Full Version: Football Manager 2008
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118
1andymclaren
This is my team gong into the SPL

[attachmentid=7686]

Should i strengthen for a realistic chance of staying up?
Dunc
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Apr 6 2006, 19:12) [snapback]980588[/snapback]

This is my team gong into the SPL

[attachmentid=7686]

Should i strengthen for a realistic chance of staying up?

Save any money you have now, wait until January and see where you are in the League.
Bryan
Fernando Torres is a Goal Machine 162 goals in 168 games, and 30 in 29 international games.
1andymclaren
Anyone know how to fix this ???
[attachmentid=7687]

One minute the badge is there, the next it's gone:

[attachmentid=7688]
MTJ
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Apr 6 2006, 20:31) [snapback]980682[/snapback]

Anyone know how to fix this ???
[attachmentid=7687]

One minute the badge is there, the next it's gone:

[attachmentid=7688]

I had exactly the same problem. Its probably because you've got two different config files. Go to your logos folder and see if you still have the original SPL logos if you do delete them and the config file which if it isn't in the folder or recycle bin is normally just outside the badges folder.
1andymclaren
QUOTE(MTJ @ Apr 6 2006, 20:49) [snapback]980696[/snapback]

I had exactly the same problem. Its probably because you've got two different config files. Go to your logos folder and see if you still have the original SPL logos if you do delete them and the config file which if it isn't in the folder or recycle bin is normally just outside the badges folder.

Cheers, it works smile.gif
Twynholm
Dont mock Dion Dublin he is good on it, Played in defence for me and scored about 10 goals in a season from corners wink.gif
caleycasual
In my FM05 game some man u youth guy's position was just Defender. No left,right or centre.
Twynholm
..................So unsure.gif

Anyway i lost the bells cup final on penalties to Saintees. After 14 league games am 1 point off top smile.gif
'Steve
Decided to start a new game with Alloa after a career spanning 8 seasons with Morton.

And by f**k, it's hard. unsure.gif

You get bugger all to spend at the start and basically ever position needed strengthening, so I sold Jamie Stevenson for 20k plus 25% of next transfer. (Probably a stupid idea but I was desperate for the money so I could bring in some players!)

Lost 2-0 against Ross County in the Challenge Cup, drew 1-1 with Forfar in the 1st lague game of the season and beat Montrose 4-1 in the League Cup.

[attachmentid=7719]
'Steve
The expectation is to stay clear of relegation and I've followed the opening day draw against Forfar with a 3-1 win away at Dumbarton and a 1-0 win at home to Peterhead. biggrin.gif

Well on my way already.
Armand 2
I'm desperate to play FM, but for two reasons I cannot. Firstly, in a fit of rage after Stuart Balmer equalised against my Stirling Albion side in the Challenge Cup game against Hamilton, I threw a pen at my fragile laptop screen and cracked it. sad.gif

Also, due to the upcoming exams, I've banned myself from playing it as it distracts me far too much. It's far too addictive. mad.gif
1andymclaren
QUOTE(Armand 2 @ Apr 8 2006, 20:08) [snapback]983765[/snapback]

I'm desperate to play FM, but for two reasons I cannot. Firstly, in a fit of rage after Stuart Balmer equalised against my Stirling Albion side in the Challenge Cup game against Hamilton, I threw a pen at my fragile laptop screen and cracked it. sad.gif

Is this you ? rolleyes.gif

http://media.putfile.com/football-manager
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Armand 2 @ Apr 8 2006, 20:08) [snapback]983765[/snapback]
after Stuart Balmer equalised against my Stirling Albion side in the Challenge Cup game against Hamilton, ing it as it distracts me far too much. It's far too addictive. mad.gif

I'd bet it was McNally's fault.

Unless you had the sense to punt him.
Armand 2
tongue.gif

Think anybody would be raging if bloody Balmer scored an equaliser in the last minute. mad.gif
Armand 2
Stewarty,

Wasn't McNally, but brought him on in place of Scott Boyd, who I signed on loan from Livingston. He played well, as far as I remember. It was that bell-end Ross Forsyth's fault. Supposed to be on the far post.... mad.gif
MTJ
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Apr 8 2006, 20:13) [snapback]983768[/snapback]

Oh dear...
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Armand 2 @ Apr 8 2006, 21:48) [snapback]983946[/snapback]

It was that bell-end Ross Forsyth's fault. Supposed to be on the far post.... mad.gif

Should play Forsyth at centre half then, he's been a revelation there in real life over the last month.
The Minertaur
'Steve
Has anyone had this happen before?

I was winning 2-1 away at Dumbarton and they were reduced to 10 men, but from nowhere the Son equalised after 81 minutes, and their keeper raced off his line to congratulate them! See attached screenshot.

MTJ
QUOTE('Steve @ Apr 9 2006, 16:29) [snapback]984897[/snapback]

Has anyone had this happen before?

I was winning 2-1 away at Dumbarton and they were reduced to 10 men, but from nowhere the Son equalised after 81 minutes, and their keeper raced off his line to congratulate them! See attached screenshot.

Pah, imagine dropping points to them I beat them in all four encounters as Alloa manager, 2 of those games without Jamie Stevenson. rolleyes.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

On a different note I have started a new season with Sunderland and we have opened up our season by not losing, well drawing 2 each with Fulham.
'Steve
QUOTE(MTJ @ Apr 9 2006, 17:08) [snapback]984923[/snapback]

Pah, imagine dropping points to them I beat them in all four encounters as Alloa manager, 2 of those games without Jamie Stevenson. rolleyes.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

It was pretty dissapointing, but beating Morton in both our meetings so far has more than made up for it! biggrin.gif

And both without Stevenson because he isn't my player anymore.

PS MTJ, how did you get on in your first season with Alloa and what was your bank balance like?
1andymclaren
MTJ your attachments don't work wink.gif

If you save as jpg instead of bmp it should come up as a thumbnail
MTJ
QUOTE(1andymclaren @ Apr 9 2006, 17:18) [snapback]984931[/snapback]

MTJ your attachments don't work wink.gif

If you save as jpg instead of bmp it should come up as a thumbnail

I've been forgetting to save them as jpg. files, cheers. wink.gif
MTJ
Right, heres my first game in charge of Sunderland.

[attachmentid=7755]

My new match ball and nets. tongue.gif

[attachmentid=7756]

For Steve, and we won the last game 4-1. biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=7757]
Russ.
Where did you get the Bells logo from?
'Steve
QUOTE(MTJ @ Apr 9 2006, 17:33) [snapback]984943[/snapback]

For Steve, and we won the last game 4-1. biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=7757]

Congrats, thats impressive considering Alloa give you feck all to start with and no decent players want to come to the club.

So how much did you have in the bank after the 1st season? Approximately?
'Steve
League table for the team thats supposed to be battling against relegation:

[attachmentid=7759]

Transfers In:

[attachmentid=7760]

Transfers Out:

[attachmentid=7761]

As you can see I made a £149,000 profit on 30 year old Stuart Callaghan. biggrin.gif

And the finances, which IMO are looking great as I think you start off in debt.

[attachmentid=7762]

This is all after half a season. smile.gif
MTJ
QUOTE('Steve @ Apr 9 2006, 17:45) [snapback]984952[/snapback]

Congrats, thats impressive considering Alloa give you feck all to start with and no decent players want to come to the club.

So how much did you have in the bank after the 1st season? Approximately?

Nothing until I sold Jamie Stevenson for 325k to Newcastle, plus 10% of next sale and a pre-season friendly at the window. I then bought Ross Forsyth from Stirling Albion for 20k or something, and got Andy Ferguson on loan from Dundee until the end of the season.
MTJ
QUOTE(Only1Hagi @ Apr 9 2006, 17:40) [snapback]984950[/snapback]

Where did you get the Bells logo from?

www.sortitoutsi.net Just click on competition logos at the top of the page, then click on one of the files then international logos, then download the rotated logo pack with every logo in the game.
MTJ
WTF! ohmy.gif

[attachmentid=7766]
'Steve
I've seen many similar screenshots of Holland hammering Andorra, it always seems to happen.

There may be one on this thread but I can't be arsed looking back for it.
MTJ
First win as Mackems gaffer. biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=7767]
Dunc
QUOTE(MTJ @ Apr 9 2006, 18:44) [snapback]985012[/snapback]

WTF! ohmy.gif

[attachmentid=7766]

There was a 5-5 draw in my World Cup.

Togo and somebody I think.
Russ.
QUOTE(MTJ @ Apr 9 2006, 18:33) [snapback]984995[/snapback]

www.sortitoutsi.net Just click on competition logos at the top of the page, then click on one of the files then international logos, then download the rotated logo pack with every logo in the game.

Remember seeing that but not got a clue how to download it because of the filetype- Winrar, for some reason i can only download and use Winzip, does anyone know if there is a way of converting it etc..
MTJ
QUOTE(Only1Hagi @ Apr 9 2006, 22:17) [snapback]985266[/snapback]

Remember seeing that but not got a clue how to download it because of the filetype- Winrar, for some reason i can only download and use Winzip, does anyone know if there is a way of converting it etc..

Download winrar as its really easy to use and takes 2 seconds to extract the files to the required folders.
http://www.win-rar.com/download.html click that and then go down to "English WinRAR and RAR versions and download Winrar 3.51.
Ayr United FC
I signed Dion Dublin and Hadji for Celtixc and sold Shaun Maloney.
RiG
These are some screenshots from my Spurs game. Nearing the end of season 2006-07 and the game is pretty good. I am doing okay, sitting 5th (IIRC) and finding it hard to break the strangle hold of the top 4 places occupied by the big teams of Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool (Cisse is far too good!). I play a 4 - 4 - 2 and score loads of goals but concede a fair few as well. Huth is coming in from Chelsea to try and strengthen my back line.

Got loads of money from selling a fair few fringe players (got about £5 million for some Moroccan lad) and also my board have backed me as I continue to surpass their expectations allowing me to bring in players like Tevez, Guarin, Delgado, Rafinha, Cicinho (error prone!!!). Snapped up some of the games promising young players like Spurs would do including Iakovenko who is starting for me in the left wing role and Vierahina (spelling?) a young attacking midfielder right who keeps out Lennon but Aaron has come back in recently to do a good job for me. Best buy for me has to be either Mido - scores loads of goals for me - or Zonneveld, a D/ML who has a mean set piece scoring rate - he is the guy that is covered up by the 'View Rieto Zieglers profile' in the first screenshot. Also Rafinha has played well and chips in with some headers.

[attachmentid=7772]

First portion of my first team squad - needs to be trimmed down.

[attachmentid=7773]

As above but including the strikers.

[attachmentid=7774]

Last seasons table.

[attachmentid=7775]

This seasons effort.

[attachmentid=7776]

My formation that I played last game.

[attachmentid=7777]

Poor old Rieto Ziegler - playing 105 games for me this season! laugh.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE(robsonisgod @ Apr 10 2006, 12:52) [snapback]985778[/snapback]

Poor old Rieto Ziegler - playing 105 games for me this season! laugh.gif

How can you have played 105 games, and it's only March?

Is that a bug in the game?
RiG
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Apr 10 2006, 15:12) [snapback]986020[/snapback]

How can you have played 105 games, and it's only March?

Is that a bug in the game?

Aye I think it might be a wee bug - there is no way he has played 105 games for. Incidentally I just rounded off the season and I fecking hate Spurs - they piss me off so much! mad.gif

After an incredible little run of results put me into 4th and a couple of points ahead of Man Utd they went and blew it in the final three games picking up only 1 point from an available 3. Idiots! mad.gif

The following is my final run in for the season - it all went wrong at Aston Villa. They tore me a new arse and I lost my influential midfielder Zonneveld. Next came Cardiff where I limped to a 1 - 1 draw losing Iakovenko during the game as well and to round it all off Blackburn decked Defoe in the first few minutes and I lost 3 - 0 and had Cicinho sent off the wee bawbag mad.gif The Man Utd score eases the pain though sad.gif

[attachmentid=7780]

[attachmentid=7781]

[attachmentid=7782]

[attachmentid=7783]

[attachmentid=7784]

[attachmentid=7785]

[attachmentid=7786]

'Steve
It has to be a bug.

In my Morton game I played in the Super Cup, World Club Cup Championship, Champions League, Scottish Premier League, Scottish Cup and League Cup and if I remember Thomas Gaardoe played in every single game and i won every cup as well.

I think it came to about 77 appearances.
MTJ
Ten of my players were in the Barclays Team of the Week, the other a Middlesborough player, I don't know though as you can see for yourselves. biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=7796]

[attachmentid=7797]
'Steve
I've had 10 players in team of the year which was a bit extreme.
StewartyMac
From what I've saw over the course of this thread, FM2006 looks a wee bit more unrealistic than FM2005 (The most realistic game I've played).

I think I might wait until the next instalment (by that time I should have a better spec PC anyway)
1andymclaren
SPL is not started so well sad.gif

[attachmentid=7803]

Out of the CIS Cup sad.gif And only 1 league win which was a lucky last minute goal from Ross McCormack (who i have on loan for the season) in the 93rd minute.

'Steve
Just been promoted to the 1st division with Alloa. biggrin.gif

This was my position mid-way through the season:

[attachmentid=7807]

But my form for the 2nd half of the season was as follows:

[attachmentid=7808]

And this is how the league finished! biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=7810]

Play-off semi final win:

[attachmentid=7811]

And my play-off final win:

[attachmentid=7812]

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

EDIT: Forgot to add that all of my players weekly wages adds up to the same that Partick are paying Gary Wales!
RiG
Stupid daft bassa Tevez! mad.gif

Chelski offered me £20 million plus Kompany for him, he had been happy at me for a while but I accepted as I knew if I rejected he would go in a strop. He agreed terms but Kompany refused to discuss the deal. It fell through. Tevez got pissed off and requested a transfer. Now at the end of the season with his contract now 12 months away from expiring and no chance of a new one being signed I offered him to clubs for £30 million. Chelsea came in but he couldn't agree terms.

While this was going on I was tying up Saviola on a free from Barca to give me a bit more flexibility up front so now I have Saviola and an unhappy Tevez on my books along with Delgado, Defoe, Keane (who I think I will let go) and Mido.

Can someone give us a link to get the Aurora skin for a mate? Cheers.
Francesc Fabregas
Here's a uselful tip I found out last night:

I won promotion to Division 2 with Stenhousemuir (AWOOGA!) and was struggling to sign players for the new season, that would be 2006-2007. I'd released half the squad and was looking for pretty much a new team.

If you're in the same situation, go to team from the Championship, teams like Derby, Ipswich etc etc and have a look at some of the players they've released on free transfers. They're all under 20, and some of them are pretty hot.

I recommend:

Steve Cann (goalkeeper, turns into something superb)
Charlie Sheringham (son of...........) ST
Billy Clarke ST
Liam Trotter MC
Mitchell Booth DR
Cathal Laclan MRLC
Nick Farquarson ST

All of these guys have been superb. As a result, I am sitting second, joint top with Partick (laugh.gif). I won my first two games, but then lost four in a row. I gave the team a kick up the arse, and am currently on a 17 (!!!) game unbeaten run, having stopped playing on the 1st January 2007 (after beating Morton 2-1 biggrin.gif). Sherigham and Clarke are awesome. If you sign them, they will score.

I need to sign a decent AMC. I only have JP McBride in that positition, and attempts to land Charlie Adam and Hamed Namouchi on loan have proved futile.

Help.
Russ.
QUOTE(robsonisgod @ Apr 10 2006, 19:40) [snapback]986427[/snapback]

Stupid daft bassa Tevez! mad.gif

Chelski offered me £20 million plus Kompany for him, he had been happy at me for a while but I accepted as I knew if I rejected he would go in a strop. He agreed terms but Kompany refused to discuss the deal. It fell through. Tevez got pissed off and requested a transfer. Now at the end of the season with his contract now 12 months away from expiring and no chance of a new one being signed I offered him to clubs for £30 million. Chelsea came in but he couldn't agree terms.

While this was going on I was tying up Saviola on a free from Barca to give me a bit more flexibility up front so now I have Saviola and an unhappy Tevez on my books along with Delgado, Defoe, Keane (who I think I will let go) and Mido.

Can someone give us a link to get the Aurora skin for a mate? Cheers.

Aurora
Ayr United FC
I resigned from Cowdenbeath after being humped 3-1 by some junior team in pre-season.