Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
codfish
In my third season with Saints in one of my games, and managed to run away with the First Division in season 2. After adding 5 players to my first team squad, I corrently sit 6th in the SPL after 5 games, and will face Celtic at Love Street in the League Cup 3rd round after a somewhat convincing 11-0 win over Elgin in the 2nd round smile.gif

I also managed to bring Charlie Adam back to the club on loan biggrin.gif
'Steve
QUOTE(robsonisgod @ Apr 10 2006, 19:40) [snapback]986427[/snapback]

Stupid daft bassa Tevez! mad.gif
Chelski offered me £20 million plus Kompany for him, he had been happy at me for a while but I accepted as I knew if I rejected he would go in a strop.

A way of getting round this (Stopping Tevez going into a strop) is to not reject the offer for him, but to request a rediculous amount of money for him. The team then don't follow up their offer and the player is happy as larry, simple. smile.gif

I resigned from Cowdenbeath after being humped 3-1 by some junior team in pre-season.

Whats the point in that? blink.gif
StewartyMac
This'll be a stupid question, but I'll ask it anyway.

Does the Aurora skin only work for the '06 version, or could it be used with the '05 game?
Dunc
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Apr 10 2006, 20:37) [snapback]986518[/snapback]

This'll be a stupid question, but I'll ask it anyway.

Does the Aurora skin only work for the '06 version, or could it be used with the '05 game?

Theres an Aurora 05 version, i'm sure.

Look on "Sort It Our SI"
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Dunc @ Apr 10 2006, 20:48) [snapback]986530[/snapback]

Theres an Aurora 05 version, i'm sure.

Look on "Sort It Our SI"

I thought about that just after typing the last post.

Got it. Although I can't get rid of the background image huh.gif

EDIT - That screenshot doesnae do it justice, it's not scrunched up in the actual game, it's looks a lot better, dunno why the screenshot is poor.
Ayr United FC
QUOTE('Steve @ Apr 10 2006, 20:07) [snapback]986482[/snapback]

Whats the point in that? blink.gif

I was bored. laugh.gif
MTJ
Just been phucked 6-0 by Man U with Sunderland. sad.gif
Twynholm
When i saved my game with Airdrie i never went to exit after it had saved i just turned it off at the tower! it ruined my game and cant access it again! It seems you have to go to exit for it too save right on my PC unsure.gif dry.gif
RiG
Aye I had done that with Tevez one time before but he still got unhappy blink.gif

In the close season I signed Saviola - free from Barca - Moutinho - AMC from Sporting - Huth from Chelski to tighten up my defence and got some other young players in. Out went Keane and Salenko (I think his name was? - for a total of £10 million between them. I was given £15 million to spend but I'm holding onto that for the time being in case I can ship Tevez off and I need another striker.

I missed out on Silva who went to Sevilla after getting pissed off at Los Che and have been rejecting numerous bids for my young wingers whose stats I will post later on.

Started well with a solid win against Southampton and then this!

[attachmentid=7824]

But that was followed by a poor draw v Watford and losing 3 - 2 away to Everton after coming back from 2 - 0 down - so damn inconsistent! sad.gif

During the close season I was offered the Scotland job but I turned it down. I need to win something with Spurs - I am loved by the fans but I owe them a trophy smile.gif

Noticed this as well - seems the game is missing out players names now for things like this?

[attachmentid=7825]

Also this hurt and is probably the reason why I was offered the job!

[attachmentid=7826]
Big_Dunc=Legend
I dont know if this has happened to anyone before or anyone knows how to fix it but I was deleting stuff from my computer including some skins and logos from Football manager to free up some space as the memory is full. I then went back to play it and it doesnt work any more. So I deleted the game and tried to install it again but it wouldnt bring up the thing to install it.
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Apr 10 2006, 15:12) [snapback]986020[/snapback]

How can you have played 105 games, and it's only March?

Is that a bug in the game?

QUOTE(robsonisgod @ Apr 11 2006, 14:11) [snapback]987377[/snapback]

Noticed this as well - seems the game is missing out players names now for things like this?

I've noticed those as well. In the first case, the programmers have simply called the wrong variable into the news item, and in the second they're not calling a variable at all. Probably a result of rushing to get the patch out or changing a variable in the main game for the patch, but forgetting to in the news module.

/geek
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Twynholm @ Apr 11 2006, 11:15) [snapback]987109[/snapback]

When i saved my game with Airdrie i never went to exit after it had saved i just turned it off at the tower! it ruined my game and cant access it again! It seems you have to go to exit for it too save right on my PC unsure.gif dry.gif

Erm, that'll be because turning your computer off without shutting it down properly can do that, to any file, not just FM rolleyes.gif If you do that regularly, you're lucky Windows hasn't had essential files corrupted tongue.gif
qos_75
My Morton team missed out on the title with a 1-2 home defeat to St. Mirren. Last game of the season. St. Johnstone were top by 1 point, Morton second on goal difference from St. Mirren. Clyde beat St. Johnstone 2-1 meaning a point would do. However two rapid goals from St. Mirren and that's it dream over and finished 3rd place finish, with St. mirren not even in the top three untill the last 4 weeks of the season snatching it. sad.gif

New season started and a home friendly with the stiffs. Rangers at home in my next friendly. Anyone know any decent strikers £100k or under? Duecher has decided he's not signing another contract, the fecker. mad.gif

Crowd of 202, not bad for a training match in holiday season wink.gif
StewartyMac
Strikers seem to vary in quality from version to version, but on the '05 version, Kiegan Parker is outstanding in the game. I'm pretty sure you'll get him cheap early on.
RiG
These are my two wee star wingers - picked up for a grand total of about £200k biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=7841]

[attachmentid=7842]
Big_Dunc=Legend
QUOTE(robsonisgod @ Apr 12 2006, 10:55) [snapback]988685[/snapback]

These are my two wee star wingers - picked up for a grand total of about £200k biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=7841]

[attachmentid=7842]

Who did you get that sasha iakovenko so cheap the team keep on rejecting offers of over £1 mill for him and Vieririnha stats are mince
Twynholm
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Apr 11 2006, 18:38) [snapback]987720[/snapback]

Erm, that'll be because turning your computer off without shutting it down properly can do that, to any file, not just FM rolleyes.gif If you do that regularly, you're lucky Windows hasn't had essential files corrupted tongue.gif

I never shut it down properly but will start now wink.gif
qos_75
I have just been sacked by Morton ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif 3rd in the league, with three months of the season left, top goal scorers by a country mile. Feck, I have pumped Raith 6-0 and 8-0 away from home. I then get a draw away at Partick and Inverness and that's me out. ohmy.gif ohmy.gif A respectable league position was my task at the start of the season and I am (was) only four points behind the leaders Inverness.

Shocked to say the least. Ah well. I have downloaded some new skins, so at least I will get to see them.

My last screen print, a month before the bullet:
Dunc
John Hughes just sold himself to Hibs for £200,000

Hibs have just sacked Mowbray, so does this mean that Yogi will be boss of Hibs?

I dunno...

EDIT: Yes it does.
Dunc
[attachmentid=7857]

ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(qos_75 @ Apr 12 2006, 19:14) [snapback]989570[/snapback]

Ah well. I have downloaded some new skins, so at least I will get to see them.

You'd get to see them whether you were sacked by Morton or not blink.gif
RiG
QUOTE(Big_Dunc=Legend @ Apr 12 2006, 15:31) [snapback]989158[/snapback]

Who did you get that sasha iakovenko so cheap the team keep on rejecting offers of over £1 mill for him and Vieririnha stats are mince

I checked his history and I got him for 70k blink.gif

I'll need to see why I got him so cheap unsure.gif

My Spurs players have lost confidence in me. Well Davids and Mido have and Robinson is upset at a lack of discipline by the management. I sit 4th in the EPL and battling it out for the next round of UEFA so the same as last season really.
Peterhead Dave
Just hit the turn of the year, and my Stafford Rangers team is sitting top of the Conference North, 2 points clear of second, but with a big pack chasing. I've already suffered a massive slump in form, but am strengthening my squad with some signing in January smile.gif

And the club was profitable in December laugh.gif

[attachmentid=7859]
cdisaaccie
QUOTE(Dunc @ Apr 12 2006, 19:58) [snapback]989615[/snapback]

[attachmentid=7857]

ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

I think a virus has got into your FM 06 file mate; that's the only thing that can explain that one rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
'Steve
How do you go about turning full time?

My only other game was with Morton and every first team player was full time. I am now with Alloa and I am currently mid-table in the first division. All of the my players are on part time contracts and I think the reason why I can't sign any decent players is because of this.

Is there a way of turning full time or do you just start dishing out full time contracts? huh.gif

Francesc Fabregas
QUOTE('Steve @ Apr 13 2006, 12:21) [snapback]990358[/snapback]

My only other game was with Morton and every first team player was full time. I am now with Alloa and I am currently mid-table in the first division. All of the my players are on part time contracts and I think the reason why I can't sign any decent players is because of this.

Is there a way of turning full time or do you just start dishing out full time contracts? huh.gif

Just start offering them full-time contracts. Sometimes, players say they prefer to remain part-time, but no matter, most of them will sign full-time contracts (full-time for about £100 as well blink.gif ). I did this with my Stenhousemuir team when I took them into the second division, I offered all the players I wanted to keep FT contracts. Much better.
Dunc
QUOTE(cdisaaccie @ Apr 13 2006, 04:04) [snapback]990112[/snapback]

I think a virus has got into your FM 06 file mate; that's the only thing that can explain that one rolleyes.gif laugh.gif

I think you're right! ohmy.gif

[attachmentid=7865]

Berwick had 1 shot on target! laugh.gif
CK
Started a new game with Clyde. Signed Ian McSween and Gordon Lennon. Lost only 3 times, once to Aberdeen in the League Cup AET, I should have won it, and also to Dundee and QOS. Won the rest of my games, and I'm currently 2nd in the league, and in the Challenge Cup Final

[attachmentid=7866][attachmentid=7867]
Russ.
QUOTE('Steve @ Apr 13 2006, 12:21) [snapback]990358[/snapback]

I've got a Alloa season also, won the league in the first season then at the start of the summer, when next season's fixtures are announced it just said that i was turning full-time. So I guess it just depends on your game, adn your right when you turn full-time you can sign better players.

[attachmentid=7871]

[attachmentid=7869]

[attachmentid=7870]
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Apr 13 2006, 01:30) [snapback]990060[/snapback]

Just hit the turn of the year, and my Stafford Rangers team is sitting top of the Conference North, 2 points clear of second, but with a big pack chasing. I've already suffered a massive slump in form, but am strengthening my squad with some signing in January smile.gif
And the club was profitable in December laugh.gif

[attachmentid=7859]

A disasterous second half of the season saw my form go up and down like a yo-yo, ending with me finishing third in the English Conference North. Not automatic promotion, but a playoff spot beckoned.

The boys did well, winning the first leg of the semi 1-0, before a tightly contested second leg ended 1-1. Into the playoff final at Pride Park against bogey team Alfreton Town!

Top scorer Steve McGlinchey was out injured for all of the playoff games, but I risked putting him on the bench for the final, alongside January signing Tom Ward. With the scores level at half time, I put on Ward alongside 41 year old Neil Grayson, and within four minutes, we were 2-0 up, Ward getting both goals.

Alfreton pulled one back, but after I'd brought McGlinchey on to allow him to share in the potential success, and hopefully sneak his 23rd goal of the season, Ward completed his hat-trick to send the fans into raptures, and give Stafford an unexpected promotion to the Conference.

I've left it there for the moment, as I'll need to rebuild my team for the Conference, but it's not been a bad first season at Marston Road biggrin.gif
'Steve
QUOTE(Only1Hagi @ Apr 13 2006, 16:59) [snapback]990823[/snapback]

I've got a Alloa season also, won the league in the first season then at the start of the summer, when next season's fixtures are announced it just said that i was turning full-time. So I guess it just depends on your game, adn your right when you turn full-time you can sign better players.

Interesting, well I certainly haven't turned full time. I have just started handing out full time contracts, but I still can't sign any decent players!

Half of your squad wouldn't be interested in signing for me, and btw your squad needs trimming a little bit. laugh.gif
diezel_afc
QUOTE('Steve @ Apr 14 2006, 17:04) [snapback]992740[/snapback]

Interesting, well I certainly haven't turned full time. I have just started handing out full time contracts, but I still can't sign any decent players!

Half of your squad wouldn't be interested in signing for me, and btw your squad needs trimming a little bit. laugh.gif

I'm Leicester City. I had virtually no money (252k) and a squad of 19 players (I was also 30k over wage budget blink.gif ) I have now turned things round by getting shot of the players I don't need and signed a few free transfers......

Sitting pretty at 7th and only 4 goals is keepin me off 6th spot, I also have a balance of 4million thanks to my form attracting 30,000+ fans every 2nd week at the Walkers Stadium biggrin.gif
Russ.
QUOTE('Steve @ Apr 14 2006, 17:04) [snapback]992740[/snapback]

biggrin.gif That always happens with me over the summer, I alwasy get loads of players then at the start of the season try and get rid of at least half of them. I don't know why, but I've done it in the majority of my games. I should really learn to stick to wage budgets.
The Minertaur
blink.gif smile.gif
Russ.
QUOTE(The Minertaur @ Apr 14 2006, 17:35) [snapback]992810[/snapback]

blink.gif smile.gif

Rangers player scoring both goals against them laugh.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Apr 14 2006, 16:39) [snapback]992694[/snapback]

Alfreton pulled one back,

Is Davie Lloyd still there as manager?

Albion legend. biggrin.gif
MTJ
I've done some major fannying about with the editor. I've papped Celtic and Rangers south, and brought Hartlepool and Carlisle north (Well they were two northern based teams who wouldn't shag the rest of the competition like Middlesborough or Newcastle) I demoted MK Dons to League Two, Crewe and Brighton to League One, Sunderland and Portsmouth to the Championship, and the Huns and the Tims are in the Premiership. I put Carlisle in the SPL, Hartlepool in the 1st division. Promoted St. Mirren to the SPL. Promoted Thistle to the 1st and relegated Brechin to the 2nd.
djchapsticks
Just finished my 1st season as St. Mirren in Scotland. I got fed up with playing as them in England so moved us back home. I moved us into a new 10,000 seater and reset our debt, yet kept our bank balance at £0 smile.gif

First season was pretty much an all round success. After a very unimpressive start to the league campaign I sat in 6th after 11 games. But was only 3 points off second place. 4 games later and only one point picked up by runaway pacesetters Dundee, and I was top of the league. A position I didn't relinquish, eventually winning it by 12 points from St. Johnstone.

Final Table

St. Mirren - 78
St. Johnstone - 66
Clyde - 64
Dundee - 63
Hamilton - 52
Ross County - 47
Airdrie - 39
Queens - 38
Stranraer (relegated) - 31
Brechin (relegated) - 28

I sold Kirk Broadfoot early on to Premiership Wigan for £700k plus 25% sell on fee. The money made was put to good use. In came Robert Snodgrass from Livi for £90k and Ivica Mornar from Portsmouth for £75k. Both were revelations all season. Snodgrass scored 26 goals from 37 games in all competitions and Mornar won top scorer in the 1st division with 32 goals in 39 apps.

Also coming in were:

Gordon Greer - Killie - £60k (direct replacement for Kirky)
Liam Fox - ICT - £100k (midfield anchorman, good performer)
Marc Kalenga - Rangers - £1k (decent backup rarely played)
Jose Devaca - Libertad - £10k (Centre half or Centre mid backup, Celtic offered me Paul Telfer in a straight swap which was rejected)
George Stanley Mbwando - Regensburg - £2k (Zimbabwe international, right sided player used again as backup)

Going out:

John Baird - Morecambe - £16k
Brian McGinty - Partick - £18k

Got to the quarters of the League Cup where I lost 2-1 to Celtic. A 3-2, 3rd round exit at Westfield was as good as I got in a Scottish cup where Morton got to the final only to lose on penalties to Celtic, and will subsequently be in Europe next season despite their failure to escape division two! ohmy.gif

In the SPL, a season of shocks sees a severely depleted Hibs escape relegation at the expense of an also severely depleted Hearts who are by and large a team full of long term loan signings.

Hearts' subsequent relegation means I was quick off the mark and snapped up their young full back Lee Wallace for a paltry £100k. I am also in the hunt for wantaway Paul Hartley but will have to see how finances hold out, as I managed to capture out of contract Charlie Adam from under the noses of Swansea. Problem is though, I have to give Rangers £250k compensation and unless the board give me a decent transfer bounty, that ain't gonna happen. sad.gif

Ah well, onwards and upwards. smile.gif

Edit: anyone who can show me how to print off the full screen would be a star. I pressed the Print Screen button but nothing seems to happen. Where would it go for me to check it? And how would I convert it from.bmp to .jpg?

Cheers biggrin.gif
diezel_afc
QUOTE(djchapsticks @ Apr 14 2006, 19:27) [snapback]993029[/snapback]

Edit: anyone who can show me how to print off the full screen would be a star. I pressed the Print Screen button but nothing seems to happen. Where would it go for me to check it? And how would I convert it from.bmp to .jpg?

Cheers biggrin.gif

You open up a paint document and paste it into there, you lose lots of quality and colour in the photo if you save it as a jpg I'm afraid
qos_75
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Mar 29 2006, 23:42) [snapback]967519[/snapback]

Ok, here is the process in full.

When you're on a screen in FM that you want to post on here, press the 'Print Screen' button (right next to your F12 key) once. Nothing noticable will happen. The screen image is now on your virtual clipboard.

Open up the application, 'Paint' that would have come with your PC. To find this, click on your 'Start' key down the bottom left of the screen, then go into 'All Programs', then 'Accessories', and you'll see 'Paint' there.

Once you've opened it, you will then be able to pase the image you copied onto the screen. Save it as a 'jpeg' in your 'pictures' folder.

Reply to this topic, and below the main window where you type your message, you'll see 'File Attachments', which allows you to upload a file from your PC. Click on 'Browse' and locate where you saved the pic earlier. Then click on 'Add This Attachment', and Bob's yer aunty's live in lover.

Here to help biggrin.gif

Ah well, onwards and upwards. smile.gif

Cheers biggrin.gif

This should help mate. Sorry quote and reply in wrong order. blink.gif
'Steve

Cheers biggrin.gif

I'm not sure whether you mean print the screen (ie a hard copy) or saving a screen so you can post it on here. Saving a screenshot has been explained on here a trillion times, have you not noticed any of them.

To save a screenshot to your documents, simply press the 'print screen' button on the keyboard while Football Manager is running, and thats saves it to your clipboard. You can then go into paint, click edit and then paste. Then save and change it from .bmp to JPEG. Then you can add as an attachment on here.
qos_75
I am trying to install Turnstyle 06 skin on my game does, anyone know the file path?
'Steve
I wish the board (or whoever that decides) would announce that the club are going full-time because I am still stuttering about mid-table in the 1st division and theres no chance of me going further than that because I can't sign any decent players because I'm only a part time club. mad.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(qos_75 @ Apr 14 2006, 19:44) [snapback]993069[/snapback]

I am trying to install Turnstyle 06 skin on my game does, anyone know the file path?

C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2006\data\skins
qos_75
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Apr 14 2006, 19:48) [snapback]993076[/snapback]

C:\Program Files\Sports Interactive\Football Manager 2006\data\skins

Once again, you are very much the man!! biggrin.gif
djchapsticks
Got it folks, thanks!

[attachmentid=7899]
[attachmentid=7900]
[attachmentid=7901]

smile.gif
'Steve
huh.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Apr 14 2006, 18:07) [snapback]992887[/snapback]

Is Davie Lloyd still there as manager?

Albion legend. biggrin.gif

Nah, some bloke called Gary Mills, whoever he is laugh.gif laugh.gif
'Steve
I've just sold my substitute keeper for £100,000! laugh.gif
qos_75
Just Started new game as Notts County. Lost the first league game away to Lincoln 1-0 (although I forgot to save my player instructions (Doh), won my second game at home to Shrewsbury 3-0 and a credible 2-2 draw away at Northampton. I am 40/1 to win the league, although sitting 7th after 3 games.

I have £6000 grand to spend. I have bought Peter Weatherson and Chris Templeman from Morton (Templeman does not join untill next summer!!!).

Slight problem my English Badges, some times they are rotated and sometimes just the normal default. These chop and change through the course of the game. Also I only seem to be able to copy one screen print at a time. What I mean is, when I come to paste in the paint screen I can only see the last print I took.

Any help would be appreciated smile.gif

Cheers