Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Cowans a Square Heed
QUOTE(Smfc_R_Davidson_1877 @ Jun 13 2007, 11:59) [snapback]1635321[/snapback]
Nicolas Millian is 14 when the game starts, sign him from Colo Colo... He's shit hot!

What position?
Dundee Par
QUOTE(Cowans a Square Heed @ Jun 22 2007, 10:38) [snapback]1652050[/snapback]
What position?

I think he's a striker, but can also play on the wings as well.

i urge everyone, regardless of what team you are, to sign peter weatherson from morton. i signed him for man utd (for a laugh to begin with rolleyes.gif ) and played him in my opening 2 fixtures of the season, he scored a hat-trick both games ohmy.gif i have continued to play him and he scores regularly, including a hat-trick against bayern in the CL. he's also extremely cheap, remember to play him up front though.

He was immense for me when I was Morton. I was getting bids all the time but rejected them all. When I went to Liverpool, I was tempted to take him with me but I decided to leave it cos I had too many strikers and right backs. Maybe I should have signed him though unsure.gif
shepz
Since my college work is finished went and purchased footie manager 07. first season won the league on the last game of the season old firm derby at ibrox! novo and boyd got one each to make it 2-0 ended up winning the SPL on goal difference.

also won the scottish cup by beating Dundee Utd 3-1. made it to the UEFA quaters got put out 6-5 on agregate against marseille.

signed Tuni(spanish left winger),
Lewis stevenson from hibs who has edged papac out the team.
Ben Amos 17 year old keeper from Man u
Arturo Lupoli 19 year old Italian striker from arsenal

while got rid of, Klos, Ricksen, Prso, Rae and Hemdani.

Baz was player of the year and got a average rating of 7.67 over 45+ games.
Parscelona
Me and my mates started a network game a few weeks ago and we all decided that we would manage in Division 2.

I chose Stirling Albion while the other two chose Brechin City and Raith Rovers.

On New Years Day on the game, my mate who was Raith Rovers boss was sitting 1st while i was right behind him in 2nd place. However he quit as he couldn't be bothered anymore! huh.gif (Because the Binos were closing the gap probably cool.gif)
That left me and my other mate who also quit as he was too busy atm, which was fair enough.

So i continued the save from January and i'm sitting top of the league, though our form has dropped recently, allowing other sides to close in! sad.gif

Current Division 2 Table

I had to sell Paul Nugent to Ross County for £100,000 which annoyed me a bit as the Chairman accepted the offer! mad.gif ...Ever since then we have been not on the best form.

Signings

TWS
Added the Super Cup to the League,League Cup.Scottish Cup and UEFA Cup. cool.gif
caleycasual
Click to view attachment

not the worst start to the season
StewartyMac
I hope the next instalment of the game gets rid of that annoying feature where you offer a player about 10 times the wages he's on at his club, but he won't sign because 'the basic wage is unacceptable', then a week later, signs for another team for minimal wages. mad.gif
staggy4life
celtic signed another angry foriegn....

Edited to add- how do i make the attacthments come up on the screen to see straigt away instead of as a file where you have to click on? thanks
StewartyMac
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Jun 24 2007, 16:38) [snapback]1655361[/snapback]
celtic signed another angry foriegn....

Edited to add- how do i make the attacthments come up on the screen to see straigt away instead of as a file where you have to click on? thanks

Upload the picture onto Photobucket (you need to register but it's free, very handy site). Once you've done that, it'll actually give you the proper link to add to a forum post.

Mon The Clyde
Got Scotland to Euro 2008

Click to view attachment Click to view attachment

I have England, Ireland and Serbia in my group laugh.gif laugh.gif
Whistle Blower
QUOTE(Parscelona @ Jun 23 2007, 15:44) [snapback]1654103[/snapback]
Signings

Peter Logan is a great keeper for 2nd/3rd division and he's free.
staggy4life
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Jun 24 2007, 21:41) [snapback]1655899[/snapback]
Upload the picture onto Photobucket (you need to register but it's free, very handy site). Once you've done that, it'll actually give you the proper link to add to a forum post.

cheers cool.gif
garymcc1874
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Jun 25 2007, 19:27) [snapback]1657649[/snapback]
cheers cool.gif

You can also do it the way you have been doing it, but save the image as a JPG instead of BMP.
thediamonddude
Started another new game with Airdrie tonight and got off to a decent start, won all my pre-season games and beat Hamilton 2-0 on the opening day of the season.

Brought in Grant Smith, Mark Innes and Ian Harty on free transfers and also signed Craig Reid and Nicky Reilly from Celtic for around £3,000.

Problem is my wage bill is now over by £300, just wondering from anyone who may know, does the board tend to take it pretty seriously when you are a couple hundred over your projected wage budget? Never actually been over before and dunno if there is any particular player I can afford to sell to bring the wage bill down.

I shall post back with regular updates of how it goes, never managed to get us promoted yet in like 4 seperate games! Lol
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(thediamonddude @ Jun 25 2007, 23:49) [snapback]1658239[/snapback]
Problem is my wage bill is now over by £300, just wondering from anyone who may know, does the board tend to take it pretty seriously when you are a couple hundred over your projected wage budget? Never actually been over before and dunno if there is any particular player I can afford to sell to bring the wage bill down.

If you try to sign another player whilst the wage bill is more, then the board will say you should offload players (sell them) to free up cash. Then it will say "with this in mind, the board will offer up to £...) normally £100-300 if your with a club like Airdrie, Clyde ect.

As for my games, I did my Shire game and in season 3 lost to Dumbarton in the play-off's to be relegated back to Divison 3. I then gave up.

DC Utd; 2nd season, lost to Chivas (From Mexico - you should see some of their players!! ohmy.gif) in a wee tourny thing 6-5 . Bought the Hearts lad Braminer Kosstantov(sp?), and he is indeed a fucking goal machine. Nick Rimando, goalkeeper is world class, I advise you to sign him ifyou have cash to spend.
Kylesons
QUOTE(jack_bauer @ Jun 21 2007, 22:49) *
i urge everyone, regardless of what team you are, to sign peter weatherson from morton. i signed him for man utd (for a laugh to begin with rolleyes.gif ) and played him in my opening 2 fixtures of the season, he scored a hat-trick both games ohmy.gif i have continued to play him and he scores regularly, including a hat-trick against bayern in the CL. he's also extremely cheap, remember to play him up front though.

Went and got him and on his debut got a hat-trick wink.gif

Click to view attachment
QC Casual
QUOTE(thediamonddude @ Jun 25 2007, 23:49) *

Just go into your 19's squad and release them! most of them won't cost you anything to release and will be on about 50 quid a week, release a few of them, problem solved ! cool.gif
QC Casual
Currently in my 2nd season with Killie.

Finished 5th in my first season, was 3rd for most of it but a late collapse allowed Hearts and Dundee Utd to overtake me. Got to the semi's of the Scottish cup.

2nd season entered the Intertor cup, got through three rounds of that then the 2nd qualifying rnd of the Euro Cup. Got knocked out in the 1st round proper though by Wisla (from Poland) beat them 3-2 at home but they won 1-0 over there with a 88th minute winner to win on away goals, heart breaker! sad.gif

My side:

Alan McGregor (30k from Rangers)

James Fowler Jamie McCunnie (20k From D'fermline) Lee Wilkie (free) Gary Hay

Danny Invincible Gary Locke Eric Skora Steven Naismith

Peter MacDonald (1k from Saintees) Colin Nish

Nish bagged 19 goals 1st season and is banging them in again this season.

Also signed Weatherson from Morton, Jenkins from Gretna, Dorrans from Livi, Dixon from Dundee, Barry Smith for 30k and Jason Scotland on a free when his contract ran out. Signing Richie Foran in December as well.
Andyboy
Just started a game with Ayr United and after an unbeaten pre-season where victories were recorded over Kilmarnock, Queen's Park, Queen Of The South and MK Dons I am ready to begin the league season with a trip to Peterhead.

Brought in 3 players all on frees to bolster my squad ahead of the season, Stevie Reilly from QP and free agents Mark Innes and Paul Rudden. Attempting to bring in any sort of decent left midfielder but failing miserably, I was turned down by Dumbarton's John Dillon and have failed in loan bids for Ryan Baldachinno, Mike McGlinchey and Scott Muirhead.
Whistle Blower
Now in season 2 with Beast Fife, after romping away with the 3rd division title last year, we are 3rd in the 2nd after the first 12 games.

Main men has been Steven McConalogue (free) and Ross Chisholm (loan fae Hibs)

Team
GK Peter Cherrie (Free)
RB Kevin Christie (Free)
LB Craig McPherson (Free)
CB Craig Barr (Free)
CB Jonathon Baillie (Loan Hibs)
LM Ryan Russell (Free)
CM Iain Davidson (Free)
CM Ross Chisholm (Loan Hibs)
RM Paul Walker
CF Mirnes Ibrahimovic (Free)
CF Stephen McConalogue (Free)

SimonLichtie
Finally got Shire into the SPL biggrin.gif

Took a season to get outta the 3rd, 2 seasons in the 2nd and 4 in the 1st (I think).

Currently full time, 2nd in the SPL after 7 games, had a 6500 all seater stadium with good training and youth facilities, and got 5 million in the bank.

Happy days. wink.gif
kilgour11
QUOTE(SimonLichtie @ Jun 29 2007, 12:52) *
Finally got Shire into the SPL biggrin.gif

Took a season to get outta the 3rd, 2 seasons in the 2nd and 4 in the 1st (I think).

Currently full time, 2nd in the SPL after 7 games, had a 6500 all seater stadium with good training and youth facilities, and got 5 million in the bank.

Happy days. wink.gif

squad?
CK
Re-started my Shire game the other night, currently just went into 2011, sitting 4th in First Division. Got taken over, and had £1.8 million debt wiped and now over £200k clear. Also had my first 'giant-killing', beating Hibs in the Scottish Cup 2-1. Current squad is

GK's: Aaron Smith, Raymond Jellema

Defs: Ruaridh Caulfield, Stephen O'Donnell, Kevin Ross(loan from Celtic), Mark Reynolds, Willie Dyer, Rom Bouadji

Mids: Chris Millar, Grant Smith, Steven Masterton, Kevin MacDonald, Ruari MacLennan, Paul Emslie, Richard Walker, Markus Paateleinan, Ryan Pow, Karim Soltani

Fors: Jereon Van Den Broeck, Jason Pope, Stevie Nicholson, Craig Gunn, Aaron Ward(loan from Dunfermline)
thediamonddude
Season is starting to look quite interesting now, started a fresh one since the above post because I decided to finally add the 7.02 update to my game!

Got the mighty Diamonds sitting 4th in the League at the end of December, 6 points behind the leaders who are Partick Thistle at the moment. Got put out of the 3rd round of both the Challenge Cup (Lost 2-1 to Livingston) and the League Cup (Lost 1-0 to Rangers). Just been drawn away to Hamilton in the Scottish Cup 3rd Round!

Squad List:- (Excluding Reserves/Backup players)
GK Stephen Robertson
GK Lee Hollis
DF David Proctor (Loan from Dundee United)
DF Paul Lovering
DF Marc Smyth
DF Marcin Lukaszewski
DF Gary Tierney
DF JamieHamill (Free Transfer)
MF Mark Innes (Free Transfer)
MF Grant Smith (Free Transfer)
MF Stephen McKeown
MF Kevin McDonald (Loan from Hibs)
MF Steven McDougall
MF Graeme Holmes
MF Warren Moon (Free Transfer)
MF Steven Bell (Stirling Albion - £2,000)
CF Bryan Prunty
CF Paul McManus (Raith Rovers - £1,000)
CF Tam McManus (Free Transfer)
CF Gary Twigg

May sound mad, but after playing this game non-stop since around xmas and doing various games with Airdrie which ultimately led to being fired after at most 5 seasons or just sheer frustration at results, I have discovered the awesomness of customising training schedules. Before I never really bothered with it but I have in this new game it seems to be working well!

Will report in with the outcome of my first season sn!
staggy4life
injury hit squad sad.gif 2014 with county and iv won the champions league 3 times in arow and the SPL 5times in a row(all by 1point or a better g.d).
StewartyMac
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Jun 30 2007, 10:47) *
injury hit squad sad.gif 2014 with county and iv won the champions league 3 times in arow and the SPL 5times in a row(all by 1point or a better g.d).

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Kompany, Robben, Sobis, Leonardo, Andrade, Baptista....all playing for Ross County??

Gimme a break. FM cheaters eh? rolleyes.gif
Swampy
I have discovered the awesomness of customising training schedules. Before I never really bothered with it but I have in this new game it seems to be working well!

I generally make a Strikers training schedule with a heavy emphasis on shooting and set pieces... what do you do?
BishyTON
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Jun 30 2007, 11:53) *

Kompany, Robben, Sobis, Leonardo, Andrade, Baptista....all playing for Ross County??

Yeah that is the first thing i thought!
SimonLichtie
QUOTE(CK @ Jun 29 2007, 18:26) *
Re-started my Shire game the other night, currently just went into 2011, sitting 4th in First Division. Got taken over, and had £1.8 million debt wiped and now over £200k clear. Also had my first 'giant-killing', beating Hibs in the Scottish Cup 2-1. Current squad is

GK's: Aaron Smith, Raymond Jellema

Defs: Ruaridh Caulfield, Stephen O'Donnell, Kevin Ross(loan from Celtic), Mark Reynolds, Willie Dyer, Rom Bouadji

Mids: Chris Millar, Grant Smith, Steven Masterton, Kevin MacDonald, Ruari MacLennan, Paul Emslie, Richard Walker, Markus Paateleinan, Ryan Pow, Karim Soltani

Fors: Jereon Van Den Broeck, Jason Pope, Stevie Nicholson, Craig Gunn, Aaron Ward(loan from Dunfermline)

How the f**k did you get Shire into 1.8 million debt?! blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
thediamonddude
QUOTE(Swampy @ Jun 30 2007, 13:46) *
I generally make a Strikers training schedule with a heavy emphasis on shooting and set pieces... what do you do?

I tend to give players from each position 1 intensive area of training and maybe 2 or 3 high areas. The other parts of their schedule are set to low, medium or none depending on position etc.

So for example for a Striker like Bryan Prunty I set his shooting to Intensive, his attacking and ball control to high, set pieces and tactics to around medium and then things like defense, strength and aerobic I set quite low. Not sure if that is the exact programme I use for my strikers but its roughly correct.

I used to just leave all the training on general settings and allow the coaches to determine who got what and I may be wrong I feel thats why my team always fell away after the first few months. Players on general just don't get enough to be strong in their own position therefore the team always just seems to be average!
Mon The Clyde
MLS rules are tight as f**k.

Your not allowed more than 18 players on Senior (full-time) contracts blink.gif
Your only allowed 7 youth and senior internationals
Only allowed 4 senior internationals.

You also have a specific wage budget (just under £20k p/w IIRC)

Still, I have won the MLS both seasons in charge and a few other titles. Cannot win the US Cup forsome reason.

Click to view attachment
Andyboy
Scrapped the Ayr game due to "technical faults" shall we say, and started over with QP.

After a hard pre-season in which I was fucked in almost every game started the season against Elgin at Hampden. Bawbag referee Crawford Allan sent off both Kevin McBride and Stuart Callaghan but the damage was already done as I was 3-0 up at that point. Held on for a 3-2 win in the end with a League Cup trip to Brechin next up, but struggling to put a team together due to injury and these two red cards.
staggy4life
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Jun 30 2007, 11:53) *

QUOTE(The Crippler @ Jun 30 2007, 13:58) *
Yeah that is the first thing i thought!

its 2014,the way iv made loads of money is by trying to get big names on free transfers but give the team £40million after the guys played 50 league games, so oviously sell him after 49 league games wink.gif

06/07-challenge cup,1st division
07/08-league cup, 2nd in SPL
08/09-SPL,scottish cup,
09/10-SPL,league cup,scottish cup, uefa cup
10/11-SPL,league cup,scottish cup,CL
11/12-SPL,league cup,CL
12/13-SPl,scottish cup,CL

so if you win the champions league 3 times in arow ur bound to attract these type of players? cool.gif

Andyboy
QUOTE(ANDYBOY @ Jun 30 2007, 15:28) *
Scrapped the Ayr game due to "technical faults" shall we say, and started over with QP.

After a hard pre-season in which I was fucked in almost every game started the season against Elgin at Hampden. Bawbag referee Crawford Allan sent off both Kevin McBride and Stuart Callaghan but the damage was already done as I was 3-0 up at that point. Held on for a 3-2 win in the end with a League Cup trip to Brechin next up, but struggling to put a team together due to injury and these two red cards.

A quite stunning start from Glasgow's finest to the competitive season, no doubt aided by the loan captures of Danny McColgan and Craig Molloy from new "parent club" St Mirren. Run of results has been:

Queen's Park 3 - 2 Elgin City - League
Brechin City 0 - 2 Queen's Park - LC 1st
Dumbarton 0 - 1 Queen's Park - League
Raith Rovers 1 - 0 Queen's Park - CC 1st
Queen's Park 4 - 2 East Fife - League

Davie Weatherston has scored all but three of those goals, which makes the injury he has just picked up against East Fife even more concerning. Next up Motherwell in the League Cup at Hampden. Bring 'em on!
StewartyMac
QUOTE(staggy4life @ Jun 30 2007, 17:35) *
08/09-SPL,scottish cup,
11/12-SPL,league cup,CL

so if you win the champions league 3 times in arow ur bound to attract these type of players? cool.gif

2nd in the SPL in your second season with Ross County, on the starting database, and no cheating?

I don't think so, sonny.
Kylesons
its 2014,the way iv made loads of money is by trying to get big names on free transfers but give the team £40million after the guys played 50 league games, so oviously sell him after 49 league games wink.gif

08/09-SPL,scottish cup,
11/12-SPL,league cup,CL

laugh.gif laugh.gif
staggy4life
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Jun 30 2007, 21:51) *
2nd in the SPL in your second season with Ross County, on the starting database, and no cheating?

I don't think so, sonny.

laugh.gif actually not on the starting database, the january patch wink.gif i may have cheated a tad lol
Fudge
QUOTE(Swampy @ Jun 30 2007, 13:46) *

My FM game is in Glasgo and I won't be back there for another week or so but I created the best training regeime immaginable. If you like I'll note down all the positions I trained, how far the bar was up and what coaches I employed. I had 5 stars for each catagory for both first team and youths. The players produced were nothing short of frightening.
BishyTON

08/09-SPL,scottish cup,
11/12-SPL,league cup,CL

I suppose to an extent that is true, just didn't think you would have the wage budget. Experienced something similar on my Rangers game in FM2005 - after I won the European Cup for the first time I could pretty much sign any player I could afford.
CK
QUOTE(SimonLichtie @ Jun 30 2007, 13:59) *
How the f**k did you get Shire into 1.8 million debt?! blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

I didn't, it was Alan Mackin! My cheep and cheerful wages saw us have a profit of around £100k in the first two years, then the board decide to build a new £8 million stadium, and sell the current one for around £50k!
staggy4life
9 years on and our U19s and youth system is still doin wonders cool.gif
Javier Mascherano
Got a decent game going with Brechin at the moment. I'm in the 2013/14 season, in the SPL. Haven't won it yet, best I've done is 3rd.

Bank balance is pretty healthy due to signing players cheap and not being able to keep them, so selling them for a healthy profit.
Twynholm
Just downloaded the latest patch off www.fmupdates.co.uk (june24th) and updated it myself to include every transfer to this date. only took 2 hours cool.gif
thediamonddude
QUOTE(Twynholm @ Jul 1 2007, 15:43) *
Just downloaded the latest patch off www.fmupdates.co.uk (june24th) and updated it myself to include every transfer to this date. only took 2 hours cool.gif

So does that mean that the current Airdrie squad will now only contain like 12 players? Lol, think I'll hold off with this update for the moment!

Take it its still far too early for any patches to be released with the new kits for this season?
Andyboy
Been on a decent run of form lately and I am now 2nd in the Third Division only three points behind Arbroath with the Smokies my next opponents, at Gayfield! Was struggling for a while following an 8-0 (EIGHT!) loss to Motherwell at Hampden in the League Cup which seemed to trigger a downward spiral in results, but a 2-1 win away at Berwick a few weeks ago changed all that.
Twynholm
QUOTE(thediamonddude @ Jul 1 2007, 16:01) *
So does that mean that the current Airdrie squad will now only contain like 12 players? Lol, think I'll hold off with this update for the moment!

Take it its still far too early for any patches to be released with the new kits for this season?

Funnily enough im Airdrie the now in my game and they have not a bad squad. More than 12 players though rolleyes.gif Shame im a shocking manager and have them in 9th place after 5 games ph34r.gif
CK
Finished 6th with the Shire in my second season in the First, an improvement on the previous year but should have finished higher but had a poor run at the end.

Had a bit of a clear out, with Ray Jellama, Rom Bouadji ( sad.gif ), Richard Walker, Steven Anderson & Paul Emslie all leaving. Stevie Nicholson and Markus Paatelainen are on month to month contracts till I decide on them. Adam Ward and Kevin Ross' loans ended

In come Craig Conway from St Johnstone, and Steven Donnelly, a right back from Hibs. Both on frees. Also promoted my youth keeper, Andy Cooper, to the first team.

Click to view attachment
SimonLichtie
Mackin just sold Firs Park for 275k, and in 2 years time my 19500 all seater stadium with undersoil heating will be ready at the cost of 28.5 million. It's called Wylde Park, after Gordon Wylde biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Loan debt of 28 million now. sad.gif
turboshandy
Had a quick check on the forum but can't find the answer to my question - How do you get your team full time? I am playing as Raith Rovers, I'm in my fourth season, my entire first team and reserve squads are on full-time contracts, yet I am still referred to as 'Part-time Raith Rovers' etc. Not a major complaint right enough, just curiosity really.
Enigma
QUOTE(turboshandy @ Jul 2 2007, 09:45) *
Had a quick check on the forum but can't find the answer to my question - How do you get your team full time? I am playing as Raith Rovers, I'm in my fourth season, my entire first team and reserve squads are on full-time contracts, yet I am still referred to as 'Part-time Raith Rovers' etc. Not a major complaint right enough, just curiosity really.

Answer: when raovers get to the SPL you get a wee message from the chairman saying that he has decided that now rovers are in the SPL or whatever it is better that rovers turn ful time. And you get to offer new contracts and everything.