Bellahouston Treelover
Jun 21 2008, 20:35
Heard a nasty little rumour that the 3pm kick-offs we thought we were returning to next season might not actually happen. Arthurlie's proposal for a return to 3pm kick-offs look like being ruled as incompetent as the matter was discussed at last year's AGM.
Which begs the question - who is incompetent? Arthurlie - for proposing what every club seems to want or the West Region of SJFA for not even wanting to listen to the clubs opinions.
santheman
Jun 21 2008, 22:53
QUOTE (Bellahouston Treelover @ Jun 21 2008, 20:35)

Heard a nasty little rumour that the 3pm kick-offs we thought we were returning to next season might not actually happen. Arthurlie's proposal for a return to 3pm kick-offs look like being ruled as incompetent as the matter was discussed at last year's AGM.
Which begs the question - who is incompetent? Arthurlie - for proposing what every club seems to want or the West Region of SJFA for not even wanting to listen to the clubs opinions.
The rules of the Association state that any defeated proposal cannot be resubmitted at the next AGM, so the earliest any return to 3pm kickoffs could happen is at next years AGM.
Of course the clubs could force the removal of this rule if they really wanted to????
I would dispute that every club wants a return to 2pm kickoffs however, as most of the club Secretaries I,ve spoken to over the last season seem not to be too fussed one way or another
BadgersNadgers
Jun 21 2008, 23:22
Is there any actual reason why juniors kick off at 2pm instead of 3pm like the seniors? I take it its something to do with lack of floodlighting, or is it another Scottish football anomaly?
sponsorsladdie
Jun 22 2008, 09:50
QUOTE (BadgersNadgers @ Jun 22 2008, 00:22)

Is there any actual reason why juniors kick off at 2pm instead of 3pm like the seniors? I take it its something to do with lack of floodlighting, or is it another Scottish football anomaly?
In the east it is generally a 2:30 KO. Until winter then it is put back to 2:00.
So we can look forward to another season of 2pm kickoffs and nae fixture list? Whit a joke! Pretty obvious who the incompetent ones are. It's just a shame that so many clubs sit on their hands and accept this pish rather than forcing a change.
QUOTE (gonk @ Jun 22 2008, 12:05)

So we can look forward to another season of 2pm kickoffs and nae fixture list? Whit a joke! Pretty obvious who the incompetent ones are. It's just a shame that so many clubs sit on their hands and accept this pish rather than forcing a change.
What good would a fixture list do ???.Most games from november to febuary get called off anyway.
HibeeJibee
Jun 22 2008, 12:26
East of Scotland seniors kick-off at 2:30pm (then in winter draw back to 2:00pm/1:45pm/1:30pm/ 1:00pm/take your pick) - I think this was because, back in the mists of time when sports papers were released on Saturday evenings, the non-league scores had to be submitted before 4:30pm.
That could be rubbish but it's the only credible theory I've heard behind it. There is certainly no reason today why any football in good light can't kick-off at 3pm, but as with everything else in Scottish football, when it's "aye been, it's aye been", some people will fight change tooth and nail!!
QUOTE (F_T_Y @ Jun 22 2008, 13:07)

What good would a fixture list do ???.Most games from november to febuary get called off anyway.
If a game gets called aff, it gets called aff there's no much we can do about the weather. It's not a great excuse as to why we shouldn't bother trying to organise things professionally though, is it?
I'd at least like to know where i'm supposed to be going with a decent bit of notice, instead of 5 days before. I bet the players and managers do too.
kilbowie2002
Jun 22 2008, 18:41
F_T_Y you are a fanny you are actually an embarrassment to Clydebank with the shite you hit out with, not just on this thread but others.
Joethistle
Jun 22 2008, 19:20
QUOTE (kilbowie2002 @ Jun 22 2008, 19:41)

F_T_Y you are a fanny you are actually an embarrassment to Clydebank with the shite you hit out with, not just on this thread but others.
There is nothing wrong with 2.30 pm kick offs and then earlier as the winter light dictates surely.Why is there always some trivial thing that seems to get to some people?
QUOTE (Joethistle @ Jun 22 2008, 20:20)

There is nothing wrong with 2.30 pm kick offs and then earlier as the winter light dictates surely.Why is there always some trivial thing that seems to get to some people?

2.30 kick offs are fine. But in the west they always kick off at 2 - irrespective of the light conditions. This costs clubs in the west some revenue because the Satanta 12.30 games finish about 2.15. If they deferred their kick off to 2.30 when the light permitted, it would make a great deal of sense - supporters could finish watching the live match and still catch the start of the junior game. The fact that the majority of Setanta games involve Celtic or Rangers playing away from home will also have a greater impact in the west than any other part of the country. I don't think it's something to get hung up about but I can't for the life of me understand why the west juniors organisers can't see something that's hitting them right in the face.
cmontheloknow
Jun 22 2008, 20:55
The West Region introduced the fixed 2pm kick offs (as opposed to 3pm from March to November and a changing 'earlier' when less light in winter) 3 or 4 years ago.
A few reasons for the change have been put forward (to allow Radio Clyde to be able to broadcast the results at 5pm or whenever was one, another was to make it easier to know when kick offs were if they were uniform and unmoving), but Setanta 12.30pm kick offs have started in the time since and it's made the change absolutely disastrous. Clubs with supports care about this as gates have plummeted, at Lok the average is down by 200 from before the change was introduced and we've also lost folk from committee who can't make 2pm kick offs.
Santheman may be correct in what he says, sadly. Fans come last at some clubs.
santheman
Jun 22 2008, 21:50
I did hear today that the same proposal to change the kick off times CAN actually be put forward at the West AGM this year as its the SJFA whose rules bar the same proposal being put forward year after year. Maybe someone can clarify as I've mislaid my handbook to check if that is the case.
Bellahouston Treelover
Jun 23 2008, 00:34
QUOTE (santheman @ Jun 22 2008, 22:50)

Maybe someone can clarify as I've mislaid my handbook to check if that is the case.
Isn't the handbook reproduced on the SJFA website - or is that just the SJFA handbook, not the West Region.
I think one reason for the change to 2pm was to keep a uniform time so the correct time was always in the newspapers. Although this didn't work out as some papers still got it wrong - and things ballsed up when the Junior Cup ties came along as they had their own kick-off time. Whatever the reason, as Jamie said - things have changed since the rule was brought in. Had it not been for Setanta coming along and buggering up the gate income with folk arriving after half time then I'd be happy with 2pm kick-offs. Not always good when you forget about that extra hour in the pub after the game and you end up more drunk than you anticipated.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.