Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
SimonLichtie
Just starting my first game of my first season for Arbroath against Stirling in the cup.

Im currently changing the club into full time status, with 11 full time players, and 11 part time, and 4/5 youths. Hoping to get everyone full time and get rid of the youth team in the next few weeks.
Butterfield
It couldn't be closer laugh.gif

2 games to go.

10 Livingston 30 points
11 Falkirk 28 points
12 Dunfermline 27 points.

i'm a tad worried laugh.gif ph34r.gif
Butterfield
One game to go.

Livi 33
Falkirk 28
Dunfermline 27

Playing Livi unsure.gif

Matt Glennon sent off in penultimate game, which scuppered his chances of playing in every single game for the season.

It ain't looking good. The fifers are playing Caley, who're in 9th. sad.gif unsure.gif ph34r.gif
Butterfield
Relegated ph34r.gif laugh.gif
Butterfield
Every cloud and all that........Liverpool lost the Champions League to Real Madrid on penalties. laugh.gif tongue.gif
SimonLichtie
Things going well with AFC! biggrin.gif

Got all my players bar 7 on full time contracts, with all running out in 2006.

Currently sitting top of the league after 10 or so games, and have got the debt 100k less, only around 45/50k now. smile.gif
Butterfield
Currently romping the first division. Just lost 8-1 in the Scottish Cup though to a premier team! Spooky or what! laugh.gif unsure.gif

Stephen O'Donnell and Pedro Moutinho are fantastic, as is Graham Weir whom I got from Hertz on a Bosman.
Dunc
Playing as Raith, i've brought in a kind of "veteran" Scotland group to the club.

Ally McCoist, Iain Durrant, Archie Gemmell and Scot Gemmell have all signed recently. I'm looking atfew more.

Scot is playing for me, and Archie is my assisstant. Ally and Iain are coaching my Under 19s.
Neilly
Can anyone recommend a decent tactic, I am fucking awful at this game and my mate is positively ripping the piss out of me in a network game.
Butterfield
Got enquiries about McBreen, Weir and O'Donnell from Hertz, Celtic and Celtic respectively.

Decided to chance it, asked for £250k for McBreen - valued at £40k, £500,000 for O'Donnell valued at £120k and £1M for Weir, valued at £90k laugh.gif

They all accepted! ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

Suddenly I've got near enough £2m to spend! biggrin.gif
codfish
Well, this has been much better than my last season in the SPL! biggrin.gif

Currently sitting 5 points off the top, in 3rd place, with my most satisfying win geing a 3-1 victory at Ibrox! Celtic are top, but I've just knocked them out of the Scottish Cup at the 4th round stage, winning 4-3 at Love Street! biggrin.gif

John Sutton is a goal machine, scoring 20 in 28 games so far this season, and Stewart Kean, Steve McGlinchey (who I brought in over the summer), Alvaro Recoba and Shaun McLachlan are all chipping in with goals when called upon. The find of the close season was a 21 year old Faroe Islands defender, Olaf Kjaerbo, who signed on a free transfer and has been a star in defence for me biggrin.gif
Butterfield
Nae fucker would come to me, so I had to cancel the sales of McBreen O'Donnell and Weir (i.e. quit without saving ohmy.gif laugh.gif (

Check out the attached. Ignore the score, and look at the injury in the 58th minute. The boys did their job there biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
DB Cooper
My Stenny team imploded with 8 games to go...

Sitting top and couldn't buy a win in the last 8 games to fall to 5th.

sad.gif sad.gif

codfish
Finished third in the SPL, and was only pipped to the 2nd place spot (and Champions League football next season) by an 83rd minute equaliser from Dundee, allowing Motherwell to leapfrog both of us sad.gif

Now to strengthen the squad for next season's UEFA Cup mission biggrin.gif
supermac
Just finished 10th in my first season in the SPL (2006/07), well chuffed as we had a nightmare first half and were rock bottom at Xmas smile.gif

Star men were Finbogosan on loan from Sellick who was immense and scored 30 goals backed up by John Sutton, Bob Davidson from Rangers, Ross McCormack (loan), Jason Scotland (no really laugh.gif ) and some Albanian boy Hamdi Salihi.

Signed a few old guys on short term deals (Linke, Zahovic, di Canio, Bergkamp etc) but ditching that approach going forward from here. Sadly looks like Broadfoot wont sign a new deal and will leave in the summer sad.gif
Butterfield
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
codfish
QUOTE(Ruggy @ Nov 17 2005, 23:21) [snapback]756155[/snapback]

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

They should have appointed me instead wink.gif

Things aren't going brilliant;ly on the domestic front this season, although I have reached the semi final of the League Cup, knocking out champions Celtic on the way. I think I'm sitting 8th in the league.

In Europe though, things are great. I've made the group stage of the UEFA cup (in both of the qualifying rounds, I won the first leg 4-0 and had the tie out of sight) and got drawn against Sporting Lisbon, Rennes, Udinese, and Galatasaray. I've played 2 games - a 3-0 win at home to Sporting Lisbon, and a 3-2 defeat in Rennes. If I progress, I'll be over the moon. biggrin.gif
codfish
QUOTE(codfish @ Nov 17 2005, 23:30) [snapback]756183[/snapback]

In Europe though, things are great. I've made the group stage of the UEFA cup (in both of the qualifying rounds, I won the first leg 4-0 and had the tie out of sight) and got drawn against Sporting Lisbon, Rennes, Udinese, and Galatasaray. I've played 2 games - a 3-0 win at home to Sporting Lisbon, and a 3-2 defeat in Rennes. If I progress, I'll be over the moon. biggrin.gif

After following up those results with a defeat at home to Udinese and a 1-1 draw away to Galatasaray, I qualified in 3rd place biggrin.gif

The reward? Shakhtar Donetsk in the first knock-out round, and either Olympiakos or Lyon for the winners biggrin.gif
Butterfield
Looking good at the moment for staying up after winning the first division (after being relegated in my first season laugh.gif ) Had good results against the OF, and am 12 points clear of bottom, and 6 clear of second bottom with 6 games to go.

Update to follow. I'm hooked laugh.gif ph34r.gif
Butterfield
Stayed up in 10th, the researchers have fair done their job. Tiago had 11 yellow cards and 4 reds in the season huh.gif Steven Pressley is in on a bosman for him next year rolleyes.gif
Butterfield
You gotta laugh laugh.gif laugh.gif

Dunc
Only team to beat Gretna this season thumbup2.gif

And I didn't even have my first team goalie! laugh.gif

Made the play-offs, only played the first leg of the first play-off.

Morton beat Partick 2-1, coming from behind.

I mauled QoS 5-0, scoring 4 times in the first 30 mins - again without my FT keeper.

b*****d! My full time keeper was on loan from Hibs, and has f'cking signed for Gretna, despite the fact he kept telling the press how much of a wonderful boss I was. Traitoring bassa!

Stuart Hall all the way, now!
Dunc
YA BEAUTY!

Lost 4-2 to QoS in the Second Leg but still went through, obviously.

Off to Hampden I went, to face Morton, in front of 13,000 fans.

1-0 up, then they pulled it back 44 mins in, but Paul McManus grabbed his second deep into injury time. About an hour in, Paul completed his hat-trick after Scot Gemmell had rattled a shot off the bar, but then Chris Templeman fired Morton back into contention 2 minutes later. Then, strangely, McInally took Templeman off, and Morton were fortunate to grab an equaliser just 5 mins before the end. Went into ET and both sides hit the bar in the first half, then, 6 mins into the second half, Paul McManus was played through by Bartosz Tarachulski and slotted past Kevin Cuthbert for his 4th of the game! Minutes later Tarachulski himself drove a volley off the post, but it bounced out. In the end, it didn't matter though, as the Full Time whistle went at 4-3 to me!! biggrin.gif

Compliments from Colin Cameron were well received.
Dunc
I've just signed half of the world's registered players, and i've not really managed to sell anyone ph34r.gif

I need to find someone to buy some of my players - my wages are too high.

The thing is, everyone i've brought in has been on a free transfer - my transfer budget for the season is £284 blink.gif
ICTRMD
ICT boss in my 4th season. Currently sitting 5th, 4 points behind Rangers in 2nd place. Sold Derek Riordan for £8m to Celtic, he scored 41 goals in 11 months for me. Spending most of it to try and build a squad to challenge for the title next season. biggrin.gif
Dunc
Just thought i'd compile a few SSs from my game! wink.gif

Its a bit big! Sorry!
codfish
Just got knocked out of the UEFA Cup to Shakthar. I lost 3-2 at Love Street, and was 1-0 down and one man down (due to making all my changes before losing Kean to injury) after 85 minutes, but late goals from Alfonso Sanz and Neil McGregor (a January signing from Dundee Utd) gave me a real chance. Unfortunately, I went out on away goals sad.gif

On the domestic front, I've made the final of the League Cup, and will face Rangers at Hampden. I'm also in the quarter finals of the Scottish Cup, with a tie against Inverness to look forward to. In the league, I'm sitting 7th after 24 games, 15 points clear of the relegation zone, and 14 points off the top with two games in hand. smile.gif
Dunc
£1M quid in the bank from selling Paul McManus to Aberdeen.

Garry O'Connor won the Golden Boot at the World Cup, and James McFadden came 3rd in the "Best Player" award.

Mingland won it though crying.gif
Bryan
QUOTE(Dunc @ Nov 18 2005, 17:54) [snapback]757157[/snapback]

Just thought i'd compile a few SSs from my game! wink.gif

Its a bit big! Sorry!

SimonLichtie
Doing alright at the moment! smile.gif

In 2nd season with The Lichties, and 3rd in Division 2 with 4 games left, almost defo gonna make the play offs.

I've got 500k odd in the bank from selling 3/4 players who are all good youngsters I brought in then sold on a year or so later. smile.gif

Turned down 1.3mil for Ian MacSween and 500k for Jim McAllistair though!
Dunc
Well fook me, got humped 7-3 by Motherwell in the first round of the Sean Combs Trophy.

Stewart Kean scored a hat-trick against me, and Mickey Cameron scored a double for me.

I'm spending my McManus money on Kean laugh.gif
SimonLichtie
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Play Off semi against Hamilton, lost first leg at home 1-0, then went to New Douglas Park, 0-0 with 5mins left, and went all out attack. Got a penalty with 4 mins left, kept it attacking and then scored in the 93rd minute to go through to the final against Morton! biggrin.gif
codfish
I won the League Cup- that's my first major trophy success in the game, and so much sweeter that it's came with Saints. Having had a run of midweek - weekend - midweek games in the run-up (6 weeks) to the game, I thought it would be a game too far up against Rangers at Hampden (BTW this hellish run of fixtures is still ongoing, and will reach 18 matches in total), but it wasn't the case, and emphaticly so. We ran out 4-0 winners, and it should have been 8 biggrin.gif

I've just been knocked out of the Scottish Cup in the semi-finals by Celtic, but I put up a great fight in a 4-3 defeat - I now have them in the league, knowing that a win takes me to within 2 points of the top with 6 games left - could I be having the most successful season in Saints history? ohmy.gif
Follow Follow
I have just won my second consecutie domestic treble, and just added the Uefa - diddy - Cup
Dunc
Kean made a decent enough debut.

Hat-trick against Dumbarton in the League Cup.

i've now got too many good players! I don't have enough places in the team for all my players!

The only signing my fans had a problem with was Goran Stanic laugh.gif Not too keen on diving bassas anymore then! They loved getting Colin Cameron back though.
Dunc
Just signed Scotland's favourite Ginger Irishman Neil Lennon ohmy.gif

He's been without a club for about a month, and is wanting less than £1000 a week - even thought he was on about 20 times that at Celtic.

Still, he should do a job in the First Division.
Dunc
My tactics are rotten just now - I made the mistake of just signing random players, and what i should've done is signed players for the positions i needed.

I ended up trying to fit all my best players into a wacky system with sweepers, attacking midfielders making strange runs and shit - so i've gone back to what I know, 4-3-3, it got my promotion, and now I need it to pick up my season.

6 games in and i've got 6 points.
CK
IPB Image

Demolition Derby biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Finished 5th in my second season which was dissapointing. My main strike force of Gow and Peacock were supberb, scoring 32 goals between them. Gow is going back to Falkirk though sad.gif

My squad is shaping up for the new season. Stevie Crawford, Santino Marini & Amadou Konte(permanent) are all coming in, and so is Declan, who is very excited at playing at a higher level laugh.gif
Dunc
Declan told me to GTF!

He feels he has more to learn at Morton.

I offered him £1000 to sign - what sort of 15 year old rejects £1000!!!! Plus twice what he was earning at Morton, every week.
CK
QUOTE(Dunc @ Nov 20 2005, 18:10) [snapback]759856[/snapback]

Declan told me to GTF!

He feels he has more to learn at Morton.

I offered him £1000 to sign - what sort of 15 year old rejects £1000!!!! Plus twice what he was earning at Morton, every week.

I'm giving him £35 a week laugh.gif
codfish
Most amusing thing I've read on the game was when I signed Declan - he was so excited about signing for "a massive club like St Mirren" laugh.gif
Dunc
Neil Lennon has played 4 games, and already has the worst discipline record in my team! laugh.gif

2 yellows, and a red.
CK
QUOTE(codfish @ Nov 20 2005, 18:39) [snapback]759901[/snapback]

Most amusing thing I've read on the game was when I signed Declan - he was so excited about signing for "a massive club like St Mirren" laugh.gif

Well he was very excited about signing for a massive club like Clyde tongue.gif laugh.gif
Dunc
F'cking w**ker!!!

I've got some guy on trial, and 20 minutes into his first game he's been sent off!

He can go f**k himself - he'll never play for me again.
CK
I just signed Alan Gow permanantly for £2000, and he was valued at £130,000 blink.gif He also said it was great to sign for his boyhood heroes blink.gif Declan is settling in nicely, and says its great to be a part of a big club, and he'll keep his head down and work hard, and hopefully get in the squad laugh.gif
Bryan
These euro rules are rubbish 4 club trained, and 8 scottish trained.
edinton
Morton game...

Playing 3-4-1-2 as per real life (sort of). Won 2nd division with an unbeaten record, 31 wins i think it was. Sold Jim McAllister to Aston Villa, Chris Millar to Killie and Jason Walker to Doncaster during winter transfer window that season, combined total of about £900k. Brought in Dargo and Harty amongst others. Then bought Walker back for 14k and got money from sell on clause!

Just finished season in 1st div, finished 1st 8 points clear of Dundee. Sold Harding to Leicester for 400k during transfer window and then Weatherson, who was far and away my most consistent player to Huddersfield for £1M! Managed to get some cheap Eastern Europeans to replace them who all turned out bargains, especially Sander Post, Estonian international with great stats. Best signing though was Allan McGregor on a free from Rangers at start of 1st Div season, he's played so well he wants to go to a bigger club already!

Just about to start SPl season, team is roughly as below...

A. McGregor

Greacen - Post - Canning/N.Collins (just signed on free from Sunderland)

A.Walker - Kamubinda - McLaughlin - Tesevic (from livi)

Hussain Yader (Qatar international!)

J.Walker/Templeman - Lilley (1st Div player of year)
Bryan
In my first SPL season we started off very shakey until I added two defensive mids, instead of just one and swithed Maloney to AMR then i started to leap up the league until McInnes got crocked in November but I got Broadfoot in Jan then the team got going. I Leaked goals but scored lots and finshed 3rd .

Thit summer I signed Gary O'Connor, Tom Brighton, Zander Diamond, Gary Caldwell, Kris Boyd, Steven Whittaker and Denis Berger. Stark, McGurn,Lilley, McInnes and McLaren left and Sold Nish to Hearts and Weatherson to Celtic and Jim McAlister was sold and I couldn't afford him

edinton
sometimes i hate this game:

http://img297.imageshack.us/my.php?image=penalties1gs.jpg

mad.gif
kullibino
Was thinking of buying it, but it sounds pish.