Full Version: Ryan Mccann
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
QosLoyal
Leaving queens. I am absolutely gutted at this news. Will always remember THAT goal he scored for us Hopefully chis has got other targets lined up.
Dougie Mills
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Jun 20 2008, 21:26) *
Leaving queens. I am absolutely gutted at this news. Will always remember THAT goal he scored for us Hopefully chis has got other targets lined up.

Disappointing I suppose but hardly the end of the world - obviously thinks he's worth more than what was put on the table. Would be more worried if we lost the likes of O'Connor or Dobbie tbh.
SuperTommy
Any idea where he'll be off to?
QosLoyal
QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jun 20 2008, 21:40) *
Any idea where he'll be off to?

Dunno m8 it says on our OS that he wos linked with morecambe but the player himself is undecided
Radford
Do you think, in part, it could be because he's been played out of position? He's actually looked a better right back than he ever did midfielder IMO but if the player still sees himself operating in the middle of the park, could he be reluctant to stay for fear he'd be recognised as a full back?

Of course, maybe more likely is the fact he can earn more money elsewhere and his profile has certainly been raised over the past few months. You wouldn't think any clubs in this league would tempt him away from Palmerston and I'm not sure he'd garner much interest from the SPL so looks like he's heading south. Did he not come home from Dublin because he couldn't settle though?
QosLoyal
QUOTE (Radford @ Jun 20 2008, 22:15) *
Do you think, in part, it could be because he's been played out of position? He's actually looked a better right back than he ever did midfielder IMO but if the player still sees himself operating in the middle of the park, could he be reluctant to stay for fear he'd be recognised as a full back?

Of course, maybe more likely is the fact he can earn more money elsewhere and his profile has certainly been raised over the past few months. You wouldn't think any clubs in this league would tempt him away from Palmerston and I'm not sure he'd garner much interest from the SPL so looks like he's heading south. Did he not come home from Dublin because he couldn't settle though?

Yeah he came from Bohemians i thnk. It Might be a possibility that he doesnt lyk being played out of position who knows!? Its disapointing because u would have thought that being in europe would have tempted im to stay, i wos certain he would sign.His profile has been raised, but so has Queens-this is the best period in our history! Hopefully chis can bring in some more qaulity to bolster the sqaud atm i thnk we have abwt 14 signed players!
Lando Griffin
Disappointed with the news but we must move on. Reid looks like a very capable replacement.
queenslad
I'm not surprised this has happened and don't think it will be the last. Remember we signed McCann from nowhere and gave him the platform to perform which he has. That 'Goal' has made him a houshold name and has what happens with every successful club player start to get noticed by other teams at a higher level or who pay bigger wages. The semi and final were great shop windows not only for the club but for the players as well.

I am sure that Queens are already trying to pinch players from other clubs as well. I'm don't know if money came into it but if you were aware that a business had just come ino a windfall of money and you were negoitating a new contract wouldn't you be asking for money. Maybe the gap was too much. I am sure other players we are after ask for more from Queens now than they would have done in March. Same goes if we ask to sign a player from another club the fee goes up. It happens at all levels of football from SPL, SFL to South League.

This gaves another opportunity to another Player who now has a chance to better himself.
FC_1919
If he doesn't want to stay, good riddance. He was a good right back for us, but you move on. Craig Reid is a better defender than him anyway, maybe a bit keen to go chasing about making tackles and leaving space in behind himself. Hopefully we can get another right back into challenge him.
Skyline Drifter
Disappointed but not surprised. Ryan had made it known weeks before the end of the season that he fancied another crack at English football. Higher profile, bigger wages generally. I doubt very much it had anything to do with the position he was playing. I had hoped he would stay because he's been a revelation at full back, not so much with his actual defending as with his engine and ability to get up and down the side of the park all game. However, it would appear given his outings at the tail of last season that Reid can very much play there too so I'm not overly worried. In squad numbers clearly it means another body required but positionally we still have right back covered.

I see we've also confirmed the signing of Gerry McLachlan whilst I've been away. Good news on that front at least. Other than goalkeeper I'm pretty happy with the first eleven we could put out now. We clearly need a load of depth though. We only have 14 actual signed players at the moment (no word on Grindlay).
Queensthroughandthrough
"whilst I've been away. Good news on that front at least. " biggrin.gif

You are right there Skyline cool.gif

Where were you anyway? we missed you ohmy.gif
Stato1
ryan will be a massive loss 2 queens. was a great player for the club in such a short space of time and adapted 2 the team really well. so ryan thanks we wish you all the best for the future.

also believe that ryan might not be the only 1 leaving this summer!
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (Queensthroughandthrough @ Jun 20 2008, 23:11) *
"whilst I've been away. Good news on that front at least. " biggrin.gif

You are right there Skyline cool.gif

Where were you anyway? we missed you ohmy.gif

What, for two days? rolleyes.gif

I flew to Switzerland for the Portugal v Germany q-f. Flew out wednesday, back today.
veteran
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jun 20 2008, 23:04) *
Disappointed but not surprised. Ryan had made it known weeks before the end of the season that he fancied another crack at English football. Higher profile, bigger wages generally. I doubt very much it had anything to do with the position he was playing. I had hoped he would stay because he's been a revelation at full back, not so much with his actual defending as with his engine and ability to get up and down the side of the park all game. However, it would appear given his outings at the tail of last season that Reid can very much play there too so I'm not overly worried. In squad numbers clearly it means another body required but positionally we still have right back covered.

I see we've also confirmed the signing of Gerry McLachlan whilst I've been away. Good news on that front at least. Other than goalkeeper I'm pretty happy with the first eleven we could put out now. We clearly need a load of depth though. We only have 13 actual signed players at the moment (no word on Grindlay).

Would agree pretty much with that especially the need to increase the depth of the squad.
I would think we need to get in 7 or 8 players , including two goalkeepers , pretty sharpish.
With pre-season training starting on 30th June time is running short.
No doubt there will be the usual quota of loan players but some early 'permanent' signings would be welcome.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (veteran @ Jun 20 2008, 23:24) *
Would agree pretty much with that especially the need to increase the depth of the squad.
I would think we need to get in 7 or 8 players , including two goalkeepers , pretty sharpish.
With pre-season training starting on 30th June time is running short.
No doubt there will be the usual quota of loan players but some early 'permanent' signings would be welcome.

It's actually 14 signed players when I counted them up (managed to miss Scally the first time ph34r.gif ).

You are right though we need to get somewhere between 6 and 8 players in including two keepers (one of whom may yet be Grindlay of course). I don't think there's any need to panic yet though. Plenty of time to move. It's about getting the right players not the first available ones for the sake of filling a squad. Most signings are made in July. I don't think pre-season training starting is an especially important cut off. Professional footballers will be doing pre-season training with someone even if not signed by anyone. It's the way such things work.

And yes, I'd presume there might be a couple of loan signings also.
Lando Griffin
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jun 20 2008, 23:32) *
It's actually 14 signed players when I counted them up (managed to miss Scally the first time ph34r.gif ).

I predict you'll be getting a boot up the arse from Mr Scally next time you pass him in the corridor for that faux pas! wink.gif

On the signings front, is there any truth in the rumour that Messrs Deco, Ronaldinho and E'to were spotted speaking to Davie Rae and Chis at the Holiday Inn Express, Glasgow Airport?
a_mac
Wasn't expecting this to happen, i rate McCann and think he has done very well for us. I have faith in the club though, and expect them to have a replacement soon enough.
MB
Very disappointed to see Ryan McCann leaving Palmerston. I'm sure he'll have many options to consider and I wish him all the best.
RDR
Of the three that were rumoured to be departing Mcann he will be the one missed least.
Decent right back but was found wanting against Aberdeen and Rangers.
1st division standard at best so it will be fascinating to see where he ends up.
SaintSam
QUOTE (RDR @ Jun 21 2008, 10:24) *
Decent right back but was found wanting against Aberdeen and Rangers.
1st division standard at best

You're a first division team, and won't be playing sides like Aberdeen and Rangers every week.

Here's hoping he realises he's better at full back than he ever was in midfield.
Scott_L
Craig Barr is a free agent... Discipline lets him down at times but he seemed to mature as last season went on and he's still only 20/21.
RDR
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jun 21 2008, 12:10) *
You're a first division team, and won't be playing sides like Aberdeen and Rangers every week.

Here's hoping he realises he's better at full back than he ever was in midfield.

As has already been mentioned Saint no other 1st division team is known to be interested in him so we must presume he is waiting for a suitor from the SPL or the Lower English divisions,in neither of which he will make an impression.
QC Casual
I hear Falkirk and St Johnstone have offered McCann a contract however as already said he may go down South.

I'd take Craig Barr (mentioned above by Scott) although Craig Reid looks a decent prospect! No harm in competition for places though as Reid can also fill in at centre half.
Est. 1893
Maybe he'll sign for Dundee.

Actually, that's probably a long shot. whistling.gif
Mustafa Sheet
QUOTE (Est. 1893 @ Jun 21 2008, 16:56) *
Maybe he'll sign for Dundee.

What and take a step down ?!! We'll leave that for the likes of Eric Paton wink.gif
Fife Saint
QUOTE (QC Casual @ Jun 21 2008, 15:32) *
I hear Falkirk and St Johnstone have offered McCann a contract however as already said he may go down South.

I'd take Craig Barr (mentioned above by Scott) although Craig Reid looks a decent prospect! No harm in competition for places though as Reid can also fill in at centre half.

Radford
I echo Fife Saint's amusement. Not only are Dundee trying to recreate our dire defence of 2004/05, we are trying to re-sign the midfield, having first been linked with Ryan "Stevo" Stevenson and now Ryan McCann.

Like Sam says, I hope he's prepared to play at full back regularly as he's looked much better there than he ever did in midfield, where his finishing in particular let him down.
FCUnited
QUOTE (queenslad @ Jun 20 2008, 22:48) *
I'm not surprised this has happened and don't think it will be the last. Remember we signed McCann from nowhere and gave him the platform to perform which he has. That 'Goal' has made him a houshold name and has what happens with every successful club player start to get noticed by other teams at a higher level or who pay bigger wages. The semi and final were great shop windows not only for the club but for the players as well.

I am sure that Queens are already trying to pinch players from other clubs as well. I'm don't know if money came into it but if you were aware that a business had just come ino a windfall of money and you were negoitating a new contract wouldn't you be asking for money. Maybe the gap was too much. I am sure other players we are after ask for more from Queens now than they would have done in March. Same goes if we ask to sign a player from another club the fee goes up. It happens at all levels of football from SPL, SFL to South League.

This gaves another opportunity to another Player who now has a chance to better himself.

Hardly! household names are your beckhams ronaldos ronaldinhos etc. 2 years in england and everyone will have forgotten about mccann, i certainly cant see a young kid wanting to grow up to by like ryan mccann because hes a "household name" and scored from his own half!

to be honest im not overly concerned that he has left, life goes on and he certainly wasnt a irreplaceable player as craig reid looked more than capable when he came in. im more concerned that we have not signed up a goalkeeper i would of thought that would of been chis's first priorty,
rubber_duck
That "goal" didnt make McCann a household name as such, just raised his profile. A few English clubs noticed and his agent worked somewhat to "engineer" a more lucrative move. Fair play to him. Chisholm was in the papers this morning saying that McCann may "perhaps think the grass is greener elsewhere". It certainly will be if its just money that he's interested in.

Like a few have already stated, I'm not too bothered. He certainly put in a few MoM performances and seemed like a top guy, but Reid looked good in the games i seen him play.

But if Harris goes I will be bothered... sad.gif

FCUnited
QUOTE (rubber_duck @ Jun 22 2008, 11:30) *
That "goal" didnt make McCann a household name as such, just raised his profile. A few English clubs noticed and his agent worked somewhat to "engineer" a more lucrative move. Fair play to him. Chisholm was in the papers this morning saying that McCann may "perhaps think the grass is greener elsewhere". It certainly will be if its just money that he's interested in.

Like a few have already stated, I'm not too bothered. He certainly put in a few MoM performances and seemed like a top guy, but Reid looked good in the games i seen him play.

But if Harris goes I will be bothered... sad.gif

Out of interest, who has he signed for? is this exclusive?
Telboy
QUOTE (FCUnited @ Jun 22 2008, 18:45) *
Out of interest, who has he signed for? is this exclusive?

Taken from the Qos OS

One player who won't be with us at Palmerston this coming season is Ryan McCann who has decided to move on. Said a disappointed Gordon Chisholm this morning, "We made Ryan a very good offer as we were keen to keep him and did everything in our power to do so. But he leaves with our respect and good wishes for the future--after all he's done for us in such a relatively short space of time. He had also built up a special relationship with the fans who will a be sad to see him go as well.

"Perhaps he feels the 'grass could be greener' elsewhere but players leaving is all 'part and parcel' of the game in modern day football--especially now with 'freedom of contract'. Unfortunately there was nothing else we could do!"

Ryan himself was also sorry to leave but admitted, "I've really enjoyed my spell at Palmerston and it's a time in my career I'll never forget. Everyone was so encouraging and the Queens' fans were tremendous". And despite being linked with Morecambe he insists, "I've not signed for any club yet--my options are still open as I've got my family to consider".

In a four month spell Ryan played 20 games for Queens and although he scored only once, it was from 84 yards, and will go down in the history books. "I'll always remember those three cup-ties against Dundee, Aberdeen and Rangers and I've not forgotten those boots from that Dundee match which I promised to donate for auction with the proceeds to go to the 'Molly's Wish' fund. In fact, I'm hoping to pop down to Dumfries on Monday, all being well, to hand them over personally.

"No matter where I end up the Queens' result will be one of the first I'll be looking for on a Saturday and I sincerely wish Queen of the South all the best next season and I hope they do well in Europe as well".
FCUnited
QUOTE (Telboy @ Jun 22 2008, 18:03) *
Taken from the Qos OS

so hes not signed with anyone, i was refering to the way rubber duck was sayin that mccanns agent and engineered him a lucrative deal somewhere and was wondering if he knew something i didnt.
Telboy
QUOTE (FCUnited @ Jun 22 2008, 19:08) *
so hes not signed with anyone, i was refering to the way rubber duck was sayin that mccanns agent and engineered him a lucrative deal somewhere and was wondering if he knew something i didnt.

I think there is a bit of specualtion that his agent has been trying to engineer a lucrative deal with whoever, by hook or by crook, alledgedly.

The part that I don't quite understand and what makes me think that something is not quite the factual truth is
"I've not signed for any club yet--my options are still open as I've got my family to consider".

If he had his family to consider then why the hell has he turned QoS down 100%? Hardly the most logic thing to do is it?

Erm, it's like this dear, well I turned down Queens offer of a new contract cause i'm thinking of you and the weans like, but I thought i'd let you know that I might no have a job next season as I've no actually got signed by anyone yet.
FC_1919
QUOTE (Telboy @ Jun 22 2008, 19:16) *
If he had his family to consider then why the hell has he turned QoS down 100%? Hardly the most logic thing to do is it?

Erm, it's like this dear, well I turned down Queens offer of a new contract cause i'm thinking of you and the weans like, but I thought i'd let you know that I might no have a job next season as I've no actually got signed by anyone yet.

It is strange considering he left Boheimiens to be closer to the family? Morcambe isn't that far from Scotland, but would he want to move there? Back by xmas again?
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (Telboy @ Jun 22 2008, 19:16) *
The part that I don't quite understand and what makes me think that something is not quite the factual truth is

I don't know but I would imagine he was given a deadline to let Chisholm know one way or the other so he knew whether or not he had to go out and fill that position. He was given an offer but we can't be expected to wait around for ever to see that he isn't going elsewhere, especially when it seems likely he was.

Like I said, McCann made no secret from fairly soon after he joined us (and quite possibly even before he joined us for all I know) that he intended to head South this season if he could get a club. That he signed for us for five months in between was something that worked out well for both parties in the end. So well in fact that we clearly tried to persuade him to stay but he's obviously decided not to. Good luck to him. He's a decent guy and I wish him well. As has been said already, in Reid we have a ready made replacement. I don't think there was any subterfuge and "engineering" of anything. He's only doing what he said all along he was going to do.
Günther
Doesn't surprise me one bit. The wee cunt thought he was much better than what he was when he stalled on contract talks with us last year whilst training with us, then fuckin' off to Ireland to play with some diddy team there that pays a bit more. Then the Irish season finishes and he fucks off back to Clyde again to train with us. I think a contract was offered if I remember right, but Queens came in with more cash so went there instead.

Loyalty certainly isn't part of McCanns attitude...
Nizzy
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jun 22 2008, 22:01) *
Doesn't surprise me one bit. The wee cunt thought he was much better than what he was when he stalled on contract talks with us last year whilst training with us, then fuckin' off to Ireland to play with some diddy team there that pays a bit more. Then the Irish season finishes and he fucks off back to Clyde again to train with us. I think a contract was offered if I remember right, but Queens came in with more cash so went there instead.

A Scottish Cup final appearance would suggest he made the correct decision.
dumfries.....boys

the reason he has left is money he can get a lot more down south he has a club lined up.he will sign for them later this week.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jun 22 2008, 22:01) *
Then the Irish season finishes and he fucks off back to Clyde again to train with us. I think a contract was offered if I remember right, but Queens came in with more cash so went there instead.

He was training with us from the time he returned to Scotland so far as I'm aware. He certainly was training with us for at least a month before he signed (as soon as the window opened). Whether he was training with Clyde also I wouldn't know but it seems odd he'd train with two clubs. He probably was talking to a few clubs though because I don't think there really was much intention on our part to sign him until Scally's injury in late December. Then we suddenly needed midfield cover and McCann fitted the bill and was training with us anyway.
KingfaetheSooth
Good luck to McCann. Such is the nature of football at all levels, that many players will move on for a few more quid and/or a longer contract offer. I think their agents have to take some of the flack though, especially when it doesn't always work out. The reality is that a League 2 or Conference club will probably offer McCann a much better deal that Queens.

Personally, if Queens are prepared to go somewhat out-with their existing wage structure and raid our Cup run windfall cash, I'd rather it was on a better player in a position where we have less cover.
Günther
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jun 22 2008, 22:03) *
A Scottish Cup final appearance would suggest he made the correct decision.

I'm happy enough to accept that though. But if he is more concerned about his football - Would he not want to stay at Queens and play in Europe? Not many players have that opertunity... This is where I think he thinks he's much better than he is.
Queens have the potential to be league contenders this year, with europe this season as well. Surely that'd be enough to make a player stay??

He obviously thinks he's much better than what he is. No doubt come January he'll be back at Clyde training with us again...
FC_1919
Not having any of this he is a wee c**t banter. He seemed like one of the nicer guys in the Queen's team when I spoke to him, thanking me for the support at the final etc. He went up to one of my mate in Jumpin Jaks after the cup final and thanked him for the support just because he had his Queen's scarf on.

Good Guy.
RDR
Actions speak louder than words FC_1919.
FC_1919
QUOTE (RDR @ Jun 23 2008, 14:09) *

This is true, but if he wants to go to England fair enough. Like I said in my original post, if he does'nt want to be with us anymore we dont need him.
Sao Paulo
Decent enough full back & even wing back. Horrible in the centre of midfield though. Always thought he was pretty raw, technically quite a poor player. He'll never succeed at the level he wishes to in England because his technique, in particular, is well below par even at this level.

I don't think Queens will incur great difficulty in finding an able replacement.
MB
QUOTE (RDR @ Jun 23 2008, 14:09) *

Indeed they do. He proved to be a valuable player for us in his short stint at Palmerston. If he has now decided to leave to secure a better future for himself and his family then good luck to him. I, for one, am most grateful to Ryan McCann for what he added to the Queens side. Those are the actions I will remember.

We have an able replacement in Craig Reid.
19QOS19

He helped us to Hampden for the very first time. Good Luck to him an I will always be grateful to him for letting me witness one of the best goals ever scored at Palmerston.
bully-wee
didnt think he was that great for clyde but he seemed to half a decent season at Queens. Im not very impressed at his attitude as far as loyalty, he left clyde and now Queens ( which is ovb a very strange decsion considering how well they did last season)- dont see him moving onto a better club to be honest.
TeeMan
QUOTE (bully-wee @ Jun 23 2008, 20:04) *
didnt think he was that great for clyde but he seemed to half a decent season at Queens. Im not very impressed at his attitude as far as loyalty, he left clyde and now Queens ( which is ovb a very strange decsion considering how well they did last season)- dont see him moving onto a better club to be honest.

He's probably been offered a lot more money to move down south. I don't expect any loyalty from a player when its their bottom line at stake, I'll gladly thank him for his contribution to a wonderful season and think it's quite refreshing that he's been reasonably open about his reasons for leaving.
The prurist
Sad to see him leave celtic and sad.gif now sad to see him leave queens

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/t...uth/7467307.stm