Full Version: Well Done Kevin Macdonald
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
jimmydfc1893
well done kevin on signing a deal in jan to ensure dundee would get a decent fee when he left instead of being greedy like several other players have been in the same situation
port-ton
did he get a wage rise in his new deal?
fintry dee
totally agree he put dundee first insted of himself
he is a true a dee unlike robertson

hopefully their is a freindly as one of the clauses

SuperTommy
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jun 24 2008, 20:48) *
did he get a wage rise in his new deal?

Yes
Up wi the bonnets
Aye Kev Mcdonald will always be a Dee, just like gavin Rae i will track his progress, just hope he doesnt do the same as many have done before him and end up back in scotland at a mediocre team.

Always has time for you if you bump into him in fattys.

dorsetdee
All the best to Big Kev a true diamond. I honestly believe he will develop into a player that will equal the great scottish players of days gone by. He joins Burnley with nothing but full appreciation and respect from all true Dundee fans. I personally tip him to play for a top four premiership side by the time he is 23.
port-ton
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jun 24 2008, 20:51) *
Yes

so you could say he didn't only do it so Dundee would get a fee for him, he did it to get himself more money before leaving the club.

not saying there is anything wrong with that, but if he was really a saint for signing a new contract so you could get a good fee then he would have signed it on the same wages before, that would have been truelly not greedy.
alberto
the real reason big Kev signed for them ...... look at their sponsor

http://www.hollandspies.co.uk/
SuperTommy
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jun 24 2008, 21:23) *
so you could say he didn't only do it so Dundee would get a fee for him, he did it to get himself more money before leaving the club.

not saying there is anything wrong with that, but if he was really a saint for signing a new contract so you could get a good fee then he would have signed it on the same wages before, that would have been truelly not greedy.

I think it was obvious to everyone he was off in the summer. Kev signing a contract on slightly improved terms so Dundee could get a fee was the best for both parties. The reason fans are looking at Kev in this light is that others have recently left the club for nothing when they could of signed on for an extra year to get the club a fee.
port-ton
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jun 24 2008, 21:28) *
I think it was obvious to everyone he was off in the summer. Kev signing a contract on slightly improved terms so Dundee could get a fee was the best for both parties. The reason fans are looking at Kev in this light is that others have recently left the club for nothing when they could of signed on for an extra year to get the club a fee.

i don't disagree that what he done by signing the contract was good for the club, and well done to him. But it was also a very good deal for him, getting more money for the last 6 months of his dundee Career for doing the same job. Just didn't agree with thread starter who implied he'd done this solely for Dundee and not partly for himself, as a little bit of greed came into his decision although im not saying greed in that situation is a bad thing.
FC_1919
QUOTE (dorsetdee @ Jun 24 2008, 21:21) *
All the best to Big Kev a true diamond. I honestly believe he will develop into a player that will equal the great scottish players of days gone by. He joins Burnley with nothing but full appreciation and respect from all true Dundee fans. I personally tip him to play for a top four premiership side by the time he is 23.

Who dear lord, I was never that impressed by him at all last season. But we dominated you last season, so he could be better in other games but top 4 Premiership side? laugh.gif
supersaint44
i actually have always had great respect for McDonald and with the way he has handled himself and all of the transfer stuff and how he always seemed to have a cool head and didn't let greed or anything come into it. i actually wish him all the best in the future and feel he will be a big player for burnley and scotland in years to come.
Bigmouth Strikes Again
QUOTE (FC_1919 @ Jun 24 2008, 21:45) *
Who dear lord, I was never that impressed by him at all last season. But we dominated you last season, so he could be better in other games but top 4 Premiership side? laugh.gif

Your signature pic looks like the queen mother. I take it thats meant to be a guevara/chisholm mix? laugh.gif
Juan Sara
QUOTE (Bigmouth Strikes Again @ Jun 24 2008, 22:20) *
Your signature pic looks like the queen mother. I take it thats meant to be a guevara/chisholm mix? laugh.gif

His avatar you mean?
Bigmouth Strikes Again
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jun 24 2008, 22:21) *
His avatar you mean?

Yep thats the one.
Juan Sara
QUOTE (Bigmouth Strikes Again @ Jun 24 2008, 22:24) *
Yep thats the one.

Sorry for being a cock tongue.gif
FC_1919
QUOTE (Bigmouth Strikes Again @ Jun 24 2008, 22:20) *

You being like a mini Rangers will love that.

harhar!

tongue.gif
Big Fez
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jun 24 2008, 20:35) *
i don't disagree that what he done by signing the contract was good for the club, and well done to him. But it was also a very good deal for him, getting more money for the last 6 months of his dundee Career for doing the same job. Just didn't agree with thread starter who implied he'd done this solely for Dundee and not partly for himself, as a little bit of greed came into his decision although im not saying greed in that situation is a bad thing.

Aye but naw:
The way for players to make money in these situations is to let their contract run out. Then, being available for free (or at least cheap, if young) wind up with a bunch of clubs chasing them, and so negotiate a better deal. The money the buying club saves on a transfer fee then ends up in the players pocket. Or more likely their agent's.

Don't know how much of a wage rise McD would have got at Dens but i doubt six months of that would outweigh the increase in earning potential created by his being a free agent, signing a three or four year contract. Especially considering the big clubs who made derisory offers for him over the last couple of years it's fairly certain he could have got more cash that way.
Fife Saint
I think it was an admirable move in signing the new deal. Seems like a genuine lad who certainly has the talent so good luck to him.

I'm sure i read on here that Mr Roberts had touted an impending administration so he has obviously caught wind of that and jumped ship at just the right time.