Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Dunc
1 game left in the league, and i'm 9th, 2 points behind Forfar.

I've got to play Raith (3rd) at home, possibly without Myles Hogarth, which is a big problem.

Forfar are away to Partick (1st, by about 20 points) so I should be able to rely on them getting beat.

Looks like i'm heading for a play-off, as theres not much chance of me beating Raith sad.gif I'm having to use the players already at the club, and TBH, they are quite shit.
sergie's no1 fan
just started a new game , try getting leeds utd out that hellhole of a division you call the championship ohmy.gif

got big thompson on loan, and bought keano and kirky .That used up all of my £200k transfer kitty laugh.gif
Falkirk till I die
QUOTE(robsonisgod @ Nov 4 2005, 15:41) [snapback]736769[/snapback]

Christ I must be shit at this game! laugh.gif

Everyone else is doing brilliantly and I am floundering! sad.gif

It's not just you

First season with Falkirk I got relegated ph34r.gif

But I did win the scottish cup beating Aberdeen, Brechin, St Mirren, Hibs and Hearts
Dunc
QUOTE(Dunc @ Nov 5 2005, 13:29) [snapback]737651[/snapback]

1 game left in the league, and i'm 9th, 2 points behind Forfar.

I've got to play Raith (3rd) at home, possibly without Myles Hogarth, which is a big problem.

Forfar are away to Partick (1st, by about 20 points) so I should be able to rely on them getting beat.

Looks like i'm heading for a play-off, as theres not much chance of me beating Raith sad.gif I'm having to use the players already at the club, and TBH, they are quite shit.

Predicatbly, I was beaten 3-0 in what turned out to be an away game at Raith. Forfar lost but it was pointless anyway - but Ayr managed to beat Dumbarton and finish 1 point above me so that I was last sad.gif

I resigned after 3 games, 1 goal, and 20 days in charge.
Mitre56
Is it just me or is it hard to score a penalty. Had shootouts and ones in during then game but never scored one
Scott_L
So how much better is it than FM 05 which I thought was excellent, what are the main imprvements/changes?

Does anyone know if you can fix cup draws or get the real fixture lists? Also has anyone played as Gretna and if so what is the budget and expectations?

Cheers
Dunc
QUOTE(Scott_L @ Nov 7 2005, 17:37) [snapback]740527[/snapback]

So how much better is it than FM 05 which I thought was excellent, what are the main imprvements/changes?

Does anyone know if you can fix cup draws or get the real fixture lists? Also has anyone played as Gretna and if so what is the budget and expectations?

Cheers

Gretna must have a lot of cash. I sold 7 players, 5 to Gretna, all for decent prices.
supermac
Won 1st Division in my first season - an omen of whats to come in the real world I hope cool.gif

Highlight was Trigger and Norrie McWhirter offering their congrats, 2 heroes of mine from the past, emotional scenes crying.gif

Key to the success were loan signings Finbogason (Celtic) and Sam Morrow (Hibs). When I sold Keano and Sutton got injured these 2 came in and scored about 30 between them. Sadly cant afford to buy either sad.gif
codfish
After winning the Third Division at a canter, I took Montrose to within 90 minutes of Division 1, but lost in the play-off final to Airdrie United. That was my last game in charge though, as I was offered the St Mirren job, and couldn't turn it down. I've already had to save Hugh Murray and Simon Lappin from the transfer list, and lost Ian Maxwell on a free transfer. Still got Keano, the good Sutton brother ( biggrin.gif ) and the Roadrunner to choose from up front. smile.gif

I've brought a few players in on bosmans, but I couldn't affoird to bring any of my Montrose stars to Love Street. Since I left, John Coughlin (the new manager at Links Park) has sold David Graham for £40k and Stephen McKeown for £20k - the b*****d is breaking my team up sad.gif
Dunc
Still not got a job! Stirling haven't had a manager for 5 and a half months ohmy.gif

Elgin are also looking for a manager.

I applied for both months ago, and i've not heard any news.
supermac
Anyone been in the SPL with St Mirren??

Really struggling, not won in first 7 games ohmy.gif

Tried various formations but nothing seems to work.

I fear the sack coming my way soon sad.gif
Butterfield
I started a game with the Saintees tonight, lost to Gretna in a friendly, then whipped Falkirk 3-0. I resigned immediately after that match, livid. mad.gif

tongue.gif
codfish
QUOTE(Ruggy @ Nov 8 2005, 23:14) [snapback]742427[/snapback]

I started a game with the Saintees tonight, lost to Gretna in a friendly, then whipped Falkirk 3-0. I resigned immediately after that match, livid. mad.gif

tongue.gif

The Saintees are good fun to manage, but even more fun to gub 7-1 as the real Saints, with 5 goals coming from Blimey Helmet! laugh.gif biggrin.gif
Butterfield
QUOTE(codfish @ Nov 9 2005, 00:07) [snapback]742549[/snapback]

The Saintees are good fun to manage, but even more fun to gub 7-1 as the real Saints, with 5 goals coming from Blimey Helmet! laugh.gif biggrin.gif

I relegated Kevin James, Mark Campbell and John Henry to the reserves. McAnespie, interestingly enough, was already there laugh.gif

Coyle on from the start biggrin.gif

f**k that though, couldn't cope with gubbing the Bairns, or working for that horses arse, "Geoffrey" huh.gif
codfish
QUOTE(Ruggy @ Nov 9 2005, 00:12) [snapback]742553[/snapback]

I relegated Kevin James, Mark Campbell and John Henry to the reserves. McAnespie, interestingly enough, was already there laugh.gif

Coyle on from the start biggrin.gif

f**k that though, couldn't cope with gubbing the Bairns, or working for that horses arse, "Geoffrey" huh.gif

You see, Football Manager is a strange thing - it's the only time that I'm ever likely to celebrate a saints defeat (providing I'm not in charge at the time) - I was so pleased when my Montrose side went to Love Street and raped the Division 1 title favourites in the Scottish Cup laugh.gif

Much better on my conscience when I'm in charge of Saints though laugh.gif
mabosser
Well doing ok with the super j's playing standard 442 but tweaking during games, joint top with the midden after 5 games 4 wins and 1 draw, last game a 5-1 demolition of Clyde with Scotland scoring 3!

After that game my team talk was I want that performance every week, bloody team in the huff, not getting the praise they deserve! Sold Peaso for 55k and McAnespie to Lincoln for 15k. On a firm financial footing.
Bryan
biggrin.gif look what it said about Morton in my southampton game laugh.gif
ICTRMD
Finished my 2nd season with ICT in 4th place, won the League Cup after beating Celtic 2-1 in the final. smile.gif
ICTRMD
Just signed Rivaldo as a player coach. biggrin.gif
Mitre56
got promotion with rovers in second year, walked the league. Got two great players from hibs steven murray and antonio murray both players for £10k and sold them bothe on at the end of the year for £100k. Nice wee profit there. Now in 1st division struggling could not find good defenders or good back up strikers
Peterhead Dave
After winning the double (league and Scottish Cup) in my first season, my Celtic team are maintaining their good form - with the signings of Joaquin, Carlos Diogo, Roman Bednar, Danny Gabbidon and some Brazilian teenager called Edu who Dunfermline kindly brought to my attention augmenting my squad.

The Champions League isn't quite so promising this year though, as after three games I've had 2 draws and a defeat (though Sporting injuring Chris Sutton and Craig Gordon within the first 22 minutes of our game didn't really help).
codfish
After taking 7 goals off St Johnstone, I've followed that up with a 7-3 win away at Lavvy. I've now scored 47 goals in 17 games biggrin.gif

As for the league itself, with one game to go before the half-way point, I'm sitting top by 4 points. I might be developing a Tom Hendrie-like record of taking teams up in my first full season in charge biggrin.gif
Twynholm
right am morton and finsihed on 85 points in 1st season in charge of course gretna finished just above us and got automatically promoted on 87 points sad.gif . lost to partick 4-2 on aggregate in play off semis and am now mulling wheter to join down and out arbroath or stay with what i can comfortably is a class ton squad.

started off season by releasing about 15 players and signing loads including neil mcgregor, craig bryson, that striker at county(polish), steven mcgarry, jonthan evans(loan), luke steele(loan) and tom brighton.

sold loads of my top players in january transfer window for a total of 1 million pounds. came out of debt rolleyes.gif ( now coming rapidly into it sad.gif ). then in transfer window spent about 250k signing players like jerome bisgard, kolemba(grimsbay), 2 class polish strikers and many more. team is now class, and lots more to come in, also went on a 25 game unbeaten run biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif .

think i will stay at morton and take them to spl wink.gif they are the "sleeping giants" wink.gif . anyway makes a huge comparisin from my last game where i left rangers bottom of the league laugh.gif tongue.gif ohmy.gif .
Twynholm
QUOTE(codfish @ Nov 9 2005, 00:28) [snapback]742560[/snapback]

You see, Football Manager is a strange thing - it's the only time that I'm ever likely to celebrate a saints defeat (providing I'm not in charge at the time) - I was so pleased when my Montrose side went to Love Street and raped the Division 1 title favourites in the Scottish Cup laugh.gif

Much better on my conscience when I'm in charge of Saints though laugh.gif

i celebrate when ever i score on FM wink.gif cant help it wink.gif . such a f****n class game rolleyes.gif cant get enough of it wink.gif
codfish
Just got some good news from my board biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=4548]
Stu
Started a game with Saints after getting bored of my one with Hearts.

Currently four points clear of Ross County after about a third of the season and won the Challenge Cup (incredibly realistic). Highlight was a 6-4 win at McDairmid Park having been behind 2-0, 3-2 and 4-3 with my sub scoring four goals, including two in the last minute laugh.gif

Playing a 4-4-2, everything seeming to be going well. Maxwell and McCay fighting it out at left back, Lappin and Corcoran at Left midfield. Signed Boggasson or whatever he's called on loan from Celtic and he's a goal machine, as is John Sutton. Keano is also scoring his fair share smile.gif
codfish
The Saints are back where they belong! biggrin.gif

Won the First Division with 4 games left - that's twice that I've taken a team to promotion in my first season in charge in this game biggrin.gif

With £4 million in my transfer kitty, hopefully I'll put up a decent challenge in the SPL tongue.gif
supermac
QUOTE(codfish @ Nov 10 2005, 13:49) [snapback]744453[/snapback]

The Saints are back where they belong! biggrin.gif

Won the First Division with 4 games left - that's twice that I've taken a team to promotion in my first season in charge in this game biggrin.gif

With £4 million in my transfer kitty, hopefully I'll put up a decent challenge in the SPL tongue.gif

Enjoy it while it lasts - my time in the SPL has been miserable thus far sad.gif
codfish
QUOTE(supermac @ Nov 10 2005, 19:07) [snapback]745053[/snapback]

Enjoy it while it lasts - my time in the SPL has been miserable thus far sad.gif

11th place is the goal, but it'll be higher if Alessandro del Piero finds some form laugh.gif
supermac
QUOTE(codfish @ Nov 10 2005, 23:02) [snapback]745474[/snapback]

11th place is the goal, but it'll be higher if Alessandro del Piero finds some form laugh.gif

Had a mini revival beating Falkirk and ICT in successive games thanks to my new diamond formation with Neil Lennon at the back and Dennis Bergkamp up front biggrin.gif

Also signed Zahovic and di Canio although both get knackered after an hour and have to come off blink.gif
Dunc
My Network pal got sacked too! laugh.gif

Berwick, Dundee, Stirling and Elgin jobs are available - but i've not heard anything - Stirling has been free for SIX MONTHS.

Dumbarton manager is under-pressure.

I better get a f'cking job soon.
RiG
I've not lpayed this in ages - should get a line for computer to join the P & B network.
Dunc
If there are any spare places in the P&B game, could the host PM me/add me on MSN.
codfish
I don't know if we actually have one running at the moment unsure.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(codfish @ Nov 11 2005, 17:23) [snapback]746527[/snapback]

I don't know if we actually have one running at the moment unsure.gif

Could someone with a bit of RAM set one up then, please??

I can only really play Network games until my new PC gets here.

My RAM is shit, so I have to leech off others.
codfish
QUOTE(Dunc @ Nov 11 2005, 18:42) [snapback]746625[/snapback]

Could someone with a bit of RAM set one up then, please??

I can only really play Network games until my new PC gets here.

My RAM is shit, so I have to leech off others.

I've got 512Mb RAM, which is the reccommended level. I'll set one up in the not-too-distant future unless someone else has a better spec unsure.gif
Butterfield
Right up the Shire! cool.gif

DB Cooper
QUOTE(Ruggy @ Nov 14 2005, 15:44) [snapback]750872[/snapback]

Right up the Shire! cool.gif

5 up at Half-time and only scoring 6.

Poor show.

laugh.gif laugh.gif
Butterfield
QUOTE(dennybairn @ Nov 14 2005, 15:50) [snapback]750879[/snapback]

5 up at Half-time and only scoring 6.

Poor show.

laugh.gif laugh.gif

I took the main men off at half time to rest them. tongue.gif Duffy stayed on though, I wanted to see how many he could get laugh.gif
DB Cooper
QUOTE(Ruggy @ Nov 14 2005, 15:53) [snapback]750888[/snapback]

I took the main men off at half time to rest them. tongue.gif Duffy stayed on though, I wanted to see how many he could get laugh.gif

Aye, very good.

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Even the reserves should have been able to score a few in the 2nd half.

Mr X
QUOTE(dennybairn @ Nov 14 2005, 16:07) [snapback]750919[/snapback]

Aye, very good.

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Even the reserves should have been able to score a few in the 2nd half.

Especially against 10 men for half an hour laugh.gif laugh.gif

Your mangerial career must be hitting the heights if beating East Stirling is your greatest achievement tongue.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
codfish
I got relegated with Saints in my first season in the SPL (sounds familiar), after failing to beat Dundee Utd on the final day - a win would have put me haead of M*rt*n on goal difference, at the very least, as their result was only important if I lost. sad.gif

Having said that, I cleared out the deadwood, and my more youthful squad (and Alvaro Recoba, who took 3 months to find form) is one win away from bouncing straight back up biggrin.gif
Peterhead Dave
Started a new game over the weekend as Barrow. Feck me it's hard. Struggling for form, but the arrivals of 37-year old wagebuster Iwan Roberts as players/coach, experienced striker Steve McCormick, and Dumbarton youngster John Gemmell has improved things. Now I just need to find a defence.

I have, however, just been knocked out of the FA Cup at the first hurdle, at home to Brigg Town in the 2nd Qualifying Round laugh.gif
codfish
QUOTE(codfish @ Nov 14 2005, 16:46) [snapback]750983[/snapback]

Having said that, I cleared out the deadwood, and my more youthful squad (and Alvaro Recoba, who took 3 months to find form) is one win away from bouncing straight back up biggrin.gif

I've done so, and finished the season a massive 27 points clear of the Saintees in second place. I've secured a 3 year deal at St Mirren, and the training facilities will be upgraded over the summer.

I've lost Stephen Murray on a free transfer, after he rejected my offer to him, but that won't be a big loss unless Alvaro Recoba fails to agree terms, or retires. Anyone else that leaves is surplus to requirements anyway smile.gif
supermac
QUOTE(codfish @ Nov 14 2005, 18:19) [snapback]751099[/snapback]

I've done so, and finished the season a massive 27 points clear of the Saintees in second place. I've secured a 3 year deal at St Mirren, and the training facilities will be upgraded over the summer.

I've lost Stephen Murray on a free transfer, after he rejected my offer to him, but that won't be a big loss unless Alvaro Recoba fails to agree terms, or retires. Anyone else that leaves is surplus to requirements anyway smile.gif

Chirst Coddy - how often do you play?? ohmy.gif ohmy.gif blink.gif

Have you just played a full season in under two hours?? ohmy.gif ohmy.gif blink.gif
codfish
QUOTE(supermac @ Nov 14 2005, 18:41) [snapback]751127[/snapback]

Chirst Coddy - how often do you play?? ohmy.gif ohmy.gif blink.gif

Have you just played a full season in under two hours?? ohmy.gif ohmy.gif blink.gif

Not quite, I just haven't updated over the weekend (and the time between my last two posts was how long it took me to play the last 6 meaningless matches of the season) wink.gif

I tend to go through it quickly anyway because I play matches without highlights being shown smile.gif
SimonLichtie
Ya fuckin beauty!!!

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

My FM got fucked after 2 days, and i've finally fixed the problem! biggrin.gif I posted it on the SI forums, and none of those gits could tell me what was wrong! sad.gif

But I fixed it! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

YAHOOOO!!
Butterfield
10th at the moment. 5 clear of bottom placed Dunfermline and 2 clear of Livi. 8 games to go.

Got to the quarters of the cup and my contract was extended by 2 1/2 years biggrin.gif

Dodgy here though, relegation still a possibility ph34r.gif
SimonLichtie
What training schedule does everyone use? smile.gif
Butterfield
QUOTE(SimonLichtie @ Nov 14 2005, 19:43) [snapback]751196[/snapback]

What training schedule does everyone use? smile.gif

I've stuck with the default for now.

7 games to go. Slipped to 11th now. Still 4 clear of the Fifers unsure.gif

Played a 4-5-1 against the huns, took the lead just before half time, then Andy Lawrie passed the ball across the face of the feckin goal and they equalised before Kris Boyd scored a screamer and I lost 2-1 mad.gif mad.gif

Getting to the tickly bit now.