Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
CK
Declan scored an OG in his U19 debut against Hibs in the U19 Cup, but we won 3-2 AET, the first time I've got through to the 2nd round of teh U19 Cup, facing Albion Rovers in the next round
Javier Mascherano
I hate this game sometimes.
Javier Mascherano
Saying that, I've no done too badly so far. Top of the league, qualified for the second stage of the CL by the skin of my teeth (with only 6 points, too), and Sutton and Zurawski are on fire.
Mr X
Just played Dudelanga in a Champ league qualifier, as Liverpool, who have Christophe Cum in goals laugh.gif

Not one reference to "Cum on the ball", or "Cum in the box" ohmy.gif mad.gif Im writing to SI right now to insist this is rectified in the next patch wink.gif

Oh and Ive won my first 3 qualifiers 11-0, 7-1 and 6-0 thumbup2.gif biggrin.gif
Mushroom
I know this isn't FM06 - but I can't resist

[attachmentid=4848]

Dunc
QUOTE(ochil-clyde @ Nov 27 2005, 14:41) [snapback]770186[/snapback]

I know this isn't FM06 - but I can't resist

[attachmentid=4848]

You must have a really gay name laugh.gif
Dunc
FM is fucked mad.gif

When I load up my game, and then click "Continue", it begins to work and then crashes, saying "This application has developed a serious error, but an error report has been created" or something similar.

Not happy.
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Dunc @ Nov 27 2005, 18:42) [snapback]770483[/snapback]

FM is fucked mad.gif

When I load up my game, and then click "Continue", it begins to work and then crashes, saying "This application has developed a serious error, but an error report has been created" or something similar.

Not happy.

Uninstall it, and reinstall it wink.gif

You won't lose your save games smile.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Nov 27 2005, 19:24) [snapback]770547[/snapback]

Uninstall it, and reinstall it wink.gif

You won't lose your save games smile.gif

I've actually got my saved game back up as well laugh.gif

I was just hoping that I wouldn't have to install it again! With 128MB RAM it takes about a week laugh.gif
Peterhead Dave
The sooner you get that new computer the better mate!
Mushroom
QUOTE(Dunc @ Nov 27 2005, 15:45) [snapback]770266[/snapback]

You must have a really gay name laugh.gif

Nah, don't want to reveal my identity, I don't have a problem but my parents would go raj and keep me off the site dry.gif

Dunc
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Nov 27 2005, 21:09) [snapback]770717[/snapback]

The sooner you get that new computer the better mate!

I know that!! laugh.gif

I should've really phoned them today, but its too late now.
Butterfield
I suggest you edit that CK. If the boy doesn't want his name known, and his parents will ban him from the site, you are out of order naming him if that is his name.
Mushroom
QUOTE(Ruggy @ Nov 28 2005, 17:08) [snapback]771738[/snapback]
I suggest you edit that CK. If the boy doesn't want his name known, and his parents will ban him from the site, you are out of order naming him if that is his name.

Oh, wait till I get my hands on CK laugh.gif

Dunc
mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

Now FM won't load my saved game, either the one in My Documents, or the one thats backed up onto my iPod mad.gif

Stupid thing! mad.gif
Scott_L
How do you load games onto an iPod aren't they for erm......

Actually what is an iPod unsure.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(Scott_L @ Nov 28 2005, 21:50) [snapback]772283[/snapback]

How do you load games onto an iPod aren't they for erm......

Actually what is an iPod unsure.gif

Should've made that point clearer! Its not actually loaded onto my iPod, as such.

The iPod is like a Hard Drive, and the space that isn't filled with music can be filled with other files from your computer, so you can take them to other computers, like a giant floppy disk.
Dunc
Started a New Game as Scotland manager.

Undefeated after 7 games, but didn't qualify for the World Cup sad.gif

3-1 Friendly win against Austria
2-1 win against Italy (last minute winner)
3-2 win against Norway (another last minute winner)
0-0 with Belarus, which meant that I couldn't quality because Belarus were to play Norway, and if they drew, Belarus qualified, if Norway won Norway qualified, and if Belarus won they qualified sad.gif
2-2 with Slovenia, finished with 10 men.
2-1 friendly win over Kuwait, again finishing with 10 men.
3-3 in a friendly with Denmark, they scored a last minute equaliser after I had came from behind.

The win over Italy boosted my reputation from "Unproven" to "Continental" thumbup2.gif
diezel_afc
if you are a big club sign steven mcdougall and willie mclaren from airdrie, they are both cheap and turn out really good, i did this and they turned out to be the star players, and also sign chris wilson from the under-19's. I use a 4-1-2-1-2 and hump every team i play
Marc_Corcoran1
On the last day of both of my seasons with St Mirren I lost the league. Once to St Johnstone and the other to Clyde. Signed a number of players including : Richie Foran (on fire) Adam Proudlock (Brilliant alongside Foran) Neil Janczyk, Shaka Hislop.

I have also realised that McCay is a great player in this game. So is Van Zanten, he scored 8 goals in his second season from Right Back
Dunc
I took over at Falkirk and they were in some state.

Gave me no money to spend, and a wage budget of £0, being 22k over budget. Bottom of the league.

I managed to knock 4k off the wages, but couldn't do much with the team that was at the club, totally shite and it was February when I joined so I had no real chance to bring anyone in (although, I didn't have any money anyway)

I'm only playing the SPL though, because I started off as Scotland boss and so didn't want lots of leagues. I'll see what I can do in this season coming up.
Scott_L
QUOTE(Dunc @ Nov 29 2005, 12:29) [snapback]772750[/snapback]

Should've made that point clearer! Its not actually loaded onto my iPod, as such.

The iPod is like a Hard Drive, and the space that isn't filled with music can be filled with other files from your computer, so you can take them to other computers, like a giant floppy disk.

Ah right.....

still none the wiser wink.gif

Mushroom
Just offloaded several players to bring my wage bill down ( needed to get it down in order to re-sign McGlinchey and Boyle) after a dissapointing season, McGlinchey got injured for 3 months and my central defence if pish.

This led to a chance in formation to a 4-1-3-2 and McGlicnhey and Zok (Boyle's injured now laugh.gif ) are on fire, 2nd in the league and looking to overtake Dundee Utd. at some point.

Rangers are 4th (finished 8th last season), Celtic are 8th (finished 6th last season)

GK- Mark Brown (Scottish no1.)

DL- Athirson (Brazilian international)

DR- Tomasz Jarzebowski (experienced Polish international)

DC- David Woodison (dissappointment from Dundee but I play him because Locke and Mensing are worse)

DC- Mark McIlroy (One of the 2 originals that are still getting games, capped for Scotland)

DMC- Keith Gibson (Has settled into new role, f'king expensive in wages but well worth it)

ML- Ross McLeod (brilliant winger)

MR- Hamed Namouchi (as above)

MC- Lee Cole (Scotland u21 star waiting for full call up)

FC- John Paul Boyle (strike partner for.......

FC- Kevin McGlinchey, the messiah (star striker was getting games when the game started, he was 13)

The Warrior
Anyone any suggestions as to how i can overcome a problem, preferably without uninstalling it.

Basically, every game i've started i can't get past the 19th June 2006 without the game crashing. Tried it playin a season with different teams in different countries but still get the same result.....the game crashes!

Help!!!
alba
QUOTE(The Warrior @ Dec 16 2005, 21:23) [snapback]800258[/snapback]

Anyone any suggestions as to how i can overcome a problem, preferably without uninstalling it.

Basically, every game i've started i can't get past the 19th June 2006 without the game crashing. Tried it playin a season with different teams in different countries but still get the same result.....the game crashes!

Help!!!

Do you know how to run a programe while in safe mode? If so do that, go past the 19th then save your game. Then put the pc back as it should be.
If you dont know just say and i will post better instructions when i get home from work.
The Warrior
No idea how to, but any help much appreciated.
alba
1- Press start at the bottom left of your screen

2- Click RUN

3- Type in the box- msconfig

4- Click OK

5- Click selective start up

6- Then uncheck all APART FROM process win.ini file (Second one down)

7- Click boot ini ( At the top )

8- Click safeboot

9- Click win ini (at the top )

10- Click disable all

11- Click mci extensions.bak

12- Now press apply

13- The pc will ask you to restart, do this

14- The pc should have restarted in safe mode, now load your game as normal, play past the 19th, then save the game.

15- Now quit your game and press start at the bottom left of the screen again

16- Click run, then type in msconfig again, and click NORMAL start up and ofcourse apply, then reset.

I had the same problem and all this pish worked, it looks more complicated than it is.

Let me know how you get on.
Good luck
The Warrior
cheers Alba, managed to get the Pc into safe mode no bother, but can't get FM to open up at all.

Had a look on the SI forums and seems it's a common problem, and that there's a patch coming out for it. Hopefully that'll work.
alba
QUOTE(The Warrior @ Dec 18 2005, 21:54) [snapback]803269[/snapback]

cheers Alba, managed to get the Pc into safe mode no bother, but can't get FM to open up at all.

Had a look on the SI forums and seems it's a common problem, and that there's a patch coming out for it. Hopefully that'll work.

MCI Extensions.Bak must have a tick at it, for the game to run.

I had the same problem, i think its somethig we both must be running thats causing it?

For what its worth, i had the same thing on last seasons game.
Peterhead Dave
Started a new game as Elgin a few days ago, and bugger me it's hard. Still in my first season and sitting mid-table.

It's hard to attract anyone to the club, but I've just managed to snap up Stuart McCluskey from Dundee, who has started well, with a man of the match award on his debut!

The league is so tight at the moment though blink.gif It's the start of February, I'm sitting 7th, but I'm only four points from a playoff place!
Peterhead Dave
Turned out I didn't have enough quality to put together the run of results I would have needed, but I finished 7th in the league, and signed a new three year deal. Hopefully some of my signing targets will no be released by their clubs and decide they do want to consider a move to Scotland's most northerly club smile.gif
codfish
After their fantastic result at the weekend, I've started a game with Peterhead (well, that and the fact that my temperature suggests I'm there right now). Having brought in Kevin Christie, Stuart McLean, Ryan Wilkie and Steve McGlinchey on free transfers, I've got a decent squad to hand, which was proved with a 6-1 Challenge Cup mauling of East Fife at Balmoor biggrin.gif
The Warrior
Just downloaded the latest patch for the game, and it's cleared the problems that i had.

Onwards and upwards for my Warriors team now! smile.gif
codfish
Finished my first season with Peterhead, and won the Second Division championship biggrin.gif
Gazzo
Just bought this today, also just gubbed Stranraer 4-0 biggrin.gif

Am obviously the Saintees manager; so far i have signed:

Craig Dargo - £4k from Killie
Paul Hughes - £1k from Luton
Harri Ylonen - Free from Siegna
Ian Goodison - £1k from Tranmere
David Lilley - £7k from Killie

Plus Peaso can't stop scoring, he's incredible in this game.
codfish
QUOTE(SaintGareth @ Dec 22 2005, 01:27) [snapback]808578[/snapback]

Just bought this today, also just gubbed Stranraer 4-0 biggrin.gif

Am obviously the Saintees manager; so far i have signed:

Craig Dargo - £4k from Killie
Paul Hughes - £1k from Luton
Harri Ylonen - Free from Siegna
Ian Goodison - £1k from Tranmere
David Lilley - £7k from Killie

Plus Peaso can't stop scoring, he's incredible in this game.

Yeah, Peaso is a goal machine - when I went the Saintees, him and Savo Milne made a great partnership, until Savo got injured.

Get Steve McGlinchey in on a free transfer if you can - the kid is dynamite! ohmy.gif
Gazzo
QUOTE(codfish @ Dec 22 2005, 01:56) [snapback]808589[/snapback]

Yeah, Peaso is a goal machine - when I went the Saintees, him and Savo Milne made a great partnership, until Savo got injured.

Get Steve McGlinchey in on a free transfer if you can - the kid is dynamite! ohmy.gif

Just checked, Ayr signed him. Might try and pry him away though, he doesn't seem to happy.
zuluroyal
I wasn't going to buy it because I've bought every CM and FM game since I heard of it 7 or so years ago...but reading your posts and comments has convinced me, I'll get it tonight when I make my final late night xmas shopping jaunt to the Fort.

I take it the new CM is piss compared to FM??

Mr X
QUOTE(zuluroyal @ Dec 22 2005, 20:41) [snapback]809456[/snapback]

I wasn't going to buy it because I've bought every CM and FM game since I heard of it 7 or so years ago...but reading your posts and comments has convinced me, I'll get it tonight when I make my final late night xmas shopping jaunt to the Fort.

I take it the new CM is piss compared to FM??

Yes. Eidos, who were only ever the publishers, kept the CM name, the look and nothing else. SI, who wrote it all, kept the rights to all the code and databases which theyve used to create FM.

Its like your favourite band falling out with the record company moving to another record company and recording under a different name, while the original record company releases tracks using the same band name. Which are you going to buy??

I just confused things, didnt I? huh.gif blink.gif ph34r.gif ph34r.gif laugh.gif
Gazzo
Am soooooo sick of this game. We've been playing it most of the day, i carried on with St johnstone and one of my mates took charge of Man Utd. The biggest and very unrealistic problem with the first division is Dundee. They have been on 3 individual winning runs of 8 games in a row! In other words they have beaten every team consecutively until they played me. Their third 8 game winning streak was stopped by Brechin rolleyes.gif They are closed to impossible to catch; the most unrealistic aspect of this is that they have something like a 17 man squad! laugh.gif

While the game itself is really good it still has a lot of problems IMO. At the moment i'm only 1 point behind them and am still to play them so i might win it, but it is incredibly frustrating chasing a team who you know will win every match, now i know how Morton feel wink.gif I also beat Partick 4-0 in a cup game then after the match it displayed the result as only 1-0, this also happened after i beat Dundee.

Haven't done to badly though, i reached the semi's of both the Scottish and League cups and won the Challenge Cup. We usually dominate games but in the last few we have been pretty poor. For some reason the team has just stopped working. It is not fatigue, i've got a big squad, they just don't seem to want to play anymore. Plus i have 8 injuries huh.gif Things have started to go down hill after i sold Peaso to Aberdeen for £250k.

Overall not to impressed, will try installing the patch to see if this makes a difference.

p.s. Plus my mate Ryan just told me he sold Wayne Rooney to Real for £51 million! ohmy.gif laugh.gif

Colin M
I'm the manager of Barcelona, but in my game Gus got sacked and Gerry Collins became manager of St Mirren. I released a statement saying I was not impressed by him, and now Eto'o reckons me and him have similar characters and will work well together. laugh.gif

Xavi however is unhappy as he reckons I've been unprofessional. DROPPED tongue.gif
codfish
QUOTE(Colin M @ Dec 24 2005, 17:37) [snapback]811767[/snapback]

I'm the manager of Barcelona, but in my game Gus got sacked and Gerry Collins became manager of St Mirren. I released a statement saying I was not impressed by him, and now Eto'o reckons me and him have similar characters and will work well together. laugh.gif

Xavi however is unhappy as he reckons I've been unprofessional. DROPPED tongue.gif

Aye, I always knew that Xavi character was a nasty piece of work tongue.gif
Twynholm
just made up a new tactic for dundee 5-2-1-2 attacking, beat dumbarton and brechin 5-0 and 5-1 respectively with it!
Twynholm
am dundee 2nd in league after 8 games. got 12 points i think.
rati alkezide is a goal machine.
also am selling mcdonald(midfielder) for a million to hibs! that will clear my heavy debts!

drew 0-0 with the midden in front of a huge 8101 crowd! good stuff(the crowd that is!)
MTJ
How do you access the editor? I'm gonna try and add another relegation slot to the SPL.
Twynholm
dont know, dont like cheating or changing the game!

not saying you are cheating or anything!
MTJ
Anyone know how to access the editor, and no I'm not going to cheat.
Dunc
QUOTE(MTJ @ Dec 25 2005, 18:44) [snapback]812620[/snapback]

Start > Programs > Sports Interactive > Football Manager 2006 > Editor
Twynholm
QUOTE(MTJ @ Dec 25 2005, 18:44) [snapback]812620[/snapback]

if you read my post i never said you were going to cheat wink.gif dont be tempted to "revitalise" thistle though tongue.gif
The Warrior
QUOTE(MTJ @ Dec 25 2005, 14:58) [snapback]812556[/snapback]

How do you access the editor? I'm gonna try and add another relegation slot to the SPL.

Not sure if you can. Had a wee look before, and couldn't find any settings that'd allow you to do it. If you work it out let me know.