Full Version: Adam Coakley
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
GeeJay
We have just signed this lad, it looks like he has played for Alloa, Morton and Stranraer among others. Can anyone in the know give us more information about him?

A quick Google suggests he isn't the most prolific of strikers.
Waspie
QUOTE (GeeJay @ Jun 27 2008, 13:14) *
We have just signed this lad, it looks like he has played for Alloa, Morton and Stranraer among others. Can anyone in the know give us more information about him?

A quick Google suggests he isn't the most prolific of strikers.

You can be sure this thread will soon be full of laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif because wherever he has been poor Coakley seems to have had a very hard time from fans. Thats maybe half the problem for him.
His pedigree is good having represented Scotland underage and scored a few for Motherwell reserves but he hasnt done much since leaving Fir Park. I dont think he is as bad as some fans suggest and he actually got a few goals for us and always worked hard too. Needs to work on his game though, dont think he is Division 2 standard at the moment. Have to confess my heart would sink when I saw his name on the teamsheet.
RedWeb
Crikey, this lad seems to get about. This must be about the 5th thread we've had on PnB from fans asking about "new signing" Adam Coakley. Sounds like the new Coco Cramb.
GeeJay
QUOTE (Waspie @ Jun 27 2008, 13:23) *
You can be sure this thread will soon be full of laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif because wherever he has been poor Coakley seems to have had a very hard time from fans.

Our fans seem to like strikers who try hard but just don't have the consistent finish, so no problem there.

Any signing is a good one for us, to be honest. He must have played against us last season at some point?

It looks like San Jose Earthquakes were after him, too - hope that doesn't mean he's MLS standard. http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/footbal...86908-20598498/
laughing gravie
He was signed with us from january tot he end of thr season to cover our lack of fire power up front through injuries to our main strikers.

He isn't the most prolific, but he gives his all, but can sometimes be on thje park and posted missing.

Scored a couple for us last season, and the one against Clyde in the play-off's 1st leg at the Recs was a peach.

His inconsistancy is his weakness.
vikingTON
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

A wonderstroke signing from McInally washes up at yet another club.
Amateur terms already: who'd have thought it?

To think he was going to be our star striker last season: good one Jim. laugh.gif
dubs
QUOTE (laughing gravie @ Jun 27 2008, 13:29) *
His lack of ability is his weakness.

I agree
Jimmy MCcabe
Did not feature from the start to often when on loan to us but this was more due to he fact that our other loan signing was Mark Stewart and he was banging in the goals. Tried hard when playing and may do ok with a regular starting place. Good luck to him (except against us) he seemed a decent enough guy who wanted to do well.
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
Quite comfortably THE worst player I've ever seen in a Morton jersey.
Zanetti
The thing is, unlike all of YOUR team, if he's shite, we're not paying him to be shite. In this regard, I'm happy enough to take on anybody.

Needless to say, I hope he does well.
GeeJay
I'm overwhelmed by the praise he is getting on this thread.

Keep it coming lads.
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
QUOTE (ZanettiQP @ Jun 27 2008, 14:25) *
The thing is, unlike all of YOUR team, if he's shite, we're not paying him to be shite. In this regard, I'm happy enough to take on anybody.

Needless to say, I hope he does well.

Wattie! Put this boy right wink.gif
GeeJay
QUOTE (Stevie Aitken's Love Child @ Jun 27 2008, 14:34) *
Wattie! Put this boy right wink.gif

You are just jealous because we pay much higher wages than Morton. laugh.gif
The Arch
Gardner Speirs obviously read Coakley's advert in the Evening Times. Good old Gardner, helping out the unemployed.
RockofCabraltar
QUOTE (GeeJay @ Jun 27 2008, 08:27) *
It looks like San Jose Earthquakes were after him, too - hope that doesn't mean he's MLS standard. http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/footbal...86908-20598498/

You mean 100 times better than 2nd Division? tongue.gif

San Jose lost their top striker to a season ending injury, their second one for a month due to national team duty with Sierra Leone, and their third striker to an injury for a while too. All this to a team who has scored 10 goals in 13 games, and is bottom of the table. I think at this point they'll take almost any healthy forward who'll come cheap.
bsd
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif x 1 million.

He is so bad we had a song about him sung to the tune of the hokey cokey.

One moment of brilliance (the goal against Clyde) but hours and hours of absolute dross. Made Chris Mackie look a good striker. He will score 3 maybe 4 goals a season.
turboshandy
2nd division top scorer next season.

You heard it here first....
bsd
QUOTE (turboshandy @ Jun 27 2008, 19:43) *
2nd division top scorer next season.

You heard it here first....

....and last.

Maybe QP are getting a wee back hander from his rich daddy to play him. I had my suspicions this was happening last season when we kept on inexplicably giving him a game.
vikingTON
QUOTE (bsd @ Jun 27 2008, 19:51) *
....and last.

Maybe QP are getting a wee back hander from his rich daddy to play him. I had my suspicions this was happening last season when we kept on inexplicably giving him a game.

Hmm, that rumour has surfaced on the morton forum as to how on Earth he managed to earn a contract from us and how he managed to be touted for the MLS when he clearly reached his natural level advertising in the Evening Times.
Wouldn't be surprised if there was something in that.
port-ton
this thread has actually been a lot kinder about him than i thought it would be.

there haven't been enough laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif for my liking!
BluebirdTon
As you may have guessed from everybody elses thoughts,you shouldn't expect anything big from him...if anything.The worst player ive seen play for Morton and we've had some amount of gash on our books over the years.
Feed The Dunn
QUOTE (bsd @ Jun 27 2008, 16:02) *
He is so bad we had a song about him sung to the tune of the hokey cokey.

He will score 3 maybe 4 goals a season.

Alloa fans sing? ohmy.gif

4 goals would be better than our strikers were last season...
bsd
QUOTE (Feed The Dunn @ Jun 27 2008, 21:57) *
Alloa fans sing? ohmy.gif

4 goals would be better than our strikers were last season...

I said we had a song, I didnt say we sang it tongue.gif

4 is at the higher range of optimism.
Spiders For Life
4 will do fine. Our striker scored 2 last year.

But to be fair he tried...
Casper Rose
Queens Park also have signed Ross Dunlop and Andy Boslem from the youth set up. He will have the players in good shape as he has had them in every day since Monday and there is a double session this morning.
Oweny
Good luck to him. He always ran his heart out for us and gave his all for Alloa .
Wheras he is not an absoulte star , he isn't as bad as some of the other posts have said. Scored an absolute cracker against Clyde in the play offs and I recon , leaves Alloa a better player following his spell at the Recs.
marf-1870
Never got much of a chance at Stair Park but when he did he'd didn't realy show much.
qpsnapper
QUOTE (Casper Rose @ Jun 28 2008, 03:51) *
Queens Park also have signed Ross Dunlop and Andy Boslem from the youth set up. He will have the players in good shape as he has had them in every day since Monday and there is a double session this morning.

Also Jack Henry and Barry Douglas have stepped up from the 19's, a right and left back respectively.

The players haven't been in every day this week, they weren't in on Wednesday and Friday.
madton
He didnt get a chance at Morton,infact a think he only got 86 minutes in a ton jersey so how the hell can you judge a player on that. I know Adam personally and all this talk of his dad payin teams 2 play him is absolute pish, if he was,dont u think he would pick bigger teams than alloa and QP. He will do a job 4 QP if given the chance.
port-ton
QUOTE (madton @ Jun 29 2008, 21:19) *
He didnt get a chance at Morton,infact a think he only got 86 minutes in a ton jersey so how the hell can you judge a player on that. I know Adam personally and all this talk of his dad payin teams 2 play him is absolutle pish, if he was,dont u think he would pick bigger teams than alloa and QP. He will do a job 4 QP if given the chance.

you have coakley tinted glasses on, im afraid.
Casper Rose
QUOTE (qpsnapper @ Jun 28 2008, 19:28) *
Also Jack Henry and Barry Douglas have stepped up from the 19's, a right and left back respectively.

The players haven't been in every day this week, they weren't in on Wednesday and Friday.

Boslems told me that Gardner Spiers had them in for 6 days last week, my bad!
madton
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jun 29 2008, 21:05) *
you have coakley tinted glasses on, im afraid.

So you believe you can truely judge the guy on 3 sub appearances???

FWIW, the view above is from my brother in law who played with Adam at Motherwell for about 4 years, so he knows what kind of player he is. Hes still young, has time on his side and could easily do a job for QP.(and thats my opinion)
GeeJay
Is it true he only had three sub appearances for Morton? If so, then I can't take your comments as serious as I did before.
Zanetti
QUOTE (GeeJay @ Jun 29 2008, 23:26) *
Is it true he only had three sub appearances for Morton? If so, then I can't take your comments as serious as I did before.

Added to that, how often did he actually play for Alloa? If he managed to get 4 goals in anything less than 10 or 11 full games then I think they're being fucking harsh too.
vikingTON
Don't worry, Coakley played in various friendlies etc last season and it was gathered that he was "fucking pish": if saltyTON was on no doubt he would confirm.
I've seen more than enough to know that Adam Coakley is fucking pish, although its heartening to see that any other mince footballer can put an advert in the Evening Times and it actually pays off. laugh.gif
I'm settling for nothing less than a SPL outfit myself.
port-ton
he played friendlies and 3 sub appearances, then was shoved out on loan straight away as Mcinally knew he'd obviously fucked it up royally signing this dud. Was released in January after signing for us in the summer, think that says it all. If he'd made any impact at stranraer or alloa then you could argue that it was just a poor time he had at morton, but no he's been terrible everywhere he went and will continue to be terrible.
Waspie
QUOTE (ZanettiQP @ Jun 29 2008, 23:31) *
Added to that, how often did he actually play for Alloa? If he managed to get 4 goals in anything less than 10 or 11 full games then I think they're being fucking harsh too.

16 appearances for us I think. I always try and be fair about players and to be honest I dont think Coakley deserves the abuse he gets on these forums. He is a limited enough striker IMO but reading some of the comments about him you would think he had committed some kind of heinous crime huh.gif . His confidence must be shot to pieces given the abuse he gets and being moved around so many clubs in a short spell of time.
I thought he'd be better dropping to the juniors and trying to get some stability and a few goals and rebuild from there but he could do ok for Queens Park, tries hard and will lob in with the odd goal too.
SaltyTON
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jun 29 2008, 23:40) *
Don't worry, Coakley played in various friendlies etc last season and it was gathered that he was "fucking pish": if saltyTON was on no doubt he would confirm.
I've seen more than enough to know that Adam Coakley is fucking pish, although its heartening to see that any other mince footballer can put an advert in the Evening Times and it actually pays off. laugh.gif
I'm settling for nothing less than a SPL outfit myself.

Not sure why specifically me, but yes. Adam Coakley is "fucking pish".
vikingTON
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Jul 1 2008, 15:42) *
Not sure why specifically me, but yes. Adam Coakley is "fucking pish".

IIRC you were at most of the pre-season games and were rather outspoken in criticism of him.
First of many that came to mind.
King Kong Bundy
Typical delusions from the Morton fans. Almost as bad as the Jags. I'm sure they've got their eyes on Ronaldo.
vikingTON
QUOTE (King Kong Bundy @ Jul 1 2008, 17:48) *
Typical delusions from the Morton fans. Almost as bad as the Jags. I'm sure they've got their eyes on Ronaldo.

Whit? blink.gif
We've seen him play: he was fucking awful.
I can't help nor change this fact.
Well we are looking to sign another striker, but could Ronaldo create a successful partnership with first-choice Brian Wake?
King Kong Bundy
Maybe - would he reach your staggering 1st Division standards?
vikingTON
QUOTE (King Kong Bundy @ Jul 1 2008, 18:08) *

Coakley - certainly not.
Ronaldo - he'd have to go for a trial first.
Gall09
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jul 1 2008, 17:53) *
Whit? blink.gif
We've seen him play: he was fucking awful.
I can't help nor change this fact.

That's fair enough. You're going by what you have seen of him and that's what the topic starter was looking for.

I'm still hopeful that he can do a job for us though, as plenty of players have been shit for one team and good for others. Look at the difference in opinion between Raith and EF fans over Johnny Smart.
bsd
QUOTE (Gall09 @ Jul 1 2008, 20:05) *
That's fair enough. You're going by what you have seen of him and that's what the topic starter was looking for.

I'm still hopeful that he can do a job for us though, as plenty of players have been shit for one team and good for others. Look at the difference in opinion between Raith and EF fans over Johnny Smart.

I think the point here is that he's been poor at a few teams. I certainly thought he was rubbish with Alloa. One good goal does not equal all the crap performances. Anyway, I dont bear him any ill. I just dont think he is even an average player.
port-ton
QUOTE (King Kong Bundy @ Jul 1 2008, 18:08) *

i wonder why the guy that signed for us inthe summer , was loaned out after a month never to be seen again and then released in January isn't upto our high first division standards.
The Arch
QUOTE (King Kong Bundy @ Jul 1 2008, 17:48) *

I honestly think you would struggle to find any Jags fans with delusions of grandeur on here. Quite a realistic bunch all in all, and loveable to boot.
Hampden Diehard
I seem to remember the REAL Ronaldo (that's Paul Ronald, folks) getting absolute pelters on this site when we signed him, and the guy really did a job for us. So, if Coakley does the same, I'll be happy. "Things go better with Coak" - you also heard this here first.
Nizzy
QUOTE (The Arch @ Jul 2 2008, 23:54) *
I honestly think you would struggle to find any Jags fans with delusions of grandeur on here. Quite a realistic bunch all in all, and loveable to boot.

I was struggling to comprehend what the fuck he was talking about, too.