Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Whistle Blower
QUOTE(Dunc @ Dec 10 2006, 19:04) [snapback]1310750[/snapback]

With the inclusion of Marvin and Armand Oné, as well as a load of our loan signings, it makes being Raith boss much easier. I'm up to the quarter-finals of the challenge cup, and I've won every game except a draw at home to Brechin, and an extra-time loss to St Johnstone in the aforementioned Quarters.

Only problem is there is no opportunity to loan any additional players till the 2nd season, rendering any parent club tie up useless.
Cowshed Chris
Has anyone tried playing with Southampton in the Championship??? I expected it to be a walk in the park, ended up finishing 19th - and only down to a strong second half - and getting sacked.

Gutted!
F_T_Y
This game is really getting on my tits.I dont know why it dosent work every time i try to play It says it is low on memory im thinking of handing it back in and getting it for the ps2 instead seems a lot less hassle.
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(F_T_Y @ Dec 14 2006, 21:13) [snapback]1317350[/snapback]

This game is really getting on my tits.I dont know why it dosent work every time i try to play It says it is low on memory im thinking of handing it back in and getting it for the ps2 instead seems a lot less hassle.

Agree with Casper Rose above about cleaning the machine and not running anything else.

How much RAM does your machine have?
F_T_Y

[/quote]

How would i find that out ?
Kylesons
QUOTE(F_T_Y @ Dec 14 2006, 21:41) [snapback]1317389[/snapback]

How would i find that out ?

My Computer
On the left somthing should say system tasks
Under system tasks click view system information.
Kylesons
[attachmentid=13113]

thats it wink.gif
supermac
Game arrived thru the post today. Going as the Saints first up.

Signed Grady on a free and Stanger, Lawson and Jamie Winter on loan. Tiger has just gone on loan to Clyde for 6 months.

Playing 3-5-2 but still not sure of my best starting XI. Still at the pre-season friendlies stage.

Any advice from anyone who has started as St Mirren in 07? unsure.gif
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(kyle_number1son2004 @ Dec 14 2006, 21:43) [snapback]1317396[/snapback]

My Computer
On the left somthing should say system tasks
Under system tasks click view system information.

I always right-click "My Computer" and select properties. same difference though.

Should be down the bottom of the screen that pops up.

This is all if you are using windows XP of course. might be similar in 2000, but after that, you're knacked. tongue.gif
palmy_cammy
QUOTE(supermac @ Dec 14 2006, 22:25) [snapback]1317521[/snapback]

Game arrived thru the post today. Going as the Saints first up.

Signed Grady on a free and Stanger, Lawson and Jamie Winter on loan. Tiger has just gone on loan to Clyde for 6 months.

Playing 3-5-2 but still not sure of my best starting XI. Still at the pre-season friendlies stage.

Any advice from anyone who has started as St Mirren in 07? unsure.gif

Got him on loan for Queens and he was awesome something like 17 goals in 17 games. That was only in the demo though was marooned in relegation when it ended (the demo only runs til January!) In my proper game I'm in my fourth season as Liverpool! A young Rangers goalie Gerard McNab became a star in my Liverpool game could be worth considering?
Kylesons
QUOTE(palmy_cammy @ Dec 15 2006, 02:09) [snapback]1317871[/snapback]

Got him on loan for Queens and he was awesome something like 17 goals in 17 games. That was only in the demo though was marooned in relegation when it ended (the demo only runs til January!) In my proper game I'm in my fourth season as Liverpool! A young Rangers goalie Gerard McNab became a star in my Liverpool game could be worth considering?

He isnt in my game blink.gif
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(kyle_number1son2004 @ Dec 15 2006, 11:49) [snapback]1318104[/snapback]

He isnt in my game blink.gif

He'll be a random, they tend to pop up. The 2 Aberdeen games I Started, both times got a random young keeper signing.
Kylesons
i think there is a bug with penaltys as ever penalty iv taken or been against, the kepper has saved them
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(kyle_number1son2004 @ Dec 15 2006, 12:27) [snapback]1318195[/snapback]

i think there is a bug with penaltys as ever penalty iv taken or been against, the kepper has saved them

Nah, just pish poor pen takers biggrin.gif
Kylesons
well im in a piss league wink.gif
SampFan101
Fuckin McMaster accepted a bid for me from Arsenal, i'm heavy pissed aff because its such shite price, £1.7 Million is 10x less than what i want for myself

I'm managing under a pseudonym, btw

Fuctifano
Ya dancer! Another last day of the season effort, scraped a 1-0 win at home to Arbroath on the final day to seal it. Going into the playoffs againt my bogey team QoS would not have filled me with much confidence. 2 promotions in 3 seasons, when will the bubble burst?

Was quite pleased considering Stanger and Callaghan, 2 of my first choice picks, started 11 and 18 games between them all season due to injury. Having said that, if Onibuje had got injured I'd have been lucky to stay up, never mind win the thing.

Also in this game, MoN is back at Sellick after Strachan went to Liverpool, and Levein is back at Hearts huh.gif

Dunc
[attachmentid=13125]

My keeper had a light injury at half-time, and I assumed it was OK to replace him, what with the 3-1 lead!
palmy_cammy
QUOTE(Synex @ Dec 15 2006, 17:42) [snapback]1318685[/snapback]

Also in this game, MoN is back at Sellick after Strachan went to Liverpool, and Levein is back at Hearts huh.gif

I'm four seasons into a game and Martin O'Neill has returned to Celtic and since been replaced by Davie Moyes, this is after Rangers winning the league every time! Paul Le Guen is the Real Madrid manager!
SampFan101
I'm within touching distance now of the SPL title after a 4-2 win over Dundee United. Hearts stand in my way and a win against them will seal the SPL title for the Jags!!!
Mon The Clyde
[attachmentid=13128]

cool.gif
The Real Saints
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Dec 16 2006, 20:32) [snapback]1320150[/snapback]

[attachmentid=13128]

cool.gif

Chris Dewar scores 4, eh? wink.gif laugh.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(The Real Saints @ Dec 16 2006, 21:18) [snapback]1320226[/snapback]

Chris Dewar scores 4, eh? wink.gif laugh.gif

tongue.gif tongue.gif
SampFan101
IPB Image

Simply superb
supermac
Struggling with my first season as St Mirren with 5 defeats on the spin sad.gif

Have replaced Smith with Bullock in nets and switched from 3-5-2 to 4-4-2 to see if results improve unsure.gif
Loki
QUOTE(SampFan101 @ Dec 16 2006, 22:16) [snapback]1320315[/snapback]

IPB Image

Simply superb

f**k me I never knew they made it for the Amstrad.
Fuctifano
Does anyone know if there's a trigger for your team to become full-time?

Hardly anyone will sign for me on loan and I think it's partly because of the fact my club status is still listed as semi-pro, although I'm in division 1. My entire first team squad are on F/T contracts though.

Obviously IRL there are teams in Div 1 like QoS (and others in the past) who are part-time so it's not unrealistic, just wondering if I can get the board to change it.
Fuctifano
Anyway, here's one for crazy matches. League cup tie away to Arbroath, they go down to 10 men early on, I have a man sent off on the hour. I go 1-0 up but lose a 90th minute equaliser.

Into the second half of ET, and they have used all their subs- they get one man injured, so down to 9 men, and play a 4-4-0. Just as I'm about to change my formation, they get another man injured, so it's 10 on 8. I fire 4 up front for the last 10 minutes, hoping to take advantage- then comes this message with 5 to go "Arbroath have changed to an attacking formation". I click on the formation screen and the attached was there.

You'd think that even with 5 to play there would be goals, but despite having 4 absolute sitters in that time it went to penalties. I won 4-2, but as my keeper went up to take the vital kick, it said "Harris feels that was never a penalty" huh.gif
SampFan101
QUOTE(Carlos @ Dec 17 2006, 18:28) [snapback]1321492[/snapback]

f**k me I never knew they made it for the Amstrad.

a just took it oot of my FM story in Microsoft word lol
David W
I seemingly just changed from a 4231 formation to a.........4231 formation. Thanks for that.
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(David W @ Dec 19 2006, 13:25) [snapback]1324311[/snapback]

I seemingly just changed from a 4231 formation to a.........4231 formation. Thanks for that.

I thought they had fixed that in the patch?
SampFan101
Add in the Belarus leagues, there a lot of quite good youngsters there, Alexander Hlebs brother plays for Hearts' feeder club, MTZ and is available for a knockdown price of 250k
DJP
Just downloading the current patch, as fed up getting 5/6 injuries every week. However it is saying it takes 2 hours to download. Is this the norm?
DJP
QUOTE(DJP @ Dec 19 2006, 21:12) [snapback]1325185[/snapback]

Just downloading the current patch, as fed up getting 5/6 injuries every week. However it is saying it takes 2 hours to download. Is this the norm?

Grr 2 hours 4mins to go and only 10% so far. zzzz
DJP
Oi!!! Come on monkey's!! Someone reply.
DJP
IPB Image
Peterhead Dave
It depends what speed your connection is. I think mine took 40 minutes on broadband...
DJP
I'm on broadband. Nothing takes this long. I think I should have maybe re-started my pc. Pc always seems to run slow after I have had football manager on
Gaz
Has anyone else got sick of playing the FM games due to the amount of bugs there are?

Mine's has lay in the box for months.
DJP
My game keeps crashing and seem to have an injury crises nearly every week.

This and pro-evo are the only games I play and pretty much lost interest in both now. Give me poker everyday of the week
Gaz
QUOTE(DJP @ Dec 20 2006, 12:52) [snapback]1325813[/snapback]

My game keeps crashing and seem to have an injury crises nearly every week.

This and pro-evo are the only games I play and pretty much lost interest in both now. Give me poker everyday of the week

I don't think I've ever really enjoyed a CM/FM game since 01/02. The ones since then have been bug-filled inferior versions.
MTJ
QUOTE(SampFan101 @ Dec 19 2006, 14:31) [snapback]1324459[/snapback]

Add in the Belarus leagues, there a lot of quite good youngsters there, Alexander Hlebs brother plays for Hearts' feeder club, MTZ and is available for a knockdown price of 250k

Seems like a bargain. rolleyes.gif
Mushroom
I've not really had any serious problem with bugs.

The only ones I've had problems with are the not claling back from reserves after injury and the high appearance fees, and they are both easily fixed.
Kylesons
Does anyone know where i could get the french national club kits ?
Adam Wee
QUOTE(Gaz @ Dec 20 2006, 14:38) [snapback]1325993[/snapback]

I don't think I've ever really enjoyed a CM/FM game since 01/02. The ones since then have been bug-filled inferior versions.

Indeed, I started a new season with Preston North End in Champ Man 01/02 last night and it is miles better than FM. I actually forgot how good it was! biggrin.gif
Falkirks-Finest
Started a Game with Raith won promotion through the play-offs.

Players in:

Jamie Mcdonald(Hearts)
Alan Rattray(Forfar)
Charlie King(Brechin)
Tomana(stirling)
gomis(cowdenbeath)
konte(hibs)
templeton(stenny)
michie(peterhead)
Nicholls and Sheilds(gretna)
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Falkirks-Finest @ Dec 20 2006, 18:00) [snapback]1326329[/snapback]

Started a Game with Raith won promotion through the play-offs.

Players in:

Jamie Mcdonald(Hearts)
Alan Rattray(Forfar)
Charlie King(Brechin)
Tomana(stirling)
gomis(cowdenbeath)
konte(hibs)
templeton(stenny)
michie(peterhead)
Nicholls and Sheilds(gretna)

I Always thought most Falkirk fans were closet Raith fans wink.gif
supermac
Has anyone gone St Mirren from the off and managed to keep them in the SPL? And if so, please tell me how cos it's driving me mad.

I've got about 9 games to go in this season and am rock bottom, about 7 points off safety. I have tried endless systems, changed the players about but to no avail. The constant chain of defeats would be depressing if it wasn't for the fact that it highlights how well the real team has done this year! rolleyes.gif
Mr X
QUOTE(ochil-clyde @ Dec 20 2006, 16:25) [snapback]1326168[/snapback]

I've not really had any serious problem with bugs.

The only ones I've had problems with are the not claling back from reserves after injury and the high appearance fees, and they are both easily fixed.

How exactly? Have you been through the editor and changed all of the other clubs appearance fees?
SampFan101
QUOTE(MTJ @ Dec 20 2006, 15:41) [snapback]1326091[/snapback]

Seems like a bargain. rolleyes.gif

It is when you consider on the last version he was woth a lot more than that, and still only 23 wink.gif