Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Twynholm
QUOTE(Dunc @ Jul 1 2006, 12:11) [snapback]1101695[/snapback]

How's this for a shite start to a game!

[attachmentid=10278]

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Not too good,but Morton away is such a hard fixture wink.gif
Twynholm
Won the league with Queens with 29 games gone with a 25 point margain smile.gif Played 4 more games then left for 1st division Inverness. Signed loads of good players over summer and am sitting in top 3 only 1 or 2 points behind leader and got knocked out in CIS Cuip 2nd round but am in Challlenge Cup semis.
Dunc
QUOTE(Twynholm @ Jul 2 2006, 00:08) [snapback]1102435[/snapback]

Not too good,but Morton away is such a hard fixture wink.gif

I actually managed to equalise! laugh.gif

(Then conceded three more times)
Ayr United FC
How did your keeper get sent off?
Dunc
QUOTE(Ayr United FC @ Jul 2 2006, 14:29) [snapback]1102989[/snapback]

How did your keeper get sent off?

Gave away a penalty, last man - then Laurie Ellis was sent off for punching Andy McLaren! laugh.gif
codfish
QUOTE(Dunc @ Jul 2 2006, 14:30) [snapback]1102992[/snapback]

Gave away a penalty, last man - then Laurie Ellis was sent off for punching Andy McLaren! laugh.gif

Good old Laurie biggrin.gif
Ayr United FC

Gave away a penalty, last man

Happened to me once, Darren Johnson came sliding out and was red carded. ohmy.gif
And I've just knocked Airdrie United out of the League Cup on penalties.
Twynholm

Right am 3rd in league 3 points behind leaders after 22 games. Got knocked out of Scots Cup 3rd round but won the challenge cup against Motherwell(2-0 AET) smile.gif
MTJ
I got bored of the current league system so I swapped the Scottish System with the NI system, as it was the best for accomodating the amount of teams, and I am liking it already as I have just taken over as Dumbarton manager and in the NI Challenge Cup which I have just renamed the Bell's Cup I have been drawn in Group 2 with Albion Rovers, East Fife, Stirling Albion, Hamilton and Ross County.
codfish
Started a game with Liverpool this afternoon, and have just completed my Champions League First Qualifying Round first and second legs - resounding victory doesn't really cover it laugh.gif

[attachmentid=10304]

Easy smile.gif
Mr X
QUOTE(codfish @ Jul 3 2006, 15:30) [snapback]1104200[/snapback]

Started a game with Liverpool this afternoon, and have just completed my Champions League First Qualifying Round first and second legs - resounding victory doesn't really cover it laugh.gif

[attachmentid=10304]

Easy smile.gif

I did similarly with Liverpool in the CL qualifiers, then couldnt buy a point away from home in the premiership dry.gif Home form wasnt a problem, but I couldnt come up with a winning formation away. If you do, let me know wink.gif
codfish
QUOTE(andycqos @ Jul 3 2006, 15:33) [snapback]1104203[/snapback]

I did similarly with Liverpool in the CL qualifiers, then couldnt buy a point away from home in the premiership dry.gif Home form wasnt a problem, but I couldnt come up with a winning formation away. If you do, let me know wink.gif

If your away record is as literal as you said, I've already done better with a 2-0 win at Upton Park on day one of the Premiership season. smile.gif
chris_c
whats the biggest score everyone has seen and been on control of in fm
Twynholm
I posted a screenshot a while ago of Holland 15-0 Andorra.

Anyway did shite with Ness and got the sack ohmy.gif and couldnt get job after 6-7 months so quit game. Will start a new one soon
BishyTON
I think my biggest was 14 or 15-0 in the final of the World Club Championships as Rangers (in FM05). Ross McCormack scored 9 goals in that game.
me thas myself
new to this so al just make it short year 2011 got ayr to the spl spent 3.5 m in that time but made 7 mil on youngsters dave templem from stenny is great and paul mcmanus
Casper Rose
Started a new game with Hibs, lost my first game to Celtic and since that have been immense, with my only defeat coming against Stuttgart. I have made £10 million from selling Riordan, Thompson, Brown and Whittaker. Signed Lovendkrands, Quavas Kirk, Steven Thompson, Joe Lewis and a couple of others. I have spent around £3 million bringing in replacements and they have been top quality.
Casper Rose
[attachmentid=10313]

[attachmentid=10314]

[attachmentid=10315]

[attachmentid=10316]
Neefie Noodle
Think the last time i posted I'd just been promoted to the 2nd Div with Elgin via the playoffs.

1st season in Div 2 made the playoff for the 1st div. Got beat.
Next 2 seasons ended up finishing 5th. Got the Scotland job. However, before doing this I sold one of my youngsters to Livi. Bonus clauses that £100K after 20 league games and £1M after 10 scotland games. So I've got £950K in the bank now.

After 30 games I am 2 points away from winning the league.
Gaz
I'm halfway through my 2nd season with Newcastle United. Sitting at 2nd biggrin.gif in the Premier League behind Liverpool, although Man Utd are only a point behind. Chelsea are 5 points behind but have 3 games in hand.

Team consists of: Given, Babayaro, Boumsong, Taylor, Carr, Denilson, Hugo Viana, Recoba, Bowyer, Owen, Saha. Subs are Gordon, Bramble, Solano, Luque and Rivaldo.
Mr X
QUOTE(codfish @ Jul 3 2006, 16:44) [snapback]1104274[/snapback]

If your away record is as literal as you said, I've already done better with a 2-0 win at Upton Park on day one of the Premiership season. smile.gif

No, not entirely literal wink.gif
codfish
QUOTE(andycqos @ Jul 4 2006, 16:15) [snapback]1105318[/snapback]

No, not entirely literal wink.gif

Damn, that would have been amusing tongue.gif
Mr X
QUOTE(codfish @ Jul 4 2006, 16:34) [snapback]1105334[/snapback]

Damn, that would have been amusing tongue.gif

I got over the problem by signing better players wink.gif although the difference between home and away form is still a puzzle blink.gif

Whats more worrying is my inability to win big games dry.gif dunno if its the players Ive signed or formation or what sad.gif
Neefie Noodle
well, I won the league by a mile. Now building a squad for division 1. Also re-building the Scotland Squad for the 2012 Euro Qualifying campiagn.
The Minertaur
Started a new game as Cowdenbeath boss. Top of the league after 9 games. 5 wins and 4 draws. 2 of the draws being 3-3 draws with Albion who in both games scored last minute equalisers!
JamboMan1
In my new season with the saints I am top after 7 games. Have signed Scott Mitchell from Ipswich , Daryl Smilie From Newcastle And Matty Collins From Fulham. All Are Centre Mids And Were Free. Also Got Paul Lawson And Kenny Wright On Loan. Out Of Both Cups But Focusing On The League.

Seen The Screenies For 07 ... Cant Wait biggrin.gif
Casper Rose
Same here, the new features look fantastic smile.gif
Dunc
Feeder clubs sound class!
Casper Rose
Just as long as there is no irregular payments to them laugh.gif
Twynholm
Link please............

Anyway started a game with Scotland earlier. Released all staff and made it an all Scottish backroom team. Took over 21s and 19s too.

Record with 19s-

Drew 1 freindly lost 1. Then came the qualifyinf group. Drew with Ukraine, Lost to Spain the was winning to Estonia meaning i qualified but they equalised and then i scored in the last minute only for it to be disallowed so i never qualified dry.gif

Record with 21s-

Won 1st friendly 5-0 in Austria. Beat France 5-2, Beat Norway 3-1, Belarus 3-0, Slovenia 5-0 to finish top after taking over whilst being 2nd bottom. Drew 1-1 in play off 1st leg with Holland then lost 2-1 at home to go out despite missing 101 chances sad.gif

Big Team-

Austria 1-3 Scotland
Scotland 3-2 Italy- 2 late goals smile.gif
Norway 2-1- sad.gif sad.gif
Scotland 1-0 Belarus- Hartley in last minute
Slovenia 2-1 Scotland- Had reserve team out
Scotland 0-0 USA
Scotland 2-0 Chile

So in end i qualified for no tournaments but have a clean slate to start with and 3 impressive teams smile.gif

Dunc
This man has got to have the greatest name in FM history, Argel Fucks can't even see this bloke...

dubs
Re-installed my old CM01/02 for the banter earlier, and found an update for up until the end of the 2004/2005 season, which was the best I could get.

Went Stenny and won the Challenge Cup in the 1st season, beating St Johnstone, Ross County, Morton, Stirling Albion and Berwick on the way. All in higher divisions than me! Won 2-0 in the final against the Binos.
codfish
Currently in my 4th season as Hearts boss, having started with 2006/07 leagues and European qualifiers...

Season 1 - Finished 3rd in the SPL, 3 points off second, and 13 behind champions Rangers. Dunfermline knocked my reserve side out of the League Cup at the third round stage, and a last minute winner handed Celtic a third round Scottish Cup victory at Tynecastle. I made the group stages of the Champions League, but a victory and a draw over PSV Eindhoven coupled with a draw against AC Milan wasn't enough to progress in Europe at all. Mamadou Diallo was the pick of my signings, funded by selling Andy Webster to Middlesbrough for £1.6 million.

Season 2 - In came Gerard Pique and Simone Inzaghi (still funded by the sale of Webster) for what I hoped would be a better challenge domestically and on the European front. Again, I finished third in the SPL, although I was 30 points behind champions Celtic this time. I got a round further in the League Cup, but Dundee United beat me in the quarter final, while their neighbours disposed of me in the fourth round of the Scottish Cup. In Europe, I made the group stage of the UEFA Cup, but a solitary victory over FC Zurich sent me crashing out again.

Season 3 - 12 new players arrived at Tynecastle throughout the season, most notable signings being Serginho, Alvaro Mejia and Sebastien Grax, but 11 departed, including making £3.5 million in total from the sales of Lee Wallace and Robbie Neilson. Had a poorer season though, finishing 4th (31 points behind Celtic at the top), but had some more success in the cups, getting to the semi final of the League Cup (before suffering a 5-2 defeat to Celtic), and the final of the Scottish Cup, where I through away the lead in second half stoppage time, and lost on penalty kicks. In Europe, I made it through the group stage of the UEFA Cup, but lost 4-3 to Ajax in the first knockout round.

Season 4 (current) - 5 new faces have arrived, most notably Mark Viduka on a free transfer, with 14 exiting the club in an attempt to get the wage bill under control (Diallo and Paul Hartley were the two biggest casualties, after refusing to take a pay cut or asking for a 100% pay rise). After 8 league games, I'm 5 points off the pace in 4th place, and I'm into the quarter finals of the League Cup (facing Aberdeen at home). In Europe, I've beaten Portadown 4-1 on aggregate to reach the UEFA Cup group stage, where I'll face Real Betis, Hertha Berlin, Vitoria Guimaraes and AA Gent. Yikes! ohmy.gif
codfish
My fourth season with Hearts is going pretty well - I'm sitting a point clear at the top of the league, into the final of the League Cup, and in the quarter final of the Scottish Cup, as well as having a UEFA Cup first knock-out round tie against Messina to look forward to. The only downside was the fact that the board had to inject £4 million into the club to avoid recievership (I thought I was running things quite well), which prompted me to sell Craig Gordon for £3 million. My wage bill is a bit too high, but it'll go down at the end of the season when I'll be releasing at least 10 players.
chris_c
QUOTE(chris_c @ Jun 26 2006, 13:59) [snapback]1095826[/snapback]

dont know if it has be mentioned as im not looking into 62 pages

anyone got a player called Mauricio Pinilla he is top class scores barroloads
this is my career in my game that im quite proud of ( if anyone cares )

joined Newcastle United start of 2005 season Final Position 7th

In march 2007 quit as club was selling my players without my permission

April 2007 Joined Birmingham as Manager to keep clear of relegation

Get them up to 7th and arsenal approach me as replacement to wenger in jan 08

between 2008 and 2010 with

Arsenal -Position--- 2nd 08--- FA Cup 08 ---Champions League 08---Super Cup 08---Club World Championship 08

League Cup 09 ----Fa Cup 09---Champions League 09----Premiership 09
won everything in that season and felt i couldnt improve that so quit end of 08/09 season
Employed as SCOTLAND manager end of year 09
Empoyed as Real Madrid manager march 2010 as they got well beaten in champions league
Won spanish cup
won la liga

Then my most impressive football manager ever for some reason i went on to win

SCOTLAND WORLD CUP WINNERS 2010
i dont want to continue with this game now

jus won diddy spanish cup with real won la liga won champions league...i think i will now quit again and go another team..this got to be my best ever game wonder if i can win euro with scotland now
Peterhead Dave
Hmm, just started a game as East Fife. First friendly went well, losing 1-0 to a late Stirling Albion goal.

Secnd game didn't go quite so well, but with Dundee United leading 6-0 at the break, and indeed half-time, I told my players I expected nothing less than a win.

Final score?

9-0 laugh.gif

And Werder Bremen are still to visit New Bayview. Gulp.
The Minertaur
Just won the 3rd Division as Cowden boss in my first season in charge!

Won it by 31 points from Albion Rovers biggrin.gif

And for the first time ever I went the whole season without any on my players being sent off!

The team of the season contained 13 (yes THIRTEEN) Cowden players with the whole of the starting line up being Cowden players

Casper Rose
Who was all in your team ohmy.gif
CK
Well, that was a strange first SPL season. After spending the majority of the season bottom, I moved out of the drop zone on my 2nd last game, and stayed in the SPL on the last day of the season, with a 3-2 over Kilmarnock. I changed my tactics for the last 10 games or so, and only lost once, playing a 3-2(wingbacks tracking back)-4(wide players supporting striker)-1.

I have just started my second season, and have qualified for the UEFA Cup qualifying round, despite finishing 11th in the SPL. No idea how that works out. I played some team from the Faroe Islands in the 1st Qualifying Round 9-0 on aggregate, with my new signing(who's name I have already forgotten laugh.gif ) grabbing 6 of the goals. Shaun Maloney is also joining me in the start of August, when his Celtic contract expires
Gaz
Completed a new first season with Newcastle.

Knocked out of the UEFA Cup, League Cup and FA Cup fairly early on but that let me concentrate on the league. Finished 4th and got a Champions League spot biggrin.gif

Let Michael Owen go - Chelsea asked how much I wanted and I asked for £40m, and they bid it! He's too injury prone.

With the money, signed Valeiri Bojinov for £18m (17 goals in 20 games, he is described as a "Wonderkid" and is brilliant), Denilson on a free transfer, Alan Smith, Hernan Crespo and a couple of others, but I had an injury crisis (7 of my first team out including all my strikers) and plummeted down the league. I've now started to string a few results together now so I'm back up in 7th just after halfway through the season.

Got through the groups of the CL as well so now have Villareal in the first knockout stage.
CK
I bet MTK Budapest 6-5 on aggregate AET in the 2nd UEFA Cup Qualifying Round. I then drew Borussia Dortmund in the UEFA Cup 1st Round. It'll be hard laugh.gif
Stu
Out of interest, has anyone managed to get themselves a better job in Scotland based on success in the SFL?

Let me explain. After being sacked as Carlisle, I ended up as Stirling manager. They were in the third division. First season i got into the playoffs, second I won the league. The next two seasons I made it into the promotion to division one playoffs, sadly losing to Queen of the South each time. I've also taken them from being a few hundred thousand in the red to having more than a million in the bank, thanks to selling guys for far more than they are worth.

Now, in my view this is a pretty good record, yet I've not even been offered the job of whoever was bottom of the first division.

By comparison, in the same game, my brother got Northampton town promoted, relegated, won League Two and was half way through the next season before being offered the Watford job, and they were in the Championship blink.gif
Thundermonkey
Anyone playing this on the PSP? If so, is it worth buying?
CK
I played my 1st Round 1st Leg UEFA Cup match against Borussia Dortmund, and it went better than expected. I lost 2-0, but the players performed well.
Gaz
Haha, I've never seen this! biggrin.gif
CK
QUOTE(Gaz @ Jul 20 2006, 17:34) [snapback]1123571[/snapback]

Haha, I've never seen this! biggrin.gif

It happens reguarly on my game unsure.gif
KTID
QUOTE(CK @ Jul 20 2006, 17:42) [snapback]1123576[/snapback]

Ah, so your team regularly plays pish then?

tongue.gif
Gaz
QUOTE(CK @ Jul 20 2006, 17:42) [snapback]1123576[/snapback]

Nah I've seen it before, but if you bother to read it wink.gif you'll notice that Fergie's blasting Van for the performance, even though they beat me 5-1!
Dunc
[attachmentid=10637]

Fantastic game in the screenshot. I made all 3 substitutions at half time. And Laurie Ellis at left back was at about 70% but had to stay on.

I played the last 10 minutes playing a 2-2-3 formation, with an unfit Laurie Ellis and Todd Lumsden in defence.

In injury time, Grady scored again, and I was completely gutted - so gutted I missed the wee bit saying it was dissallowed - I looked up again to see Matheson getting his fingertips to a McGlinchey shot, and Neil Jablonski firing home the rebound! thumbup2.gif

The result sends me 4 points clear of Gretna at the top of the league.

Woops, forgot to add the screenshot! ph34r.gif
Peterhead Dave
Hmm. Not happy. Playing as Hearts against Celtic, I lost Saulius Mikoliunas to injury early on. Sub 1 used. I then took the lead on the stroke of half time, and at the break brought on David Clarkson for Roman Bednar, to keep some fresh legs up front. Sub 2 used.

Then Michal Pospisil pulls up with an injury, and has to be replaced. Sub 3 used. Fair enough, thinks I, these things happen.

Then Clarkson pulled up with an injury and had to go off, leaving me to go one up and try to hold onto my lead for 20 minutes.

THEN, ten minutes from time, Craig Gordon gets injured and also has to go off.

I finished with this formation:

[attachmentid=10640]

And the b*****ds equalised in injury time sad.gif

EDIT: The injuries were:
Clarkson - torn calf muscle - 3 to 4 months sad.gif
Pospisil - strained knee ligaments - 1 to 2 months
Mikoliunas - brused thigh - 5 days to 2 weeks smile.gif
Gordon - Sprained ankle - 1 to 2 months sad.gif

And on top of that, Stevie Pressley has caught the bloody cold!