Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(Synex @ Feb 5 2007, 19:30) [snapback]1401810[/snapback]
Anyone know a good mirror download site for the latest update? The SIgames.com one is slow as feck.

Also, 1eye.gif time here but how do I check what exact version of the game I have currently? My game says it's version 7.0.1, but when I click on the "check for updates" it directs me to the version on sigames.com mentioned above, also 7.0.1. I assume there are slight differences though?

Seeing how my game couldn't find the update when it was first released, i assumed that the feature didn't work wink.gif

If SI can't label their versions properly, then thats their own fault. I've only heard of the one patch out so far.
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Synex @ Feb 5 2007, 19:30) [snapback]1401810[/snapback]
Anyone know a good mirror download site for the latest update? The SIgames.com one is slow as feck.

Also, 1eye.gif time here but how do I check what exact version of the game I have currently? My game says it's version 7.0.1, but when I click on the "check for updates" it directs me to the version on sigames.com mentioned above, also 7.0.1. I assume there are slight differences though?

Yes, 7.0.1 was released then about a week later another slightly different version was released.

There's a new patch due out shortly wink.gif
Casper Rose
QUOTE(qos_75 @ Jan 31 2007, 20:10) [snapback]1393716[/snapback]
I am Napoli at the moment and came 4th in Serie B. I was beaten in the play-off by somebody of the calibre of Empoli or something. Anyway, I have decided my coaches are pish with their negative cautious style of play. However, it is only other cautious bloody Italians that are applying for the posts. How do I get coaches that like to attack, to apply?

I suppose I could poach them, but I am a busy manager, I don't have time to poach. Any ideas would be welcome. smile.gif

When doing a player search, look for the click down tab that says "player search" then click coaches, you can try and sign your own there.
Casper Rose
QUOTE(The Crippler @ Feb 2 2007, 18:31) [snapback]1397376[/snapback]
Pah, when you win 22 League Titles and 20 European Cups in a row (Rangers - 19 titles and 17 Euro Cups, Gretna - 3 titles and 3 Euro Cups) like I did in FM05 then you might have something to shout about.

But why lie about a computer game?
BishyTON
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Feb 5 2007, 22:49) [snapback]1402263[/snapback]
But why lie about a computer game?

Because it is not a lie, it is the truth mate. It was in FM05 and I ended the game in 2028. It was something like 10 days worth of game time!!

Edited to add - The one problem I have with FM games is that after the first 8 seasons or so it starts to get a lot easier. If you use the simple tactic of buying all the 14, 15 and 16 year old top stars (who you can normally acquire for under £100k a pop) then by the time 8 seasons is up you have a team which is practically unbeatable. By 2012 in that game I could put out a reserve side and win 4-0+ in the league and my first team would regularly destroy teams in Europe without any thought going into tactics. It makes the game a bit boring to say the least.
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Feb 5 2007, 22:46) [snapback]1402254[/snapback]
Yes, 7.0.1 was released then about a week later another slightly different version was released.

There's a new patch due out shortly wink.gif

Then why isn't it 7.0.1.1?

My game says i have 7.0.1, the update is 7.0.1.... I've got it already.

SI tut tut tut.
Peterhead Dave
It's 7.0.1 build something or other. Naughty SI indeed.
Dunc
Can anyone tell me what the sort of requirements are for a player to be granted a work permit?
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Dunc @ Feb 6 2007, 15:52) [snapback]1402938[/snapback]
Can anyone tell me what the sort of requirements are for a player to be granted a work permit?

I could be wrong, but as I understand it:

To be automatically granted a UK work permit, a footballer must have played 75% of competitive matches for his nation over the past two years and that nation must be within the top 75 countries in FIFAs rankings. If a work permit is not granted, the decision may be appealed on the grounds of the player being of exceptional talent or on the basis that he would have played the qualifying percentage of games for his country but for injury/suspensions.

Or something laugh.gif
garymcc1874
mad.gif

3rd in the SPL with Morton, 8 points behind Celtic; 4 behind Aberdeen (after 23 games)

Sounds great...

Then EIGHT key players get injured! sad.gif (3 of which are for 2-3 months)
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Feb 6 2007, 16:42) [snapback]1403028[/snapback]
I could be wrong, but as I understand it:

To be automatically granted a UK work permit, a footballer must have played 75% of competitive matches for his nation over the past two years and that nation must be within the top 75 countries in FIFAs rankings. If a work permit is not granted, the decision may be appealed on the grounds of the player being of exceptional talent or on the basis that he would have played the qualifying percentage of games for his country but for injury/suspensions.

Or something laugh.gif

Thats what I've understood it as too.

Has anyone appealed a WP application and succeeded?
Russ.
QUOTE(XaaronPrimus @ Feb 6 2007, 17:54) [snapback]1403120[/snapback]
Thats what I've understood it as too.

I'm sure the rule will be different in the game than in real life.

Has anyone appealed a WP application and succeeded?

I have quite a few times, admittedly not as many times as I've been rejected though.

If they've not got any International caps you've basically got no chance of securing a work permit.
SampFan101
Just thought i'd let you all know that www.fmformation.net have an update out with the January transfers. Some aren't correct but its good enough until the actual SI one comes out
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Only1Hagi @ Feb 6 2007, 18:27) [snapback]1403165[/snapback]

Given SI strive for realism, why should the rule be different?
Butterfield
QUOTE(Only1Hagi @ Feb 6 2007, 18:27) [snapback]1403165[/snapback]

I'm sure it will too, because in my game, when I score, it counts double. laugh.gif
Russ.
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Feb 6 2007, 19:30) [snapback]1403294[/snapback]
Given SI strive for realism, why should the rule be different?

QUOTE(Ruggy @ Feb 6 2007, 19:40) [snapback]1403324[/snapback]
I'm sure it will too, because in my game, when I score, it counts double. laugh.gif

tongue.gif

I didn't mean it would be totally different just that I thought it would be hard for them to take all that in to account. Also whether the permot gets granted or not in the game seems more ot do with whether they are in their national squad or not rather than percentage of appearances made.
Kylesons
QUOTE(SampFan101 @ Feb 6 2007, 19:10) [snapback]1403252[/snapback]
Just thought i'd let you all know that www.fmformation.net have an update out with the January transfers. Some aren't correct but its good enough until the actual SI one comes out

Are the scottish leagues updated?
StewartyMac
I downloaded a new tactic for the game, but it doesn't seem to appear when I go to the tactics section in the game.

I looked in the tactics file and the tactic is definitely there, and it is a .tac file, so why isn't it appearing in the game?

Any ideas?
Peterhead Dave
Have you put it in the C:\Program Files\ FM directory, or the one in My Documents? I think it has to be in the relevant folder under My Docs to show up
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Feb 6 2007, 21:12) [snapback]1403582[/snapback]
Have you put it in the C:\Program Files\ FM directory, or the one in My Documents? I think it has to be in the relevant folder under My Docs to show up

It's in the program files one. I didn't even know there was a folder in the My Documents section. unsure.gif huh.gif

Any kits, logos, or player facepacks that I've d/loaded have all gone in the Program Files folder.
StewartyMac
Just found that folder and put them in there....I'm gonnae try it now.
StewartyMac
Dave, yer a genius biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Feb 6 2007, 21:23) [snapback]1403616[/snapback]
Dave, yer a genius biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Well, y'know... wink.gif
St. Starko
I uninstalled it sad.gif it's too addictive and im shite at it. so i'm hopefully gonna sell it a.s.a.p sad.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE(St. Starko @ Feb 6 2007, 23:54) [snapback]1404024[/snapback]
it's too addictive and im shite at it.

Thats what keeps me playing it. laugh.gif
Ayr United FC
QUOTE(St. Starko @ Feb 6 2007, 23:54) [snapback]1404024[/snapback]
I uninstalled it sad.gif it's too addictive and im shite at it. so i'm hopefully gonna sell it a.s.a.p sad.gif

I was shite at management games at first, you get better at it with practice.
DJP
How do all you people do those screen shots? Do you need photoshop or Acrobat Distiller to do them?
Dunc
QUOTE(DJP @ Feb 7 2007, 12:58) [snapback]1404392[/snapback]
How do all you people do those screen shots? Do you need photoshop or Acrobat Distiller to do them?

Nope.

On your keyboard, there's a "Print Screen/SysRq" button, or similar.

Press that.

Then go into Paint, and press "Ctrl + V"

Save the image and then upload it to here and show us!
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Ayr United FC @ Feb 7 2007, 12:31) [snapback]1404346[/snapback]
I was shite at management games at first, you get better at it with practice.

I've been playing management games since Football Manager by Kevin Toms in 1983 and I've always been rubbish at them,

Apart from Champ Man 93, where I led York to Premiership and European Cup glory. Heady days. biggrin.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Feb 7 2007, 17:05) [snapback]1404828[/snapback]
I've been playing management games since Football Manager by Kevin Toms in 1983 and I've always been rubbish at them,

Apart from Champ Man 93, where I led York to Premiership and European Cup glory. Heady days. biggrin.gif

I loved playing champ manager 93 on the Amiga, still play it now and again on the Amiga emulator on the pc.

Far too easy mind but that's prob the appeal ph34r.gif
StewartyMac
On the subject of Champ Man, I heard (or I might have dreamt it) that there was a patch for the greatest ever version (01/02) that allowed you to play that version with 2007 team and player data.

Anyone else heard this?
F_T_Y
I won 4 out of five of my pre season friendlies with Millwall. I'm trying to sign Lee Dixion from Dundee and Kevin James from St Johnstone to bolster my defence.
Fudge
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Feb 7 2007, 21:08) [snapback]1405253[/snapback]
On the subject of Champ Man, I heard (or I might have dreamt it) that there was a patch for the greatest ever version (01/02) that allowed you to play that version with 2007 team and player data.

Anyone else heard this?

There is. Dubs (and possibly Jammy) both use it I think so give one of them a PM.

I've started up a game with Brentford but before I began I moved Neil Shipperly from Sheffield United to Brentford as he has moved in real life.

13 games in, 10 wins, 2 draws 1 defeat with 34 points out of a possible 39, bizarrely, Nottingham Forrest are one point above me with their only defeat coming against me.

I'm through to the next round of the prestegious Johnstone Paint Trophy and into the 4th round of the League Cup after beating Grimsby and Crystal Palace by a single goal.

All is well although the squad is fairly thin and I'm getting by on the goals of Joe Kuffour. Lloyd Owusu is out for 4 months (starts the game injured). Kuffour's strike partner Moore is also getting a few but when one of them is injured I am forced to play an attacking mid up front. Not ideal but it's working.

I don't think i'll win the league as when injuries kick in I'll be fairly goosed so will seek to bring in a few loan players from the EPL or Chapionship.
Tomsk The Beano
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Feb 7 2007, 17:05) [snapback]1404828[/snapback]

Them was the days, Kevin Keegan etc etc. The bizarre thing was as you approached seasons end you sold all your best players and bought the duff ones as all 5 rated players became a 1 at the start of the new season and vice versa.

...anyway back to 2007 - my first season at East Fife continues to go badly, currently 8th in the league and the January transfer window has now slammed shut with me only being able to add 2 players : Kevin Finlayson on a free who proceeed to break his arm in his second game and Steve Ferguson who was signed as a back up left back.

I currently have 6 of my first 11 injured, a rubbish parent agreement with Motherwell which saw me get a goalie who managed to get a 3 rating in a game, a striker who has scored 1 goal all season and Scot Crabbe wants £8000 for a contract termination.

I've got a squad of 31 and I'm freeing 18 of them at the end of the season and looking to pick up some good frees.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Tomsk The Beano @ Feb 8 2007, 11:10) [snapback]1405838[/snapback]
...anyway back to 2007 - my first season at East Fife continues to go badly, currently 8th in the league and the January transfer window has now slammed shut with me only being able to add 2 players : Kevin Finlayson on a free who proceeed to break his arm in his second game and Steve Ferguson who was signed as a back up left back.

I currently have 6 of my first 11 injured, a rubbish parent agreement with Motherwell which saw me get a goalie who managed to get a 3 rating in a game, a striker who has scored 1 goal all season and Scot Crabbe wants £8000 for a contract termination.

I've got a squad of 31 and I'm freeing 18 of them at the end of the season and looking to pick up some good frees.

Sounds very realistic then what with East Fifes situation laugh.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Feb 7 2007, 21:08) [snapback]1405253[/snapback]

Anyone else heard this?

Anybody know of any patches that make 97/98 more updated ph34r.gif

I played this one the most, I actually purchased a 1ghz machine as a second pc just so I could play it now and again as it had problems working on my Athlon 64 machine with Windows XP

Brings me to another problem I cant play CM3 due to the fact that I don't have enough memory despite the fact that I have 2 gig, I think the game has problems with more than 512meg of ram.

Anybody know how to fix it?
garymcc1874
Finished the season 5th in the SPL with Morton, well behind 1st and 2nd place but not too far behind 3rd and 4th.

Click to view attachment

biggrin.gif

With this team...

Click to view attachment

I WON THE SCOTTISH CUP THOUGH biggrin.gif Beating Hearts 4-0 in the semi-final, and beating Aberdeen 3-1 on penalties in the final. smile.gif

Click to view attachment
Casper Rose
Went Airdrie United, in my 2nd season already after just a few days. I'm just going to sum up my 1st season in pictures as it was so rotten.

Ann Marie Ballantyne took over from Jim during the first season and invested 300k, which is gone due to the ridiculously high ground maintenence! In the second season I've only played 6 or so games, and got a parent club with Rangers, I've used that to bring in John Fleck and Van Der Broeck...who are shit hot! My team are flying high at this early stage due to my flair players and all out attack tactics, I was narrowly defeated in the league cup by Aberdeen, I was beaten 1-0 despite dominating the whole match. My stand-out players have been Stephen McKenna and Graeme Holmes, who play defensive and attacking midfielders respectively. I have released the duds and great pre season signings have propelled me to top of the league, my new signings were : Gary Irvine, Joel Grant, David Mannix, Tom Heaton, Charlie Lee, David Templeton, Dean Richardson and Paul Thirwell. Who have all excelled with the execption of Thirwell and Mannix, whos oppurtunities in the team have been somewhat limited.
BishyTON
Exactly halfway through my second season as Portsmouth manager. Currently top of the league by 6 points from Chelsea, with Arsenal a further point back. Team is not playing great right now, been very lucky in winning most of my recent games. I will have to make a few signing in the transfer window to have any chance of maintaining this position. Next match is against Chelsea at home, what a big game that is going to be.

In Europe things have not been so good. After destroying Lokomotiv Moscow 6-0 on aggregate I drew Sevilla, Celtic and Dortmund. Began with a poor 1-0 defeat in Seville, but managed to beat both Dortmund and Celtic at home. Had a shocker at Parkhead, lost 2-1 going on 6-1. Managed a crucial away win in Dortmund before drawing the final game against Sevilla. Finished second in the group behind Celtic. I have since drew Porto in the next round, which I was delighted with as it is without a doubt the easiest draw I could have got.

Kylesons
Just Won the 2nd divsion with 4 games to go. it was always between me and clyde with them run away with 2nd. now going to try and crack the USA the now smile.gif
Kylesons
QUOTE(kyle_number1son2004 @ Feb 9 2007, 13:06) [snapback]1407826[/snapback]
Just Won the 2nd divsion with 4 games to go. it was always between me and clyde with them run away with 2nd. now going to try and crack the USA the now smile.gif

Click to view attachment

wink.gif
kinlossbhoy
Sorry if this has been asked before, but when downloading the patch, when it comes to the option to either run or save the file, which do i pick?

And where do i save it to?
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(kinlossbhoy @ Feb 9 2007, 21:46) [snapback]1408685[/snapback]
Sorry if this has been asked before, but when downloading the patch, when it comes to the option to either run or save the file, which do i pick?

And where do i save it to?

Just save it to the desktop that way you can keep it if you ever need to install the game again rather than downloading it.

Just save it to the desktop.
kinlossbhoy
ta, do you know if the patch sorts out the problem with teams installing undersoil heating at the end of each year... bit of a bitch that! Also, assistants set to arrange friendlies don't... is that fixed too?

Ta in advance!
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(kinlossbhoy @ Feb 9 2007, 22:15) [snapback]1408738[/snapback]
ta, do you know if the patch sorts out the problem with teams installing undersoil heating at the end of each year... bit of a bitch that! Also, assistants set to arrange friendlies don't... is that fixed too?

Ta in advance!

What's the problem with undersoil heating?

Also what problems have you had with friendlies?
kinlossbhoy
QUOTE(Steven @ Feb 9 2007, 23:26) [snapback]1408758[/snapback]
What's the problem with undersoil heating?

Also what problems have you had with friendlies?

Well, I started a game with St Mirren, and every end of season the board spend money on installing undersoil heating, which costs money a skint club from paisley can't afford (I need money for players!)

And although i set my assistant to arrange friendlies on manager options he hasn't done it ever! I put up with it for the first few seasons, but thats me started 10/11 season now and am hacked off with it now!

Just wee things i know, but they start to frustrate, especially when your team is piss poor!
Kylesons
help: i had set up a network game with a pal not long ago and i had 2 i.ps that didnt work so i downloaded hamachi which has worked before and that changed my ip and that didnt work also. can anyone tell me how to solve this?
SampFan101
Moved some teams out of the SFL and brought Clydebank, Deveronvale, Inverurie and Huntly in. Currently 2nd in my first season with Huntly with a young striker i nabbed on a freebie named Ryan Pow leading my scoring chart
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(kinlossbhoy @ Feb 9 2007, 22:38) [snapback]1408777[/snapback]
Well, I started a game with St Mirren, and every end of season the board spend money on installing undersoil heating, which costs money a skint club from paisley can't afford (I need money for players!)

And although i set my assistant to arrange friendlies on manager options he hasn't done it ever! I put up with it for the first few seasons, but thats me started 10/11 season now and am hacked off with it now!

Just wee things i know, but they start to frustrate, especially when your team is piss poor!

Never had those problems myself, you will prob need to start a new game to see the effects of the patch. Not trying to be funny but you def have an assistant manager?

Also download this it allows you to change things during the game cool.gif

http://www.fmunderground.net/fmu/index.php?fmu=8_3_572
SampFan101
Currently plowing up D3 with Huntly right now but somethings came up namely the Falkirk jon for which i'm the odds on favourite. SPL from Part time Division three? I think i'm leaving the Highlands