The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
Jun 28 2008, 16:11
QUOTE (LeeDFC @ Jun 28 2008, 17:10)

Views?
none reallly...malta is pretty bleak.
SuperTommy
Jun 28 2008, 16:11
I don't believe he's there.
Until it's reported i'll choose to believe this is a rumour.
Derry_boy
Jun 28 2008, 16:15
Dundee only have 1 trialist over with them and that is the eastern european with champions league experience
Darren Young was bad enough but Jim Lauchlin
LeeDFC
Jun 28 2008, 16:16
QUOTE (The Ghost of Ron Burgundy @ Jun 28 2008, 17:11)

none reallly...malta is pretty bleak.
Edited for your benefit.
SuperTommy
Jun 28 2008, 16:17
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jun 28 2008, 17:15)

Dundee only have 1 trialist over with them and that is the eastern european with champions league experience
Darren Young was bad enough but Jim Lauchlin

There are 3 trialists in Malta.
Two who played in England last season. One of which trained with the squad last Monday and Tuesday the other met up with the squad in Manchester before flying over and the third who is the guy with Champions League experience.
That's why i don't think Lauchlan is there.
QosLoyal
Jun 28 2008, 16:20
The ghost of Jim Morton
Jun 28 2008, 16:26
Is there anybody thats not in fucking Malta with Dundee???????
SuperTommy
Jun 28 2008, 16:27
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jun 28 2008, 17:26)

Me
gatehouseqos
Jun 28 2008, 16:33

Views? On the player, not the place.
Absolute pish
Dr Koop
Jun 28 2008, 17:08
QUOTE (Derry_boy @ Jun 28 2008, 17:15)

I thought the Dees were trying to sign up the entire population of China in the big push for promotion.
Didn't work last time, did it?
O'Rourke
Jun 28 2008, 17:15
I really hope you sign him in your quest of building for the second division. It really makes no sense for your club to sell it's decent players onto the bigger Tayside clubs and then trawl about after gash like Young and maybe Lauchlan.
SuperTommy
Jun 28 2008, 17:17
QUOTE (O'Rourke @ Jun 28 2008, 18:15)

It really makes no sense for your club to sell it's decent players onto the bigger Tayside clubs
One we didn't sell the other was out of contract as well. We didn't really have a choice mate.
silvery tay
Jun 28 2008, 17:38
QUOTE (O'Rourke @ Jun 28 2008, 18:15)

I really hope you sign him in your quest of building for the second division. It really makes no sense for your club to sell it's decent players onto the bigger Tayside clubs and then trawl about after gash like Young and maybe Lauchlan.

And pray tell farmer boy just exactly who are these BIGGER Tayside clubs ?........A wee pointer fer ya Dundee FC have won more major honours than the other two also rans in Tayside put together ...hope that clears things up for ya ....now jump on yer John Deere and F*CK OFF !!
smithybby
Jun 28 2008, 17:54

never impressed wasn't up 2 scratch really(jim and malta that is)
Hen Broon
Jun 28 2008, 18:11
Im just back from Malta and I saw him at the airport. He has put on a few pounds. Must be all the Subways? Ps saw Mark Yardley as well
Bigmouth Strikes Again
Jun 28 2008, 18:28
QUOTE (Hen Broon @ Jun 28 2008, 19:11)

Im just back from Malta and I saw him at the airport. He has put on a few pounds. Must be all the Subways? Ps saw Mark Yardley as well
That was your reflection in the glass doors you fat idiot.
This isn't lauching very good for Dundee.
county-mad
Jun 28 2008, 18:52
Wen he was at county was pretty solid
Gve the whole back line confidence
God influence both on and off the pitch
Leitch came in didnt think the same then he was gone
Then we were relegated
Skyline Drifter
Jun 28 2008, 20:11
I'd imagine if Tommy says it isn't true it probably isn't.
However, in case it does happen to be true................. you could do worse. Wee bit unlucky with us Lauchy and never really let us down when he was on the pitch. Spent far too much time injured, isn't very quick and doesn't actually win headers but he reads the game well, talks it even better (he organises his colleagues very well) and usually does enough to prevent opponents getting clean headers even if he doesn't often win them himself. Actually thought he and JT formed a fairly solid pairing (though completely without pace) early season and had Lauchlan not picked up the injury he did they'd probably still be playing, he'd most likely have got a new deal and Andy Aitken would most likely not be here now. Instead he spent the season injured until the last month and Aitken knuckled down, got back in and rediscovered the form of old. Which made Lauchlan pretty much surplus to requirements.
Decent guy, I'd wish him well wherever he ends up. Still good enough to play first division I'd say though probably could do with some pace beside him.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Jun 28 2008, 20:13
Szamo's_Ammo
Jun 28 2008, 20:48

This can't be true. I can't believe someone as bad as him is still playing professional football. I still get nightmares of a defence with Lauchlan and Gary Bollan.
One of the worst defenders I've ever seen. One of those players for your club that you actually laugh at they are so bad.
QUOTE (Hen Broon @ Jun 28 2008, 19:11)

From the "Sub" lime to the ridiculous.
veteran
Jun 28 2008, 22:10
Slow and not great in the air.
Gives away far too many daft free kicks around the box.
QUOTE (veteran @ Jun 28 2008, 23:10)

Slow and not great in the air.
Gives away far too many daft free kicks around the box.
At last a thinking mans Skyline Drifter.
louisxiv
Jun 28 2008, 22:21

Good for you when you're playing us and want someone to come on in the last ten minutes to hoof it into touch and keep the score respectable. ;-)
Decent, hardworking bloke though if not the most creative. Can't find a bad word to say about him really. Oh! Found two: Subway Franchise.
Fantastic defender, I really hope you sign him.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Jun 28 2008, 22:39
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jun 28 2008, 23:37)

Fantastic defender, I really hope you sign him.

Just like Sol Bamba
Ever the Optimist
Jun 29 2008, 08:34
If you look at Queens form of last season, when he was in the team, they were looking as if they were relegation candidates, when he was injured and/or left out of the team, they went on the kind of run we as supporters dream about, and we all know how their season ended up.
Coincidence???
I think not.
The guy was, is and always will be a liability. Thank f**k he's never played for us.
Another minus for all you Dundee fans is if he does sign, there will be a shortage of sunbed space in the city for you all.
Radford
Jun 29 2008, 08:42
He's better than his brother! I always thought Lauchlan was a really good defender when he broke through in a good Killie side in the late nineties but things seem to have been going downhill for him since then. Dundee have two good centre backs and whether it's Webb or Lauchlan, as a third choice centre back, they aren't bad. The main thing if they do sign him though, is Dangerous Dave hasn't built him up to be something he isn't, like he did with Worrell and Young.
SuperTommy
Jun 29 2008, 09:14
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Jun 29 2008, 09:34)

Another minus for all you Dundee fans is if he does sign, there will be a shortage of sunbed space in the city for you all.
Your forgetting Lyle has left, there is plenty of sunbed space in Dundee now.
I thought Dundee had Sean Webb,ex St Johnstone defender.Midfielder Neale McDermott ex Fulham and Newcastle and a Czech midfielder with them in Malta.
SuperTommy
Jun 29 2008, 10:05
QUOTE (WHM @ Jun 29 2008, 10:33)

I thought Dundee had Sean Webb,ex St Johnstone defender.Midfielder Neale McDermott ex Fulham and Newcastle and a Czech midfielder with them in Malta.
All fit the descriptions mate. Where did you hear those names?
Skyline Drifter
Jun 29 2008, 10:12
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Jun 29 2008, 09:34)

If you look at Queens form of last season, when he was in the team, they were looking as if they were relegation candidates, when he was injured and/or left out of the team, they went on the kind of run we as supporters dream about, and we all know how their season ended up.
Seriously that's absolute rubbish.
Jim Lauchlan played FOUR league games for us between 25th August (when he was freed from suspension) and 22nd September (when he aggravated a groin injury playing against Thistle). In the three full games he actually played we won two and drew the other.
Doesn't exactly fit with your agenda does it?
He has his attributes and he has his flaws. There are a lot of worse players around than Jim Lauchlan.
It's not all that often an opponent stands out to be laughed at because they are so bad, but Jim Lauchlan certainly did that when we played Queens on the last day of the season. It would be greatly amusing if Dundee were to sign him, but I very much doubt there's any chance they will.
I too thought he was quite good when he was at Killie (and remember they had a pretty good defence at that time as well) but since going to Tannadice and onwards he really does seem to have gone downhill.
silvery tay
Jun 29 2008, 12:30
QUOTE (Socks @ Jun 29 2008, 11:29)

It's not all that often an opponent stands out to be laughed at because they are so bad, but Jim Lauchlan certainly did that when we played Queens on the last day of the season. It would be greatly amusing if Dundee were to sign him, but I very much doubt there's any chance they will.
I too thought he was quite good when he was at Killie (and remember they had a pretty good defence at that time as well) but since going to Tannadice and onwards he really does seem to have gone downhill.

Just wondering how it feels when supporters laugh at your whole team ....
frascoigne
Jun 29 2008, 12:38
There are certain players that i never wanted to play for Queens from recent times, and two of them did last two seasons, Bingham and Lauchlan.
Lauchlan is one of the worst defenders i have seen in the first division when he played against Queens. I always fancied us for a goal when i saw him in the opposition line up. I could not believe it when we signed him - total liability. His organisational skills generally get attributed to him in that he shouts at others as he is unable to do anything himself such is his ineptitude. He makes countless mistakes and is not comfortable on the ball at all. He is neither a stopper nor a footballing centre half - he is just utter gutter.
I remember watching the scotland under 21s in Prague in about 1999 and i think it was him and Scott Wilson of Dunfermline at the back - we let three goals in that day too. Shambles even as a younger player - i never thought he would get any better.
As for Bingham - I just hated the guy and never wanted to see him in a Queens jersey. All he did was moan at other players and was someone i didn't like so was gutted when he signed. Here's hoping we never sign Tokely..........
If Dundee sign Lauchlan and play him then they can kiss goodbye to any serious promotion hopes. This guy is not what you need and anyone who thinks he is has never seen him play regularly. I was totally delighted when he left Queens - total waste of a wage over the two years he was at the club.
Just like Sol Bamba
At least Bamba has potential.
I don't see Lauchlan going to the Olympics, maybe the pie festival?
vikingTON
Jun 29 2008, 12:54
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jun 29 2008, 13:43)

At least Bamba has potential.
I don't see Lauchlan going to the Olympics, maybe the pie festival?
I guess if Bamba plays like an amateur...
Juan Sara
Jun 29 2008, 12:58
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jun 29 2008, 10:14)

Your forgetting Lyle has left, there is plenty of sunbed space in Dundee now.
Davie who runs the Maltman Dark Blues has them ocupied
Lauchlan was badly exposed once Canning left Ross County. Canning and Lauchlan was a very strong partnership and they worked very well together. I didn't think he was that bad at County, however with the loss of Canning there wasn't a defender that adept at covering for Lauchlan when he was out of position due to a loopy moment. If Dundee were to sign an ex County defender you would be better signing Webb, however Lauchlan isn't as atrocious as some have made out.
SuperTommy
Jun 29 2008, 13:17
I see the News of the World have named Webb and Neale McDermott as trialists as well as saying the guy with Champions League experience is Czech.
This leaves me to think why would the paper name these two but not Lauchlan, which leads me back to thinking there is no truth in this.
Ludo *1
Jun 29 2008, 13:52
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neale_McDermottLooks like it's confirmed one of the trialists is Neale however anyonecan write on Wiki!
jondee
Jun 29 2008, 14:30
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jun 28 2008, 17:26)

Aye, Gavin Swankie, thank f**k.
Is everyone rather jealous that Dundee are on more than a coach tour for pre-season??? Where are Saints???? Arbroath?? Tayport??? Portabello beech???
Fife Saint
Jun 29 2008, 14:37
QUOTE (jondee @ Jun 29 2008, 15:30)

Is everyone rather jealous that Dundee are on more than a coach tour for pre-season??? Where are Saints???? Arbroath?? Tayport??? Portabello beech???
Using top of the range, premiership facilities in the midlands if you must know...
QUOTE (jondee @ Jun 29 2008, 15:30)

You forgot to mention Kevin McDonald, Paul Dixon, Scott Robertson, Robert Snodgrass, Chris Innes, Charlie Miller and Gary Holt....non of them going either.
Lets see now...would I rather my team went by coach to a state of the art sporting centre or flew off to an all inclusive equivilent of Benidorm???
Yep, very jealous indeed.
O'Rourke
Jun 29 2008, 19:57
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 28 2008, 18:38)

And pray tell farmer boy just exactly who are these BIGGER Tayside clubs ?........A wee pointer fer ya Dundee FC have won more major honours than the other two also rans in Tayside put together ...hope that clears things up for ya ....now jump on yer John Deere and F*CK OFF !!
I'm a Fergie fan incidently and wouldn't thank you for a John Deere.
Dundee were indeed relatively successful in the dim and distant past, I remember someone kindly reproducing old black and white photographs recently of those heady days five decades ago.
Bigmouth Strikes Again
Jun 29 2008, 20:49
QUOTE (O'Rourke @ Jun 29 2008, 20:57)

I'm a Fergie fan incidently and wouldn't thank you for a John Deere.
Dundee were indeed relatively successful in the dim and distant past, I remember someone kindly reproducing old black and white photographs recently of those heady days five decades ago.
Still......its got to be better than having no success at all.
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jun 29 2008, 13:30)

I'm sure we've all been in that situation at some point - I've certainly laughed at Dundee and most other clubs at various points in time.
However, not all of us can know what it feels like to be such a p***k that half a forum laughs at you personally. Perhaps you can tell us?
silvery tay
Jun 29 2008, 21:47
QUOTE (Socks @ Jun 29 2008, 22:11)

I'm sure we've all been in that situation at some point - I've certainly laughed at Dundee and most other clubs at various points in time.
However, not all of us can know what it feels like to be such a p***k that half a forum laughs at you personally. Perhaps you can tell us?

If you say so NEEDLE DICK

............JUST LOVE PERSONAL ATTACKS

now trot off tae bed wee man xx
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.