Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
Gaz
Just started a game with The Shire, with the ambition of winning the Champions League within 15 seasons (although not necessarily with the Shire!).

Anyone recommend any good free transfers etc. from the outset?
Burnsie
QUOTE(Gaz @ Apr 19 2006, 18:29) [snapback]1002085[/snapback]

Just started a game with The Shire, with the ambition of winning the Champions League within 15 seasons (although not necessarily with the Shire!).

Anyone recommend any good free transfers etc. from the outset?

Try Steve McGlinchey, Paul Rudden, Kevin Christie, Graeme Holmes, Ryan Wilkie and Craig Campbell.
Peterhead Dave
Steve McGlinchey is a must have up front. Pacy and can finish, and is often the difference between 1 point and three in the lower leagues.

If you can get Craig Gunn from Ross County or Craig O'Reilly from Dundee, they score shitloads as well smile.gif

Look out for Stuart McCluskey's contract running out at the end of January - you might be able to get him on a free smile.gif
djchapsticks
Finally got to the end of the first season again and saved it this time. I won the league with quite a bit to spare and I am still signing Charlie Adam for £275k.

Got allowed a transfer bounty of £475k for the season due to such high gate reciepts coupled with a low wage bill! This was after I had shelled out £275k for Charlie Adam! ohmy.gif

Celtic offered up £230k for Stewart Kean, I decided to negotiate them to £700k, which was accepted and he went. smile.gif

Hearts still got relegated. And I snapped up from them:

Lee Wallace - £100k (new first choice left back)
Christophe Berra - £45k (cover for centre half)
John Neill - Free (potential)
Rais M'Bohli - £26k (as back up keeper)

I have also signed:

Kalle Ljungberg from GIF Sundsvaal for £220k, 21 year old Swedish U21 cap who plays across the midfield or upfront.

John Mensah - Ghanain full back with 30 odd caps on a free transfer.

Jay Bothroyd from Charlton for £120k to strengthen my attacking options as Mornar is getting old and Snodgrass is being looked at by Celtic and Sheffield Weds.

And I splashed the remainder of my transfer cash to sign 21 year old Egyptian versatile man Hosni from strasbourg for £225k upfront plus an extra £300k over the next 2 years.

All this on the other hand has seen my salary sky rocket and I'm sitting with a salary of £30,102 with an available £30,000, so I might release one or two no-hopers to get it back down! wink.gif

[attachmentid=8134]

Also, the world cup final saw a huge shock winner! ohmy.gif

[attachmentid=8135]

And the SPL has an even more shocking new 3rd force! blink.gif huh.gif

[attachmentid=8136]
Russ.
Just a couple of games into the season now with Queen of the South, already had 2 really excellent matches. A Cup game with Morton in which they dominated yet I beat them 4-1 and an 11 goal thriller with top of the league Clyde in which they scored the winner in the last minute.

[attachmentid=8179]

[attachmentid=8181]
StewartyMac
I love that skin, I really wish it was available for FM2005 sad.gif

I notice Alex Williams scored 4 in that game.

In my game (In the 2009-10 season), he plays for ICT now, and has scored 8 goals up to October. Nothing unusual about that, until you discover it's been two 4-goal salvos against the same team.....Falkirk laugh.gif

Always knew the wee ned was a Beano ar heart. tongue.gif
Russ.
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Apr 20 2006, 19:44) [snapback]1003777[/snapback]

I love that skin, I really wish it was available for FM2005 sad.gif

I notice Alex Williams scored 4 in that game.

In my game (In the 2009-10 season), he plays for ICT now, and has scored 8 goals up to October. Nothing unusual about that, until you discover it's been two 4-goal salvos against the same team.....Falkirk laugh.gif

Always knew the wee ned was a Beano ar heart. tongue.gif

Are you sure you can't get it for FM2005, I thought the 2006 skin was carried on from 2005 unsure.gif I'll try and see if I can find the skin somehwere, i'm sure it was available for FM2005, I might be wrong though.

I couldn't believe that he scored 4 goals in that game, was quite happy with a 5-5 draw then he goes and scores in the last minute dry.gif

I always knew that there was something not right with him, 8 goals in 2 games, they were either offside, penalties or tap-ins thats the only way that, that could have happened. whistling.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Only1Hagi @ Apr 20 2006, 22:28) [snapback]1004018[/snapback]

Are you sure you can't get it for FM2005, I thought the 2006 skin was carried on from 2005 unsure.gif I'll try and see if I can find the skin somehwere, i'm sure it was available for FM2005, I might be wrong though.

There IS an Aurora skin for FM 2005 (Iassume that skin is Aurora), but the big logos, and the coloured shading at the top isnae there. I guess thats a specific 06 design.
Russ.
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Apr 20 2006, 22:43) [snapback]1004067[/snapback]

There IS an Aurora skin for FM 2005 (Iassume that skin is Aurora), but the big logos, and the coloured shading at the top isnae there. I guess thats a specific 06 design.

Yes it is Aurora that must of what I had been thinking becasue I have seen the Aurora skin for FM2005, but even that shouldn't really make much of a change to the skin, only really, small details.
1andymclaren
QUOTE(Only1Hagi @ Apr 20 2006, 23:01) [snapback]1004096[/snapback]

Yes it is Aurora that must of what I had been thinking becasue I have seen the Aurora skin for FM2005, but even that shouldn't really make much of a change to the skin, only really, small details.

No it isn't laugh.gif ph34r.gif

That is Turnstyle06 unsure.gif Either that or they are both the exact same unsure.gif
1andymclaren
I've provided people with so much help on this topic ph34r.gif , i expect someone to help me now laugh.gif

Right, downloaded and installed all English Team Badges, ok fine, installed them, ok fine, all kits work except the Arsenal home!!!!! How can i fix this?
'Steve
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Apr 20 2006, 23:35) [snapback]1004171[/snapback]

I've provided people with so much help on this topic ph34r.gif , i expect someone to help me now laugh.gif

Right, downloaded and installed all English Team Badges, ok fine, installed them, ok fine, all kits work except the Arsenal home!!!!! How can i fix this?

I had the same problem when I downloaded all of the Scottish kits when the Raith one wouldn't show up, but it eventually appeared, possibly because I had saved and reloaded my game.

Only1Hagi- That skin is Turnstyle06, by far the best skin for FM.
Twynholm
QUOTE(Only1Hagi @ Apr 20 2006, 18:32) [snapback]1003680[/snapback]

Just a couple of games into the season now with Queen of the South, already had 2 really excellent matches. A Cup game with Morton in which they dominated yet I beat them 4-1 and an 11 goal thriller with top of the league Clyde in which they scored the winner in the last minute.

[attachmentid=8179]

[attachmentid=8181]

Noel Hunt at Queens blink.gif
Russ.
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Apr 20 2006, 23:29) [snapback]1004149[/snapback]

No it isn't laugh.gif ph34r.gif

That is Turnstyle06 unsure.gif Either that or they are both the exact same unsure.gif

Yes it is Turnstyle 06, i just made a complete arse of myself, again ph34r.gif

The Aurora skin isn't that great to be honest.
1andymclaren
QUOTE('Steve @ Apr 21 2006, 08:25) [snapback]1004326[/snapback]

I had the same problem when I downloaded all of the Scottish kits when the Raith one wouldn't show up, but it eventually appeared, possibly because I had saved and reloaded my game.

Thanks for your help blink.gif huh.gif unsure.gif ph34r.gif laugh.gif

Anyone?
'Steve
Well I just said that when I saved and loaded my game up against my missing kit appeared.

I take it this didn't work for you? rolleyes.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE('Steve @ Apr 21 2006, 16:30) [snapback]1005026[/snapback]

Well I just said that when I saved and loaded my game up against my missing kit appeared.

I take it this didn't work for you? rolleyes.gif

Sadly, no it doesn't work laugh.gif
Russ.
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Apr 21 2006, 16:25) [snapback]1005012[/snapback]

Thanks for your help blink.gif huh.gif unsure.gif ph34r.gif laugh.gif

Anyone?

The exact same problem happened with me (probably downloaded same file) the Arsenal home and Aston Villa unsure.gif well another Premiership's team's 3rd top dont work with me, i didn't think there was anything that I could since it wa the file (I think anyway) and I just left it. Not sure if its much help though.

QUOTE(Twynholm @ Apr 21 2006, 10:47) [snapback]1004469[/snapback]

Noel Hunt at Queens blink.gif

Season long loan deal, I made queens a proffesional team in the editor, didn't do anything else with the money or players etc.. just making them full-time really helps.

[attachmentid=8201]
RiG
Interesting one here. For the last season and a bit Tevez has been upset at not getting a move to a bigger club. Now with a month to go till the end of his contract he seems to have had a change of heart. He now seems willing to sign a new contract and I went to offer him one but his agent says he won't sign it while his future is in the balance.

His personal shot no longer says he wants a move and he is looking forward to recovering from injury. However he is still transfer listed but because it is by request I can't take him off the list.

Any ideas? unsure.gif
Twynholm
QUOTE(robsonisgod @ Apr 21 2006, 17:02) [snapback]1005091[/snapback]

Interesting one here. For the last season and a bit Tevez has been upset at not getting a move to a bigger club. Now with a month to go till the end of his contract he seems to have had a change of heart. He now seems willing to sign a new contract and I went to offer him one but his agent says he won't sign it while his future is in the balance.

His personal shot no longer says he wants a move and he is looking forward to recovering from injury. However he is still transfer listed but because it is by request I can't take him off the list.

Any ideas? unsure.gif

Punch him ph34r.gif
Russ.
QUOTE(robsonisgod @ Apr 21 2006, 17:02) [snapback]1005091[/snapback]

Any ideas? unsure.gif

Make sure his squad status is set at indespensible or important first team player.
RiG
He is indispensible to Tottenham andhe has asked to be taken off the list biggrin.gif

But now he is "keeping his options over in the hope of getting a big move at the end of his contract" sad.gif
djchapsticks
QUOTE(robsonisgod @ Apr 21 2006, 17:42) [snapback]1005158[/snapback]

He is indispensible to Tottenham andhe has asked to be taken off the list biggrin.gif

But now he is "keeping his options over in the hope of getting a big move at the end of his contract" sad.gif

Fuxake, he sounds worse than a wummin with his indecision! laugh.gif

I'm currently 14 games into my first SPL season with the Buddies and all is good.

I am sitting comfortably inside the top 6 on 24 points. In fourth position with Dundee Utd one point ahead, Motherwell one behind and Aberdeen 3 back on them.

Charlie Adam has been an absolute revelation for me. 11 goals in 14 starts from behind the front 2, including a hat-trick against Rangers has seen him sky rocket in my plans.

Robert Snodgrass (10 goals in 13 starts) and Simon Lappin have both been in such good form that they have both recieved caps in Euro2008 qualifying matches, and Charlie Adam has been in the squad too, but has yet to be capped.
CK
[attachmentid=8204]

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif , and that was without two of my best players in Eddie Malone and Craig Bryson laugh.gif

Through to the Semi's v Hibs

I'm 3 points behind Dundee in the league, with about 9 games to go
RiG
Here is Charlie Adam - f'ck me he is good! blink.gif

[attachmentid=8205]
djchapsticks
QUOTE(robsonisgod @ Apr 21 2006, 19:18) [snapback]1005277[/snapback]

Here is Charlie Adam - f'ck me he is good! blink.gif

[attachmentid=8205]

Here he is in mine. The reason I paid so much money to keep hold of him. Just look at that goals return from an Attacking Mid! wink.gif

[attachmentid=8206]
'Steve
His physical attributes are rank though.
Peterhead Dave
Some clown got me back into my Man City game today (saved from before I left for Celtic) mad.gif

Craig Gordon's turned out rather shit hot though!

[attachmentid=8208]
RiG
I f'cking hate Spurs! My 9 match unbeaten run was brought to an end with a dismal paerformance at Boro which saw me go down 3 - 0. I am missing about 7 first teamers including Tevez and Defoe sad.gif
StewartyMac
Excellent. I found a Turnstyle skin for FM2005. Not quite as nice as the 06 version, but it'll do.

Cheers.
1andymclaren
10 games into my first SPL season and i'm thinking maybe i should have strengthened a bit more unsure.gif

[attachmentid=8235][attachmentid=8236]
DB Cooper
Can someone post a link to a decent skin?

I can't be bothered trawling the thread!

1andymclaren
QUOTE(dennybairn @ Apr 22 2006, 20:19) [snapback]1006650[/snapback]

Can someone post a link to a decent skin?

I can't be bothered trawling the thread!

Canny, sortitoutsi.net is down

here's the message:

Due to morons that call themselves hosts the site is down.
We will be back up fully midweek with a brand new server

(THANK YOU PREMIUM MEMBERS!!!!)

Hope to see you then! - Caleyjag
Russ.
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Apr 22 2006, 09:59) [snapback]1005945[/snapback]

Excellent. I found a Turnstyle skin for FM2005. Not quite as nice as the 06 version, but it'll do.

Cheers.

See so I was half right, you can get the skin for FM2005 although I got the name wrong.
'Steve
[attachmentid=8255]

biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=8256]

[attachmentid=8257]

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
StewartyMac
There's a guy who pays for Liverpool in my game called 'Lee Lee'. laugh.gif
eric_cartman
Just started a game with A*senal. I was defeated in the Community Shield 1-0 in penalties against Chelsea although it came up I was beat 4-3. It isn't the first time it's happened either. Has it happened to any other P&B'er?
Peterhead Dave
It's a bug that's sorted if you install the patches that are available.
MTJ
I've just added Clydebank to the 3rd division, and since they don't even have 16 players and most of them are shit, I've been doing some wheeling and dealing, I've been signing free agents, so far I've signed Andy Arbuckle, Martin Harty, Joe Savage, Stuart McGrady and Gary Richardson with more to follow maybe.
Dunc
I'm going to create a new country, once I get this thing reinstalled.

"Democratic Republic of Tesco" is the leading name wink.gif

Anyone know how to add teams into a league? :unsure
Dunc
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Apr 22 2006, 20:21) [snapback]1006658[/snapback]

Canny, sortitoutsi.net is down

here's the message:

Due to morons that call themselves hosts the site is down.
We will be back up fully midweek with a brand new server

(THANK YOU PREMIUM MEMBERS!!!!)

Hope to see you then! - Caleyjag

Its even better now! laugh.gif

Error Message laugh.gif
Gaz
QUOTE(Dunc @ Apr 23 2006, 15:26) [snapback]1007749[/snapback]

Its even better now! laugh.gif

Error Message laugh.gif

Ha ha that's great!
Dunc
Mancs 25- 0 Pencil

[attachmentid=8310]

Also, the referee is called "Helmet Flasher" blink.gif Pervy bassa!
RiG
QUOTE(Dunc @ Apr 23 2006, 19:15) [snapback]1008070[/snapback]

Mancs 25- 0 Pencil

[attachmentid=8310]

Also, the referee is called "Helmet Flasher" blink.gif Pervy bassa!

25 scud on aggregate! laugh.gif
1andymclaren
Boo-fucking-hoo !!!!!!!!!!!! mad.gif sad.gif

[attachmentid=8313]

'Steve
Did you start fining a heap of players? I've never seen that message from the board saying that they were concerned!
1andymclaren
QUOTE('Steve @ Apr 23 2006, 21:38) [snapback]1008292[/snapback]

Did you start fining a heap of players? I've never seen that message from the board saying that they were concerned!

I warned Peter Weatherson for poor performance (HT & FT rating 3 !!!), Fined Finlayson and Nugent 1 weeks wages; both for dismissal in prior match!
Russ.
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Apr 23 2006, 21:45) [snapback]1008305[/snapback]

I warned Peter Weatherson for poor performance (HT & FT rating 3 !!!), Fined Finlayson and Nugent 1 weeks wages; both for dismissal in prior match!

Rated 3 at half-time and you kept him on blink.gif
1andymclaren
Anyone seen this before?

[attachmentid=8339]

First ive EVER seen it
StewartyMac
Aye, that's quite common on FM games. Well, maybe not 'common', but I've seen it happen a few times.