Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
bairnagain
Sold Alan Gow to Aberdeen for £200,000. thumbup2.gif
Casper Rose
Just started a game with the Toon Army there, is it just me or is this game alot harder than 06? Anyway I will get screenshots up as the game progresses

TOOOOOOON ARMY!
Russ.
QUOTE(bairnagain @ Oct 22 2006, 23:06) [snapback]1238765[/snapback]

Sold Alan Gow to Aberdeen for £200,000. thumbup2.gif

I had to sell him as well, moaninig b*****d dry.gif wanted £1 million for him but the board accepted £400,000 for him from Sheff Utd so now I've got the money but there is absolutely no-one available to replace him sad.gif Wish he was half as good in real life as he is in this.
Fuctifano
Played three friendlies now as Albion Rovers, 1-1 with Brechin, 0-2 vs Gretna, 1-3 vs Falkirk. I know from previous versions that friendlies don't mean much though. Half my players were totally fucked before the Falkirk game so 1-3 isn't too bad.

Looking through it, my main quibble with the Thistle research is in the rivalry section: Fierce rivals: Clyde (ho hum, presumably done by someone <20 years old). Other rivalries: Killie (fair enough) and................... St Mirren? blink.gif huh.gif unsure.gif I don't know anyone that gets worked up overly about them and I assume the (lack of) feeling is mutual.
djchapsticks
QUOTE(Synex @ Oct 23 2006, 00:37) [snapback]1238813[/snapback]

I don't know anyone that gets worked up overly about them and I assume the (lack of) feeling is mutual.

I find that wierd. Certainly not rivals. If anything it's a grudging mutual respect due to both of our close proximities to the bigot clubs. wink.gif
Gaz
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Oct 22 2006, 23:44) [snapback]1238792[/snapback]

Just started a game with the Toon Army there, is it just me or is this game alot harder than 06? Anyway I will get screenshots up as the game progresses

TOOOOOOON ARMY!

It's ridiculously hard with Newcastle, I started a game with them last night. The strikers and defence are rubbish although with Duff, Emre, Parker, Dyer, Luque, N'Zogbia etc. there's a pretty good midfield. I keep drawing games, I have played 10 league games, won 2, drawn 7 and lost 1. I'll keep persevering but you don't get any money to buy players... my only transfer activity has been to sell Nicky Butt to Bolton for £65k to get him off the wage bill!
Mr X
Started with Queens and have made a few signings.

Appointed Archie Knox as assistant.

Signed a few unkown wingbacks and a young celtic midfielder whos names I cant remember!

Took McStay on loan from Falkirk and signed Bingham from Gretna, McGinty from saints and Konte from Hibs to bolster my front line.

Im now Waay over my wage budget now though, so desperatly trying to offload some players on loan and bin some squad players - O'Neill has already gone to Dundee and I cancelled Barrowmans loan.

Only just at the end of pre-season in which we didnt do too badly but could score goals - hence my transfer activity.

Oh and Ive got Crawley town as a feeder club laugh.gif It was either them, Altrincham or Queens Park. So Ive shipped out a few on loan to them too.

Quick tip for any Queens fans - make sure you go into the editor and change the club status from semi-pro to pro. Should be changed in the next update, makes a big difference when trying to attract players, IMO wink.gif
Iain
The same game where I was asked to resign I managed to finish with 37 points in 7th place, ahead of Stranraer, Forfar and Alloa, just behind Cowdenbeath. Seems fair to me given they only expected me to avoid relegation. smile.gif
The Real Saints
Won in extra time pretty convincingly against Stirling, but with just a little bit of help from my friend, Ross Forsyth. laugh.gif
Hughsie
I just managed to get Allan McGregor for 27k. He's absolutely outstanding aswell.
Mon The Clyde
Can you change the game language?

I´m in Spain and it´s a lot cheaper.
Javier Mascherano
Aye you can, it's in preferences.
Mon The Clyde
Thanks for that
Gaz
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Oct 23 2006, 12:31) [snapback]1239037[/snapback]

Can you change the game language?

I´m in Spain and it´s a lot cheaper.

CODE
I've managed to track down a dodgy pirate copy for 3 Euros. It's not got an instruction manual so I don't know how to change the language.
garymcc1874
10 games into my 1st division season and i've yet to win a game. sad.gif

7 draws and 3 losses, and my best player is suspended for 6 games for headbutting Jason Scotland laugh.gif

EDIT It was Scott Robertson, not Scotland.
The Real Saints
8 games into the season, top of the league, 6 wins and 2 draws. smile.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(garymcc1874 @ Oct 23 2006, 14:39) [snapback]1239218[/snapback]

10 games into my 1st division season and i've yet to win a game. sad.gif

7 draws and 3 losses, and my best player is suspended for 6 games for headbutting Jason Scotland laugh.gif

EDIT It was Scott Robertson, not Scotland.

In my game, someone headbutted my 16 year old striker - I was half expecting Duncan Ferguson to get himself sent off in retaliation, but he didn't. The guy only got booked! I was raging.

Although, I did win 6-0.
Dunc
Alloa have a little bit of a discipline problem!

Craig McLaren is a product of the youth system, he's only 17.

[attachmentid=12086]

Also there, is the Swedish redneck Jethro Jackson! laugh.gif Davie is playing well, too.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Dunc @ Oct 23 2006, 15:14) [snapback]1239266[/snapback]

Alloa have a little bit of a discipline problem!

Craig McLaren is a product of the youth system, he's only 17.

[attachmentid=12086]

Never seen so many players booked in one game before ohmy.gif
'Steve
QUOTE(craigcouper @ Oct 22 2006, 20:47) [snapback]1238588[/snapback]

[attachmentid=12079]

biggrin.gif

Move over Rowan Alexander and bring on the second round!

Would you be able to send me the badges for the SFL?

I've deleted the ones I had in my FM06 game.
Coup
QUOTE(Hughsie @ Oct 23 2006, 12:06) [snapback]1238998[/snapback]

I just managed to get Allan McGregor for 27k. He's absolutely outstanding aswell.

I paid 35k and he is superb.
Casper Rose
QUOTE(Gaz @ Oct 23 2006, 09:10) [snapback]1238865[/snapback]

It's ridiculously hard with Newcastle, I started a game with them last night. The strikers and defence are rubbish although with Duff, Emre, Parker, Dyer, Luque, N'Zogbia etc. there's a pretty good midfield. I keep drawing games, I have played 10 league games, won 2, drawn 7 and lost 1. I'll keep persevering but you don't get any money to buy players... my only transfer activity has been to sell Nicky Butt to Bolton for £65k to get him off the wage bill!

I am pumping teams in the UEFA cup but scraping results in the league, the midfield is amazing but the strikers are either injured or pish which makes it very hard!
Captain Kerthorse
I've not even opened my researcher copy.
FM crisis of faith!
Coup
Just finished my uni work so started the game up there and my first match was the second leg of the UEFA Cup 2nd round. Drew 0-0 with Sevilla in the first leg at home.

This is the outcome.

[attachmentid=12100]

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Sevilla had about 100 chances and wee Gretna had about 3.

Bring on the CSKA, absolute no chance tho.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(Gaz @ Oct 23 2006, 12:46) [snapback]1239154[/snapback]

CODE
I've managed to track down a dodgy pirate copy for 3 Euros. It's not got an instruction manual so I don't know how to change the language.

Correct laugh.gif
Coup
Im on a roll here

[attachmentid=12121]

Next up is the second leg in Moscow.

Wish me luck! tongue.gif
bairnagain
Just sold Scott Higgins to St Mirren for £10K. Result. biggrin.gif

Falkirk are good defensively, dont have to buy any players, thankfully, given my budget, but up front I am pish.

Tenth two seasons in a row in the SPL now, hopefully, the signing of Stewart Kean will help this season. Him and Jason Scotland up, John Stewart on the bench.
Peterhead Dave
Would you not be better signing players who might be good? tongue.gif
Swampy
There is a bug wherein some of your players will be given a ridiculous appearance bonus. I noticed Ryan Harding was getting 700 simoleons every time he took to the pitch to take the piss out of Willie McLaren - further investigation showed that three more players were on the fast track to Millionaire's Row.

Simply offering them a new contract with a more realistic appearance fee did the trick as all of them accepted, albeit I bumped their normal wages up a notch anyway.

Just to stop fans of the Dundee clubs getting excited: such contractual chicanery seldom works in real life, so please - don't try it anymore.
Mr X
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 25 2006, 09:30) [snapback]1241746[/snapback]

There is a bug wherein some of your players will be given a ridiculous appearance bonus. I noticed Ryan Harding was getting 700 simoleons every time he took to the pitch to take the piss out of Willie McLaren - further investigation showed that three more players were on the fast track to Millionaire's Row.

Simply offering them a new contract with a more realistic appearance fee did the trick as all of them accepted, albeit I bumped their normal wages up a notch anyway.

Just to stop fans of the Dundee clubs getting excited: such contractual chicanery seldom works in real life, so please - don't try it anymore.

Aaah ... that might explain why despite being under my wage and transfer budget and having played 2 SPL teams in the cup Queens have gone from in the black to £200k in debt. I had a fleeting look at the finance screen and the bonuses did stand out, more investigation required.

Looks like I'll have to start a new game to correct the finances ... nothing at all to do with the fact that Im bottom of the league and cant buy a goal ph34r.gif who says its not realistic laugh.gif
Captain Kerthorse

"Give me your landrover" etc etc laugh.gif
Swampy
QUOTE(andycqos @ Oct 25 2006, 09:34) [snapback]1241753[/snapback]

Aaah ... that might explain why despite being under my wage and transfer budget and having played 2 SPL teams in the cup Queens have gone from in the black to £200k in debt. I had a fleeting look at the finance screen and the bonuses did stand out, more investigation required.

Looks like I'll have to start a new game to correct the finances ... nothing at all to do with the fact that Im bottom of the league and cant buy a goal ph34r.gif who says its not realistic laugh.gif

Yep - my "friendly" tip from earlier was counterbalanced somewhat by Harding et al skimming the gate receipts to meet their appearance bonuses mad.gif
Bryan
ohmy.gif What to do?
Iain
wtf? Some people are far too good at this game. I came 7th with Ayr and am about to get sacked 5 games into the second season. sad.gif
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Bryan @ Oct 25 2006, 13:30) [snapback]1241987[/snapback]

ohmy.gif What to do?

£8,500 p/w?

I wouldn't get out of bed for that, certainly not in scouseland
Cheyne Stoking
I appreciate this might have been posted on this thread before, given the number of pages it has run to, but where is the cheapest place to buy a legit copy of the game?
Loki
Virgin megastore retails them for 24.99. I think Play.com are cheaper than that, and I did hear from my mate that Tesco sell them for 21.97.
Swampy
QUOTE(Bryan @ Oct 25 2006, 13:30) [snapback]1241987[/snapback]

ohmy.gif What to do?

Take it. Unless the game's greatly different now, that's the best job you'll ever be offered.

In the last FM, after I led Morton to the UEFA cup group stages and consistent top-half finishes, I was getting offered the Dunfermline and Aberdeen jobs.

I applied for a few jobs and got them, but didn't bother with any because they wouldn't give me a transfer budget. I eventually became manager of HSV.
The Real Saints
Just had a slightly interesting game. We, Saints, were up 4-1 against Partick, who then won the game 5-4. sad.gif
Willie McLaren was sent off, but then mysteriously appeared on the pitch again 2 minutes later! Nobody even noticed! laugh.gif
Mr X

I did have that problem. Graham Weir was on a cool grand for putting his dainty size 2's onto the turf ohmy.gif

I cant really be arsed checking through the SI forums - anyone know if this is a regular bug or does it only happen sometimes? I mean, if I just start a new game is it just going to happen again? I could go through and set them all in the editor, but I really cant be arsed.

How is it that SI always manage to cock something up with every release dry.gif sad.gif
rw89
One thing i've always stood by in FM is that i always stick by a team. Even last season i took Rovers to the UEFA cup and was offered a job by Celtic, i kept with Rovers and took delight i humping both the OF.
Casper Rose
Times are tough with Newcastle and as Gaz says, it is ridiculous how hard it is! 3 key players have lost faith in my ability as a manager, and with a league win yet to surface I have decided to turn to Scotty Parker to lift the teams spirits

IPB Image
base
Do free transfers work? I'm currently in March 07 and I want to sign Billy Jones (a perrenial FM favourite of mine) on a bosman. His contract is up on 30/06/07 and the date in the game is 12/04/07. Is it because I just continued my saved demo game? sad.gif
Swampy
QUOTE(andycqos @ Oct 25 2006, 21:37) [snapback]1242618[/snapback]

I did have that problem. Graham Weir was on a cool grand for putting his dainty size 2's onto the turf ohmy.gif

I cant really be arsed checking through the SI forums - anyone know if this is a regular bug or does it only happen sometimes? I mean, if I just start a new game is it just going to happen again? I could go through and set them all in the editor, but I really cant be arsed.

How is it that SI always manage to cock something up with every release dry.gif sad.gif

Just re-offer contracts, they'll take it. And it's only happened to 3 or 4 players out of maybe 35 I've had on the books at Fortress 'Ton.

34 now - DDF Rae accepted a bid of 975k from Hearts for Jim McAlistair. sad.gif
Iain
QUOTE(base @ Oct 26 2006, 01:12) [snapback]1242951[/snapback]

Do free transfers work? I'm currently in March 07 and I want to sign Billy Jones (a perrenial FM favourite of mine) on a bosman. His contract is up on 30/06/07 and the date in the game is 12/04/07. Is it because I just continued my saved demo game? sad.gif

Bosmans aren't possible within the same country, I think. Same as in real life.
Iain
QUOTE(andycqos @ Oct 25 2006, 21:37) [snapback]1242618[/snapback]

That's a bit harsh. There likely isn't a game released in the last 10 years that was 100% bug free. Especially one on the scale of Football Manager where gaming can go on indefinitely. They put a lot of time and effort into getting rid of bugs, and I think this is the least buggy release in 5-6 years. If you have found a bug, I'm sure they'd appreciate it if you upload the save game to their FTP server and post about it on their bugs forum at their website.
Mr X
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 26 2006, 10:07) [snapback]1243076[/snapback]

Just re-offer contracts, they'll take it. And it's only happened to 3 or 4 players out of maybe 35 I've had on the books at Fortress 'Ton.

34 now - DDF Rae accepted a bid of 975k from Hearts for Jim McAlistair. sad.gif

I could do that, but at the risk of sounding like a Celtic fan - why should I?

Again, just cause Im too lazy to trawl through the SI forums, is this a problem confined to human controlled teams? I dont mind going through my club and offering new contracts but whats the point if the rest of the country is heading down the financial swany at an accelerated rate of knots?

I'll say it again ... SI always manage to cock something up rolleyes.gif Anyone heard any whispers about the first, and now critical, patch?
Iain
It's coming. But not this weekend, I suspect.
Iain
QUOTE(andycqos @ Oct 26 2006, 10:55) [snapback]1243126[/snapback]

I could do that, but at the risk of sounding like a Celtic fan - why should I?

Again, just cause Im too lazy to trawl through the SI forums, is this a problem confined to human controlled teams? I dont mind going through my club and offering new contracts but whats the point if the rest of the country is heading down the financial swany at an accelerated rate of knots?

I had a quick scan through all 19 pages of the SI Games Bugs forum and didn't see anything similar to what you are reporting - though I may have missed it. If you want it addressed in a patch I'd recommend raising it with them so they know about the problem!! cool.gif
Mr X
QUOTE(Iain @ Oct 26 2006, 11:22) [snapback]1243157[/snapback]

I had a quick scan through all 19 pages of the SI Games Bugs forum and didn't see anything similar to what you are reporting - though I may have missed it. If you want it addressed in a patch I'd recommend raising it with them so they know about the problem!! cool.gif

No I couldnt find it either.

Swampy raised it on here, I just presumed he'd seen it on the SI forum.

edited to add - done wink.gif