Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
CK
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Aug 11 2006, 23:57) [snapback]1147424[/snapback]

One word to describe you for knocking that back, fud. You could've held out for at least another million off them and that would no doubt give you funds to strengthen the squad.

I already have a couple of million in the transfer fund. I'd much rather have the player who has done wonders for the defence since he has came into the team, than £6 million that I'm not likely to use for a few years.
The Real Saints
You put Romauld Bouadji on the bench! ohmy.gif
alba
QUOTE(dennybairn @ Aug 11 2006, 14:46) [snapback]1146777[/snapback]

Does anyone know if there is an update for the new season available anywhere?

Doubt there will be patches for the new season. The new version will be out soon, just have to wait for that.
Usually around October AIRC.
Mr X
QUOTE(alba @ Aug 13 2006, 02:05) [snapback]1148915[/snapback]

Doubt there will be patches for the new season. The new version will be out soon, just have to wait for that.
Usually around October AIRC.

There certainly wont be any new patches, 6.0.3 was released as the final patch. Wont be any official data updates either, but a quick search on the SI forums found this unofficial update. Im sure there'll be loads more out there too wink.gif

As for FM 2007, offical site says before Christmas so expect it sometime around Easter rolleyes.gif
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(andycqos @ Aug 14 2006, 14:20) [snapback]1150644[/snapback]

As for FM 2007, offical site says before Christmas so expect it sometime around Easter rolleyes.gif

They haven't been that slow for a good few years now tongue.gif

I'd imagine October or November would be quite likely wink.gif
Mr X
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Aug 14 2006, 14:25) [snapback]1150652[/snapback]

They haven't been that slow for a good few years now tongue.gif

I'd imagine October or November would be quite likely wink.gif

Perhaps I exagerated slightly wink.gif

However, as they are specifically saying Christmas, I cant imagine it will be here much earlier. Early December would be the very earliest, I would guess. Especially as the console versions are set for the same release date.

TBH I'd much rather wait until Christmas if it meant getting a more finished product than the farce that was last years October release.
Big_Dunc=Legend
Tryin 2 get stuff off tht sortitsui (nt sure how u spell it) website for football manager and it is a while since i hav done it and it is nt letting me download stuff.has the website changed and u hav 2 sign up or sumfin.help appreciated
Peterhead Dave
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Big_Dunc=Legend @ Aug 14 2006, 16:46) [snapback]1150852[/snapback]

Tryin 2 get stuff off tht sortitsui (nt sure how u spell it) website for football manager and it is a while since i hav done it and it is nt letting me download stuff.has the website changed and u hav 2 sign up or sumfin.help appreciated

Jeesuz.

"Sortitsui"

Sounds like a Japanese drink. laugh.gif
Mr X
QUOTE(Big_Dunc=Legend @ Aug 14 2006, 16:46) [snapback]1150852[/snapback]

How can you not be sure how to spell a website that you are on? unsure.gif huh.gif rolleyes.gif
Baz Mac
Does anyone know where I can get a recent-ish update for CM03/04 - it would need to be an unofficial one as the official ones stopped a long time ago. Ive been searching for months.
Big_Dunc=Legend
QUOTE(andycqos @ Aug 15 2006, 10:31) [snapback]1151556[/snapback]

How can you not be sure how to spell a website that you are on? unsure.gif huh.gif rolleyes.gif

I wasn't on the website at the time
fraser_arab
[attachmentid=11014]
Thats the highest transfer fee I've seen! ohmy.gif

Was just thinking, whats the highest anyone else has been involved in or seen?
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Baz Mac @ Aug 15 2006, 14:20) [snapback]1151884[/snapback]

Does anyone know where I can get a recent-ish update for CM03/04 - it would need to be an unofficial one as the official ones stopped a long time ago. Ive been searching for months.

Just buy FM2006 ya cheapskate, it's miles better anyway.
Mr X
QUOTE(fraser_arab @ Aug 16 2006, 22:23) [snapback]1154214[/snapback]

[attachmentid=11014]

I paid £60m for Fernando Torres while playing as Chelsea cool.gif

(he got injured preseason and was out till Christmas ohmy.gif sad.gif ph34r.gif laugh.gif )
CK
I've just finished my 5th season in charge in 7th place, I got more points that than Dunfermline in 6th but the split is to blame for that.

I've sold Graeme Hunter to Chelsea for an initial £5million, plus 30% of his next transfer, a friendly, and £1.5million after 10 international appearances. Matteo Marrucci, Stefano Zaccardi and Jose Pierre Fanfan have also been released, and I have brought in David McNamee, David Murphy and Christopher Fernandez, who is out for 7 months with a broken leg sad.gif

Craig Bryson won Football Writers POTY.
BishyTON

[attachmentid=11014]

In my FM05 Rangers game, i sold a regen striker called Steven Murray for £60m to Arsenal. I signed him for 160k from Hibs when he was 16!!
codfish
Currently playing as Milan, where I've only lost 2 matches all season in all competitions. Didn't really splash the cash to begin with - only signing Tomasz Kuszcak to cover for Dida in the first half of the season. Decided to go a wee bit mad with the extra cash I was given though in January - Ruslan Rotan and Andrea Barzagli were bought, and I spent £8.75 million to co-own Daniele De Rossi for 2 years, with him playing at the San Siro until the end of that laugh.gif
djchapsticks
Decided to resume my old St. Mirren in England game from April, 2010 and I was 9th in the Championship. I had a terribly inconsistent season which saw me finish 6th and lost 4-1 to Leicester on aggregate in the play off semis.

However, between January and July of last year I did buy more or less a new squad which has left me sitting joint top of the Championship with Newcastle after 36 league games this following season, and 10 points clear of our nearest promotion rivals, so it's probably the Premiership for the buddies next season! biggrin.gif

Jorge Valdivia - 27 - AMC - Hannover - Free: Cracking signing, has scored 10 goals this season.

Abukabar Garbar - 21 - DC - Nigeria - Insurance - £1k: One for the future, has only played a small handful of games.

Ivan Korbankolev - 23 - ST - Bulgaria - Olympiakos - £140k: Getting all sorts of plaudits as part of my Squad rotation system. Stil a lot of potential to be fulfilled.

Janez Urek - 24 - DMC - Slovakia - Dunfermline - £60k: Has became my first chocie defensive mid, and was wasted at Dunfermline. Turned into a bit of a contract rebel and now wants to leave, so will never see the Premiership at this rate.

Onni Vuorio - 22 - MC - Finland - TPS - £18k: A hell of a lot of potential, but has found his first team chances very limited.

Roberto Otero - 21 - DRC - Uruguay - Hearts - £450k: Regular for Uruguay and will become a star in a couple of years, highlighted by the fact that Barcelona and Milan have both offered me over £6m for him. Both were rejected.

Milan Hruby - 20 - AMRC - Czech Republic - Stade Mestro - £90k: Couldn't believe it when I signed him, as Liverpool, Man Utd, Barcelona, Villareal and Inter were all in the chase for him as well. I don't know if it was because I offered to make him one of my highest paid players and a first team regualr at 18 that swayed him! Anyway, Porto have already offered me £12m plus 2 first team regualrs and a 40% sell on for him. Rejected wink.gif

Kris Boyd - 27 - ST - Scotland - Nottingham Forest - Free: He was going cheap and I needed a replacement for the outgoing Lee Miller, so I brought in Boyd who has done a no bad job for me.

Ivan Maric - 22 - AMRLC, ST - Serbia & Mont. - FC Koln - Free: A surprise that he was going so cheaply as he is extremely good. Is already attracting interest from Premiership clubs.

Radek Bartonicek - 22 - D/WBL, AMLC, FC - Czech Republic - Darmstadt - £60k: Another revelation for me at left back, as I decided Alan Reid was playing above his level and released him, so I noticed I didn't have a full back. Got Bartonicek recommended by a scout and noticed Darmstadt strangely enough had a wealth of talented players, even though they were a German 3rd division side. Played him as cover behind the front two when Valdivia was injured and scored 7 in 9 for me.

Darijo Srna - 28 - D/WB/M LR - Croatia - Darmstadt - £550k: Couldn't believe that Darmstadt had the Croatian in their side, thought he had a great WC this summer so decided to have a look at him and his stats are solid. So I splashed the cash on him.

Nik Besagno - 21 - D/DMC - USA - Plymouth - £3.3m: My record signing, an absolute rock at the centre of defence. It really took something special for me to blow almost my entire transfer budget for the season on just one guy, but this lad is special. Him and Otero at the back have seen me where I am right now.

Lee Morrison - 17 - ST - England - Notts County - £1.7m: Again, nipped in when Arsenal, Liverpool, Man Utd, Newcastle were all sniffing about him and snapped him up. Bit pricey for a lad who I've shipped out on loan to Dundee Utd for the rest of the season, but it could well pay off for me.

Stephen Connolly - 17 - GK - England - Wycombe - £250k: Another one attracting interest from bigger clubs, so I was qucik off the mark and got him first. Shipped up a league to WBA for the rest of the season.
Dunc

[attachmentid=11014]

[attachmentid=11052]

Thats over £70 Million in total! ohmy.gif
Ayr United FC
Ha ha, Eric Phillips is my first choice keeper.
djchapsticks
Won the Championship by a clear 3 points in the end up over the dirty Geordies! biggrin.gif

Now however, my darling Buds are having quite the unbelieveable season. Brought in one or two new faces including a Slovakian full back, Matej Writzl, a £3.5 17 year old Scots lad called David Muir and Aiden McGeady from Celtic for £1.7m. That being said, I Lost my first 3 Premiership games 6-2 away to Southampton, 1-0 at home to Blackburn and 3-2 away to Wolves. So I thought we were in for the absolute season from hell.

However...rather unbelievably

[attachmentid=11159]

ohmy.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

I am having the season sent straight from heaven. Home wins against Man Utd and Chelsea. An away win at Old Trafford. I am now looking a stick on for a Champions league spot in my first season in the Premiership, with a young squad full of potential superstars. I can't quite believe it!
Javier Mascherano
http://files.filefront.com/fm8990v22zip/;5...;/fileinfo.html

That data 'up'date takes you back to the 1989/90 season. It's mostly English clubs and the big name players, but I think the SPL is done too. Bloody great, I'm about to try and sign Maradona and Stoichkov biggrin.gif
Iain
QUOTE(andycqos @ Aug 14 2006, 14:52) [snapback]1150689[/snapback]

Perhaps I exagerated slightly wink.gif

However, as they are specifically saying Christmas, I cant imagine it will be here much earlier. Early December would be the very earliest, I would guess. Especially as the console versions are set for the same release date.

TBH I'd much rather wait until Christmas if it meant getting a more finished product than the farce that was last years October release.

Going by our research deadlines I'd be surprised if it wasn't ready on schedule. smile.gif
CK
I started a new game with East Stirling, let a number of players go and brought in some new one's on free's, loan's and a couple from the junior's. I am sitting 5th, 2 points off a play off place, with around 12 games to go. Think I've only lost something like 1 in the last 13

Team at the moment is:

GK: David Hutton(signed from Juniors)

RB: Mark Tyrell
CB: Paul Gaughan
CB: Gregg Watson(signed from Juniors)
LB: Mark Gourlay

RM: Steven Masterton(Loan from Clyde)
CM: Graeme Holmes(signed on a free, my top performer)
CM: Scott Chaplain(free)
LM: Danny Ogumnade(free)

CF: Roddy Hunter(loan from Clyde, divisions top scorer with 17)
CF: Andy Ferguson(loan from Dundee)

subs: Derek Jackson, Derek Ure, Paul Tyrell, Stuart McCluskey(just signed on a free), Paul Flaherty(loan from Clyde)

Other player's in the squad include Ross Godfrey(free), Johnny Walker, Chris Miller, Gordon Forrest(free), Ian Diack, Daryn Smith(free), Barry McNaughton(signed from juniors) & Ally Mitchell
Iain
should've signed stuart mclean, paul rudden, ryan thomson and graeme holmes - those four can get any div 3 side promoted and are all freebies at the start. smile.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(Iain @ Sep 8 2006, 11:02) [snapback]1183691[/snapback]

should've signed stuart mclean, paul rudden, ryan thomson and graeme holmes - those four can get any div 3 side promoted and are all freebies at the start. smile.gif

Add Steve McGlinchey to that list (possible relation of Rab McGlinchey, translater for the neds?)

Makes Scotland U21's for me in a few games.
CK
QUOTE(Iain @ Sep 8 2006, 11:02) [snapback]1183691[/snapback]

I did sign Graeme Holmes tongue.gif . Tried for Thomson but he went elsewhere
CK
I lost in the play-off semi's to Arbroath in the 2nd leg at home, due to two goalkeeper errors sad.gif I drew the first game 0-0, and should have won that as well

It was a great achievement to get into the play-off's in the first place, given my dodgy start, but I think I only lost in 4 league games from November till the end of the season.

[attachmentid=11319]
Kylesons
I used editor once and save the database can i then go back to what it was before that.
BishyTON
QUOTE(kyle_number1son2004 @ Sep 10 2006, 21:30) [snapback]1186909[/snapback]

I used editor once and save the database can i then go back to what it was before that.

Unless you have made a back up you will probably have to either re-install the game or re-install the a patch.
SuperTommy
pretty new to the game, i've still been playing 05 as i had a good game on the go on that but decided to give 06 a shot at last, played a few games with hearts and man u but started my first proper game this week with dundee.

board expect promotion with little finances but to be expected,

the only way i'd be able to bring anyone in really was loans so the first business to be address was the lack of a left back and i filled this gap by taking Adam Eckersley on loan till the end of the season from Man U.

next i tried for most of the SPL youngsters on loan on the hope that one or two would go through. Graham Weir arrived from Hearts and i got Micheal McGovern on loan from Celtic to cover my keeper problems.

last bit of pre season business i do was to bring in Deucher from Gretna for 12k plus Callum McDonald and Adrian Madaschi (both cover players not really needed)

pre season

Scarborough away 4-4
Leicester away 2-4
Rhyl away 2-3

i felt the main problem with these matches was my half time team talks any comments to help with these would be much appricetated i'll explain why after showing my first competative results

Gretna (challenge cup) away 1-3 - just unlucky in this one no real complaints, grady hatrik

Hamilton (league) away 3-3
Cowdenbeath (LC) home 3-0
St. Mirren (league) home 2-1
Ross County (league) away 3-4

now i'll explain what the problem i feel is with the team talks

with each match in preseason plus hamilton and ross county in the league i was in a good if not excellent position at half time -

Scarborough away 4-1 up half time
Leicester away 2-1 up half time
Rhyl away 2-2 half time
Hamilton away 3-1 up half time
Ross County away 3-1 up half time

now as you'll notice all these were away game but i feel it must be something to do with what i have said at half time, in the first couple of games preseason i declared myslef delighted with the first half but the side obviously got big headed and threw it away so in the league games i showed encouragement this doesn't seemed to help either as hamilton came back and county managed to over turn my 3-1 lead, as i said early any help would be welcome.

as for the side Deucher and Weir have been a god send so far Weir's got 6 in 5 starts and Deucher 5 in 5 although the only other person to score has been Brady with one strike to his name. i'm playing a 4-4-2 with the wingers pushing up and a short passing game.

peterhead away in the cup next so hopefully i don't blow it at half time

BishyTON
QUOTE(SuperTommy @ Sep 11 2006, 14:40) [snapback]1187629[/snapback]

pretty new to the game, i've still been playing 05 as i had a good game on the go on that but decided to give 06 a shot at last, played a few games with hearts and man u but started my first proper game this week with dundee.

board expect promotion with little finances but to be expected,

the only way i'd be able to bring anyone in really was loans so the first business to be address was the lack of a left back and i filled this gap by taking Adam Eckersley on loan till the end of the season from Man U.

next i tried for most of the SPL youngsters on loan on the hope that one or two would go through. Graham Weir arrived from Hearts and i got Micheal McGovern on loan from Celtic to cover my keeper problems.

last bit of pre season business i do was to bring in Deucher from Gretna for 12k plus Callum McDonald and Adrian Madaschi (both cover players not really needed)

pre season

Scarborough away 4-4
Leicester away 2-4
Rhyl away 2-3

i felt the main problem with these matches was my half time team talks any comments to help with these would be much appricetated i'll explain why after showing my first competative results

Gretna (challenge cup) away 1-3 - just unlucky in this one no real complaints, grady hatrik

Hamilton (league) away 3-3
Cowdenbeath (LC) home 3-0
St. Mirren (league) home 2-1
Ross County (league) away 3-4

now i'll explain what the problem i feel is with the team talks

with each match in preseason plus hamilton and ross county in the league i was in a good if not excellent position at half time -

Scarborough away 4-1 up half time
Leicester away 2-1 up half time
Rhyl away 2-2 half time
Hamilton away 3-1 up half time
Ross County away 3-1 up half time

now as you'll notice all these were away game but i feel it must be something to do with what i have said at half time, in the first couple of games preseason i declared myslef delighted with the first half but the side obviously got big headed and threw it away so in the league games i showed encouragement this doesn't seemed to help either as hamilton came back and county managed to over turn my 3-1 lead, as i said early any help would be welcome.

as for the side Deucher and Weir have been a god send so far Weir's got 6 in 5 starts and Deucher 5 in 5 although the only other person to score has been Brady with one strike to his name. i'm playing a 4-4-2 with the wingers pushing up and a short passing game.

peterhead away in the cup next so hopefully i don't blow it at half time

If you are really struggling with the team talks then you can get the Assistant Manager to do it, using the manager options menu.
SuperTommy
QUOTE(The Crippler @ Sep 11 2006, 17:16) [snapback]1187880[/snapback]

If you are really struggling with the team talks then you can get the Assistant Manager to do it, using the manager options menu.

i relised this but want to do it all myself so when i get the dees going well it will all be up to me haha, also billy kirkwood is still the assistant haha
Dunc
I never say Delighted at half-time. The players seem to think the job is done.

If i'm 1 or 2 goals up, I encourage. Anything more than that, I tell them that I don't expect their preformance to drop.
CK
I'm in my second pre-season with Shire now, and have brought a few more player's in. In come Graeme Jones, Kevin McKinley, Santino Marini, Mark Stewart, Lee Sharp and Michael Fulton. Out go Roddy Hunter, Andy Ferguson, Paul Flaherty & Steven Masterton(all loans had ended), Ian Diack(£2k to Peterhead) and Gordon Forrest, Johnny Walker & Daryn Smith were released.
Iain
QUOTE(Dunc @ Sep 8 2006, 16:11) [snapback]1184049[/snapback]

Add Steve McGlinchey to that list (possible relation of Rab McGlinchey, translater for the neds?)

Makes Scotland U21's for me in a few games.

Absolutely. Can't believe I forgot Steve.
Kylesons
I went to renistall my game and after i uninstalled it i then went to install it again and the computer will reconize the disc but not run the game. i then go into my computer and open up the disc then go to pc then double click on setup and either nothing will hapening or nothing wil for a while untill a error comes up with a setup error or windows installer error. can anyone help me with this?
Mr X
QUOTE(Dunc @ Sep 11 2006, 18:12) [snapback]1187983[/snapback]

I never say Delighted at half-time. The players seem to think the job is done.

If i'm 1 or 2 goals up, I encourage. Anything more than that, I tell them that I don't expect their preformance to drop.

I always base my half time team talks on the players ratings, rather than the score.

anything less than 6 gets a "not happy"
6 gets encouragement
6-7 gets pleased
anything above 7 - delighted

generally, I base it on the majority of the team, but occasionally I'll give different talks to each player.

Mr X
QUOTE(kyle_number1son2004 @ Sep 13 2006, 11:40) [snapback]1190528[/snapback]

I went to renistall my game and after i uninstalled it i then went to install it again and the computer will reconize the disc but not run the game. i then go into my computer and open up the disc then go to pc then double click on setup and either nothing will hapening or nothing wil for a while untill a error comes up with a setup error or windows installer error. can anyone help me with this?

Sounds like the kind of thing a restart would fix wink.gif
Kylesons
What do you mean ??
Pro Patria Mori

[attachmentid=11014]

I once saw Barca buy Fernando Torres for £67million.

I like playing as lower league teams, but you have to have a bit of patience. I like the challenge, as well as they feeling of smugness of being able to say "I won the Champions League as Forest Green/St Pauli/Montrose". My current game is a Barry Fry-style mediocre journey though the lower leagues. I am in season 2009/10 and playing as Bristol Rovers in League 1. Mon the Gasheads!
Mr X
QUOTE(kyle_number1son2004 @ Sep 13 2006, 18:04) [snapback]1191102[/snapback]

What do you mean ??

huh.gif blink.gif

Restart your computer, then try the install again.
Kylesons
i have tryed this alot still the same
Mr X
QUOTE(kyle_number1son2004 @ Sep 14 2006, 10:23) [snapback]1191984[/snapback]

i have tryed this alot still the same

Clean the cd wink.gif

Then go check out the SI forums, theres usually someone else who's had the same problem.
Kylesons
Cheers m8 for the help
Kylesons
Had to get a new game coz the other one was fecked. now i have a problem installing the 6.0.3 patch. i go to setup when it comes up then a other window comes up that you would select update but you cant click on it and it says in the details bit that it was "Unable to install update-installed version information is corrupt"
Can anyone help with this?
Cheers
Mr X
QUOTE(kyle_number1son2004 @ Sep 16 2006, 10:35) [snapback]1194842[/snapback]

Had to get a new game coz the other one was fecked. now i have a problem installing the 6.0.3 patch. i go to setup when it comes up then a other window comes up that you would select update but you cant click on it and it says in the details bit that it was "Unable to install update-installed version information is corrupt"
Can anyone help with this?
Cheers

If you bought a new game and are now having problems installing the update, then I would suggest your PC has some serious problems huh.gif

Try downloading the update again
Kylesons
A quick question sorry about all these questions btw. i downloaded a data update and i dont know where to extract it too can someone please help? Thanks
BishyTON
QUOTE(kyle_number1son2004 @ Sep 17 2006, 13:22) [snapback]1196193[/snapback]

A quick question sorry about all these questions btw. i downloaded a data update and i dont know where to extract it too can someone please help? Thanks

IIRC you extract it to the data editor folder.