Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Dunc
Dramatic end to the season on the Network game!

I won the league, just, on the last day of the season!

Before the games, I was 2 points behind Motherwell, and their goal difference was 14 better than mine.

Motherwell were at home to 3rd placed Partick Thistle, and I had an away game at mid-table Hamilton.

At half-time, things were looking VERY bleak for me, with Motherwell leading 1-0, and me losing 1-0 to a Gary Wales goal right before the break.

I had a wee go at my players, telling them they had to get a result, and changed the tactics to "fucking go for it!" Took them just 3 minutes to start working, with Stephen Dobbie equalising.

20 minutes passed, and I was still drawing, and Motherwell were still winning, and I had just about given up, when Hugo Morales, my Argentinian signing popped up to score his first ever goal for the Saintees! I took a look at the Latest Scores, and Gary Arbuckle had grabbed a quick double for Thistle, and so now I was winning and Motherwell were losing!

With less than 10 minutes to go, Dobbie scored again, securing my win, and I just had to sit and watch the Latest Scores screen, hoping for it to get to Full Time.

Full Time scores:
Hamilton 1 - 3 St Johnstone
Motherwell 1 - 2 Partick Thistle

Fuckin' lovin' it!

Neil Lennon got MoM in my game, and managed to get through the whole season without getting sent off - although, he did get the most yellow cards! laugh.gif
Casper Rose
Graham Weir just netted a double hat-trick for me in my last game there ohmy.gif . I have had a bad month though, 4 games, 1 win and 3 defeats sad.gif
1andymclaren
Shite!?! I know someone had this problem before on here but i'm no trawling through 50-odd pages to find it, so here is my problem:

My games show up on the loading screen but when i click load i get booted out of Fm and a wee error message says "Unable to load saved game"

Help Appreciated smile.gif
Casper Rose
10 out of 10 for stating the obvious laugh.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ May 25 2006, 17:02) [snapback]1057671[/snapback]

10 out of 10 for stating the obvious laugh.gif

blink.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ May 25 2006, 13:06) [snapback]1057252[/snapback]

Shite!?! I know someone had this problem before on here but i'm no trawling through 50-odd pages to find it, so here is my problem:

My games show up on the loading screen but when i click load i get booted out of Fm and a wee error message says "Unable to load saved game"

Help Appreciated smile.gif

Can anyone actuallyhelp or do i have to start again sad.gif ?
Dave's Alias
You have to start again methinks. Unless you have rolling autosave on, in which case just go back to the Gamename_v2 file tongue.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(Dave's Alias @ May 25 2006, 19:14) [snapback]1057914[/snapback]

You have to start again methinks. Unless you have rolling autosave on, in which case just go back to the Gamename_v2 file tongue.gif

Have to start again then sad.gif for the second time and both times i was in year 2009 dry.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ May 25 2006, 19:32) [snapback]1057941[/snapback]

Have to start again then sad.gif for the second time and both times i was in year 2009 dry.gif

Put autosave on then, ya f'cking idiot!

If you don't learn from your mistakes...
Neefie Noodle
Decided that I'd try and take a team all the way from the bottom to the top. Choose Workington in the engleesh Conf North. Currently about to start my 2nd season. 1 st season ended up a total success. Won the league by 10 points, with +46 goal difference. Reached 1st round FA Cup and semi finals for the FA trophy. Made a profit of £120K. Not bad going.
Twynholm
1andymclaren your problem is you probably dont go to exit game when you have finished which corrupts it(i think) i have this all the time but now i know the problem so dont do it smile.gif
Casper Rose
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ May 25 2006, 17:50) [snapback]1057769[/snapback]

blink.gif

CK replied "I think you have a problem with your game there" to which I replied, "10 our of 10 for stating the obvious." CK has obviously deleted his post to make me look like a fud laugh.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(Twynholm @ May 26 2006, 12:38) [snapback]1058615[/snapback]

1andymclaren your problem is you probably dont go to exit game when you have finished which corrupts it(i think) i have this all the time but now i know the problem so dont do it smile.gif

I always exit the game properly unsure.gif

Doesn't matter anymore, i've deleted that game and started again smile.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ May 26 2006, 15:26) [snapback]1058857[/snapback]

I always exit the game properly unsure.gif

Doesn't matter anymore, i've deleted that game and started again smile.gif

Have you put Autosave on? rolleyes.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(Dunc @ May 26 2006, 15:40) [snapback]1058892[/snapback]

Have you put Autosave on? rolleyes.gif

Yes! dry.gif
Dunc
I've got a great run of fixtures coming up soon! Old Firm double, then Edinburgh double, then Highland double.

Celtic, Rangers, Hearts, Hibs, ICT, Ross County!
fraser_arab
I landed the job as the Ayr manager in the network game. No-body wants to come to me sad.gif After 9 games in 2nd bottom with 6 points.
Pld 9 W 1 D 3 L 5 GD -3 - I beat Brechin 3-1 and every game I've lost, it's been by 1 goal mad.gif
fraser_arab
QUOTE(Neefie Noodle @ May 26 2006, 10:51) [snapback]1058458[/snapback]

Decided that I'd try and take a team all the way from the bottom to the top. Choose Workington in the engleesh Conf North. Currently about to start my 2nd season. 1 st season ended up a total success. Won the league by 10 points, with +46 goal difference. Reached 1st round FA Cup and semi finals for the FA trophy. Made a profit of £120K. Not bad going.

I'm going to try and do the same, choose someone from England Conference North/South and see how far I can get biggrin.gif
Dave's Alias
QUOTE(fraser_arab @ May 26 2006, 20:23) [snapback]1059256[/snapback]

I'm going to try and do the same, choose someone from England Conference North/South and see how far I can get biggrin.gif

I tried that with... er... some team. I got bored though and started a new game. It's still sat there waiting for me to finish the second season (I got promoted to the Conference National in my first season through the playoffs). I think I'm near the top again as well :S
PeterheadDave
Ooops! Wrong log in! laugh.gif
Twynholm
I think i will start in the 3rd division and build my way up the ladder smile.gif
fraser_arab
QUOTE(Dave's Alias @ May 26 2006, 22:54) [snapback]1059420[/snapback]

I tried that with... er... some team. I got bored though and started a new game. It's still sat there waiting for me to finish the second season (I got promoted to the Conference National in my first season through the playoffs). I think I'm near the top again as well :S

I started mine with Dorchestor Town (?). It was going downhill from day 1 with debt, no players taking wage cuts and i couldn't afford to let them go so I quit and started a game with Montrose.

Edited to add: Just played my 1st game in charge in the Challenge Cup v Raith. Going into this I was thinking oh well at least it's not a bigger cup, doesn't really matter if I go out in the 1st round. 41st minute, Duncan McLean, just outside the box 1 on 1 with the keeper when Todd Lumsden pulls him back. Free-kick awarded and Lumsden sent off. Martyn Fotheringham scores the free-kick thumbup2.gif. 1-0 with about 5 minutes to go, Calum Watson 1 on 1 with the keeper but Chris McLeod pulls him back. Penalty and Raith down to 9 men. Watson steps up calmly and converts the penalty. 2-0 FT biggrin.gif thumbup2.gif biggrin.gif
[attachmentid=9457]

Edited again: Just got St. Johnstone in the next round crying.gif
Another Edit: Took Ross County into ET in the League Cup, 1-1 at FT 2-1 AET sad.gif
fraser_arab
Question Time
I can either use my team logos and an FM skin or a custom skin and no logos, can anyone help sad.gif

Heres a couple of screenshots to show what I mean.
With Logos
[attachmentid=9464]
With Skin
[attachmentid=9465]
1andymclaren
QUOTE(fraser_arab @ May 27 2006, 16:01) [snapback]1059922[/snapback]

Question Time
I can either use my team logos and an FM skin or a custom skin and no logos, can anyone help sad.gif

Heres a couple of screenshots to show what I mean.
With Logos
[attachmentid=9464]
With Skin
[attachmentid=9465]

You can have your own skin and logos at the same time, ya tadger smile.gif
fraser_arab
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ May 27 2006, 17:24) [snapback]1060008[/snapback]

You can have your own skin and logos at the same time, ya tadger smile.gif

It's your fault, you hassled me into getting new badges mad.gif

And clearly from my screenshots the badges dont work with the skin rolleyes.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(fraser_arab @ May 27 2006, 17:34) [snapback]1060027[/snapback]

It's your fault, you hassled me into getting new badges mad.gif

And clearly from my screenshots the badges dont work with the skin rolleyes.gif

I simply asked why you didn't use them, and that mines looked better with all the logos and stuff smile.gif

Go to preferences, scroll down til you see " Use skin cache " and untick the box, close FM, open it again and bingo! smile.gif
fraser_arab
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ May 27 2006, 17:40) [snapback]1060036[/snapback]

I simply asked why you didn't use them, and that mines looked better with all the logos and stuff smile.gif

Go to preferences, scroll down til you see " Use skin cache " and untick the box, close FM, open it again and bingo! smile.gif

Well done sir, my skin and badges now work. You weren't completely right though...I didn't have to restart FM tongue.gif
Falkirks-Finest
Signed quite alot of players for Falkirk

Whitbread(liverpool)
jones(liverpool)
Foy(liverpool)
burchall(port vale)
brighton, malone(clyde)
ma kalambay and pidgeily(chelsea)
kean and broadfoot (St Mirren)
snodgrass(livi)

cheated a little bit to get money sold darren hill to Chelsea for 98million laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
fraser_arab
1st season as Montrose manager:-

Won the 3rd by 4 points.
Got to the 2nd round of the Scottish, the 1st round of the League and the 2nd round of the Challenge Cup.

Not long into my 2nd season and I'm 4th after 3 games - won 2 and lost 1. Got put out in the 1st round of the League Cup and I'm in the 2nd round of the Challenge Cup.

I've signed 3 1st team players and 2 U19s

thumbup2.gif
dubs
QUOTE(Falkirks-Finest @ May 28 2006, 12:28) [snapback]1060776[/snapback]

Signed quite alot of players for Falkirk

Whitbread(liverpool)
jones(liverpool)
Foy(liverpool)
burchall(port vale)
brighton, malone(clyde)
ma kalambay and pidgeily(chelsea)
kean and broadfoot (St Mirren)
snodgrass(livi)

cheated a little bit to get money sold darren hill to Chelsea for 98million laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I'm not being funny, but whats the point in actually playing it if you cheat?
Twynholm
QUOTE(dubya @ May 28 2006, 16:20) [snapback]1060985[/snapback]

Because he is a dimwit dry.gif

Anyway i thought i would take the ultimate challene to work my way to the very very top from as low as it can get. I went Moor Green in the Conference North and after being heavily tipped for relegation we are 4 points clear after 8 games with 7 wins and 1 draw. I also won 4-2 in my FA cup qualifying match.

My secret was to get the players to sign on FT smile.gif
Casper Rose
QUOTE(dubya @ May 28 2006, 16:20) [snapback]1060985[/snapback]

I also don't see the point in cheating, it takes the challenge out of it. I admit in the days of Champ 01-02 I used to cheat but I found it better and was more proud of my achievements when I didn't cheat.
Casper Rose
My "make or break season" fucked up a bit so I've decided to wrap it before I get sacked, any suggestions for a team to go in a new game?
1andymclaren
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ May 28 2006, 23:44) [snapback]1061398[/snapback]

My "make or break season" fucked up a bit so I've decided to wrap it before I get sacked, any suggestions for a team to go in a new game?

Why not just resign from the job and wait for another job to become available instead of starting again huh.gif
Casper Rose
Because I like to be with the team from the beginning to see what's what if you know what I mean.
BishyTON
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ May 29 2006, 00:29) [snapback]1061465[/snapback]

Because I like to be with the team from the beginning to see what's what if you know what I mean.

Yeah I am the same. I don't like to take over a new side as previous managers have made signings that i may not like. In my entire time playing Champ Manager/Football Manager, I have only changed club jobs once, moving from Rangers to Fulham in CM4.
Casper Rose
I have done it before, I hated it and haven't done it since.
dubs
Moving clubs in management games NEVER works, the team is always fucked when you join them.
fraser_arab
Yep, taking over teams is crap especially if its after a couple of seasons, because by then the old manager will have sold a lot of the players that you know from the club and signed new ones and you won't know who to play. Although in my old game I managed 4 clubs!

Update on my Montrose game:

Currently sitting 4th in the league so just in the playoffs.
[attachmentid=9498]
In my last league game I beat Morton 3-0 thumbup2.gif

Got to the Challenge Cup semi final before getting beat 2-1 by Partick. Got put out of the League Cup in the 1st round and I'm in the 2nd round of the Scottish.
Neefie Noodle
started off as Elgin Yesterday.

Sold 5 of the players to raise some cash and lower the wage bill.

Brought in Jered Stirling and a few unkown overseas players. Finished 2nd in the League, knocked out in the 1st round of all the cups. Made £50K profit. Played a 4-1-3-2 formation. Works really well.

Twynholm
Go Moor Green Casper like i did and see if you can do better cool.gif
Casper Rose
No problem, I will start it tonight and will keep you all updated biggrin.gif .
CK
I'm doing shite after winning promotion to the SPL with Clyde in my first season. 10 games gone, 1 point gained and 3 goals scored ph34r.gif

I signed Neil Lennon on a free(he is my joint top league scorer on 1 laugh.gif ), Paul Lawson on loan from Celtic, Robert Davidson on loan from Rangers, Simon Lynch(part exchange), Liam Fox, Austin McCann, Diego Mainz, Ed Brand and Jamie McAllister, plus a few Scandanavian based players, including Daniel Eres, Joakim Ssempasa and Rodriguez-Ellison

I sold Paul Hilland to Dundee(part exchange), and Craig Bryson to Motherwell for £700k + future incentives

I did beat Elgin convincingly 4-0 in the CIS Cup though laugh.gif
Casper Rose
Your team looks shite CK smile.gif . Enjoy your season long loan in the SPL laugh.gif
CK
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ May 29 2006, 17:48) [snapback]1062201[/snapback]

Your team looks shite CK smile.gif . Enjoy your season long loan in the SPL laugh.gif

My team is not shite, we're just on a bad run of form rolleyes.gif
Dunc
I signed Neil Lennon on a free for my second season in the First with the Saintees, and he managed to go the whole season without being sent off - then it took him 70 minutes of the new season to be shown a red card, against the Huns at Greyskull! laugh.gif

After 12 games in the SPL, i'm 8th, but i'm only 4 points behind 4th.Only the OF have scored more than me, but a couple of heavy losses have affected team morale.

First team:

[attachmentid=9504]

Reserve Squad (not the happiest of places):

[attachmentid=9505]

League:

[attachmentid=9506]

As you can see, I have a massive squad, and only 11 places each week! sad.gif

My sub-goalie, Pornstein or whatever his name is, is 50 years old! laugh.gif He's totally pish, but I still play him for comedy purposes!

My First Team morale is low right now because I just had the OF back-to-back, and lost 1-0 to Tic, and 2-0 to Rankgers.

Maradona is class! I got him free from Porto B, and he is top quality. So is my keeper, Daniel Kiss.

Dwight Yorke and Adrian Ilie are both shite, but Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink isn't too bad. I only signed them because they were free. Originally, i was going to reunite the Man Utd duo of Yorke and Cole, but Cole wants hefty wages, and he's worse than the others!
Peterhead Dave
I like your reserve team's AMR wink.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ May 29 2006, 19:28) [snapback]1062288[/snapback]

I like your reserve team's AMR wink.gif

Thought you might! He's usually in my first team, he picked up an injury and I like to keep my First Team to just the one page worth of players!

Last season, my Reserves won their league with 100%, and 4 goals conceded, because most of the players were decent enough to play First Team, just I had other options.
CK
I was wrong, it was only a 9 game streak with 1 point and 3 goals biggrin.gif

I just played my 10th game and bet Kilmarnock 3-2 biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Casper Rose
Started my game with Moor Green. To begin with I offered all my players a new full-time deal, 13 accepted. I signed Ryan Thomson to bang in the goals but he's not been to good so far. My squad was cut to it's bare bones so I went on a signing spree. I am currently sitting 4th after 4 games smile.gif .