Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
kilgour11
I was sitting top of the league 3 points clear of Celtic as Hibs. Celtic was the next match at home and i was 4-0 up on the 33rd minute and at half time i was 4-3 up! Celtic equalised 62nd minute and i thought they would get the win but on the 87th minute Steven Fletcher put me 5-4 up but Nakamura equalised on the 92nd minute ph34r.gif sad.gif

Although, i could have stretched my lead to 6 points at the top of the league, my season is still qaulity. 3rd round of the UEFA Cup (drawn against Bordeaux), top of the SPL and n the 4th round of the Scottish Cup.

MANAGER OF THE SEASON???
staggy4life
QUOTE(Whistle Blower @ Apr 5 2007, 11:16) [snapback]1499329[/snapback]
12 players freed, Marvin Andrews (34 now) and Livvy offered £110K, but Marvin wont go mad.gif

god must of told him otherwise rolleyes.gif
Mon The Clyde
Kilgour - how you doing in the Cork game we are having?

I'm going to start playing mine now wink.gif
Kylesons
Today i was trying to have a network game but the other person couldnt connect then we connect to each other with hamachi which has resolved it when i play with others alot but the other person could not connect still so what can i do to get to connect with others ?
kilgour11
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Apr 9 2007, 20:20) [snapback]1507222[/snapback]
Kilgour - how you doing in the Cork game we are having?

I'm going to start playing mine now wink.gif

i gave up ph34r.gif

got a bit bored!
Kylesons
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Apr 9 2007, 20:56) [snapback]1507303[/snapback]
Today i was trying to have a network game but the other person couldnt connect then we connect to each other with hamachi which has resolved it when i play with others alot but the other person could not connect still so what can i do to get to connect with others ?

anyone unsure.gif
alba
QUOTE(igor @ Apr 9 2007, 10:23) [snapback]1506029[/snapback]
A very strange thing happened to me.

I'm currently boss of Dundee Utd, I drew my bogey team Dunfermline in the Scottish cup and after slaughtering them for 90mins they somehow managed to hang on for a draw, in the replay I was baying for blood and we were 3-0 up in ten minutes.

Needless to say the scores went from 3-0 to 3-1, 4-1 and 4-2, then in the last minute bang bang and it's 4-4!

Extra time saw us take the lead straight away and have 2 more flagged offside, the Pars c***s typically scored another last minute equiliser!

On came the penalties and we missed our first three, we were out, a total sickner made worse by the fact that we had either Berwick or Hamilton in the quarters.

Then a few days later I got a news message telling me that we will play Berwick in the next round after they beat Hamilton 2-1, I checked our Pars result and the pens had changed, we had won 3-1!

Now, just before the Berwick game I see i'm due to play Hamilton, after their result has changed to 3-2!

WTF laugh.gif

Have you installed the new updates/patches? Should sort that pish out.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(alba @ Apr 9 2007, 23:39) [snapback]1507682[/snapback]
Have you installed the new updates/patches? Should sort that pish out.

Nah only sort it out if it goes against you wink.gif laugh.gif
South Lanarkshire Jag
is there anyway of creating ur own leagues in the FM editor??

like for example create 3 leagues of 14 so that i can restructure the scottish teams if i desired?
alba
QUOTE(South Lanarkshire Jag @ Apr 10 2007, 00:23) [snapback]1507768[/snapback]
is there anyway of creating ur own leagues in the FM editor??

like for example create 3 leagues of 14 so that i can restructure the scottish teams if i desired?

Yes.
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE(alba @ Apr 10 2007, 00:26) [snapback]1507773[/snapback]
Yes.

next question

how??

a little run through would be appreciated and screen shots wud be nice but not essential cheers
scot_17s
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Apr 7 2007, 11:03) [snapback]1502655[/snapback]
did u go a club team?

Nope but after being sacked by England i went on holiday and told it to apply for jobs for me. Ended up taking over as manger of Shefield Wednesday who were bottom of league 1. So far i've played about 8 games, lost once and have lifted them up to 3rd bottom, 2 points from safety and it's only January so I shouldn't have any problems getting them to mid table obscurity.

I'm at work so I cant really remeber who i've shipped out but after trawling through the lists of unnattached players I signed up Mark De Vries and Darryl Knights. Also just brought in Danny Invincable at the start of the January window for free as well.
Clyde4life
Apologies if this has been plastered elsewhere on the other 100 or so pages on this thread, but is there any chance someone can post the links to 7.02, and the links to where to get the good backgrounds and the strips?

Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Apr 9 2007, 22:00) [snapback]1507493[/snapback]
i gave up ph34r.gif

got a bit bored!

Same laugh.gif

Lost a friendly and gave up.
Sao Paulo
On the whole, the new Football Manager, I think is unbelievably difficult, Particularly! If you go Clyde, It is unbelievably difficult. And it's not just with Clyde, I've tried a few experiments now....

What I did was went into the editor turned all QP's players into what the old editor defined as supermen i.e. there every stat is 20, even hidden one's with the exception of the dirtiness stat. and the injury prone stat. and another one but i can't remember what that was but it wasn't a desirable attribute basically... I then Made Billy Stark Into essentially the best manager All stats. at 20, Bar the relevant stats. which again weren't desirable.

Furthermore I gave them as much cash as I could etc. all the usual.

I then started a game unemployed went on holiday for a season, and Stenhousemuir had won the league. Albeit by a point!

ph34r.gif

Everything was checked, Stark Remained the manager at the end of the season and was obviously throughout and all the players were basically the best there is. And they all remained, none sold...
This setup was flawless.

How in the name of the Wee man Stenhousemuir won it I'll never know, Btw the only player they added to their squad was david bagan (stenny)

The game is wholly unrealistic you see.... rather imbalanced.
Dunc
QUOTE(São Paulo @ Apr 10 2007, 19:31) [snapback]1509228[/snapback]
On the whole, the new Football Manager, I think is unbelievably difficult, Particularly! If you go Clyde, It is unbelievably difficult. And it's not just with Clyde, I've tried a few experiments now....

What I did was went into the editor turned all QP's players into what the old editor defined as supermen i.e. there every stat is 20, even hidden one's with the exception of the dirtiness stat. and the injury prone stat. and another one but i can't remember what that was but it wasn't a desirable attribute basically... I then Made Billy Stark Into essentially the best manager All stats. at 20, Bar the relevant stats. which again weren't desirable.

Furthermore I gave them as much cash as I could etc. all the usual.

I then started a game unemployed went on holiday for a season, and Stenhousemuir had won the league. Albeit by a point!

ph34r.gif

Everything was checked, Stark Remained the manager at the end of the season and was obviously throughout and all the players were basically the best there is. And they all remained, none sold...
This setup was flawless.

How in the name of the Wee man Stenhousemuir won it I'll never know, Btw the only player they added to their squad was david bagan (stenny)

The game is wholly unrealistic you see.... rather imbalanced.

I assume you left the training and staff the same, it has an effect.

I edited a game once so that the Shire had a team full of World Class players, and I was put out all the Cups by First Division teams.
Sao Paulo
QUOTE(Dunc @ Apr 10 2007, 20:49) [snapback]1509379[/snapback]
I assume you left the training and staff the same, it has an effect.

I edited a game once so that the Shire had a team full of World Class players, and I was put out all the Cups by First Division teams.

No the staff again were all removed and were replaced by high quality reagen staff.
kilgour11
has anyone ever got raith into the SPL on football manager?
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Apr 11 2007, 20:19) [snapback]1511450[/snapback]

Dunc has.
rw89
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Apr 11 2007, 20:19) [snapback]1511450[/snapback]

yes, its extremly easy.
Mackie The Staggie
QUOTE(Clyde4life @ Apr 10 2007, 15:17) [snapback]1508627[/snapback]
Apologies if this has been plastered elsewhere on the other 100 or so pages on this thread, but is there any chance someone can post the links to 7.02, and the links to where to get the good backgrounds and the strips?

Yeah my little bro asked and this is what was offered, which is very good IMO.

Click Here
Mon The Clyde
Hell broke loose with a game vs St.Johnstone, I totally dominated the game until my goalkeeper was sent off for charging down MacDonald in the box. The fanny that took the penalty struck it wide of my u19's keepers' post. I then ran up the park and scored after McGowan elbowed MacDoanld in the face for the 3rd red card of the game (Scotland got red carded in the 1st half - not sure what for though).

Click to view attachment
kilgour11
QUOTE(riw89 @ Apr 11 2007, 20:35) [snapback]1511494[/snapback]
yes, its extremly easy.

with...or without cheating. Cheating includes giving them any players or giving them any money. Including giving them Carcary, Pelosi and Marv
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Apr 13 2007, 17:26) [snapback]1515365[/snapback]
with...or without cheating. Cheating includes giving them any players or giving them any money. Including giving them Carcary, Pelosi and Marv

Install the update you will find Raith have them wink.gif

And it isnt cheating even if you don't have the update unsure.gif
caleycasual
Click to view attachment

lol
GoTeamGaz
QUOTE(South Lanarkshire Jag @ Apr 10 2007, 00:27) [snapback]1507777[/snapback]
next question

how??

a little run through would be appreciated and screen shots wud be nice but not essential cheers

its really hard, you need to have the same number of teams in the same number of leagues to make the cups work, I wanted to create scottish lower leagues, 4 lower divisions, the top 4 playoffs, the winner of the playoffs plays the bottom of division 3 for a SFL place, I don't think it's dooable tbh
St. Starko
QUOTE(caleycasual @ Apr 14 2007, 16:13) [snapback]1516682[/snapback]

kilgour11
QUOTE(Steven @ Apr 13 2007, 17:39) [snapback]1515385[/snapback]
Install the update you will find Raith have them wink.gif

And it isnt cheating even if you don't have the update unsure.gif

i think you'll find it is, raith did not start the season with them rolleyes.gif
Scott_AUFC
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Apr 14 2007, 19:56) [snapback]1517185[/snapback]
i think you'll find it is, raith did not start the season with them rolleyes.gif

You could make them come to you on the day they arrived
BishyTON
QUOTE(Scott_AUFC @ Apr 15 2007, 10:44) [snapback]1518090[/snapback]
You could make them come to you on the day they arrived

Yeah I always do that. In my Rangers game I set up all the arranged transfers for next season - Gow, Broadfoot etc in. It makes the game more realistic.
rw89

No, simply sell all the shite players like Kilgannon etc, Bring in good players (Cieluch is the best,Spain must be on) and bring in a few good freebies. If you win promotion 1st season then offload a few players who aren't going to make the grade (sold McManus,Lumsden and Fahey) and bring in proven players.
The Warrior
QUOTE(riw89 @ Apr 15 2007, 13:58) [snapback]1518462[/snapback]
(Cieluch is the best,Spain must be on)

Why Spain? He plays for Jagiellonia in Poland?! blink.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Apr 14 2007, 20:56) [snapback]1517185[/snapback]

What version are you using rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
berwick-the-unbeatable
that drogba pic is off an older game
Enigma

I have without cheating, well just giving us marv and that crowd!
kilgour11
QUOTE(Enigma @ Apr 16 2007, 16:48) [snapback]1520526[/snapback]
I have without cheating, well just giving us marv and that crowd!

at what date??

if we had this lot at the start of the seaosn, we would be doing much better in real life
Mon The Clyde
Raped Berwick up and down the park with Shire, should have been more!

morrison
Playing FM06 myself, after recently getting it free from a mate - though may have to invest in '07 after seeing it's now only 17 quid in Tesco..

First game - AS Ross County obviously. Hopeless, first season finish 6th, second season I'm 9th and sacked in February, despite still being in the Scottish Cup. Quickly get the job at Ayr, 10th in D2, but win just two of my first 10 games and decide to chalk this game down to experience!

Next..

Nuneaton Borough in Conference North. This time, I get my coaching in reasonable order, but my team's still pretty duff. Finish 14th or so. REbuilding over the summer sees me in the play-offs most of the season, eventually finishing 3rd, miles of top spot but flying formwise. That takes me through the semis and final undefeated cool.gif

Then surprised myself by comfortably staying up in S3, never threatening the play-offs, never in danger of the drop despite taking 5 games for my first win.

S4 now - got my best squad to date, but after 13 games I'm sitting 11th. Been as high as 5th, and low as 19th already. Currently enjoying a 5-game unbeaten run.

Also started a game as Porthmahdog in the League of Wales. Top after just 4 games, but comprehensively trounced (6-2 on agg) in the Challenge Cup.
Iain
See FM Live was launched today. Looks interesting.
Kylesons
QUOTE(Iain @ Apr 20 2007, 17:20) [snapback]1528441[/snapback]
See FM Live was launched today. Looks interesting.

Got an email about it.
What is it unsure.gif
St. Starko
FM 2007 doesn't work anymore so i started a new season on CM 03/04

Season started well and after about 20 games i was about 7 points clear at the top, then it all just started to go downhill. Ended the season on average form.

Click to view attachment

This was my squad post-season

Click to view attachment

Mark Peers, John Sutton, Martin Prest & Goran Stanic were a god send. Stanic was on even better form, but he slipped away near the end of the season but still ended with brilliant average form.

A few stats:

Click to view attachment

Scotland did well too: smile.gif

Click to view attachment
kilgour11
jst started the game with the updated game beat Morton 2-1 and they have signed quite a few good players
Iain
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Apr 20 2007, 17:28) [snapback]1528455[/snapback]
Got an email about it.
What is it unsure.gif

MMO version of FM, basically. think they have a site at footballmanagerlive.com
Kylesons
QUOTE(Iain @ Apr 21 2007, 15:47) [snapback]1529780[/snapback]
MMO version of FM, basically. think they have a site at footballmanagerlive.com

Just went on ChampmanX and read a story about it and it looks great biggrin.gif
BurghBoy
sorry if this has been covered before, but does anyone else find the manager comments thing on FM2007 a real pain in the erse?

The other day I released a media comment praising Chris Smith for his performances, he was MOM three times in a row and made "miraculous saves" according to the in game commentry.

He responds by saying he is bemused by my comments because he didn't think he had been playing well and he's now keeping his options open.

That's just daft, and it happens a lot.

I'll just keep saying "no comment" from now on, but it's a bit annoying when these wee flaws still exist, I have updated by the way.
Tomsk The Beano
QUOTE(morrison @ Apr 17 2007, 13:52) [snapback]1522092[/snapback]
Playing FM06 myself, after recently getting it free from a mate - though may have to invest in '07 after seeing it's now only 17 quid in Tesco..

First game - AS Ross County obviously. Hopeless, first season finish 6th, second season I'm 9th and sacked in February, despite still being in the Scottish Cup. Quickly get the job at Ayr, 10th in D2, but win just two of my first 10 games and decide to chalk this game down to experience!

Next..

I took Ross Cty to 4th in my first season with the majority of the squad I inherited. Sold Don Cowie to Livingston in exchange for Dorrans, Snodgrass and Walker plus £25,000. laugh.gif

Ran the team as :

Samson
Irvine -loan
Hamill
Webb
Dowie
Snodgrass
McAuley - loan
Walker
Gardyne - loan
Gunn
Dorrans

At the end of the season I changed things about.

Bought Irvine, Hamill is on a years loan with Berwick, Webb sold to Brechin, Dowie sold to St Johnstone, bought McAuley, loaned Dorrans to Stirling.

Sold Walker to Gretna for £175,000!!! laugh.gif They offered £30 to start with and I changed it thinking they would back out but they came back in for him!

Team is now:
Samson
Irvine - £1k from Celtic
Nolan - £20k from Celtic
McDonald - £26k from Dundee
McKenzie - £10k from Dundee
Graham - free from Gretna
McAuley - £40k from Aberdeen
??? (can't mind his name!) - loan from Rangers
Snodgrass
Fleck - loan from Rangers
Templeton - £18k plus two reserves from Stenhousemuir.

22 games played and top of the league, just need Gretna to splash another £200k to enable me to get SPL standard players.
BurghBoy
first season with St Mirren, relegated to Div 1.....Dunfermline finish 2nd bottom (an omen?? I fucking hope not.)

Sutton and McKenna were absolute goal machines for me, upwards of 15 each in the season, both signed up on long term deals now.
Sold Lappin, Van Zanten and a few diddies for a total of £250,000 giving me a hefty budget for a quick return to the SPL.

Signed Matt Jansen on a free at the start of the SPL season but he's a diddy, got Brewster as player/assistant manager after getting Millen to re-sign as a player/coach.

Had a horrible season but have not been sacked, offered a new deal in fact so I hope I get back up in one go.

Anyone recommend any good, free or very cheap (under £100k) transfers for my ist div campaign? I have England, Holland and Scotland running.
1993staggie
QUOTE(Tomsk The Beano @ Apr 23 2007, 13:29) [snapback]1533881[/snapback]
I took Ross Cty to 4th in my first season with the majority of the squad I inherited. Sold Don Cowie to Livingston in exchange for Dorrans, Snodgrass and Walker plus £25,000. laugh.gif

Ran the team as :

Samson
Irvine -loan
Hamill
Webb
Dowie
Snodgrass
McAuley - loan
Walker
Gardyne - loan
Gunn
Dorrans

At the end of the season I changed things about.

Bought Irvine, Hamill is on a years loan with Berwick, Webb sold to Brechin, Dowie sold to St Johnstone, bought McAuley, loaned Dorrans to Stirling.

Sold Walker to Gretna for £175,000!!! laugh.gif They offered £30 to start with and I changed it thinking they would back out but they came back in for him!

Team is now:
Samson
Irvine - £1k from Celtic
Nolan - £20k from Celtic
McDonald - £26k from Dundee
McKenzie - £10k from Dundee
Graham - free from Gretna
McAuley - £40k from Aberdeen
??? (can't mind his name!) - loan from Rangers
Snodgrass
Fleck - loan from Rangers
Templeton - £18k plus two reserves from Stenhousemuir.

22 games played and top of the league, just need Gretna to splash another £200k to enable me to get SPL standard players.

Do not spend to much with County. I was with them still am but in the frist season got promation then i started to spend some money. I stayed for the first season then got relegated on the last game againest St Mirrien. Then i am at the top of the 1st divsion but went a million in debt and still going down rapildy and guess what my chariman has left me.
Mon The Clyde
Finnished 7th in my first season, and much hated by East Fife and Stenny who I defeated in the last 4 games to deny automatic promotion (Stenny went up in play-off's)

Click to view attachment
Mushroom
Couldn't decide to go back to my Clyde game (where I'd make sure I always stayed at Clyde) or to start a new one unemployed.

In the end I just decided to start a new game doing both, and WBA employed my alter ego cool.gif

For Clyde I've brought in Michael Graham. Only Michael Graham unsure.gif

For WBA I've brought in David van Zanten, David Lilley and Brian McBride.

The pre-season friendlies have gone well for both, so it should be an interesting year for both