Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
qos_75
I was in my second season at Napoli, and things were going okay I suppose, lying 7th in the league in November. I lost out of promotion last season in the Serie B, play off, final and to be honest, things were going a bit stale. So imagine my surprise when PSV accepted my offer for their vacancy.

Click to view attachment

I started off getting pumped 3-0 away to Feyenoord. I was three down in 12 minutes. ohmy.gif However, I got a morale boosting cup win at home to Ajax in the next game. I am unbeaten in 7 games now. All wins. However, check this out:

Click to view attachment

Beckham and Alonso, eat your heart out. ohmy.gif

Scott_AUFC
doesnt prove anything ph34r.gif laugh.gif

EDIT: Just noticed the commentary bar rolleyes.gif
Vanquinho.
70 YARDS! ohmy.gif

Jesus! I suppose the keeper was miles out of his box?
Or was it a precision curler into the top corner? tongue.gif
qos_75
QUOTE(Vanquinho. @ Mar 15 2007, 13:06) [snapback]1463155[/snapback]
70 YARDS! ohmy.gif

Jesus! I suppose the keeper was miles out of his box?
Or was it a precision curler into the top corner? tongue.gif

Ha, ha. I would like to say it was precision but the Ajax keeper came up to the halfway line for a late corner. Quality, nonetheless.
dumbarton Fc
Does anyone else get player historys being wiped execpt from the team thaey played for last which is always the same team
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(dumbarton Fc @ Mar 15 2007, 18:54) [snapback]1463914[/snapback]
Does anyone else get player historys being wiped execpt from the team thaey played for last which is always the same team

What version of the game are you playing?
dumbarton Fc
the version before the latest patch
South Lanarkshire Jag
started a new game with Queen's Park and this was my first friendly result sad.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(qos_75 @ Mar 14 2007, 17:16) [snapback]1461744[/snapback]
I was in my second season at Napoli, and things were going okay I suppose, lying 7th in the league in November. I lost out of promotion last season in the Serie B, play off, final and to be honest, things were going a bit stale. So imagine my surprise when PSV accepted my offer for their vacancy.

Click to view attachment

I started off getting pumped 3-0 away to Feyenoord. I was three down in 12 minutes. ohmy.gif However, I got a morale boosting cup win at home to Ajax in the next game. I am unbeaten in 7 games now. All wins. However, check this out:

Click to view attachment

Beckham and Alonso, eat your heart out. ohmy.gif

I went Gretna ages ago and lobbed Ludo Roy from 50 yards, felt that was cracking, but 70!!!? ohmy.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(South Lanarkshire Jag @ Mar 16 2007, 00:15) [snapback]1464577[/snapback]
started a new game with Queen's Park and this was my first friendly result sad.gif

Least things can only get better laugh.gif laugh.gif

Attendance wasnt that great either unsure.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(dumbarton Fc @ Mar 15 2007, 21:18) [snapback]1464192[/snapback]
the version before the latest patch

I had that problem once, try installing the latest patch and see if that makes any difference.

It only affected one game I had.
South Lanarkshire Jag
forgot to save my game so restarted as queens park and didnt have the best pre season results sad.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE(South Lanarkshire Jag @ Mar 17 2007, 02:56) [snapback]1466672[/snapback]
forgot to save my game so restarted as queens park and didnt have the best pre season results sad.gif

Might have been a good idea to have played a couple of non-league sides in amongst your friendlies. The morale of the players will now be shot before you've kicked a ball in anger.

Schoolboy error, get a game against Burntisland Shipyards sorted out for next pre-season (assuming you haven't been punted by September laugh.gif )
Vanquinho.
Can anyone tell me when the latest patch was released?

I think mine is up-to-date as of November dry.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Vanquinho. @ Mar 17 2007, 11:02) [snapback]1466856[/snapback]
Can anyone tell me when the latest patch was released?

I think mine is up-to-date as of November dry.gif

You can get the new patch here

http://files.filefront.com/fm2007_patch_71...;/fileinfo.html
Vanquinho.
QUOTE(Steven @ Mar 17 2007, 11:33) [snapback]1466885[/snapback]

Thanks for that thumbup2.gif
Vanquinho.
Right I could do with a wee help here.

I'm playing as Hibs, as always I make a decent start, win the first two league games and get into the UEFA Cup by winning all my Intertoto Cup matches, but then things just go miles downhill. Such as losing to Dunfermline 4-0 at Easter Road for example, or getting pumped off Stirling Albion in the CIS Cup mad.gif

The thing is, my team are creating LOTS of goal-scoring opportunities and I dominate almost every match I play but the strikers can never EVER finish one-on-ones and most of the time they get to the 18-yard box and immediately run away from the goals blink.gif (especially Steven Fletcher). They will never score an easy goal, always 25-yarders, penalties and rebounds in the box. Even my midfielders are ineffectual in finshing off moves, I've sorted out my coaches and training schedules pretty well, I just dunno how I can't score the simple goals.

I'm using a 4-3-2-1 with 3 central midfielders and 2 attacking wingers, Zemmama and Scott Brown/Ivan Sproule continually get to the byline and swing the ball into the box but STILL my forward is missing the target from 6 yards.

Sometimes I use a 4-5-1 which sometimes scrapes a victory over the league's minnows.

Crosses, through balls, free-kicks......none of these end up in the net.

I've also noted that whenever a striker shoots, he always kicks it right at the goalie, and when he doesn't it goes over the bar no matter how close he is to the goals.

So.......and ideas? unsure.gif
CK
Having a blistering start to my fourth season at Shire, my first in 1st Divison.

Currently sitting top after 4 games, 3 wins and a 1 draw. First game against Morton, conceed a goal, get a man sent off then score in the 89th and 92nd minute to win. Same story with my second game with Clyde, albeit a 81st instead of 89th. Then a 4-0 win over Livingston, and a 2-2 draw with Dundee, again I got a man sent off, and equalised in the last minute
Mon The Clyde
Started a new game with Clyde, and I actually got a few signings in. Despite this I'm having a pretty dreadfull start.
South Lanarkshire Jag
doing reasonable just now
Mon The Clyde
How much cash do you have? huh.gif
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Mar 19 2007, 00:36) [snapback]1470558[/snapback]
How much cash do you have? huh.gif

300K apparently

and before anyone says anything i did not change the editor to give me a huge budget. I origanally got Hall for £0 but i had to pay £55K in way of compensation

trying to sign Stephen Dobbie now to boost my fire power
Mon The Clyde
Buy Robert Downs from Cowdenbeath reserves for £0, he can score the odd goal. wink.gif
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Mar 19 2007, 00:42) [snapback]1470564[/snapback]
Buy Robert Downs from Cowdenbeath reserves for £0, he can score the odd goal. wink.gif

this is my problem i always seem to sign the pish players.

In my eyes the players i have signed are more than capable of winning Division 3 at a canter yet we are struggling. i'll take a pic at 18 games and prove how poor we are sad.gif
South Lanarkshire Jag
after 18 games the league is very tight

as you can see my problem is scoring goals
Mon The Clyde
Incidently, the computer make Shire absolute quality! Some of the players they sign are quality.
South Lanarkshire Jag
got sacked at the start of january having slumped to 8th in the league despite being 3 pts behind 2nd sad.gif
St. Starko
QUOTE(South Lanarkshire Jag @ Mar 19 2007, 00:48) [snapback]1470567[/snapback]
after 18 games the league is very tight

as you can see my problem is scoring goals

At least you scored more than Elgin! They scored 1 goal every two games laugh.gif
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE(St. Starko @ Mar 19 2007, 11:50) [snapback]1470897[/snapback]
At least you scored more than Elgin! They scored 1 goal every two games laugh.gif

they beat me 3-0 at the start of the season ph34r.gif
garymcc1874
Click to view attachment

Now the game becomes boring. sad.gif
djchapsticks
QUOTE(South Lanarkshire Jag @ Mar 19 2007, 00:39) [snapback]1470562[/snapback]
300K apparently

and before anyone says anything i did not change the editor to give me a huge budget. I origanally got Hall for £0 but i had to pay £55K in way of compensation

trying to sign Stephen Dobbie now to boost my fire power

Queen's Park always start with a comparitively huge budget. It's due to their value being so high because they own a 50,000 seater stadium.

Wait 'til you see their finances after about 3 or 4 years.
Loki
QUOTE(MTJ @ Mar 8 2007, 20:02) [snapback]1451095[/snapback]
Want me to wipe the screen of this? wink.gif

Click to view attachment

Nah I don't need Football Manger for that, I have seen that happen for real. Tony Bullock's penalty will always be remembered.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(djchapsticks @ Mar 19 2007, 18:15) [snapback]1471884[/snapback]
Queen's Park always start with a comparitively huge budget. It's due to their value being so high because they own a 50,000 seater stadium.

Wait 'til you see their finances after about 3 or 4 years.

In one game I had Hampden had been reduced to a 2000 all-seater which meant reduced capacity for Scotland games and cup finals mad.gif

I used FMM to fix it and Hampden was turned into a 75,000 capacity ground ph34r.gif
jay_7
Has anyone got any idea's as to what exactly constitutes "other" on the finances expenditure screen? Just to give an idea as to just how rediculous mine is, I had an annual turnover of £35.4M and my "other" expenses were £8.25M! Tax amounts to around £6M usually. Does anyone know how I can reduce this "other" cost?
St. Starko
QUOTE(jay_7 @ Mar 20 2007, 16:17) [snapback]1473550[/snapback]
Has anyone got any idea's as to what exactly constitutes "other" on the finances expenditure screen? Just to give an idea as to just how rediculous mine is, I had an annual turnover of £35.4M and my "other" expenses were £8.25M! Tax amounts to around £6M usually. Does anyone know how I can reduce this "other" cost?

jesus, you've paid out a lot of bungs to referees! I hope it's been worth it wink.gif
Cowanthebluenose
started a new game, randomly picked Hartlepool.
Going ok 5th in the league after 10 matches.
I wonder if I can take them to the top.
If so I shall post screenshots of my progress, if I can be arsed.

Also Im curious. What if you only loaded say the premiership and you got relegated what happens ?
jay_7
QUOTE(St. Starko @ Mar 20 2007, 16:24) [snapback]1473563[/snapback]
jesus, you've paid out a lot of bungs to referees! I hope it's been worth it wink.gif

whistling.gif
djchapsticks
QUOTE(Cowanthebluenose @ Mar 20 2007, 16:53) [snapback]1473641[/snapback]
Also Im curious. What if you only loaded say the premiership and you got relegated what happens ?

You automatically get the sack.
Casper Rose
QUOTE(St. Starko @ Mar 20 2007, 16:24) [snapback]1473563[/snapback]

How do you do that in FM blink.gif
Vanquinho.
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Mar 20 2007, 20:36) [snapback]1474054[/snapback]
How do you do that in FM blink.gif

Ummmmmm I think it was a joke haha.

But seriously, how did his "other" expenditure get so high? Like what is it? huh.gif
jay_7
At first I put it down to Stadium expansions but now I have a 13000 all seater stadium it isnt. Its really starting to piss me off as it invariably leads to a loss month after month.
qos_75
I have just finished my first season in Holland with PSV. I finished third Behind Ajax (20 pts ahead) and Feyenoord (1 Pt ahead). I was away to Hercules, 14th in the league on the last game of the season with a win required to guarentee 2nd place. I drew 2-2 after twice leading. Bottlers. mad.gif

I am now in a play off for European places and played the first match away from home I could not believe the first few minutes:

Click to view attachment

Things did get a bit better, although things are looking grim for the second leg.

Click to view attachment

I fear if I get beat, I might not be in Europe. I am not sure how this Dutch Euro Play off system works.
jay_7
3 goals away from home in Europe isn't to be sneezed at. Utrecht are pish in my game IIRC, should be no bother at home. cool.gif
qos_75
QUOTE(jay_7 @ Mar 20 2007, 22:23) [snapback]1474334[/snapback]
3 goals away from home in Europe isn't to be sneezed at. Utrecht are pish in my game IIRC, should be no bother at home. cool.gif

I won 3-2 at home. However, I was beaten on aggregate 7-5. No Champions League football for me or PSV, next season. I am now playing AZ Alkmar in another play-off. I take it this must be for a Uefa Cup spot.
GoTeamGaz
im going to load up a game with all scottish & english leagues down to confrence nort/south & start unemployed & see how I get on
huh.gif
jay_7
So noone knows what "Other" is or how I can reduce it?
Vanquinho.
QUOTE(jay_7 @ Mar 21 2007, 14:07) [snapback]1475205[/snapback]
So noone knows what "Other" is or how I can reduce it?

Ah want tae ken what it is aswell, we'll just keep bringing it up until somebody tells us cool.gif
qos_75
QUOTE(Vanquinho. @ Mar 21 2007, 15:17) [snapback]1475292[/snapback]
Ah want tae ken what it is aswell, we'll just keep bringing it up until somebody tells us cool.gif

The pies and bovril,electricity/ gas bills, bungs etc. Also pay per view movies.
Mon The Clyde
Started my Shire game again, and in my 3 games; Won 2, Drawn 1, Lose 0. A demolition of Berwick in the Challenge Cup to boot!

Click to view attachment
Swampy
QUOTE(berwick-the-unbeatable @ Mar 4 2007, 20:16) [snapback]1443521[/snapback]

What am I missing here?

Edit: Oh, the goal. Keepers scoring isn't as uncommon as you'd think. Sevilla keeper Palop scored in the UEFA Cup just last week.