Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
codfish
Had my biggest win with St Mirren in a league game just there - a 9-0 demolition of Stranraer at Love Street. Annoyingly, it was 7-0 after half an hour, and 8-0 at half time laugh.gif
Ayr United FC
I've done the old firm double as Ayr United, beating Celtic 2-0 in a friendly with both goals scored by Jerome Vareille and I knocked Rangers out the cup 1-0 (Walker) after extra time.
Iain
QUOTE(Ayr United FC @ Sep 20 2006, 16:23) [snapback]1199831[/snapback]

I've done the old firm double as Ayr United, beating Celtic 2-0 in a friendly with both goals scored by Jerome Vareille and I knocked Rangers out the cup 1-0 (Walker) after extra time.

Using what tactics??
Armand 2
FOOTBALL MANAGER 2007 RELEASE DATE

It has been confirmed by Sports Interactive that the game will, hopefully, go into manufacture this week. The demo should be released next weekend with the actual game available in shops from OCTOBER 20th
Ayr United FC
Hell yeah, I'll be saving for that.
djchapsticks
QUOTE(Armand 2 @ Sep 23 2006, 22:25) [snapback]1203818[/snapback]

FOOTBALL MANAGER 2007 RELEASE DATE

It has been confirmed by Sports Interactive that the game will, hopefully, go into manufacture this week. The demo should be released next weekend with the actual game available in shops from OCTOBER 20th

Damn!!! That means FM2007, Pro Evolution6 for X360 and Tiger 2007 for X360, out within something like a week of one another.

Curse my tight purse strings. mad.gif laugh.gif
DJP
QUOTE(djchapsticks @ Sep 24 2006, 10:04) [snapback]1204094[/snapback]

Damn!!! That means FM2007, Pro Evolution6 for X360 and Tiger 2007 for X360, out within something like a week of one another.

Curse my tight purse strings. mad.gif laugh.gif

Football manager for a 1 month solid. I will be phoneing in sick that week. Pro evo and the others can wait
Armand 2
Apparently, the demo will come with next weekend's News of the World.
Ayr United FC
Hell yeah.
Iain
QUOTE(Armand 2 @ Sep 24 2006, 14:35) [snapback]1204345[/snapback]

Apparently, the demo will come with next weekend's News of the World.

No coverdisk, just a download link.
Peterhead Dave
It's being hosted on the NotW's servers rather than SI's to try to ease the pressure which usually sees the site crash when a new demo is released. Why Sega don't have the server power to sort it themselves I don't know laugh.gif
The Warrior
Just ordered FM2007 from play.com biggrin.gif
CK
Just over halfway through my second season with Shire, nearing the end of January. The only signing I brought it was Colin Marshall. In final playoff position, 4 points off top

Team is:

Derek Jackson

Mark Tyrell
Paul Gaughan
Gregg Watson
Chris Miller

Graeme Holmes
Scott Chaplain
Paul Ross
Danny Ogunmade

Mark Stewart
Derek Ure

subs: David Hutton(GK), Steven Blair, Kevin McKinley, Lee Sharp, Colin Marshall

Other player's include Stuart McCluskey(only recently returned after long injury), Mark Gourlay, Paul Tyrell(injured), Santino Marini(top scorer, also injured), Graeme Jones.
jambofan
dont know if these will interest anyone, if you put kits in your game then maybe they will smile.gif

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image
Iain
QUOTE(jambofan @ Sep 28 2006, 07:54) [snapback]1208850[/snapback]

dont know if these will interest anyone, if you put kits in your game then maybe they will smile.gif
IPB Image

Wow, they look good. Would be worth pasting this in the new thread for the new game once it's open. Love these.
Kyle
Got a gretna league on the go just now... Into my 4th season... Sitting 3rd in my first SPL season smile.gif

Quite a strong team too biggrin.gif

Mark Howard

Neil McGregor
Matteo Ferrari
Neill Collins
Eddie Malone

Allan Walker
Neil Jancyzk
Sebastian Larsson
Tim Sparv

Ross McCormack
Eddie Johnson

subs; Martin Scott, Matt Jansen, Ito, Karim Azzizou, Osei Sankofa
Peterhead Dave
I usually stick to just the English and Scottish leagues as I don't have a desire to manage anyone outside those two countries, so for a laugh I started a Spanish game as Real Madrid laugh.gif

Had a pretty inconsistent start which left me floundering at the wrong end of the table (a transfer budget of £700k until I'd proved myself didn't help), but after about 10 games I got into the swing of things.

Eventually ended my first season second in the league, winning the Spanish Cup and Champs League, with just three signings in January after the baord had given me some cash: Per Mertesacker, Javier Mascherano and Freddy Adu (£3M to add depth to the squad).

Before the start of my second season I punted the inconsistent Robinho to fund the £30M signing of Wayne Rooney, before my board gave me even more cash with which I bought a Spanish central defender Pablo.

I had a great end to the first season and now, 27 games into the second league campaign, I've gone 44 games without defeat, and my current run has seen me win 16 on the bounce. Not surprisingly, I'm top laugh.gif

I've been knocked out of the Spanish Cup this year, but have won the Spanish Super Cup, the European Super Cup and the World Club Championships.

In January I snapped up a 21-year old Argentine midfielder, Lucas Biglia, on a Bosman, I can only play him in Europe due to rules about non-EU players in the league, but it'll give a wee bit of extra depth as the Champs League goes on. Hopefully I'll loan him or preferably Adu out next season.

I'm due a bit of rebuilding in the summer now though, as Zidane is retiring, and hopefully Ronaldo and Roberto Carlos will be leaving. I've already got a backup defender coming in to replace Ivan Helguera, but I'll need at least one defender and two midfielders in any case. Hopefully a striker too - David Villa or Fernando Torres if at all possible smile.gif
Mr X
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Sep 28 2006, 18:46) [snapback]1209549[/snapback]

I usually stick to just the English and Scottish leagues as I don't have a desire to manage anyone outside those two countries, so for a laugh I started a Spanish game as Real Madrid laugh.gif

Had a pretty inconsistent start which left me floundering at the wrong end of the table (a transfer budget of £700k until I'd proved myself didn't help), but after about 10 games I got into the swing of things.

Eventually ended my first season second in the league, winning the Spanish Cup and Champs League, with just three signings in January after the baord had given me some cash: Per Mertesacker, Javier Mascherano and Freddy Adu (£3M to add depth to the squad).

Before the start of my second season I punted the inconsistent Robinho to fund the £30M signing of Wayne Rooney, before my board gave me even more cash with which I bought a Spanish central defender Pablo.

I had a great end to the first season and now, 27 games into the second league campaign, I've gone 44 games without defeat, and my current run has seen me win 16 on the bounce. Not surprisingly, I'm top laugh.gif

I've been knocked out of the Spanish Cup this year, but have won the Spanish Super Cup, the European Super Cup and the World Club Championships.

In January I snapped up a 21-year old Argentine midfielder, Lucas Biglia, on a Bosman, I can only play him in Europe due to rules about non-EU players in the league, but it'll give a wee bit of extra depth as the Champs League goes on. Hopefully I'll loan him or preferably Adu out next season.

I'm due a bit of rebuilding in the summer now though, as Zidane is retiring, and hopefully Ronaldo and Roberto Carlos will be leaving. I've already got a backup defender coming in to replace Ivan Helguera, but I'll need at least one defender and two midfielders in any case. Hopefully a striker too - David Villa or Fernando Torres if at all possible smile.gif

Adu = shite
Pablo = quality

That is all smile.gif
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(andycqos @ Sep 28 2006, 23:35) [snapback]1209930[/snapback]

Adu = shite
Pablo = quality

That is all smile.gif

Adu hasn't been too bad, but he's only been a squad player thus far. He did OK for me in my Man City game, so I knew he could do a job for me when I only had £3M to spend to boost my squad laugh.gif

Pablo and Mertesacker have been shit hot in central defence biggrin.gif

I forgot to mention, I was also offered the Sweden job after the World Cup, and currently top my Euro Qualifiers group, unbeaten. I don't think I've conceded a goal yet in 4 competitive games :Only Ireland and the Czech Republic are real threats to my progress - I drew 0-0 with Ireland in my first game in charge, and went on to beat the Czechs 2-0 smile.gif
jambofan
Wow, they look good. Would be worth pasting this in the new thread for the new game once it's open. Love these.

look so much better when u see them like this smile.gif

IPB Image
Stu
QUOTE(Kyle @ Sep 28 2006, 17:48) [snapback]1209496[/snapback]

Got a gretna league on the go just now... Into my 4th season... Sitting 3rd in my first SPL season smile.gif

Quite a strong team too biggrin.gif

Mark Howard

Neil McGregor
Matteo Ferrari
Neill Collins
Eddie Malone

Allan Walker
Neil Jancyzk
Sebastian Larsson
Tim Sparv

Ross McCormack
Eddie Johnson

subs; Martin Scott, Matt Jansen, Ito, Karim Azzizou, Osei Sankofa

Someone once said to me that playing like Gretna is the equivalent of the game having an easy difficulty setting laugh.gif How did it take you three seasons to get into the SPL? Shocking tongue.gif

Highlight for me is in my two player with my brother. It's 2014 and I'm Dortmund (via Werder Bremen, Colchester, Noriwch, Southampton, Watford & Fortuna Koln) and the USA, and he's Man U (via Bayern) and Italy.

We faced each other in the world cup quarter finals, and with 20 minutes left i went 2-4-4 as I was losing. Scored an equaliser so had to go 3-4-3 for extra time (I usually have a 3-5-2), with an attacking midfielder in defence. He promptly played an 8 and I won 3-1. My brother was not impressed as he'd destroyed me laugh.gif

he was even less impressed when I promptly beat Portugal and France (who faced ireland in the semis!) on penalties to lift the World Series of Soccerball title laugh.gif biggrin.gif
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Stu @ Sep 29 2006, 09:31) [snapback]1210128[/snapback]

It's 2014 and I'm Dortmund (via Werder Bremen, Colchester, Noriwch, Southampton, Watford & Fortuna Koln) and the USA, and he's Man U (via Bayern) and Italy. .... he was even less impressed when I promptly beat Portugal and France (who faced ireland in the semis!) on penalties to lift the World Series of Soccerball title laugh.gif biggrin.gif

How did Adu do? Was he doing the Agadoo?
Stu
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Sep 29 2006, 12:15) [snapback]1210309[/snapback]

How did Adu do? Was he doing the Agadoo?

Yes, that's exactly what he was doing rolleyes.gif

He was playing on the left wing as the US have several million attacking players and sod all defenders/midfielders.
Iain
To the left? To the right? Jump up and down? To the knee?
BurghBoy
QUOTE(jambofan @ Sep 28 2006, 07:54) [snapback]1208850[/snapback]

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

Shit they all look amazing. How can I add them to my FM2006 game?

Or am I completely on the wrong track here?
MTJ
QUOTE(BurghBoy @ Sep 29 2006, 16:28) [snapback]1210778[/snapback]

Shit they all look amazing. How can I add them to my FM2006 game?

Or am I completely on the wrong track here?

You can find them here

From the main menu go to downloads then kitpacks.
codfish

Someone once said to me that playing like Gretna is the equivalent of the game having an easy difficulty setting laugh.gif How did it take you three seasons to get into the SPL? Shocking tongue.gif

He's just shit at the game wink.gif
CK
Got promotion to the 2nd with Shire in my second season, through the playoffs. Won the playoff, with 6 of my first team players out injured

[attachmentid=11735]
[attachmentid=11736]
[attachmentid=11737]
Mushroom
I know its CM03/04 but I've got such a good game going I didn't want to lose it by getting another one.

Its the 2014/15 season and I'm nibbling Dundee Uniteds heels at the top of the SPL after 15 games, meanwhile Hibs are nibbling mine. Alloa, the holders, are 10th laugh.gif Celtic, the runners up are 11th biggrin.gif and Morton are in the relegation zone.

Lets see how many names you recognise from this team laugh.gif

1.Jamie Langfeild
3.Scott McLaughlin----22.David Woodison----36.Stuart Reilly----18.David Thomson
12.David Clarke
6.Lee Cole---------------------------------------------------------------11.Ross McLeod
9. Kevin McGlinchey
14. Chris Zok----10. John Paul Boyle

[left]All of them are Scottish cool.gif
[/left]
Mushroom
Fucking hell - I just finished a match with 9 men there. and still drew 1-1

I had a full strength team (the one above) I went 1 up with John Paul Boyle.

Stephen Reilly then got injured and John Paul Boyle picked up a knock. 2 substitutions.

Then Chris Zok picked up a knock just after half time. 3rd and final substitution.

Falkirk equalised. dry.gif

Kevin McGlinchey then got sent off for arguing with the ref - not only getting the one match ban but gets another one for passing the points limit.

Then Lee Cole gets stretchered off.

Thankfully, Zok and Boyle are OK. Reilly and Cole should be back for the next game. But that was one hell of a rough ride dry.gif

and now McGlinchey will have 2 games on the sidelines - thankfully I can bring in Hamed Namouchi and move Cole forward
Peterhead Dave
I've made it into the Spanish hall of fame, and am the ninth best Scottish manager, apparently biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=11756]
Mushroom
Fucking hell - anyone top this for an exciting game ohmy.gif

[attachmentid=11804]
Peterhead Dave
Yes.
'Steve
Yes.

[attachmentid=11819]
[attachmentid=11820]
[attachmentid=11821]

Plus it's on a decent game, get FM2007 for goodness sake. laugh.gif
Kylesons
I need some help on how to set up an network game?
I have started a game normall and set as run as server gave the person my 2 IPS and both dont work.Can anyone tell me what the problem is?
Cheers
Kyle

Cause Hearts got relegated in my first season in division 1 laugh.gif

They finished 10 points clear of me sad.gif

Next season I just had a pishy hibs team to contend with.. so finished about 20 points ahead of everybody tongue.gif
Gypsy Army Loyal
QUOTE(MTJ @ Sep 29 2006, 16:36) [snapback]1210795[/snapback]

You can find them here

From the main menu go to downloads then kitpacks.

Link isn't coming up with much. Any chance someone can upload the file/folder. Cheers.
Iain
QUOTE(Gypsy Army Loyal @ Oct 9 2006, 22:52) [snapback]1222302[/snapback]

Link isn't coming up with much. Any chance someone can upload the file/folder. Cheers.

I found them when I looked before, struggling now though...

Here's the Kitpacks forum.
Gypsy Army Loyal
QUOTE(Iain @ Oct 12 2006, 12:36) [snapback]1225382[/snapback]

I found them when I looked before, struggling now though...

Here's the Kitpacks forum.

Aye, a asked on the forum, but the say that the pack got lost when the server changed or something like that. dry.gif

Can someone who already has the pack upload it to megaupload or something.

Cheers.
jambofan
Im the creator of them, and Ive now uploaded them to www.sortitoutsi.net, all the packs for the above leagues are there, along with the other packs ive made

IPB Image
Peterhead Dave
Currently playing my last game on FM2006. The challenge? To build a Rangers team almost exclusively Scottish and win as much as possible!

My team is now almost exclusively Scottish, though I have signed a couple of foreigners to augment my squad due to a lack of Scottish players available of the required standard.

Regular team is: Craig Gordon, Stevie Whittaker, Stevie Smith, Andy Webster, Didier Zokora, Chris Burke, Kevin Thomson, Barry Ferguson, Scott Agnew, Collins John, Kris Boyd.

Subs: Stefan Klos (waiting for Allan McGregor to return from Dunfermline), Alan Hutton, Alan Lowing, Ian Murray, Scott Brown, Ross McCormack, Steven Naismith.
CK
I am still play FM06, and won't quit till I get Clyde in the top 4, which hopefully, judging by my good start, will be this season!

My squad is

GK's

Ross McLeod
David Scott
Paul Jarvie

Defender's

Romauld Bouadji
David McNamee
John Paul McKeever
Gary Kenneth
Bob Malcolm
Robert Harris
David Murphy
Eddie Malone
Lee Mair
David McGarrigle

Midfielder's

Cherno Samba
Gary Arbuckle
Christopher Fernandez
Craig Bryson
Glenn Whelan
Martin Scott
Giovani Bianco
Liam Fox
Shunsuke Nakamura
Kevin Bradley

Forward's

Shaun Maloney
Dean Shiels
Claudio de Sousa
Darryl Duffy
Ross McCormack
John Stewart(17 year old who I got from Saintees, despite top British clubs putting bids in for him)
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Oct 17 2006, 13:53) [snapback]1231689[/snapback]

Currently playing my last game on FM2006. The challenge? To build a Rangers team almost exclusively Scottish and win as much as possible!

My team is now almost exclusively Scottish, though I have signed a couple of foreigners to augment my squad due to a lack of Scottish players available of the required standard.

Regular team is: Craig Gordon, Stevie Whittaker, Stevie Smith, Andy Webster, Didier Zokora, Chris Burke, Kevin Thomson, Barry Ferguson, Scott Agnew, Collins John, Kris Boyd.

Subs: Stefan Klos (waiting for Allan McGregor to return from Dunfermline), Alan Hutton, Alan Lowing, Ian Murray, Scott Brown, Ross McCormack, Steven Naismith.

Bordom, and the fact i'm a tight b*stard means i too took up this challenge.

Gordon, Hutton, Hammell, Webster, Anderson, Murray, Burke, Robert Snodgrass, Claus Jensen, O'Conner, Boyd

Bench: Waterreus, Broadfoot, Ferguson, Naismith, Smith, Lowing, Kenny Wright.

Bob Malcom, Nacho Novo also in my first team squad.

Won the treble, Topped my champ league group, but was knocked out by PSV in the next round.

Should go and buy game tomorrow, if the frelling shops have it for a decent price.
MTJ
Started my first FM07 season as Airdrie 7 games into the season sitting 5th unbeaten in my last 4. Out of both cups.
garymcc1874
First season as Ton manager. smile.gif

Halfway through - Top of the league, 4 ahead of P'heid. biggrin.gif

Won the Challenge Cup by beating Dundee, P'heid, Hamilton, Cowden, then Livi biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Haven't released anyone so I have the real 'Ton squad
PLUS
Devine (3k) and Allan McGregor (who i managed to get for 30k!!!! biggrin.gif )
MarreZ
I finally got my first win after 8 games, against Rangers in the live sunday game - 1-0. Hope its a good omen smile.gif
Dunc
Lets do this thing!

Mon The Raith.
Dunc
My best result so far:

Motherwell 1 - 2 Raith

Went in behind at half time, but Ian Harty bagged a double in the second half biggrin.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Dunc @ Oct 20 2006, 17:50) [snapback]1236015[/snapback]

My best result so far:

Motherwell 1 - 2 Raith

Went in behind at half time, but Ian Harty bagged a double in the second half biggrin.gif

My best so far is Celtic 8 - 0 Inverness in the League cup semi final.

Inverness have only let in 22 goals in the league and have one of the tightest Defences.

Didnt expect it at all smile.gif

[attachmentid=12029]

Worst result well the picture say's it all sad.gif

[attachmentid=12030]
Mushroom
QUOTE(Steven @ Oct 20 2006, 18:16) [snapback]1236043[/snapback]

My best so far is Celtic 8 - 0 Inverness in the League cup semi final.

Inverness have only let in 22 goals in the league and have one of the tightest Defences.

Didnt expect it at all smile.gif

Worst result well the picture say's it all sad.gif

[attachmentid=12022]

[attachmentid=12024]

If you're using paint you can change it to jpg's very easily you know.

Anyone thats 07 ordered - bring it on cool.gif