have saved a game, dont immediatly turn off your computer.

Give it some time to write the game onto the hard drive, and then the main part of your problem will be solved !
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(The Naitch @ Aug 3 2007, 17:28) *
Happened to me once as well. Took me half a season to realise that i had the filter on my squad page to show only those in my 'european' team, lost that player for all that time! ph34r.gif rolleyes.gif

Def wasn't the problem I had, he was nowhere in any of my teams huh.gif
Mon The Clyde
How do you make a player to learn from an experianced?
Mushroom
Go to player interaction of the younger player and you can link him to many players.

Just make sure their personalities wont clash.
MrMojoRisin
I just recently got FM 2007 and i'm wondering if you guys have any tips?
staggy4life
QUOTE(MrMojoRisin @ Aug 6 2007, 20:56) *

beat the opposition smile.gif
kilgour11
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Aug 6 2007, 21:19) *
beat the opposition smile.gif

ohmy.gif

thats where ive been going wrong
MC Pee Pants
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Aug 6 2007, 21:45) *
ohmy.gif

thats where ive been going wrong

Keep it simple, 4-4-2, rotate your squad every month and hire a bunch the best coaches you can.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(ochil-clyde @ Aug 6 2007, 14:52) *
Go to player interaction of the younger player and you can link him to many players.

Just make sure their personalities wont clash.

Tah.
Kylesons
We should get a network game going.
BishyTON
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Aug 6 2007, 23:04) *

They never last laugh.gif
kilgour11
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Aug 6 2007, 23:04) *

eek.gif nerd.gif
SampFan101
Went on holiday for a few months to let the Irish League system change to its new format, two clubs were looking for a manager, Mullingar Town (the new team) and Cobh Ramblers (Roy Keane's old team) well... Mullingar kept waiting for too long and I took charge of Cobh and promptly pumped Mullingar 5-0 away in the opening game of the season.

Heres how the table is looking now...

biggrin.gif
MC Pee Pants
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Aug 7 2007, 14:05) *
Just been and bought FM 2007 and would like to know how to update the players database?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers

Get the 7.0.2 patch and that will bring it up to January 2007 (you need the patch anyway).

There will probably be an unnoficial database update at the end of August, when the window shuts. If you can't wait then use the Editor to shift players around.
berwick-the-unbeatable
QUOTE(MrMojoRisin @ Aug 6 2007, 20:56) *

Take your time and be patient!

Dont do what I did laugh.gif
kilgour11
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Aug 7 2007, 14:05) *
Just been and bought FM 2007 and would like to know how to update the players database?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers

give me ur msn and il send the summer update
Andyboy
Updated my FM database (because I am a really sad b*****d) and started a game as Dunfermline in the First Division.

First game humped Hamilton Accies 5-1 before starting on an indifferent run of form which has seen me slip to 5th in the league after 6 games. Into the Challenge Cup Semis after a 3-0 win at Cappielow over Morton and have a CIS Cup 3rd Round tie with Aberdeen coming up.

My European run ended in the 2nd qualifying phase. Was drawn against IFK Gothenburg and lost 3-1 in Sweden, Kevin Harper with the Pars goal. In the home leg, despite having Iain Williamson sent off was leading 2-0 with a minute to go and was on my way through before an error by Scott Thomson allowed the Swedes to grab a goal to send them through. Gutter.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Aug 7 2007, 16:13) *

hilarious! huh.gif
SampFan101
Took over at Sheff Utd last night but my position started to come under fire in the run up to Christmas when I saw that Macclesfield were looking for a manager so I applied and got the job to take over at a club battling to stay in the football league just two months after being tipped by most Championship managers i'd get promoted to the Prem. Isn't exactly getting off to a good start either, 1-0 down after 19 seconds and a man sent off - in my first game in charge!
MC Pee Pants
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Aug 13 2007, 13:40) *
Survived my 1st season in the 1st. Finished in 8th position. Made loads of reat signings that will do well for me this year. Geoff Horsefield the most noteable. biggrin.gif

Just interested to know how you organise pre-season friendlies? Thought that the A.M. would organise it but he never and then at the start of the season all of my player were terribly unfit.

Cheers

P.S. MarreZ, please, please, please get the chip off your shoulder and stop behaving like a 10 year old.

you need to set the manager preferences to get the AM to arrange friendlies.

also, if you haven't patched it it doesn't work.
kilgour11
Survived my 1st season in the 1st. Finished in 8th position. Made loads of reat signings that will do well for me this year. Geoff Horsefield the most noteable. biggrin.gif

Just interested to know how you organise pre-season friendlies? Thought that the A.M. would organise it but he never and then at the start of the season all of my player were terribly unfit.

Cheers

P.S. MarreZ, please, please, please get the chip off your shoulder and stop behaving like a 10 year old.

maybe he is 10 blink.gif
Mon The Clyde

Cheers

To arrange friendlys; Go to your squad, then at the left menu click fixtures. click an avalible date (the arrow to the left of it) then there should be a menu fora tour ect. At the end you must click confirm. few days later youll get a message if they agreed or not.
Cowanthebluenose
Anyone know of a release date for the new FM ?
kilgour11
QUOTE(Cowanthebluenose @ Aug 14 2007, 11:17) *
Anyone know of a release date for the new FM ?

19th of October apparently
StewartyMac
Currently in my 2nd season with Stirling, and after losing to Partick in the playoffs in my first season, I'm now sitting 3rd in the 2nd with 9 games left.

Currently, its Morton (53), Ross County (51), Stirling (50). The next best team is Alloa on 42, so I'm pretty confident of at least another crack at the playoffs.

Current 1st choice starting XI is

Milan Baraktevic (young keeper from Hearts, recently taken over from Myles, who isnae happy)
Paul Nugent
Ross Forsyth
Todd Lumsden
Andy Graham
John Fraser
Brian Carrigan
David O'Brien
Stevie Bell
Paul Shields
Dene Shields

Signed a lot of players in the two seasons, but few have been 1st team regulars. Davie Weatherston has made just 2 sub appearances for me this season. My back four haven't been injured all year, so the back ups are all seething at not getting a game. In a fit of desparation near the end of the first season when I had a striker injury crisis, I snapped up Paddy Flannery on a free transfer. Turned out to be, unsurprisingly, useless, and now I can't get rid of him laugh.gif

kilgour11
anyone else getting bored of the game and waiting for the new one?
turboshandy
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Jul 22 2007, 20:37) *
anyone else really bored of it and just waiting for the new 1?

any suggestions on a good scottish team to go?

QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Aug 15 2007, 14:01) *

Give it a fucking rest, lugs.
kilgour11
QUOTE(turboshandy @ Aug 15 2007, 20:16) *
Give it a fucking rest, lugs.

cool.gif
SampFan101
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Aug 15 2007, 14:01) *

You can go to www.sortitoutsi.net/forums and look for the FMUpdates db from August 12th, its near enough and works just fine wink.gif