Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
garymcc1874
Was expected to be fighting against promotion in my first season in Division 1.

First half of the season - Brilliant! top of the league by 8pts!

Poor start to the 2nd half of the season - 6 games without a win,
dropped to 3rd place behind Inverness & Clyde.

PLayers started complaining about my training schedule!
Continued the rest of the season not great but winning and drawing a lot before ending up 4 points behind Clyde at some point
before becoming 1pt behind them going into the 2nd last game of the season which happened to be against them, and thanks to a certain Mr. Bouadji who gave away 3 penalties which Lilley converted, Morton secured the vicory and took a 2pt lead at the top of the table with 1 game left biggrin.gif
[attachmentid=10642]

Beat St Johnstone 4-0 in the final game of the season to secure promotion to the SPL against all odds smile.gif

Team was:
[attachmentid=10643]

Player of the year - Chris Templeman and i only started giving him a game in about Feb/March blink.gif
StewartyMac
Phil Younghusband????

garymcc1874
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Jul 21 2006, 01:34) [snapback]1124166[/snapback]

Phil Younghusband????

ph34r.gif

No idea why i took him laugh.gif
His 8 appearances(and 3 goals) were all in friendlies.

I gave the b*****d 2 year contract too sad.gif and he won't allow his contract to be terminated
garymcc1874
Pfft dry.gif

First SPL game and despite my new signing Alexander Odegaard opening the scoring within the first 5 minutes, got hammered 4-1 with Jankauskis scoring all 4 for Hertz!

Ack well f**k it, am off cool.gif
Dunc
I was getting pissed off trying to arrange a friendly league/cup to get myself some money - clubs kept turning me down, and then agreeing but it being cancelled. At about the 5th attempt, I couldn't be arsed entering proper details so just called the tournament "arse".

It spawned the fantastic headline:

[attachmentid=10656]

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mushroom
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Will need to start my 03/04 game with Clyde again, just nick it off my old computer and it'll be fine wink.gif
Twynholm
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
StewartyMac
Does anyone know if you can download different skins for the X-Box 360 version of the game?
Chris
QUOTE(garymcc1874 @ Jul 21 2006, 01:13) [snapback]1124146[/snapback]

Was expected to be fighting against promotion in my first season in Division 1.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Is this similar to the way Alex Williams and co fought against promotion a couple of years ago?

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Peterhead Dave
My Hearts team just won the League Cup, and I'm now a fans favourite biggrin.gif
CK
I'm out of the UEFA Cup 1st Round. Borussia Dortmund bet me 2-1 in Germany(4-1 in aggregate) I've completed my first round of fixtures, won 5, lost 5 and drew 1, and I am sitting in 8th place, having just recorded two 5-3 victories, both coming from behind
CK
One of my players, who was promoted from the youth team to the under 19's at the start of the season, has been called up to the Scotland U21 squad, and he only just turned 16 and hasn't played a game for me yet!! He got a 9 in his first match, and a 10 in the second, winning MOM. Everton and Spurs are interested in him.
Mushroom
I'm in the Semi-Final of the 2013-14 Champions League with Clyde.

My group contained FC Bayern, PSV and Benfica - I've got past Newcastle (the holders) Kilmarnock (top of the SPL laugh.gif ) and I'm won the Semi Final first leg away to FC Bayern (playing them AGAIN) 4-3 Lets see them beat me on away goals now cool.gif laugh.gif

1. Jamie Langfeild
42. Scott McLaughlin 4. John Black 37. Stuart Little 26. David Thomson
12. David Clarke
6. Lee Cole . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .11. Ross McLeod
9. Kevin McGlinchey
10. John Paul Boyle 15. Chris Zok

10 years after starting and I still have 2 players left from then- Alan Morrison - who has played about 20 games in that time and Kevin McGlinchey who was a regular striker till I shoved him in midfeild to accommodate Zok - I'm going to give McGlinchey a testomonial tournament as he has been one of my best players (he's only 24, he was 13 when I first played him laugh.gif) but should I give Alan Morrison one laugh.gif
Mon The Clyde
How much would FM 06 cost now'ish? unsure.gif
garymcc1874
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Jul 28 2006, 17:22) [snapback]1133506[/snapback]

20 quid at the most (PC version that is)
BishyTON
QUOTE(ochil-clyde @ Jul 27 2006, 10:02) [snapback]1131491[/snapback]

I'm in the Semi-Final of the 2013-14 Champions League with Clyde.

My group contained FC Bayern, PSV and Benfica - I've got past Newcastle (the holders) Kilmarnock (top of the SPL laugh.gif ) and I'm won the Semi Final first leg away to FC Bayern (playing them AGAIN) 4-3 Lets see them beat me on away goals now cool.gif laugh.gif

1. Jamie Langfeild
42. Scott McLaughlin 4. John Black 37. Stuart Little 26. David Thomson
12. David Clarke
6. Lee Cole . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .11. Ross McLeod
9. Kevin McGlinchey
10. John Paul Boyle 15. Chris Zok

10 years after starting and I still have 2 players left from then- Alan Morrison - who has played about 20 games in that time and Kevin McGlinchey who was a regular striker till I shoved him in midfeild to accommodate Zok - I'm going to give McGlinchey a testomonial tournament as he has been one of my best players (he's only 24, he was 13 when I first played him laugh.gif) but should I give Alan Morrison one laugh.gif

In my old FM05 Rangers game, Ross McCormack is currently in his 21st straight season at Ibrox (i am in 2024). He is retiring at the end of the season though (at the age of 37). He has already had his initital testimonials for 10 and 20 years, and i am thinking of having a retirement tournament for him if i ever play that game again!
Dunc
Whats up with this?? There's a few players i've seen in the game with similar, "home-made" photos.

Is it some of the programmers or something?

[attachmentid=10765]
codfish
QUOTE(Dunc @ Jul 28 2006, 18:29) [snapback]1133566[/snapback]

Whats up with this?? There's a few players i've seen in the game with similar, "home-made" photos.

[attachmentid=10765]

When the game was being made, Sports Interactive ran a competition for fans of the game to send in their photos, with a select few being used for "regenerated players".

HTH smile.gif
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(garymcc1874 @ Jul 28 2006, 17:27) [snapback]1133513[/snapback]

Cheers wink.gif

Was only hoping to only to spend £15 laugh.gif ph34r.gif
garymcc1874
18 quid from play.com
Mushroom
QUOTE(The Crippler @ Jul 28 2006, 17:33) [snapback]1133521[/snapback]

In my old FM05 Rangers game, Ross McCormack is currently in his 21st straight season at Ibrox (i am in 2024). He is retiring at the end of the season though (at the age of 37). He has already had his initital testimonials for 10 and 20 years, and i am thinking of having a retirement tournament for him if i ever play that game again!

Well I decided not to bother with the tourney as it was hard to get teams to accept - the problem is you can't get them to adknowledge its a testomonial so 1014 turned up to see us hump Man City 3-1, they were the best team I could get dry.gif
Hughsie
What's the name of that skin everyone's using?
CK
Finished my 3rd season 9th in the SPL, which is an improvement on last year's. My main strikers were in lethal form, with Emanuele Calaio scoring 29 goals, Shaun Maloney getting 20, and Ian MacSween grabbing 15, despite making most of his appearances from the bench.

I have signed Jose Pierre Fan-Fan from Rangers on a free, and I'm going on a pre season tour of Russia, then returning back home to host the Glasgow Cup laugh.gif

My U19's won the league again, and also the cup
Dunc
QUOTE(Hughsie @ Jul 29 2006, 10:22) [snapback]1133856[/snapback]

What's the name of that skin everyone's using?

I'm using Aurora - with an additional badge pack.

From Sort It Out SI
'Steve
QUOTE(Dunc @ Jul 28 2006, 18:29) [snapback]1133566[/snapback]

[attachmentid=10765]

ohmy.gif You have just noticed that?

Here are some gems for you...

[attachmentid=10772][attachmentid=10773][attachmentid=10774][attachmentid=10775][attachmentid=10776][attachmentid=10777]

And I've had this guy as my new 16 year old striker. biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=10778]
BishyTON
QUOTE(ochil-clyde @ Jul 29 2006, 10:11) [snapback]1133851[/snapback]

Well I decided not to bother with the tourney as it was hard to get teams to accept - the problem is you can't get them to adknowledge its a testomonial so 1014 turned up to see us hump Man City 3-1, they were the best team I could get dry.gif

Yeah that is something they need to improve for the new game. Testimonials should get near enough sell out crowds, as they tend to do in real life.
Dunc
QUOTE('Steve @ Jul 29 2006, 14:12) [snapback]1134000[/snapback]

ohmy.gif You have just noticed that?

Here are some gems for you...
[attachmentid=10772][attachmentid=10773][attachmentid=10774][attachmentid=10775][attachmentid=10776][attachmentid=10777]

And I've had this guy as my new 16 year old striker. biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=10778]

I've actually noticed the folder filled with the photos before. Never really thought about it though.
accies
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Jul 28 2006, 17:22) [snapback]1133506[/snapback]

QUOTE(garymcc1874 @ Jul 28 2006, 17:27) [snapback]1133513[/snapback]

Or you can always get it for free wink.gif.
Dunc
I've just finished me 3rd season with Raith, and i've bounced from success to success.

Season 1

Had a reasonably good season, winning the league, but failing to impress in any of the cups.

Brought in 3 players, for nothing, and sold Todd Lumsden to Plymouth for £250k in December.

[attachmentid=10812]

Won Manager of the Year.

Season 2

Had a good feeling about this season, and had a great start, beating St Mirren 5-1 on the opening day. Then, lost 5-2 and 6-1, and thought I could be in for a long season. Turns out these would be my last losses for 28 league games.

[attachmentid=10813]

Admittedly, it was a very poor division - notice me and Gretna, the two teams who were promoted last season, finished top 2. I also won the Challenge Cup quite easily - beat Airdrie 5-0 in the final.

I brought in 8 players, still without spending money, and made another £250k sale, this time Chris McLeod went to Hartlepool.

Again, i won Manager of the Year, Robbie Foy got Player of the Year, with Filippo Maniero 2nd.

Season 3

I have very little SPL experience on FM, and I was expecting a bottom half finish, but I felt I was good enough to avoid relegation.

I decided it was time to start spending money though. Firstly, I bought Todd Lumsden back for £1000, making a £259k profit in a season, and I also spent £70k on Rincon from Man Utd and £10k on a 17 year old DC from Lazio. Also managed to get Dennis Bergkamp for nothing. I funded these transfers by selling Allan McGregor to Nottm Forest for 90k.

To make more money I sold Steve McGlinchey, my Fans Player Of The Year, to Rangers for £475k, with £300k if he made 10 international appearances, and 30% sell-on clause. He left me on me on 30.7.2007 and I ended up buying him back, for £275k (although, I got 30% back) on 28.1.2008! thumbup2.gif

Adding him to my attack was excellent, and I was great in front of goal - and with 2 games to go I secured 3rd place, meaning in 3 seasons i've got from Second Division club to European qualifier! biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=10814]

I'm loving it!
Scott_L
I've just got a new computer and have installed FM O6 on it. The icon has appeared on the desktop and I followed all the instructions but when I click to open the game, nothing happens. Sometimes it says 'fm o6 is already running' when it bloody isn't rolleyes.gif

Can anyone put me out of my misery and stop me from smashing up a 5 hour old computer?
David W
Castel San Pietro, in Serie C2/B.

Doesn't get much tougher than that laugh.gif
Hughsie
Does anyone fancy giving me a 2 minute masterclass to show me how to get all the kit, badge packs to work. I was able to do it on last years but I can't get it to work on this one for some reason!
CK
Emanuele Calaio, who scored 29 goals for me last season, wanted to leave at he start of my new season, but I wouldn't let him. 10 SPL games later, with no goals, and no performance better than a 6, I have decided to sell him after digraceful attitude, to Rapid Wien, for £1.4 million, plus £450k after 40 league goals, and 35% of his next transfer fee. Shaun Maloney, who has missed most of the opening games, is now back, and also wants to leave, but I told him he'll be staying.

I signed young Columbian international, Andres Filipe Giraldo, for £700k at the start of the season, and he has been my top goalscorer so far. Claudio de Sousa is on loan from Rangers, who looks good, but is out with fractured ribs. I signed Irish international Glenn Whelan on a free transfer, who is the replacement for Neil Lennon

My first choice team is:

-----------------------------Paul Jarvie-----------------------------------
-------Craig McKeown------Jose FanFan--------Neil McGregor-----------
Kevin Bradley--------------------------------------------Jamie McAllister
-------Liam Fox-----------Glenn Whelan--------Paul Lawson-------------
--------------Andres Filipe Giraldo----Claudio de Sousa-----------------

subs: David Scott(GK), Romauld Bouadji, Gary Arbuckle, Ian MacSween, Emanuele Calaio, Shaun Maloney, Paul McHale
Dunc
QUOTE(Hughsie @ Aug 1 2006, 00:39) [snapback]1136460[/snapback]

Does anyone fancy giving me a 2 minute masterclass to show me how to get all the kit, badge packs to work. I was able to do it on last years but I can't get it to work on this one for some reason!

If you download one of the skins, it should come with a read-me file. That is usually quite simple instructions. Badge/kit packs should be the same.

QUOTE(CK @ Aug 1 2006, 09:45) [snapback]1136574[/snapback]

Emanuele Calaio, who scored 29 goals for me last season, wanted to leave at he start of my new season, but I wouldn't let him. 10 SPL games later, with no goals, and no performance better than a 6, I have decided to sell him after digraceful attitude, to Rapid Wien, for £1.4 million, plus £450k after 40 league goals, and 35% of his next transfer fee. Shaun Maloney, who has missed most of the opening games, is now back, and also wants to leave, but I told him he'll be staying.

I hate that so much! Robbie Foy wants to leave because he doesn't think he'll win trophies. He's forgetting about the two winners medals he got last season, then?
Dunc
Don't think I've ever seen this before:

[attachmentid=10821]

Seamus, is 16, he's from the first batch of players to come through my newly built Youth Academy. His two goals were in a friendly against Alloa.

He is Fijian! laugh.gif
rollie
I've just started my second season and I'll admit I've cheated a wee bit (not least by adding myself with "accurate" stats into the game) but it's not as bad as I used to (used to give myself £2billion then buy all the best players á lá Chelski), all I did was clear Celtic's debt.

Here's the league table from my first season:

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/614/fm06leaguecu6.jpg

And my current squad + tactics:

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/9359/teamti2.jpg
CK
Shaun Maloney just scored six goals for me in one match!!

[attachmentid=10898]
Dunc
QUOTE(CK @ Aug 6 2006, 20:41) [snapback]1142756[/snapback]

Shaun Maloney just scored six goals for me in one match!!

[attachmentid=10898]

In one of my games earlier, Aberdeen went 3-0 up on Celtic through an Ashley Grimes hat-trick, then Zurawski scored 4 times to win the game for Celtic! laugh.gif

It was quite weird to see 7 goals and just 2 scores.
CK
Finished my 4th season in charge, 9th in the SPL again, mainly down to a poor defence. I've strenghtened it, by signing Lee Mair from Falkirk in an exchange, and Gary Kenneth from Livi for £500k. Craig Bryson returns to Broadwood, after 3 years away, at Motherwell and Rangers, and I have signed 3 Italian youngsters, Russo, Zaccardi and some other bloke, plus Ghanian international Cherno Samba.

Leaving the club, are Craig McKeown, Chris Higgins, Paul Lawson(100k to Ross County), Santino Marini, Oscar Gonzalez, Lars Okland and Raymond Inglis

Captain Neil Lennon has gained his coaching badges, so he joins the backroom staff, and will be U19 coach.

I got 11 new youngsters at the start of the season, 3 of which are goalkeepers
Kylesons
I was asked by my cousin on how to fix his fm06 game but i was not sure of the problem. He says he dowloaded the 6.0.3 patch with data and installed it(not sure if he done it right) then he went to start a new game but ever since he says he has put the patch in it comes up with a error could anyone help with this.
cheers
Casper Rose
Re-install FM and you should start again with the 6.0 version. If that doesn't work, your fucked laugh.gif
CK
My Bosnian striker, Izet Zahirovic, has just been called up to the Ireland squad. Irish is his other nationality laugh.gif
sons for spl
if anybody is looking for a good goal keeper for 3,2 or 1 division football type in "jorg stiel"

hes is on a free and he retires i one year but is a excellent coach and is very good in goal plus he still gets call ups for switzerland...

no as good spl but could still do a job maby bottem half of the table
Mr X
For anyone who has problems running FM, I suggest going to the SI games forums. You'll almost certainly find someone else with the same problem and, more often than not, a fix. wink.gif
Russ.
This is just a few weird things that I have found in the game.

[attachmentid=10937][attachmentid=10938]

[attachmentid=10939][attachmentid=10940]

I'm currently in the 2008-09 season, started off unemployed then took over at Montrose in November, they were bottom of the league and not exactly the best team or finances managed to finish the season in 7th, heavily strenghtining my team for the next season, after selling youngster Adam Fleming (16 year old, Scottish/Irish- right winger but he is compotent in every other position except in goals and centre-back) he was signed before I got there but sold him in the summer £1 million to Portsmouth and with that funding brought in a lot of new experienced players including Russell Latapy, Phil O'Donnell, Dennis Wise, Teddy Sheringham and Youri Djorkaeff and winning the league by 21 points.

Then for the start of 07-08 season I joined Inverness who had finished mid-table in the first division the previous season, had quite a bit of money to spend but needed a whole new team including Adam Fleming back from Portsmouth for £190k(before selling him to Sheffield Wednesday for £1 million) and Shaun Maloney on a bosman form Celtic. That season I won the league and challenge cup while getting to the semi-finals of both Scottish and League Cup with Maloney scoring 45 goals in 49 games in all competitions.

Now I'm currently 10th in the SPL with most of my team funded by selling Maloney to Bolton for £3 million.

[attachmentid=10941][attachmentid=10942]
[attachmentid=10943]

ps: Sorry for the huge post everytime I went to update this P&b was down.
Mushroom
QUOTE(The Crippler @ Jul 29 2006, 14:33) [snapback]1134028[/snapback]

Yeah that is something they need to improve for the new game. Testimonials should get near enough sell out crowds, as they tend to do in real life.

The problem was I couldn't call it a testomonial - it was just a friendly officialy.

I am on 03/04 though do you actually get testomonials in later games?
CK
QUOTE(ochil-clyde @ Aug 11 2006, 14:21) [snapback]1146742[/snapback]

I am on 03/04 though do you actually get testomonials in later games?

No

I'm in season 09/10 now, and have just made my best start to an SPL campaign, sitting 6th after 13 games gone. I've got to the Semis of the CIS Cup, and face Livi, who I should beat. My front pairing of Shaun Maloney and Izet Zahirovic have scored 21 goals between them so far this season

My team at the moment is

David Scott

John Paul McKeever
Lee Mair
Gary Kenneth
Graeme Hunter(18 year old who came through the youth academy, got his first U21 cap aged 16, and Celtic, Everton and Spurs want him)

Cherno Samba
Craig Bryson(sold to Motherwell at end of first season, then went to Rangers and fell out of favour, so i brought him back)
Glen Wheelan
Kevin Bradley

Shaun Maloney
Izet Zahirovic

subs: Paul Jarvie, Romauld Bouadji, Liam Fox, Jamie McAllister, Gary Arbuckle, Ricky van Wolfswinkel, Giorgo Russo

Other squad players are: Robert Harris, Eddie Malone, Jose Pierre Fanfan, David McGarrigle( laugh.gif ), Neil Lennon(retiring at the end of season but he is a coach as well), Matteo Marucci, Stefano Zaccardi, Ian MacSween
DB Cooper
Does anyone know if there is an update for the new season available anywhere?

CK
QUOTE(CK @ Aug 11 2006, 14:33) [snapback]1146759[/snapback]

Graeme Hunter(18 year old who came through the youth academy, got his first U21 cap aged 16, and Celtic, Everton and Spurs want him)

I've just knocked back an offer from Man Utd of £6 million, future incentives, plus a friendly.
Casper Rose
QUOTE(CK @ Aug 11 2006, 23:52) [snapback]1147415[/snapback]

I've just knocked back an offer from Man Utd of £6 million, future incentives, plus a friendly.

One word to describe you for knocking that back, fud. You could've held out for at least another million off them and that would no doubt give you funds to strengthen the squad.