Full Version: Raith V Rangers
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
kilgour11
Friendly
phil7
Do we really have to start a new topic on everything that happens at stark's?
Republic_Of_Scotland
Can't see them bringing too 'big' a team, due to their qualification matches for Champions League etc. Would be good though if they did. Good crowd and a few bob in the coffers wouldn't go amiss.
roland sausage
At least the away end will be full with folk from kirkcaldy.
kilgour11
QUOTE (phil7 @ Jun 30 2008, 19:15) *
Do we really have to start a new topic on everything that happens at stark's?

Yes

Hopefully this will bring in money to be used for maybe an extra signing cool.gif
doulikefish
ned fest of the highest order coming up then laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
rw89
QUOTE (philpy @ Jun 30 2008, 19:22) *

Sad but true. As is the case all over Scotland. Personally, i think Rangers will struggle to cope with the pace of Andy Tod up front providing he feels up for the game. smile.gif
renton
SP will be full with every closet blue nose between kdy and St.Andrews.... on the pitch i can only add to the teams fitness and in that respect fits nicely into McG idea of pre-season training. Off the pitch it should add substantially to Rovers coffers, considering the hun will supposedly bring their first team squad....
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (renton @ Jun 30 2008, 20:23) *
SP will be full with every closet blue nose between kdy and St.Andrews.... on the pitch i can only add to the teams fitness and in that respect fits nicely into McG idea of pre-season training. Off the pitch it should add substantially to Rovers coffers, considering the hun will supposedly bring their first team squad....

Also will be good practice for the boys playing against a diddy team who just back defending and try hitting them on the break like the majority of second division teams tongue.gif
rw89
QUOTE (Lazarus @ Jun 30 2008, 20:29) *
Also will be good practice for the boys playing against a diddy team who just back defending and try hitting them on the break like the majority of second division teams tongue.gif

Very true! rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
Cliche Guevara
Can't see them bringing too 'big' a team, due to their qualification matches for Champions League etc. Would be good though if they did.

Don't forget they have a testimonial match at Somerset Park on the Monday. They're bound to have one eye on that game, so you might get a result!
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (philpy @ Jun 30 2008, 19:22) *

Think that applies to Fife in general.

Sad plastic hun fucks.
kilgour11
The question is though...

Will Steven Stocks return to San Starko for this match?
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (kilgour11 @ Jun 30 2008, 20:43) *

No, he`ll be saving himself for the big Fife derby so can wear his new East Fife top. cool.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Jun 30 2008, 20:45) *
No, he`ll be saving himself for the big Fife derby so can wear his new East Fife top. cool.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif
Paco
Quite chuffed with the news.

Brings in a lot of money for us (6000 in the ground maybe?) and it gives the players a wee chance to test themselves.

As has been said, it'll bring out the filth of Fife, but who cares? I know a lot of Rangers 'supporters', so when we inevitably get gubbed I'll just tell them I've been at Ibrox more times than them. biggrin.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Paco @ Jun 30 2008, 21:40) *

Brings in a lot of money for us (6000 in the ground maybe?) and it gives the players a wee chance to test themselves.

As has been said, it'll bring out the filth of Fife, but who cares? I know a lot of Rangers 'supporters', so when we inevitably get gubbed I'll just tell them I've been at Ibrox more times than them. biggrin.gif

Cowden fans coming as well? tongue.gif
doulikefish
put up the gate prices!!
id imagine it will be there youth team like we got last pre season but dont advertise the fact wink.gif
MonTheRovers!!
Good stuff. I'll actually be able to get to a home friendly this year! Glad to hear that they're going to bring their 1st team, too. Not like Celtic last year who were going to bring their under 19's so we cancelled it.
Gaz_Laad
Hopefully the club will recive a good bit of money from this.
Maybe even a result aswell laugh.gif
danelder89
Delighted with this news biggrin.gif 6000+ fans at the San Starko will do no harm at all to the clubs coffers even if it is only £10 to get in.

Rangers have also confirmed they will be bringing their first team which is sure to attract more fans as well.

Davo will have Kenny Miller in his back pocket wink.gif tongue.gif
MonTheRovers!!
Bauer, did you get your avatar up nae probs? I cannae seem to get the one with Davo and Walker as mines!

I keep on getting this:

Sorry, an error occurred. If you are unsure on how to use a feature, or don't know why you got this error message, try looking through the help files for more information.
The error returned was:

The total filespace required to upload all the attached files is greater than your per post or global limit. Please reduce the number of attachments or the size of the attachments.
Scary Bear
QUOTE (Paco @ Jun 30 2008, 21:40) *

6000! Rangers fans don't turn up for actual cup games against the wee teams. The majority of the couch potato Rangers fans in Kirkcaldy have forgotten how to get to Ibrox. Even a trip down the road is more than they can be bothered with. Buying a replica top and watching a few games in the pub is their limit.
danelder89
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jun 30 2008, 22:51) *
Bauer, did you get your avatar up nae probs? I cannae seem to get the one with Davo and Walker as mines!

I keep on getting this:

Enter this url into where it says "Enter a URL to an online avatar image"

http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/kk42/da...Kit_08091-1.jpg

Should work unsure.gif
MonTheRovers!!
Aye, i've got it now. Cheers neebs.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Jun 30 2008, 22:54) *
6000! Rangers fans don't turn up for actual cup games against the wee teams. The majority of the couch potato Rangers fans in Kirkcaldy have forgotten how to get to Ibrox. Even a trip down the road is more than they can be bothered with. Buying a replica top and watching a few games in the pub is their limit.

Bang on. You could smell the plastic and stale armchair fumes at our cup game with them at East (cough) End park last year. Pathetic Hun attendance and mostly Fife accents.
Andyboy
QUOTE (Lazarus @ Jun 30 2008, 20:29) *

I thought you had stopped supporting Rovers?
danelder89
QUOTE (Scary Bear @ Jun 30 2008, 22:54) *

Good thing we're not a wee team then, eh? tongue.gif

5000 minimum at this game. This will probably be our only game this season where the number of away fans outnumbers the home at Starks Park.
soti14
According to our official site Marvin Andrews is still at Raith huh.gif
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (soti14 @ Jun 30 2008, 23:10) *
According to our official site Marvin Andrews is still at Raith huh.gif

I saw that actually. Fucking Rangers, eh!?
Michael W
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Jun 30 2008, 23:08) *

1)5000 minimum at this game. 2)This will probably be our only game this season where the number of away fans outnumbers the home at Starks Park.

1) Rubbish

2) most probably

I'l take great delight in watching Ferry tear Broadfoot to shreads laugh.gif
St. Starko
2500 attendance. Tops.
kilgour11
QUOTE (St. Starko @ Jun 30 2008, 23:41) *
2500 attendance. Tops.

I'd say 3000 tops. No way will their be around 6000. Remember it's only a friendly.
renton
If we get 3,500 tops it will still be a major bonus to the club coffers, and as long as the team get a good run out, that's the most important thing...
Whistle Blower
Disaster, one great performance and Lee Bryce could be lured away by the Hun. crying.gif

Then who will get us 20 goals next season ?
renton
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Jul 1 2008, 12:40) *
Disaster, one great performance and Lee Bryce could be lured away by the Hun. crying.gif

I'm starting to see through your cheery, confident exterior.....
Monster
QUOTE (kilgour11 @ Jun 30 2008, 20:43) *

Ting Ting will have learnt to speak English by then and moved her mother in, so he won't be allowed.
danelder89
I will be very surprised if there is any less than 4500 in the ground on matchday, you imagine Rangers fans will just about fill the North Stand which holds 3500 or there abouts, plus about 1500-2000 home fans.

I don't see why some people are coming out with things like "2500 maximum" huh.gif This is the one of the two biggest clubs in Scotland we are playing not some wee diddy team like Hibs or Dundee Utd tongue.gif

I'm not too bothered about the crowd anyway I'm just looking forward to seeing us taking on the UEFA Cup finalists in our own back yard. Say what you like about Rangers but I for one would love to see players like Kenny Miller, Carlos Cuellar, Alan Macgregor in real life rather than just on the telly. And it's a chance for some of our players to test themselves against higher opposition.

Can't wait biggrin.gif

St. Starko
who will get us 20 goals next season ?

Wardlaw...

...obviously
Martin Nelson
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Jun 30 2008, 23:08) *

5000 minimum at this game. This will probably be our only game this season where the number of away fans outnumbers the home at Starks Park.

There's no chance we'll get a crowd of 5,000. Probably around 3,000 at best, but that is still a handy financial boost. Anyone who thinks Rangers will put out their first team, or even 5 or 6 of their first team, is kidding themselves though.
AllanJM
QUOTE (Martin Nelson @ Jul 1 2008, 13:18) *

There's no chance we'll get a crowd of 5,000. Probably around 3,000 at best, but that is still a handy financial boost. Anyone who thinks Rangers will put out their first team, or even 5 or 6 of their first team, is kidding themselves though.

Can't agree with that Martin. Rangers haven't played at Stark's in years and it's only £10 and £5 to get in. I think there'll be at least 3000 Rangers fans there (mostly from Kirkcaldy and Glenrothes) and at least 1000 Rovers fans. Add to that the few hundred neutrals who might turn up and I can see us get close to 5000.
danelder89
QUOTE (Martin Nelson @ Jul 1 2008, 13:18) *

You wait and see wink.gif

Quote from the Rovers chairman yesterday:

"We are particularly pleased that they will bring their First Team squad to Starks Park"

And from the Rangers site:

John McGlynn's Raith will supply a silmilar test as Walter Smith aims to integrate recent signings Kenny Miller, Kyle Lafferty and Andrius Velicka into his team"
Whistle Blower
I'm trying to be upbeat, but its hard to swallow when we are handing the begging bowl to the bigots.

rw89
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Jul 1 2008, 14:09) *
I'm trying to be upbeat, but its hard to swallow when we are handing the begging bowl to the bigots.

The way i'm looking at it is that it if we have to earn a decent wee bit through that then i'm content. If fans are willing to get their arses to Starks to watch a team from a Glasgow and it benefits us then i am happy.
lzreid

Positive response >>>>

Kris Boyd will score our goals, he'll realise he's pissing his career away with the Huns and fall in love with Starks Park (or you if you're lucky) and never leave. Then we can abuse him for being a lazy c**t.
Robbo
Rovers will have to rebuild/re -seat the Railway Stand to cope with the crowd
babemagnet
give them a gubbin'. i HATE THE TWO FROM gLASGOW MORE THAN i HATE rOVERS rolleyes.gif
lzreid
QUOTE (babemagnet @ Jul 1 2008, 19:56) *
give them a gubbin'. i HATE THE TWO FROM gLASGOW MORE THAN i HATE rOVERS rolleyes.gif

Why do you hate us anyway? It's like the English hating the Germans despite only getting to play them once every 4 or 5 years and beating them every 9 or 10. The difference in quality of club surely makes it not worth your while?
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (lzreid @ Jul 1 2008, 20:05) *
Why do you hate us anyway? It's like the English hating the Germans despite only getting to play them once every 4 or 5 years and beating them every 9 or 10. The difference in quality of club surely makes it not worth your while?

I think i've got a nibble....
Republic_Of_Scotland
QUOTE (babemagnet @ Jul 1 2008, 19:56) *

See they have improved English spelling and vocabulary in Methil schools............. laugh.gif

Anyhow, it doesn't matter what the crowd is. It is another fixture, which, no matter what the crowd, will put some money into the Rovers' bank account. We'll just need to get them at home in the cup. Then get a draw, take them back to Castle Greyskull, and beat them there. Meanwhile picking up a crowd cheque in the region of £150,000. cool.gif